HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Verona hostels
See all Verona hotels

Reviews of Guest House Castelvecchio

Guesthouse | Vicolo Volto San Luca, 18 Verona, Verona, Italy 37122

94.7% Overall Rating

177 out of 181 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

Debra Jinks thinks…

"Proximity to all is great. The hostel is comfortable,homely and included breakfast. The manager was helpful."

Read all Guest House Castelvecchio reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 23.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

TO CHECK IN: EMAIL OR TEXT US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME PLEASE. Please note: Earliest check in time:13:00 Latest check in time: 20:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Verona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Verona

B&B Re Lear
34.14 USD

Guesthouse 98.1% 25 reviews
Ariel B&B
35.45 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 55 reviews
B&B 3JOLIE
52.52 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Arena
57.12 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.2% 122 reviews
River House
39.39 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Franciscus Guesthouse
32.83 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 81 reviews
B&B Alle Erbe
36.11 USD

Guesthouse 85.6% 48 reviews
Juliette House B&B
43.33 USD

Guesthouse 74.4% 99 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.7%

Overall Rating

177 out of 181 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Guest House Castelvecchio'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 130 of 177 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Debra Jinks

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Debra would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to all is great. The hostel is comfortable,homely and included breakfast. The manager was helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Welzl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, walking distance to main attraction, very homely with pantry, cooking facilities and good breakfast choice.

Disliked: Do inform the staff of your specific arrival time as the staff is not always around but it is not an issue. It takes about 10-15min to walk from the train station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent host, really clean and friendly people, secure too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dalia Truskaite

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 December 2013 Dalia would recommend this property

Liked: Location, spacious room

Disliked: Dalia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Gardelka

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good breakfast, very nice people (both staff and guests)

Disliked: A mattress could be better...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maya Kar

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 May 2013 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, relaxed feel.

Disliked: Maya left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was like having your own flat with all the facilities you needed, excellent location and very helpful friendly staff. The breakfast they provided was great and it was nice to have use of the coffee machine.

Disliked: Noise carried very easily, so was often woken up in the morning with people banging doors/using the bathroom. The internet was very slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, easy to find nice staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: After staying at a small, crammed, unpleasant and expensive hostel in Venice, my friend and I were extremely pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Guest House Castelvecchio! The place was warm, very nicely decorated! We got a room with 2 single beds, spacious with many pretty shelves to place your items on! The heaters in the room and the bathroom work wonderfully and kept us very warm. The toilets were extremely clean and again, well-decorated, always smelling fresh. The kitchen is extremely well-stocked. Giulia the host kindly allows us to use anything in the kitchen anytime of the day. With an espresso machine, fresh bread, cookies, small Nutella satchels, honey, marmalades of different flavours, and cereal, there's nothing more a guest can truly ask for. There is also a computer in the common room for use. My friend and I were extremely pleased with our stay here. It was cheap and good, extremely value for money. The place is always impeccably clean! More importantly, it's 5 minutes walk from the main town centre! We would definitely visit again!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel V Evans

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Rachel V would recommend this property

Liked: some welcoming two female travellers this was great. self service breakfast and able to use kitchen facilities anytime.

Disliked: N/A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Livia Luiza Fagundes de Souza

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2013 Livia Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well located.

Disliked: This is not a real hostel. It's more like someone's house where they rent the rooms. The internet is really really slow. But it is still a nice place to stay.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Guilia, the owner was really nice and helpful, we loved her!

Disliked: You have to share bathrooms

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decoration is very lovely. We all love the bedsheet. Although one of the shower area is small, there is another bathroom can be used. The breakfast is rich. I ate a yogurt everyday when I stayed there.

Disliked: no

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rezarta Jaupi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Rezarta would recommend this property

Liked: The service and the staff was nice.

Disliked: It was a little bit complicated to find, we spent 1 hour to find it.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xinran Song

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Xinran would recommend this property

Liked: It's really a nice place to live, although there is some problem at first but we figure that out. the staff was kind of nice.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Preda Vasile-Codrut

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 November 2012 Preda would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything. Giulia (the host) was very nice with us and she told us a lot of interesting things. The place was perfect. The breakfast was very good and enough for the first part of the day. We strongly recommend this location.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location! It's a nice apartment, only 3 guestrooms, so it was calm and not to crowdy. The owners offers a self-service breakfast buffet, which means you can have tea, coffee, toast, crackers, cookies and juice all day long, which is very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

boling yu

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 boling would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay,the hosts were really friendly, they have told us everything we needed to know about the city and made some great recommendations. The place was clean and tidy and is situated in the city centre. I will go back again for sure

Disliked: boling left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Giulia is a really nice host. A lot of good information.

Disliked: At the moment (October 2012), there is a building site close to the apartment. On weekdays this may be a little loud.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Toni McHenry

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Toni would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for getting around Verona. Easy to return to after a day of sightseeing as it was around the corner from a McDonald's. Room was small, but nicely decorated and clean.

Disliked: Shared bathroom had a very tiny small shower that actually had us laughing as we tried to figure out how to shower in it.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephanie Cheek

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Very informative staff, great kitchen, cosy room

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Rolfe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: The apartment had such a lovely feel to it. We were greeted by a really friendly guy who was keen to share information on Verona with us. The location was great too, only a few minutes from the centre of Verona and walkable to the train station. There was a computer for guests to use, breakfast included and you could use the kitchen facilites at any time. Having two bathrooms between 3 rooms was great.

Disliked: Our only problems were the slightly uncomfortable bed and the heat! There was a ceiling fan but it was no match for the baking summer temperatures!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Irem Ulker

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012

Liked: We felt like at home thanks to Castelvecchio! It has just 3 rooms 2 bathrooms and 1 big kithchen with balcony! It is really clean and friendly place! Toilets are really huge, clean and good!

Disliked: When we arrived there the owner wasn't there so another person who is the friend of owner took us inside. He is really friendly, talkative and hepful! But unfortunately the owner was strange! She has a room there, She saw us in the morning but she didn't talk us, i think she is shy:/ The most important bas side is 'HOT'! The FIRST ROOM has a balcony but it has to entrance one is inside the room another one is in the kithcen! So people who sit at balcony can see our room! We even couldn't open the windows because of it! We stayed with my boyfriend so we felt like that erveybody watcehd us! The room has window bracket but it wasn't enough! We can see the people on the balcony and it makes the room hot! No air conditioner just fan on the wall but the hot air turned in the room! The night was awful.. And the breakfast, too! The room's door has a big glass, so if people look inside carefully, can see the room and it is not safe!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had the propertie just for ourselves because we were 6 and the house has 3 rooms! The breakfast and the location was very nice

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Guilia is a wonderful hostess! This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Lovely decor and cosy atmosphere. Very comfortable and clean and great location. Directions on how to get there were excellent!

Disliked: Nothing at all.


See all Verona hostels
See all Verona hotels