HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of San Marco Dreams

Hostel | Sestiere Castello, 5067, Venice, Italy 30122

81.0% Overall Rating

24 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"The location was excellent. Very close to St. mark's square, bars and restuarants etc. only 3 rooms in apartment so doesn't feel crowded at times we had place to ourselves which was nice."

Read all San Marco Dreams reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Art Flashpackers
50.60 USD

Hostel 55.4% 33 reviews
Hotel Alloggi Barbaria
50.60 USD

Hostel 84.0% 138 reviews
AWA Venice Aparthotel San Marco
40.25 USD

Hostel 71.5% 48 reviews
B&B Venice Hazel
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 102 reviews
CaSa Linger Hostel
36.69 USD

Hostel 72.6% 878 reviews
A Venice Emerald 1&2
158.13 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Venice Gold
35.42 USD

Hostel 87.2% 237 reviews
Schiavoni Apartments
69.58 USD

Apartment 90.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

24 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'San Marco Dreams'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
75.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent. Very close to St. mark's square, bars and restuarants etc. only 3 rooms in apartment so doesn't feel crowded at times we had place to ourselves which was nice.

Disliked: Bit of a walk from Venice star where we had to go to pick up keys.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, good value, especially for central Venice, have stayed 2 years in a row!

Disliked: Staff could be more helpful and welcoming on arrival. I emailed in advance to let staff know when we were arriving yet no-one was around to check us in so we had to call the contact number and the individual who was contacted was begrudging and demanded a tip.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kseniia Popova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2014 Kseniia would recommend this property

Liked: I really like this apartment, where you can feel yourself like at home. Thanks to Shakeru, friendly guy, who explains us everything about the city and was ready to offer his help in every way. Nice kitchen, where you can cook smth, cosy bedrooms and clean bathroom. And the most important thing is location, directly in the heart of Venice!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karen Pinto

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness in bedrooms, toilettes and common spaces

Disliked: The location

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheila Ball

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Sheila would recommend this property

Liked: The property describes itself perfectly on the website, it was very clean and spacious, and well-located yet in a quiet location. It is a smaller hostel (only three rooms) so not the ideal place for meeting other travellers, but we did still make some friends. The internet works very well, the kitchen is well-furnished and the breakfast is basic but complete.

Disliked: There is only one couch in the ´common area´. Another couch or TV might be nice, but we were mostly in Venice enjoying the carnival and didn't need it too much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Meullerhofer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: very quite but next to san marcos

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is quite good and price is cheap in Venice-scale. Quiet in the night. Kitchen was ok enough, but there was practicly no common space besides the small kitchen table. Resently renowated rooms, clean enough. Service was friendly and we were guided personally from the check-in to the apartement as promised. Breakfast provided was assembled of the cheapest bulk products (toast, cerials, milk, butter, jelly, coffee, tea, juice) available, but grocery was just around the corner.

Disliked: Front door lock was horrible. Original key given did not work at all, gave up trying after 20min, and new key fetched from the check-in place worked only after 5-15min clanking every time. The building itself was ugly, not romantic at all as one would imagine Venice. Hostel person spoke very poor English, and gave no additional information abaut what to see or do at all. Probably not a problem if you speak Italian.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a beautiful square and was very clean. Not too far from the main areas although easy to get lost in without a map. Very close to an excellent supermarket, cheap for your own food and drink! Nice restaurant on the canal very close by. Lovely gutted church in the square.

Disliked: I had to collect a key at a different hostel before walking to my hostel. There was no answer at the first hostel door and the phone didn't work. i was only able to get in because someone left the house and opened door. If I had been alone I would have been very scared. Also the first hostel was not marked at all so difficult to find. When i eventually got to my hostel I was alone there which I did not like. There is no reception area in the hostel it is more like an appartment. In the summer I expect it is busy but I felt a bit vulnerable on my own. The key is also quite tricky to get the front door open although apparently this is v common for Venice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

sandeep jain

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 October 2013 sandeep would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Expensive for family

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location excellent next to supermarket apartment lovely and clean

Disliked: Nothing found to dislike

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ronan Cummins

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 October 2013 Ronan would recommend this property

Liked: A large spacious room with nice kitchen facilities. Breakfast was good. Owners were very helpful and friendly. Even posted my camera charger to my address in Ireland when I left it behind and they didn't look for any money for the postage. I would highly recommend this property.

Disliked: Ronan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, a lot of space, helpful staff. Wifi works very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Grooby

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy and spacious. Previous people have left negative comments about other property's but I cannot fault this place. This is not like a hostel, but more of an apartment. We had the whole place to ourselves

Disliked: Front door is tricky to open but that is minor

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maysa Elmoustafa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013

Liked: It's very clean with a big room and offers breakfast

Disliked: Venice is difficult to navigate and it took a long time to find the Venice Star property. The instructions provided are not great. Then we had to wait 2 hours at Venice Star for someone to show up to check us in and then walk us to the San Marco Dreams property. With only 2 days in Venice it was a shame half a day was spent just trying to get to the room. Not ideal for meeting people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large room, private bath, very clean, quiet, wifi in rooms, breakfast provided, good location.

Disliked: It's very difficult to find. The address on Hostelbookers is wrong. check the website for directions to their office, someone will lead you to the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: удобное расположение, чисто, хорошие завтраки, кондиционеры в номерах и общих помещениях, просторный санузел с хорошей сантехникой

Disliked: вайфай только на общей кухне

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Highstark

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived there and it was new opening as the owner told me. Everything is new and beautiful. Huge, large rooms, quite. Staff is helpful, breakfast was a good choice. I was happy about the service and the very low price I paid. It is only a couple of minutes away from San Marcus Square. Next to it are some very nice restaurants where I had some drinks.

Disliked: nothing.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels