HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Boutique San Marco

Guesthouse | Calle Al Ponte dell'Anzolo, Sestiere Castello 5314, Venice, Italy 30122

88.8% Overall Rating

36 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2014)

Hayley Cave thinks…

"It was very clean and the lady who runs it was incredibly pleasant and nice to talk to. She gave great recommendations on things to do and places to eat. The directions to the hostel were very good.…"

Read all Boutique San Marco reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.98
  • Linen USD 5.31
  • Towel USD 2.65

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Hotel Astoria
36.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.6% 69 reviews
Hotel Caneva
43.78 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.8% 57 reviews
Hotel Alla Fava
86.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.9% 26 reviews
A Venice Emerald 1&2
165.85 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apartment OTA Rialto III
65.01 USD

Apartment 91.4% 12 reviews
Venice Star
46.44 USD

Guesthouse 85.7% 8 reviews
Albergo San Samuele
46.44 USD

Hostel 85.7% 306 reviews
Locanda Barbarigo
51.74 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

36 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Boutique San Marco'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hayley Cave

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the lady who runs it was incredibly pleasant and nice to talk to. She gave great recommendations on things to do and places to eat. The directions to the hostel were very good. Make sure when you use google maps that you put Alfredo's pasta to go as your destination, as the hostel is directly across from it. As a female traveling alone, I was slightly nervous, but the hostel and surrounding area felt very safe.

Disliked: The hostel wasn't air conditioned and had no fan. This made it a little uncomfortable to stay in during the day and to go to sleep at night. Also it is rigt by a canal, so early in the morning there is lots of noise from the boats, bell tower and construction workers. Ear plugs are a good idea. While the building felt secure, there were no locks on any of the room doors, and no lockers in the rooms. Make sure you bring bag locks for when you are out during the day. That being said, I felt safe leaving my things in the room with the people that were there. I would still overall recommend this hostel but realize that it is more like an apartment than an actual hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location and best hostel staff that I encountered in Italy. I was given a proper tour and on the second night one of the staff approached me to ask about my stay. She also checked on the insect deterrent in my room. Nice atmosphere (laid back and felt homely). Wasn't a party hostel which was good! Lovely kitchen and very clean.

Disliked: Security was lacking as I wasn't given a key for the room door and there wasn't any lockers. Anyone staying there could very easily go into room. I thankfully had a lock on my suitcase.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Curtis Casella

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2014

Liked: Location was ideal -- very easy to get to St. Mark's Square and close to a lot of restaurants. Annette, the owner, is incredibly nice and we talked for a while about our respective travels.

Disliked: Overly expensive, and linens are not included in the price. No air conditioning (which I can usually live with) and no fans. It was impossible to sleep in the hot weather. Only one bathroom. No hot water (which was fine for how hot the weather was when I was there, but I could see that being a problem at other times). And VERY, VERY NOISY. Very loud, very close, very long church bells; the room abutted a canal and, starting at 5:30 am, I could hear workers loading and unloading things and yelling at each other loudly for the next three hours. It was impossible to go back to sleep. I've stayed at many hostels in my travels, and this is the first that I can say I would never go back to.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. It's not really hard to find as long as you follow the instructions precisely.

Disliked: You have to pay for bed sheets, but you can bring yours for free.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute place, great shower, relaxing calm atmosphere.

Disliked: We didn't get a map of Venice but the area was so small we had no trouble finding everything anyway.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Stanley

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

25 May 2014 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: I would rate it as a 'must' if you are wanting a hostel in Venice. The location was excellent and the place was lovely. Annette and her friend were the most friendly people. We were so lucky to have a room with an amazing view. The atmosphere was really good. We met some really nice travellers while there. I found the directions were very easy to follow and there is a small plaque next to the buzzer with the name on.

Disliked: Denise left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

demian Lansky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2014 demian would recommend this property

Liked: muy comodo y una atencion genial!gracias por todo saludos

Disliked: fue dificil de encontrar el lugar ,tendrian que señalizarlo mejor

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. Its really close to san marco square. The lady running the place is REALLY nice!

Disliked: Nothing much really. Going to the hotel, for sure you will get lost but its actually really close to the square. Everything else is fine, its just that they only have 1 or 2 bathroom for like 11 people in the place. Its a small hostel good for 11people.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room and no bunk beds. Nice, clean bathroom. Overlooks the canals and clock tower.

Disliked: Bedroom door didn't lock, no city maps, staff didn't help with booking transport or recommendations. Difficult to find, but so is everything in Venice.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter German

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly host, really clean, couldn't recommend highly enough

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent. Kitchen had all you need.

Disliked: Lack a bit of atmosphere. Cold building - heating minimal. More like an apartment than a hostel

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 March 2014

Liked: It was a nice central location

Disliked: Although the directions were good the property had no sign on it even over the bell and no direction within the building that it was on the third floor this made it very hard to find

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaclyn Wallace

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay here. I can't find the words to describe how amazing of a time I had at this hostel. Everyone was so friendly and I felt very at home. The rooms were so amazing and the kitchen had everything I needed. The atmosphere was so calm and welcoming and felt like a big house rather than a hostel. I would recommend Boutique San Marco to everyone who is going to Venice. The location was so amazing. Walking distance to all the main squares but around the corner enough that it wasn't hectic walking home. I was so sad to leave that I've already booked 5 nights in the new year!

Disliked: There is no bar..... But there is one 2 minute walk away!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location excellent so near to San Marco Square

Disliked: poor noise isolation, the doors openes hard and loudly, not possible to lock the room inside

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Rimmer

Alone

City break

02 October 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The lovely friendly lady running it! The view of the Bell Tower in Piazza San Marco from the dorm windows.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamil JUsoh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Jamil would recommend this property

Liked: "Confortable & Convenient" accommodation for budget traveler.

Disliked: Try to search..but could not find any " dislike" element

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Tuson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: A pretty flat in an excellent location in Venice. Friendly staff. They seem to just be starting out so the hostel is a work in progress. V. good wifi. I had a pleasant stay.

Disliked: Mozzies were an annoyance, but Venice has a lot of water.....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Annett is fantastic, she is so sweet and helpful. Definitely take the time to sit down and chat with her. The location is excellent (tucked away from San Marco) and the hostel is clean. We met fun other travelers during our stay. A heads up, the directions are accurate to the door but once in the building you will need to go up to the third floor. There is no sign (the house is 500+ years old!).

Disliked: We had a bit of trouble with bug bites but it may have been due to keeping the windows open too much to let in the nice sea breeze!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Dunn

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Boutique San Marco was the perfect place to stay on my trip to Venice. With such an amazing location - 3 minutes from San Marco square, and at this price, you can't really beat it. The bathrooms were always clean, Roberto, one of the staff was always helpful and friendly. As a solo traveller, I also was able to meet some other awesome travellers in the common area, where you can also get free wi-fi. As with all properties in Venice, finding the place was a bit of a challenge, so make sure you read the instructions carefully, and once you are at the door, ring the bell middle top (there wasn't a sign). My only suggestion would be to put a hairdryer in the bathroom!

Disliked: Nothing - perfect stay!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and great location

Disliked: Follow the instructions carefully to find the place. It was sort of tricky to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna KUZINA

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, comfortable hostel with good design and pleasent atmosphere!!! Its look like big friendly italian flat! Everything is ok: location, kitchen, bed, bathroom... I was really glad to stay there . Annetta and Roberto are so attentive to their guests. Nice to meet so kind and respectable people. Thank you so much! Anna from Moscow :)

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Freitas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Boutique San Marco is incredibly well located, about 2 minutes walk from San Marcos square and we had an excellent view of the clock tower from our room, which also over looked the canal. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious and airy, furthermore the bathrooms were clean and also decently sized. There was a comfortable living area with couches as well as a kitchen. it was truly a little gem in the heart of san marco, i would definitely return and recommend it.

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff super helpful. Above and beyond.... Safest, nicest, cleanest place I have stayed!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lauren mccarthy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 lauren would recommend this property

Liked: the bathroom was cute and clean. very spacious. the rooms where good as well. but NO ONE TALKS!!!! not any of the travelors. they are all ery quiet and keep to themselves which is strange for a hostel. The hostel felt very safe as you had two keys to enter the property. the location is AMAZING so close to everything

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonnie Dietz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Jonnie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Boutique San Marco was in an ideal location, and was by far the best hostel I have stayed in while travelling through Europe. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The hostel felt like a home, was beautifully decorated, and very clean. Wifi worked well, the kitchen was great, and the common room was comfortable and inviting, great for meeting other travelers. I can only recommenced you stay here if you are travelling in Florence.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels