We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Generator Venice

Hostel | Fondamenta Zitelle 86, Venice, Italy 30133

89.0% Overall Rating

162 out of 168 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

Mick Lorusso thinks…

"Generator is ideally located, with an easy Vaporetto ride over to San Marco and to the Giardini del Biennale, a great view of Venice across the lagoon, and a very hip downstairs bar. The staff were…"

Read all Generator Venice reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.97
  • Towel USD 3.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

hostel jan palach
24.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Messner
40.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.3% 96 reviews
Hotel Alla Salute
37.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.0% 15 reviews
Venice Paradise
46.39 USD

Hostel 99.0% 3 reviews
Hotel Astoria
38.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.4% 74 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
40.04 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.1% 286 reviews
Albergo San Samuele
28.72 USD

Hostel 87.0% 307 reviews
Locanda Barbarigo
60.75 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

162 out of 168 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Venice'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 168 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mick Lorusso

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 June 2015 Mick would recommend this property

Liked: Generator is ideally located, with an easy Vaporetto ride over to San Marco and to the Giardini del Biennale, a great view of Venice across the lagoon, and a very hip downstairs bar. The staff were extremely nice, accommodating. Beds comfortable, and everything very clean.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit expensive and really quite poor, even for an Italian breakfast, just some canned fruit, yogurt, fruit, bread, butter, and a machine that makes coffee or tea.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mark Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The view as you walk out the door is spectacular. I am travelling by myself and had an easy time meeting people, but I am a really out going person. The best experience was sitting right out front of the Hostel eating a pizza drinking wine watching boats traverse the lagoon in front of us. The view is worth the price tag.

Disliked: The floors weren't the cleanest and the breakfast buffet should NOT be purchased.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very clean, well run hostel. It is definitely for the young with lots going on in the bar area, though there were some older guests as well. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We stayed in an 16 person dorm but it was much quieter than we expected, though we were on the second floor. The room was very spacious, each bed had its own light and outlet, there were large lockers for every bed, and there were divisions between the beds. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and this is not surprising as we saw them be cleaned frequently. The transportation to and from the main island was very easy with the boat taxis. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: They did ask up front if we wanted to prepay for our breakfast. We decided not to and were able to find cheaper breakfast elsewhere. After talking to others who ate breakfast there, it seemed we made the right choice. Though the vaporettos were super easy to use and came frequently, there is a cost to pay for them. We got a 4 day pass, though we probably could have easily walked on to every boat without one.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view over San Marco, super comfy bed, clean and modern sanitary facilities, discreet guests...

Disliked: Guest kitchen would have been better, also that you could rent locks instead of buying them.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Hackett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2015 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Very lively and has a cool vibe. The staff are great and people are getting drinks and sitting outside chatting and looking out at Venice well into the night

Disliked: The boat is 7 euro to get to it and the multiple day pass is also quite pricy. Unless you are already planning on visiting the islands around Venice the boat cost is frustrating but the quality of the hostel also pretty much makes up for it. Also the food isn't great. Probably better to just buy something at a trattoria or market.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corrine Pelletier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2015 Corrine would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere. I was there during FIFA and I met a bunch of people hanging out watching the game. There was a REALLY delicous restaurant right next door. The location can seem far as it is on another island, but the boat bus things were fun, easy and quick (unless you get sea sick, then AVOID!)

Disliked: Sometimes it was too secrure. I had to bring my key with me when I went to the washrooms as even they were locked and the rooms automatically locked behind you even if my freind was still there with all our stuff. Had to wear my baithing suit in the shower as the stalls were glass (not frosted glass, just see-through) No real nightlife as it all happens on the main land and the boat buses only go until a certain hour. Tried to make up for it as the hostel and it wasn't as good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliana Izabel Polydoro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2015 Juliana Izabel would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to stay, the staff is very nice and friendly and the common areas are great!!!

Disliked: Just could have more bathrooms... the location is very nice but you have to take a boat to get there..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good, it's only a stop or two away from San Marco. There isn't much on the island itself though. The beds are comfy, and bathrooms pretty clean. The bar is great too.

Disliked: You can hear the music blasting from the bar downstairs for most of the night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, we we're upgraded rooms free of charge. Great value for money, really modern clean rooms. Nice comunial bar and lounge area, with good food.

Disliked: Internet wasn't as strong in the rooms but no problems in the bar. You have to get water bus to and from the main island, not a problem, just bare in mind if your on a budget. Also would recommend bring your own hair dryer if you need one.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely position from the island overlooking the water and the city - its a pretty nice place to sit and eat a pizza while you watch the sun go down.

Disliked: Breakfast was a total rip off. And from other guests reports the food from the restaurant was pretty dodge too. Just get your food from the cafes and restaurants in the area - there are some nice reasonably ones close by.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and vibrant atmosphere

Disliked: Far from other destinations

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cara Sandys

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2015 Cara would recommend this property

Liked: The most spectacular location on the waterside overlooking Venice. Stunning decor with antique furniture, atmospheric lighting, spotlessly clean bathrooms and dorms. Excellent value for money at the moment.

Disliked: No guest kitchen or even a place to make a hot drink. Very odd for a hostel. I did buy a disappointing meal, cheesy nachos...but where was the sour cream and salsa as listed on the menu? Slamming dormitory door. It was possible to close it quietly but most people just let it slam and even with ear plugs it was hard to sleep. Maybe the hostel can adjust the mechanism on the door.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Riley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2015 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel decor is really nice, right on the waterfront overlooking the main square, beds really comfy good quilts, light and plug next to each bed and it was clean we were happy with all these elements.

Disliked: Considering the amount we are paying for the hostel surely they could throw a measly map in for free instead of charging you. The bathrooms are a complete let down, regularly cleaned but the light is on a timer so after less than 2 minutes of being in there you are showering in the complete dark. The shower cubicle doors are completely see through and anyone walking to the toilet can see literally everything. They have a good selection of paninis and cakes, on our last day we wanted to buy something with a a coffee before our long trip down south, and was told rudely by the man on reception he can't sell us anything at all?!? They were right there but for some reason for the whole of the day they can't sell anything from the counter or make any coffee until 6pm??? Absolutely crazy, especially considering there are adverts throughout the whole hostel saying they sell coffee and sandwiches? Think management needs to sort that out as it definitely tainted our stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are individual lockers, lights, and outlets for each bed. The cafe and bar are minimally stocked, but probably the best thing about the hostel. A great place to mingle and meet other backpackers or get late night snacks when everything else is closed.

Disliked: Seems understaffed. There was usually only one person running the cafe and bar and another checking people in. Not ideal for busy nights, even on a holiday weekend.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun atmosphere. Safe and clean. Great for solo or group travel.

Disliked: The location isn't optimal when drunkenly coming home in the early morning hours.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Danielle Franco Macedo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2015 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly

Disliked: No wifi on the 3rd floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelvin Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2015 Kelvin would recommend this property

Liked: nice facilities, clean.

Disliked: see-through showers. the other comments are not joking. the showers are literally see through. there is no point in the glass door.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

dasom kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2015 dasom would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and so nice If u stay in this hostel you can see beautiful view! And staffs are friendly and kind.

Disliked: Far from s.m.v trainstation

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean (well, the private bathroom was). Staff helpful and most of them friendly. Dark and quite rooms at night.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work in room. Broken shower head.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: facilities are so nice and clean.

Disliked: its location is on island so 2-3 days transportation card must be needed

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Hickey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome - two boat stops from St Marco. Rooms are clean, interesting decor in the reception and bar. Free WiFi and luggage storage. You are staying on an island in Venice! Great price (by Venice standards!) for the location (I moved from another place in Mistre which was hardly cheaper and was rubbish - pay the extra and stay here, saving travel time to get to Venice each day, and being able to step outside the hostel to be at the edge of a Venetian canal!)

Disliked: No kitchen - of you are on a budget go down the quieter streets around St Marco to get pizza for as little as €3.50. The showers have clear glass, so people walking past to brush their teeth or use the toilet can see you. Just hang your towel over the glass and have a shower at a time when no one is around. Or don't be shy lol.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Simone Hardinge

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were easy to deal with, I arrived in Venice at 2pm and checked in straight away. I love that you can just dump your whole bag in the roll-away lockers.

Disliked: Location isn't awesome - would be annoying if you were popping back and forth to the hostel to have to get the boat each time. Great view though. I was in room 304 which was very crowded and got quite warm at night even with windows open. The bathroom is very poorly set up, no lockable door to the shower and the whole area gets very wet. Didn't think it was very social - I was travelling alone and didn't day more than a few words to anyone.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Parolin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was awesome

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2014

Liked: Everything about this hostel is fantastic, APART FROM THE BED BUGS

Disliked: GETTING BED BUGS . I slept in the 16 bed dorm and woke up the next morning with bed bug bites everywhere. CLEAN THE SHEETS

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Dutton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, good location, safe and friendly staff

Disliked: Breakfast

The property's response is...


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels