HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Generator Venice

Hostel | Fondamenta Zitelle 86, Venice, Italy 30133

91.0% Overall Rating

121 out of 126 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/08/2014)

lindsey concra thinks…

"The lounge and entry way and bar is beautiful and everyone is down there hanging out. The rooms are very nice and clean as well as the bathrooms. Water pressure is perfect and nice and hot."

Read all Generator Venice reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.64

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

hostel jan palach
29.18 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Messner
48.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.3% 96 reviews
Hotel Alla Salute
27.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.5% 12 reviews
Venice Paradise
55.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Astoria
43.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.6% 68 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
44.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.0% 279 reviews
Albergo San Samuele
46.43 USD

Hostel 85.7% 306 reviews
Locanda Barbarigo
51.73 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

121 out of 126 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Venice'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 124 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lindsey concra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge and entry way and bar is beautiful and everyone is down there hanging out. The rooms are very nice and clean as well as the bathrooms. Water pressure is perfect and nice and hot.

Disliked: Literally the only possible con I can think of it the water didn't drain well in the shower so it just filled up but other then that loved everything here!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was located conveniently inbetween two ferry stops, with a couple restaurants and shops inbetween. The staff was very accomodating and helpful with any questions that I had, I.e. they had wonderful recomendations and pointed me in the right direction of my desired destination!

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff and clean

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: At first, it might seem like the location is inconvenient being located on Giudecca Island. Actually, I think it is a positive. You have the unique experience of getting to and from the hostel by boat. The hostel is very easy to find as it is right near the boat stop - you don't need to navigate Venice's streets. By boat it takes 6 minutes to Piazza San Marco and 35 minutes to Santa Lucia station. It is 24EUR for 72 hours on the boats if you are under 29 - ask for Rolling Venice. The hostel is modern and secure. Laundry is 7EUR for washing and drying, but easy to use.

Disliked: Due to the commercial nature of Generator Hostels, the bar is rather expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, helpful staff. good and affordable bar food and breakfast. good wi fi.

Disliked: Not enough space in the room for the price of the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, beautiful location. There is the extra cost for the water bus, but I got the discounted 3-day pass and it was really great. The hostel was clean, modern, comfortable, and the bar/restaurant was good food for a very reasonable price. I met some fantastic travellers, too, and we all had a great time.

Disliked: The showers were unpleasant. They didn't drain properly, the doors were see-through, there was no lock on any part of it, and the light would go on and off. Just kinda one of this yolo moments. I also wish the hostel had done a little bit more in the way of events, but can't complain!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge dorm rooms are a plus. Awesome bar/common area to hang out in downstairs. Loved the location away from Venice's crowds but within 5 minute ferry of S Marco.

Disliked: Bathrooms were not very clean or well stocked and there's no private shower cubicles. Staff could have been a little more helpful/friendly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Morshuis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was just amazing, the hostel is overlookig the water and venice. The atmosphere was every good aswell, alot of young people who are traveling just like we did, so that makes it very cool! We enjoyed the happy hour very much and the rooms were clean and bed were nice.

Disliked: Unfortunatly this hostel doesn't have any facilities to cook for your self... And the lights in the bathroom we based on activity. While standing under the shower the light turned of as there was no activity in the rest of the bathroom, that was a bit sad..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matt louie Caspe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Matt louie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff: The staff don't often smile so it's a bit off putting to approach them but that's not really a problem as they are very helpful anyways. Location: The is location is great as it is not in the main Island of Venice. It is in Guidecca which is 15 minutes by boat from San Marco(main attraction). There is a grocery shop and pharmacy 5 minutes away from the hostel which is good. Atmosphere: The place is dark and looks more like bar than a hostel. My experience: I arrived an hour early than check in time so I decided to go check the main square first. The hostel doesn't provide you with a comprehensive map and so as the tourist centre in the city, so I suggest you buy your own map or print one. I stayed in a 12 bedroom room which is packed when I arrived there but even though there's 12 of you in a room, you won't really notice them as the room seems a bit big and there's a lot of dividers that gives you privacy.

Disliked: I'm not sure really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Leming

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The interior is awesome! It is so modern and fun. We had fun watching some World Cup games on the big screen by the bar. San Marco is right across from Giudecca Island so it doesn't take long to get there. The beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The bathrooms were small and not private at all, but it is a hostel so I understand. Everything else was great, though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated downstairs. It's great for meeting fellow travellers. The boat ride to the Piazza San Marco is short and easy - great location of hostel, gets you away from the crowds. The bar downstairs is good if you just want to relax and have a drink after a tiring day getting lost in Venice!

Disliked: Nothing bad to report!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Design, bar, dorms themselves

Disliked: Very bad quality breakfast, arrogant front desk staff.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karishma Sehgal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Karishma would recommend this property

Liked: we had a little issue with the bookings, which was our fault as we had made two bookings for the same night. when we reached on the first night at nearly 1 am, we realised the problem. however the person at the reception was so kind to call up and find us a different hostel in the dead of the night at a reduced price and also refunded about 80% of our now useless first booking for 13 beds.

Disliked: Karishma left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sitting outside in the evenings gives you a great view of Venice across the canal.

Disliked: 5 minute ferry ride to the St Marc square is very convenient but expensive to do every day. If you stay here you need to factor that into the accommodation price.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Billington

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful decor, great atmosphere, very spacious and clean dorms, great range of facilities and freindly, helpful staff :)

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was that I had to leave!! :(

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view and the organization

Disliked: The breakfast (be warned the restaraunt and the breakfast are 2 different things)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, great atmosphere!

Disliked: Our rooms AC was not working

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: room is too small for dorm need more table for put something stuff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Libby Down

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Libby would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff always on hand to help with anything. The places they recommended to us were spot on and exactly what we wanted.

Disliked: Some of the drinks are a little more than I'm use to paying as a UK student

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My stay at the hostel was great. It was clean and the bed was really comfortable. It has a huge communal area which is a great place to get to know different ppl from different part of the world.

Disliked: The room looked a bit cramped with 16 bed it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really convenient to get everywhere from the hostel. We had a 72 hrs pass and I think that's the best value for your money. The hostel also has many places to charge your phone.

Disliked: They grown upon bringing outside food in but their food isn't that good so you have to work around that.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean dorms. Very good service and nice location.

Disliked: Music noise from the bar in the dorm. Cleaness of the bathrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krystina Lau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Krystina would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was a very nice facility. It was clean and well kept and I had a killer view from the top floor right over the canal. The location is great - I don't think people should complain about having to buy a bus (vaporetti) pass because you have to buy one anyway to get into Venice and if you want to travel around on any of the islands. The directions the hostel provided were spot on and I had no trouble finding it. The staff were very friendly and helpful to me and breakfast was quite nice. Beds were very comfortable and rooms very clean.

Disliked: Very minor things here and there. The showers (at least the one in my room) had almost no pressure. I did not like that we weren't allowed to bring our own food in. I realize there is a bar/cafe on the main floor but the food was mediocre and overpriced. I brought my own food in anyway - but it couldn't be anything you had to cook as you have no access to a kitchen. I felt too like this was a money grab. Still, though - a very good and comfortable hostel. Generator is by far a superior hostel chain.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very sleek. The atmosphere was very cool.

Disliked: A lot of guests were not very friendly. Not all of the staff were very friendly, either, but some of them were VERY helpful!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice location away from the main island. Helpful staff, cool bar, common area and nice big rooms.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels