HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Shiraz House

Guesthouse | 1002, Calle del Sottoportico Scuro, Venice, Italy 30121

69.5% Overall Rating

29 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"Calm and quiet, close to all the tourist attractions of venice. Good commodities as kitchen, washingmachine e.c.t."

Read all Shiraz House reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

San Girolamo Apartment
42.37 USD

Hostel 95.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
67.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Alberghiera Venezia
77.34 USD

Apartment 95.4% 5 reviews
Anonimo Veneziano
51.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Ai Due Leoni
100.87 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.8% 8 reviews
Ai Due Leoncini
94.15 USD

Hostel 77.9% 49 reviews
The Arches Venice
40.34 USD

Guesthouse 69.1% 163 reviews
Guest House Bella Venexia
40.35 USD

Guesthouse 49.8% 188 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.5%

Overall Rating

29 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shiraz House'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
72.0%
Value
64.8%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Calm and quiet, close to all the tourist attractions of venice. Good commodities as kitchen, washingmachine e.c.t.

Disliked: In the most touristic parts of venice.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Kevin Alexander

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014

Liked: Little bit big room .except this nothing i like

Disliked: DO NOT STAY THIS HOSTEL. YOU COULD STAY IN ANOTHER PROPERTY WHICH IS VERY FAR FROM TRAIN STATION when i arrive the hostel, one lady gave us the room(she doesnt speak english at all so its hard to communicate) But soon we need to move another property which is realllllly far from the train station. to move, we needed to carry our luggage. It was realllllly hard. We were sosososo exhaused to carry heavy our luggage. BUT young lady(receptionest) didnt give us any help. She just walked with her earphone on!! We were very angry but the owner seems like he was not that much feel sorry for us. It seems like we just take the room or leave WE EVEN PAYED MORE THAN WE SUPPOSED TO PAY Because there are hidden price We need to pay 3€per person for city tax Do not stay this hostel Its just the worst ever

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hari Krishna Shukla

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Hari Krishna would recommend this property

Liked: Near to railway station and in city centre

Disliked: Hari Krishna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhenia Astanovsky

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Zhenia would recommend this property

Liked: Not expencive. good location, kichen,Ei wifi.

Disliked: Zhenia left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 June 2014

Liked: The location. This was the only thing I liked about the property, very handy to the train station.

Disliked: The fact that we showed up and no one was at the house to let us in (and yes I did send an email saying what time we woudl arrive). Well there was an older gentleman at the kitchen but he ignored the door bell. We had to track down the owner by going to a bar on the corner and using thier phone. After waiting for about an hour he showed up. The place was clean but run down and full of mosquitos. As well there was no exterior door handle on the door. Why should this matter, we we had troubles getting into the house because to unlock the door you had to pull the door towards you to open...a tad challenging with only a key as the key kept turning around in the lock. It took us over half an hour to get into the house. Pay a few extra bucks and save yourself the headaches of this place. I have been to Venice before and my first location was great. This one not so much unless you are looking for a little extra adventure in your trip, wonder if the guy will show up, when and if you will be able to get in...then by all means but I do not recommend this place at all. I should have paid closer attention to the other reviews that ahd similar experiences with the owner and being around.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mandy Ord

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

09 June 2014

Liked: Location is fine & easy to find.

Disliked: Nothing! The description is deceiving. Pictures seem ok but once there the actual quality is poor. Accommodation is in need of TLC. On arrival, our shower was blocked, flooding into the room. Owner/manager was not answering his phone. Our neighbor let us use their shower. Help arrived much later to unblock the shower. Towels are no bigger than hand towels and threadbare. Stand alone fan didn't work. Room floor was dirty. Overall not value for money and I would not recommend this to any traveller unless you are really desperate. At best, may be suitable for student budget traveller.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we like location and Friendliness

Disliked: may be check in timing should be 1:00 pm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hannah roberts

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, felt safe walking back. Kitchen available. Clean. Very quiet location.

Disliked: The house is not labelled at all and there was no one there when we arrived so had to call and wait for them to show up but it is easy to find. The Internet did not work at all.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

moustafa youssef

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 May 2014 moustafa would recommend this property

Liked: room is clean, Owner is friendly, near train station but take care there is two train station in Venice

Disliked: this is not hotel its room in apartment very difficult to reach it although i send 2 mails to the hotel asking how to reach with no replay, google map give wrong direction, no one no this address, you are alone in the apartment so no services at all, , bath is very tight

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katharine Hale

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Katharine would recommend this property

Liked: Shiraz house was SUPER accommodating--they let us check in early and leave our luggage after checkout. We stayed in the budget double which was clean and comfortable, and the attached bathroom was clean with an easy-to-use shower. The wifi worked well in the room (had some issues in the afternoon but when we got back in the evening it was fine). The hosts were really nice and gave suggestions for area businesses, as well as a shelf in the fridge for our use and said we were free to use the kitchen (we didn't since we were only there for one night but it was a nice option to have!). Breakfast is not included but there was a bowl of fruit they had said we were welcome to and that was good enough for us! It's located right by the train station and was easy to find, and the area was not super touristy; the house felt like a real authentic Venetian experience :)

Disliked: However, there are some cons to the fact that it's in a non-touristy area. It was really quiet, which on one hand is a good thing but on the other it was just a bit unsettling when we were walking down the street alone at night. The house is in a very narrow, somewhat dark alleyway and as 2 college-aged girls we were nervous to go out at night. Nothing specifically happened to make us feel unsafe and it was all fine, these are just things that we think are good to know. Other than that, we didn't hear back from them concerning whether or not we would be able to check in early until the morning of our arrival, which was just a bit nerve-wracking (2 email addresses are provided for contact; I only emailed one the first time and never got a response. Emailed them both a couple days before and heard the morning of). Not a huge deal, though. The one thing they didn't have was maps of the city--we probably wouldn't have even thought of this if our B&B in Verona hadn't provided one, though. And our room was right by the kitchen and there were some people in there kind of late talking which was mildly annoying, but they were pretty easily drowned out by music. Overall the negatives are pretty minor and somewhat nit-picky. We really enjoyed our time here and would definitely recommend it, especially if you want to be off the beaten tourist path and not have to travel very far with luggage!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donald Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014 Donald would recommend this property

Liked: This is not a new building. It is located in a narrow alley and seems typically "Venetian" in character inside and out which adds to the charm of the accommodation. It was clean an although the receptionist/cleaner/assistant manager could not speak English, she was very helpful allowing us an early check in. Management were very helpful and willing to assist in any way possible.

Disliked: Its a little bit difficult to find first time because it is a private door located in a narrow alley. There is no actual sign advertising "Shiraz House". Also the vinyl floor coverings were deteriorating making it a bit difficult to open and close the bathroom door.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to the train station, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Carol Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014

Liked: The bed was comfortable,it's location

Disliked: Every thing except the comfy bed,thank goodness Venice is beautiful as that is the only thing that stopped us from leaving,we were late arriving and still our room was not made up,once we were left alone in our room we realized how dusty the room was and had to clean it,we couldn't use the drawers as they were also dusty .we had one coat hanger for four days stay. The lighting is so bad you cannot read at night. The plug in the sink didn't work,the shower head fell off first time we used it and wouldn't stay in it's holder,I have to say on contacting management the shower head was replaced . We had to ask for fresh towels, While there two other lots of guests arrived and had to wait for manager,one lot had to wait three hours to get the room made up . Our room on being shut up for the day always smelled like someone had left a bag go dirty socks and undies behind it was horrible. The whole place is very junky with clutter in all the cupboards,and the entrance hall I know we didn't pay the earth to stay here but when the only good thing about a room is the bed it's not good.we were told we had the best room in the place well god help anyone else who stayed here. How do I rate this place very very crappy,it would only take a bit of TLC and a decent clean to bring it up to standard Position wise it is perfect

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: Cleaning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emily campbell

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 April 2014 emily would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved staying here and would recommend to everyone. I stayed in the 2 bed apartment. It was like our own little house approximately a minute walk from the rialto bridge (not exaggerating). The owner is lovely and was a phone call away whenever we needed him. It literally is your own house for the week, with your own key, kitchen, 2 double beds and bathroom. No curfew and everything was spotless. We ended up paying about £20 a night each aswell which made it even more unbelievable. I loved it and if i even return i will definitely be returning to here. Perfect!!!! Thanks so much

Disliked: Absolutely nothing, perfect location. People who say it isnt safe clearly dont know venice. It is down an alley, but everything is down an alley in venice.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013

Liked: ...

Disliked: ...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: Close to shops and train station

Disliked: Waited for long before the owner came and let us in the house & Mixed up with the reservations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gideon Chew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Gideon would recommend this property

Liked: Never actually got to meet the owner, but his friend (who gave us the keys and let us into the house) was very friendly and helpful. The house itself was great; it's old and it isn't a hotel, but everything worked and there was even a kitchen to use. Enjoyed the stay there.

Disliked: The walk to the house was very dark at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mojtaba Zolfaghari Marzijarani

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

12 October 2013 Mojtaba would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Great location at the centre of Venice close to main attractions maximum 10 minutes walk to St Marco Piazza . Just 5 minutes walk to Rialto water bus station. Clean toilets and showers and kitchen. For sure we will recommend it to everyone.

Disliked: Mojtaba left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Fuss

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money spot in Venice. Big comfy bed. Be sure to let them know when you're arriving. Great help from staff about what to do in the city. Only a few minutes on foot to the train station.

Disliked: Nothing, was exactly as described!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Abrams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Shiraz House. The staff is very friendly and they keep the facilities very clean--they made sure that our room was spotless and had fresh linens and towels before we checked in. It's in a very safe area adjacent to Venice's Jewish Quarter and only a 15 minute walk from the Grand Canal.

Disliked: Its location is secure, but somewhat confusing. If I didn't have detailed instructions on how to get there, I definitely would have gotten lost. There are no signs or anything to indicate which guest house is Shiraz House, which can be a little confusing because it is among an entire row of guest houses. We were not given a specific check-in time and they are not great about phone comunication. However, the clean, friendly facilities make up for all of that. I would absoulutely stay there again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and cosy place! Good location if you don't want to be in the middle of the toerist crowd.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time at Shiraz house--nice little place in northern Venice, clean and comfortable. The owner is a lovely, laid-back guy who gave us recommendations for the two best restaurants we ate in during our 4-day stay. Neighborhood is fantastic, one of the few unspoiled areas left in Venice, with many charming cafes and restaurants nearby, off the beaten track. Other reviewers mentioned trouble getting into the apartment and all sorts of drama; we had none, and have no idea what they're talking about. Highly recommended, and great value for the money.

Disliked: n/a

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Unless you like dealing with crazy people, dont stay here.

The property's response is...


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels