HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Shiraz House

Guesthouse | 1002, Calle del Sottoportico Scuro, Venice, Italy 30121

70.8% Overall Rating

14 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/11/2013)

Gideon Chew thinks…

"Never actually got to meet the owner, but his friend (who gave us the keys and let us into the house) was very friendly and helpful. The house itself was great; it's old and it isn't a hotel, but…"

Read all Shiraz House reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

San Girolamo Apartment
43.51 USD

Hostel 95.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
73.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Alberghiera Venezia
79.43 USD

Apartment 95.2% 3 reviews
Anonimo Veneziano
71.83 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Ai Due Leoni
103.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.8% 8 reviews
Ai Due Leoncini
96.70 USD

Hostel 77.9% 49 reviews
The Arches Venice
41.43 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 140 reviews
Guest House Bella Venexia
41.44 USD

Guesthouse 51.0% 182 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.8%

Overall Rating

14 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shiraz House'

Atmosphere
65.5%
Location
82.7%
Facilities
70.0%
Cleanliness
67.3%
Staff
73.6%
Value
70.0%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013

Liked: ...

Disliked: ...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: Close to shops and train station

Disliked: Waited for long before the owner came and let us in the house & Mixed up with the reservations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gideon Chew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Gideon would recommend this property

Liked: Never actually got to meet the owner, but his friend (who gave us the keys and let us into the house) was very friendly and helpful. The house itself was great; it's old and it isn't a hotel, but everything worked and there was even a kitchen to use. Enjoyed the stay there.

Disliked: The walk to the house was very dark at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mojtaba Zolfaghari Marzijarani

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

12 October 2013 Mojtaba would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Great location at the centre of Venice close to main attractions maximum 10 minutes walk to St Marco Piazza . Just 5 minutes walk to Rialto water bus station. Clean toilets and showers and kitchen. For sure we will recommend it to everyone.

Disliked: Mojtaba left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Fuss

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money spot in Venice. Big comfy bed. Be sure to let them know when you're arriving. Great help from staff about what to do in the city. Only a few minutes on foot to the train station.

Disliked: Nothing, was exactly as described!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Abrams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Shiraz House. The staff is very friendly and they keep the facilities very clean--they made sure that our room was spotless and had fresh linens and towels before we checked in. It's in a very safe area adjacent to Venice's Jewish Quarter and only a 15 minute walk from the Grand Canal.

Disliked: Its location is secure, but somewhat confusing. If I didn't have detailed instructions on how to get there, I definitely would have gotten lost. There are no signs or anything to indicate which guest house is Shiraz House, which can be a little confusing because it is among an entire row of guest houses. We were not given a specific check-in time and they are not great about phone comunication. However, the clean, friendly facilities make up for all of that. I would absoulutely stay there again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and cosy place! Good location if you don't want to be in the middle of the toerist crowd.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time at Shiraz house--nice little place in northern Venice, clean and comfortable. The owner is a lovely, laid-back guy who gave us recommendations for the two best restaurants we ate in during our 4-day stay. Neighborhood is fantastic, one of the few unspoiled areas left in Venice, with many charming cafes and restaurants nearby, off the beaten track. Other reviewers mentioned trouble getting into the apartment and all sorts of drama; we had none, and have no idea what they're talking about. Highly recommended, and great value for the money.

Disliked: n/a

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Unless you like dealing with crazy people, dont stay here.

The property's response is...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mariia Chvan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: When we came to the House, the Russian girl opened the door and said, that she is owner's friend and there are no free places. Then she called to the owner, he confirmed that our booking means nothing for him and we cannot stay in the House. He offered to stay in another place, but it was not the place we wanted and it took 3 hours to find that place and he refused to make a refund. However few days before coming I received an email from him asking time of arrival!

The property's response is...


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels