HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Venice Garden

Hostel | Cannaregio 631, Venice, Italy 30131

65.8% Overall Rating

22 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/09/2014)

Irina Filatova thinks…

"Location is awesome - 15 minutes walk from train station and easy to find, only 1 bridge to cross (bridges in Venice are difficult to cross with luggage, so only 1 bridge is good news). Do not take…"

Read all Venice Garden reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Important Information

HOSTEL WILL CHECK YOUR CREDIT CARD BY PRE-AUTHORIZATION Bed Linen and Towels NOT included in the price - payable extra on arrival

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

The Arches Venice
37.94 USD

Guesthouse 72.2% 168 reviews
Hotel Tre Archi
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.3% 85 reviews
Ai Due Leoncini
88.55 USD

Hostel 77.9% 49 reviews
Hotel Ai Due Leoni
94.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.8% 8 reviews
Guest House Bella Venexia
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 49.1% 193 reviews
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
50.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Alberghiera Venezia
72.74 USD

Apartment 96.2% 6 reviews
Alloggi Agli Artisti Hostel
50.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 312 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.8%

Overall Rating

22 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Venice Garden'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
73.6%
Value
61.6%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irina Filatova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2014 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Location is awesome - 15 minutes walk from train station and easy to find, only 1 bridge to cross (bridges in Venice are difficult to cross with luggage, so only 1 bridge is good news). Do not take waterbus, it will cost 7 euro for 1 trip with luggage! There are no bunk beds in this hostel, thank goodness. Very small kitchen, and there's not much space, but it is clean and wi fi is working.

Disliked: There are no common spaces except for a small deck outside, kitchen is tiny. Also the owner never shows up at 14.00 and guests have to wait a long time to get checked in, but you can leave luggage and go for a walk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KWANHO KIM

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 KWANHO would recommend this property

Liked: The host is very kind to every tourist. So i stayed very convenienced.

Disliked: KWANHO left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014

Liked: The location was okey and in a quiet area, and it was easy to find by the description

Disliked: Everything else. We came a bit early as we were travelling and had to check out of the other hostel a bit eary (and also wanted to have as much time as possible in Venice since we were leaving the next morning)- and we then called the host to ask if someone could open so we at least could leave our backpacks cause we had such a short time in Venice. He just snapped and was really mad, kept screaming "why you come so early???" and things, and just hung up (We had accepted a NO, but the screaming was just to much- we actually were his CUSTOMERS). After we had waited until 2 am, which was the time to check in, he didnt show up at once, and we were tired of waiting, so we tried to call him again. He didnt answer, and when he showed up later he trew our phone at us, and was arguing and kept asking why we came so early. We tried to calm him down and explain but he didnt listen. And then we had to pay more than expected for the sheets ++ (not a big problem, but didnt got any information about it), and he gave us a key which was for the main-door only. We couldnt lock the door to the room, and the room was just a square filled with beds and not very clean. I found a pocketknife under my bed, not very pleasant (but i kept it in my pocket since we got a bit scared...). At the evening the host was at the hostel, and kept coming in to our room to talk to the ones we shared room with. Very unprofessional. Also the rooms had more beds than it says in the desciption. Wont recomend this place to anyone, gave us a really bad first impression of Venice....

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

chris McCormack

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: Couldn't check in till 2pm which meant i had to store my luggage at a shop nearby, wasted my only day in venice as i had to return half way through the day to check in then argue with the owner for 2 hours about the price i had booked on hostelbookers, he wanted to charge me more, he had no record of my booking and when i went online to show him he then rang hostelbookers for half an hour aguing about the price while i waited wasting my one day in venice. He then wanted to charge double the price listed on hostel bookers for linen which he forces everyone to pay for and does not accept credit card so i had to go looking for an atm which is probably at least 800 metres away. When i returned he was leaving the apartment and said he would be back in a minute. About 40 minutes later he returned but did not have any change so i had to go back down the street with him to get change. There is one toilet for 18 guests which means you may have to wait hours to go to the toilet or have a shower. If you are busting, you could go searching venice for a toilet which is always charged at 1.50 euro. Owner always proclaiming that if you want more than one toilet or any service whatsoever, you should pay more somewhere else. Not a pleasant experience.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite free to go out and come in, easy to find. The owner was friendly.

Disliked: 5 euros for sheet, and it's not optional. It was so cold at dawn.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rohit Samant

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 Rohit would recommend this property

Liked: Average property. The flush in the toilet was not working.

Disliked: Rohit left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

woosun shin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: Only location.

Disliked: The boss refused credit csrd, want only cash payments. And then he chared 3 times upon my credit card uding the information of my card that getting from reservation at your website. The name of Venice Garden is different with its credit card machine of this hostel. The boss of this hostel use that for bad desire of him. I am advising to you that you must kick off this hostel from your website.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Christoph Doerffel

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013

Liked: I slept okay in the bed.

Disliked: see above

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its convenience and the nice treatment of its manager

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lana Turner

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Lana would recommend this property

Liked: staff where extremely helpful and polite and everything was spotless.

Disliked: a crazy woman who turned up on my last night there who I had to share the female dorm with and who was very abusive and would not let me sleep but there was no one there to complain too at night. could have turned dangerous.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: They are unwilling to help you at all and If they are it will cost you more. The desk isn't manned at night or in the mornings. There is a perfectly good working kitchen which they won't let you use! It wasn't especially clean. The only decorations were signs telling you what you couldn't do. I booked a mixed dorm and when I arrived they told me I had to sleep in a different room to my girlfriend because they were male and female dorms. Lastly the owner was rude, aggressive and imtimidating! Worst hostel I've ever been to.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Yong Siew Teo

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Yong Siew would recommend this property

Liked: Given key for the 2 main doors. spacious room. helpful staff and a big balcony.

Disliked: only 1 toilet include bathroom for 18 guests and the queue is rather long.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for the price, iffy internet, but you get what you pay for. Clean beds and bathroom, quiet, secure.

Disliked: only one bathroom for up to 14 people

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013

Liked: A good distance from the train station!

Disliked: Unfortunately, this was a disappointing experience. When we arrived we were expecting to be put into a room with just the 4 of us in a mixed dorm room; however, we were put into a room that had not been cleaned nor had the old bedsheets been removed and it was with two other strangers. There were 6 total in the room, when I booked a room that was only for 4 people. We also were not given lockers. The kitchen was a mess and quite small. There was one bathroom for at least 12 people. There was only a fan to keep the room cool, but it really did not help the sauna feel. We opened the windows but then were eaten alive by mosquitos during the night, so it was unfortunately a poor experience. The highlight was meeting another traveller, and this place is also a good distance from the train station.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013

Liked: The location was ok.

Disliked: No towels, no key for the room, no decent sheet, no common area, no kitchen.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This was a very unprofessional atmosphere. There was no locks on the door, no maps, and the owner didn even have change for us when we tried to pay. They tried to charge you for every little thing like towels, sheets, and keeping your luggage. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap, clean, and central. A decent place for a cheap price.

Disliked: No kitchen or fridge to eat or store food. Only one bathroom for the whole hostel, inevitably leading queuing. My bed was too short.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Got to stay on Venice island.

Disliked: This was only a bed, there is no common area, one bathroom for 15 people, and very hard to find. Staff was strange, made you pay if you wanted to keep your bags there after 10am check out (they leave from 10am-3pm) so if you get there early you have no where to put your stuff. Bad mattresses and fairly expensive still. Book wisely...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Catherine O'Riordan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The was one bathroom for every person in the hostel - I had to wait 45 minutes in the morning to get in and be able to use the loo and get changed. Waste of time. Also the window pane in my dorm room was very loose, and every time a slight breeze blew it would bang against the frame and sound like people kicking dustbins around outside. I got one hours sleep the whole night. It is not organised professionally and the 'reception' area doesn't even have a computer to register the people staying.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Matthias Eisen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013

Liked: its located in Venice!

Disliked: Matthias left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we were here only for one night so its hard to speak a lot about place but i will try to make fair description. First of all it is really easy to find (it was my third time in Venice and at this city quite hard to find anything)) We booked 2 beds at room for 4 girls actually there were no room for 4 girls... there was room with 5 beds and room with 6 or 7 beds i do not remember, but in any case owner was really kind and we could choose room we like. at room you may find locker, bed with pillow, blanket (owner said that he offers us blankets for free... seems that it means that usually it is extra charge) one long sheet and one pillow cover + small lamp near bed. one shower connected with toilet for all guests, kitchen works from 7:00 till 22:00 but only for water boiling. Nice terrase with garden view. At 10 at morning is check out time so we left our luggage at Venice Garden (it is not free, you have to pay 2 eur for each bag) but as i already mentioned owner is so kind so he offered us a discount 6 euro for 2 bags + 2 ladys bags =)))))) and yes do not forget about city tax - 4 euro for each person for one night ;) Also nice owner offered us wine and coffee =)

Disliked: owner may come too room without knocking =))) kitchen only for water boiling

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff - in charming alleyway off a canal :). Very nice place to stay . Was provided with the tastiest coffee of my life so far - woth cinnamon - as free for breakfast in the morning. Great place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 October 2012

Liked: -the one (and only) staff was quite amicable -has a balcony

Disliked: - extra charge for linen, extra charge for using stove top, extra charge for map, extra charge for baggage storage - 10pm latest check-in was inconvenient - no keys given, so there's a midnight lockout - there is only one bathroom toilet (i.e. they are not separate). For a hostel that can house up to 8 people, the morning queue is ridiculous - no wifi

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ali Can ÖZTÜRK

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Ali Can would recommend this property

Liked: location is great

Disliked: sheets was 3€ the lockers do not seem secure you have to be in the hostel before 00.00


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels