We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Venice Garden

Hostel | Cannaregio 631, Venice, Italy 30131

69.5% Overall Rating

32 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2015)

"This is a very nice family run hostel. The owner of the hostel is a great person. He was incredibly helpful, even when I had an incident with the key of the main door. He was excellent at all time, and has a good…"

Read all Venice Garden reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Important Information

HOSTEL WILL CHECK YOUR CREDIT CARD BY PRE-AUTHORIZATION Bed Linen and Towels NOT included in the price (3.50€ each) - payable extra on arrival City tax is not included (actually is 4.00 € / person / night)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Hotel Tre Archi
42.49 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 96 reviews
Ai Due Leoncini
78.26 USD

Hostel 77.9% 49 reviews
Hotel Ai Due Leoni
50.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 9 reviews
Guest House Bella Venexia
33.54 USD

Guesthouse 53.1% 200 reviews
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
59.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Alberghiera Venezia
64.29 USD

Apartment 96.8% 8 reviews
Alloggi Agli Artisti Hostel
44.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.5% 318 reviews
Hotel Atlantide
35.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.6% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.5%

Overall Rating

32 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Venice Garden'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
74.4%
Value
64.8%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly boss. Clean and safe Good showers

Disliked: Nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Amy Schmidt

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2015

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: DO NOT STAY HERE! The owner of this establishment is rude, nasty, cheap and dishonest. When I arrived, he yelled at me for wearing a backpack because the hallway was narrow (in a backpackers' hostel!). Here is a list of reasons why you should not stay here: - Cash payments only accepted, despite the website saying credit card facilities available. Also, despite having to pay cash, the owner still took a payment on my credit card of over $150!!! He claimed that his is how "pre-authorisation" works which is supposedly mentioned on the website. He said I will have this charge on my card (and the associated fees) for THREE WEEKS before it is refunded! - The common area and kitchen are only available at the owners' whim, otherwise there is nowhere to be but on your bed, and the wifi doesn't reach all the rooms. - The sheets cost $3.50 EU to rent, but only include one sheet, leaving you with nothing to cover up with. - There are only 2 toilets for the whole place (and one seemed to be locked and only available to the owner) making for very long waits to shower or use the toilet. - The owner barely speaks English and often is not around, so don't expect any sort of help with directions or suggestions, and lots of difficulty communicating anything unless you speak Italian. - The rooms do not have locks, and the owner likes to wander in to the rooms, which made me feel unsafe. - The beds have less than 20cm between them, and on some nights they cram an extra one in the room, leaving almost no floor space. - The owner wanted $1 EU an hour for leaving your luggage behind. Besides being a ridiculously expensive price, you are simply out of luck if the owner isn't there when you want your luggage back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very nice family run hostel. The owner of the hostel is a great person. He was incredibly helpful, even when I had an incident with the key of the main door. He was excellent at all time, and has a good hearth. I absolutely recommend this hostel if you go to Venice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lim Sze Kuan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2015 Lim would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is nice and friendly.

Disliked: So far no.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 May 2015

Liked: The location - the train station was very accessible.

Disliked: There was no terrace garden as stated in the details and also no communal sitting area. The kitchen facilities were not available for use during my stay and a sign was on the door which was assumed was the kitchen, that it was not available for use until 9am... There were originally 6 beds in a what we thought was 4 bed dorm, this was then reduced to 5. You were not allowed to shower after midnight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pieter Malfliet

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2015 Pieter would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and warm hosts, On the relaxed teras we spent every evening together cooking, drinking, talking with the other guests and with Marco and Elena (the owners of the hostel), they did evrything to make it a pleasent stay for me and my girlfriend, even shared whine and food. The hostel is located in a less touristic part but still not far from evrything, there's also a boat stop 50 meters outside of the hostel. If we are comming back to Venice, this will defnenitly be our stay again:) greets Pieter and Mascha

Disliked: Pieter left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hassan @ Marco is very nice and friendly! Nice location, near to santa lucia train station convenient to catch morning train Easy to find Toilets are clean, beds are fine. Relatively cheaper than other accomodation

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Krutika Bavishi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2015

Liked: Location is not bad, but I could have paid same price and got similar locations, with much better customer service

Disliked: 1. Arrogant Customer Service: when I entered 2 hours earlier than the check out time, the door was slammed at my face asking me to come back when it is 1400. The owner says his time is very precious so dont waste his time. I was not allowed to even enter the hostel, let alone taking a bath. Hostels all over the world allow using showers , WIfI etc even if you are early. 2. RACIST comments: On openly discussing my problems with him, he said he was annoyed with me because INDIANS ASK TOO MANY QUESTIONS. My fellow Indians, please dont go there thinking its a cheap option, because first of all, it is expensive and importantly, dont get yourself insulted!!!! 2. Hidden Costs: I stayed two nights and had to pay 4 Euro *2 + 3 euros for bedsheets = 11 euros extra!! I told him I dont want the bedsheets but it seems it is mandatory!! 3. Wifi: No Wifi in rooms 4. No heating in rooms, also no hot water was available during my stay. The owner gave me a pot of hot water to wash my face, thats all. 5.No Privacy: If you wanted to stay in female dorm to have privacy, forget it, here there is no privacy. Men can enter as and when they like. The mens dorm is so close that there is almost no barrier 6. Limited access to kitchen: I wanted to use the kitchen in the morning to heat water as I wanted to leave early. But the owner does not allow people to enter when his wife is doing Yoga! He says exercise is very important!! Room Tip: Please Read reviews before booking hostels!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dusan Kojic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 Dusan would recommend this property

Liked: Location and good instructions on how to get there.

Disliked: Dusan left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very funny, At first he looks like stressed and not friendly but in fact he is totally the opposite! The place is nice, is not a hostel but more like a Bed & Breakfast without the Breakfast, in this case! My stay there was okay! In general was a good stay counting the fact that was already carnival in Venice so all the other places were much more expensive or were in an other part of the city, so, not with a location as good as this one.

Disliked: First of all they charged me the whole price of de stay before I arrive there! So it was a bit complex to explain everything to the owner, once he doesn't speaks English. But at the end everything was right about it and I didn't have to pay again! The other thing is that inspire of the room is very big the beds are very close of each other, so it makes a bit awkward when you are sleeping with a complete strange next to you.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irina Filatova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2014 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Location is awesome - 15 minutes walk from train station and easy to find, only 1 bridge to cross (bridges in Venice are difficult to cross with luggage, so only 1 bridge is good news). Do not take waterbus, it will cost 7 euro for 1 trip with luggage! There are no bunk beds in this hostel, thank goodness. Very small kitchen, and there's not much space, but it is clean and wi fi is working.

Disliked: There are no common spaces except for a small deck outside, kitchen is tiny. Also the owner never shows up at 14.00 and guests have to wait a long time to get checked in, but you can leave luggage and go for a walk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KWANHO KIM

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 KWANHO would recommend this property

Liked: The host is very kind to every tourist. So i stayed very convenienced.

Disliked: KWANHO left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014

Liked: The location was okey and in a quiet area, and it was easy to find by the description

Disliked: Everything else. We came a bit early as we were travelling and had to check out of the other hostel a bit eary (and also wanted to have as much time as possible in Venice since we were leaving the next morning)- and we then called the host to ask if someone could open so we at least could leave our backpacks cause we had such a short time in Venice. He just snapped and was really mad, kept screaming "why you come so early???" and things, and just hung up (We had accepted a NO, but the screaming was just to much- we actually were his CUSTOMERS). After we had waited until 2 am, which was the time to check in, he didnt show up at once, and we were tired of waiting, so we tried to call him again. He didnt answer, and when he showed up later he trew our phone at us, and was arguing and kept asking why we came so early. We tried to calm him down and explain but he didnt listen. And then we had to pay more than expected for the sheets ++ (not a big problem, but didnt got any information about it), and he gave us a key which was for the main-door only. We couldnt lock the door to the room, and the room was just a square filled with beds and not very clean. I found a pocketknife under my bed, not very pleasant (but i kept it in my pocket since we got a bit scared...). At the evening the host was at the hostel, and kept coming in to our room to talk to the ones we shared room with. Very unprofessional. Also the rooms had more beds than it says in the desciption. Wont recomend this place to anyone, gave us a really bad first impression of Venice....

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

chris McCormack

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: Couldn't check in till 2pm which meant i had to store my luggage at a shop nearby, wasted my only day in venice as i had to return half way through the day to check in then argue with the owner for 2 hours about the price i had booked on hostelbookers, he wanted to charge me more, he had no record of my booking and when i went online to show him he then rang hostelbookers for half an hour aguing about the price while i waited wasting my one day in venice. He then wanted to charge double the price listed on hostel bookers for linen which he forces everyone to pay for and does not accept credit card so i had to go looking for an atm which is probably at least 800 metres away. When i returned he was leaving the apartment and said he would be back in a minute. About 40 minutes later he returned but did not have any change so i had to go back down the street with him to get change. There is one toilet for 18 guests which means you may have to wait hours to go to the toilet or have a shower. If you are busting, you could go searching venice for a toilet which is always charged at 1.50 euro. Owner always proclaiming that if you want more than one toilet or any service whatsoever, you should pay more somewhere else. Not a pleasant experience.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite free to go out and come in, easy to find. The owner was friendly.

Disliked: 5 euros for sheet, and it's not optional. It was so cold at dawn.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rohit Samant

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 Rohit would recommend this property

Liked: Average property. The flush in the toilet was not working.

Disliked: Rohit left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

woosun shin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: Only location.

Disliked: The boss refused credit csrd, want only cash payments. And then he chared 3 times upon my credit card uding the information of my card that getting from reservation at your website. The name of Venice Garden is different with its credit card machine of this hostel. The boss of this hostel use that for bad desire of him. I am advising to you that you must kick off this hostel from your website.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Christoph Doerffel

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013

Liked: I slept okay in the bed.

Disliked: see above

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its convenience and the nice treatment of its manager

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lana Turner

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Lana would recommend this property

Liked: staff where extremely helpful and polite and everything was spotless.

Disliked: a crazy woman who turned up on my last night there who I had to share the female dorm with and who was very abusive and would not let me sleep but there was no one there to complain too at night. could have turned dangerous.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: They are unwilling to help you at all and If they are it will cost you more. The desk isn't manned at night or in the mornings. There is a perfectly good working kitchen which they won't let you use! It wasn't especially clean. The only decorations were signs telling you what you couldn't do. I booked a mixed dorm and when I arrived they told me I had to sleep in a different room to my girlfriend because they were male and female dorms. Lastly the owner was rude, aggressive and imtimidating! Worst hostel I've ever been to.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Yong Siew Teo

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Yong Siew would recommend this property

Liked: Given key for the 2 main doors. spacious room. helpful staff and a big balcony.

Disliked: only 1 toilet include bathroom for 18 guests and the queue is rather long.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for the price, iffy internet, but you get what you pay for. Clean beds and bathroom, quiet, secure.

Disliked: only one bathroom for up to 14 people

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013

Liked: A good distance from the train station!

Disliked: Unfortunately, this was a disappointing experience. When we arrived we were expecting to be put into a room with just the 4 of us in a mixed dorm room; however, we were put into a room that had not been cleaned nor had the old bedsheets been removed and it was with two other strangers. There were 6 total in the room, when I booked a room that was only for 4 people. We also were not given lockers. The kitchen was a mess and quite small. There was one bathroom for at least 12 people. There was only a fan to keep the room cool, but it really did not help the sauna feel. We opened the windows but then were eaten alive by mosquitos during the night, so it was unfortunately a poor experience. The highlight was meeting another traveller, and this place is also a good distance from the train station.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013

Liked: The location was ok.

Disliked: No towels, no key for the room, no decent sheet, no common area, no kitchen.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels