We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Venice Gold

Hostel | castello 3260, Venice, Italy 30122

87.4% Overall Rating

212 out of 235 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2014)

"It was a great atmosphere where I met almost everyone else staying and we actually ended up touring the city together. It was a really small place so the experience felt personalized and you really only interacted with…"

Read all Venice Gold reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.48
  • Breakfast USD 12.96
  • Towel USD 2.59

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Earliest check in : 2:00 pm Latest Check out : 10:30 am Lock out for cleaning :11am - 2 pm THE LATEST CHECK IN : 9:00 pm Check in after 9:00 pm incur in a 30 euro tax Please note! Cancellations only by email up to 5 days prior to arrival. If cancelled late or no show, we will charge the cost for the full stay. The City of Venice enforced a new tourist tax for visitors staying overnight, starting from August 24th 2011. The decision was taken by the City Council last June 23rd 2011, when the new tax regulations were approved, after the Italian Government passed the national law on "Regulations on the subject of municipal federalism", according to which local authorities are entitled to enforce tourist taxes in order to finance tourism, maintenance of cultural heritage sites and environment, as well as public services. The amount is of 3 euros per person per night . NO PETS ALLOWED

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Schiavoni Apartments
45.37 USD

Apartment 90.7% 4 reviews
CaSa Linger Hostel
38.89 USD

Hostel 72.6% 878 reviews
AWA Venice Aparthotel San Marco
36.82 USD

Hostel 72.1% 45 reviews
Amadeus B&B
67.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Art Flashpackers
51.85 USD

Hostel 55.4% 33 reviews
Youth Venice Home
32.40 USD

Hostel 47.0% 191 reviews
San Marco Dreams
42.13 USD

Hostel 80.8% 26 reviews
B&B Venice Hazel
25.92 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 102 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

212 out of 235 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Venice Gold'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 177 of 226 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great atmosphere where I met almost everyone else staying and we actually ended up touring the city together. It was a really small place so the experience felt personalized and you really only interacted with one staff - the owner. He was a nice guy and made it a point to ask about how your stay was going whenever he saw you. I also like that it wasn't a party hostel. While you could party and come and go as you please, I wasn't one of those mega hostels that organizes club nights/pub crawls.

Disliked: While very nice and accommodating for me, the owner is very opinionated and does have a particular way of doing things. He is very strict on his rules (which are posted everywhere) and actually scolded a guest for bringing a friend in to wait while another guest quickly changed clothes to go out again. That being said, follow the rules or you'll feel like you're walking on eggshells.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

eyal kadosh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 eyal would recommend this property

Liked: Small hostel that has privet rooms, not expensive, there is a kitchen and WiFi. The man is very helpful. It's in a good location.

Disliked: For every extra request we need to pay Air condition Towels Londry

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, incredibly informative staff, great location

Disliked: A little hard to find, but the directions are very good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The man in charge was really lovely and friendly. He gave us lots of useful information about where all the nearest places were and he spoke really good English. Our room was lovely and big. The bathrooms were shared but we never had to wait long for one to be available although most of the time we didn't have to wait at all. It's in a really good location. It's nice and close to St Mark's Square but it's on a quiet street so we weren't disturbed by outside noise. There were some nice cafes and restaurants nearby. It's a really nice place to stay and we had a wonderful time! :D

Disliked: I can't really think of anything I disliked. We had a great time!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014

Liked: The location was perfect, the room was nice, bathrooms were very clean.

Disliked: The staff was pretty helpful with directions and suggestions, however half the time they were pretty rude. A simple question about hostel amenities would often result in a defensive and rude remark. Also, we were kicked off the beautiful balcony at a pretty early hour even though we were talking at a very low volume. Also, I guess the hostel doesn't want to pay for gas to power their stove so don't believe the listing, there aren't any cooking amenities (which was definitely a reason why we chose the spot in the first place).

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly,knowledgeable about Venice and his suggestions for where to go was spot on.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jinwook Oh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Jinwook would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs is a very kind! They are trying to help us sincerely, and careful about cleaness.

Disliked: At first, a little difficult to find it. Just it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were allowed access to the kitchen: microwave, fridge, dishes, toaster, tea and coffee, utensils. There was a nice balcony for eating or lounging. The location was actually pretty perfect. Not too far at all from main attractions. The manager was very nice and helpful. Heprovides a map and ddirections to neat places. Wonderful place overall.

Disliked: Nothing at all, honestly. :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alix Kreder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Alix would recommend this property

Liked: George is an awesome guy and was always there willing to help with advice or anything else. The hostel is also in a good place in my opinion. Maybe not super easy to find but anyone complaining about that is just being picky as anything in Venice takes time and patience to find and with the directions George has on the site it's actually pretty easy to find from st. Marco's square. The rooms were spacious and clean as well with lockers for your stuff.

Disliked: Not really any negatives. Maybe not being able to cook in the kitchen but that was not a big deal for me. Coffee and tea free and lots of utensils and a microwave.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anastasiia Volkova

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

25 May 2014 Anastasiia would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful stuff. Not far away from the center. But a bit more expensive than expected. And besides Venice introduced tourist tax 4€/person/day payed at hotel. So be aware

Disliked: A little bit of noise not ideal sound isolation but very good nevertheless

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very central and the directions were very clear. the guy manning the desk is very friendly and easy to chat to. had some great conversations with him when my friend & I had finished exploring Venice for the day. the room was very spacious for 6 beds and the beds were comfy.

Disliked: could have had a better atmosphere. didn't have a place for people / random strangers to congregate and strike up a conversation. individual lights for the beds would have been nice

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location! It was only a 10 minute walk to Piazza San Marco. The hostel is also very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruce Benson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Bruce would recommend this property

Liked: A quiet hostel about ten minutes from Piazza San Marco. George is an exceptional host who cheerfully let you practice your Italian or accommodates you in xlnt English. This is a small, clean, safe place with a good vibe. Good directions on how to find it. Trust what George has.written because it is easy to get lost in Venice.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Luisa Marchesi

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Maria Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very nice, the manager was most friendly and the location is great, near to the piazza san marco.

Disliked: This property didn't dislike

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Long Li

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Long would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, kind and exciting man

Disliked: Long left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Menezes

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Well priced

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable , clean and close to main square

Disliked: They have really strict rules. For kitchen and balcony they have certain time when you can use. And you can not stay at hostel between 11 am - 2pm

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like friendliness and helpfulness staff. He help us.

Disliked: Everything was good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and friendly environment! Very close to the centre.

Disliked: None!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very x100 clean and neat, and the staff was very kind and helpful.

Disliked: Location is hard to find to first visitor.. that's all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, secure, quiet, close to San Marco Square, very friendly and helpful owner, free maps, supermarket and shops/takeaways nearby

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

qiang zhang

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 qiang would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the sites, two nice restaurant close to the hotel.

Disliked: qiang left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very helpful staff, excellent location

Disliked: small wadrobe for the luggage

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maxime Vandermuntert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Maxime would recommend this property

Liked: very nice location, great architecture!

Disliked: Maxime left no negative feedback.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels