We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Venice Gold

Hostel | castello 3260, Venice, Italy 30122

90.1% Overall Rating

229 out of 253 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/05/2015)

"great hostel! Extremely friendly and helpful owner, with recommendations for restaurants, groceries, sights, etc. and a free map to boot (an absolute necessity in Venice). Bathrooms clean and well-kept. Bathrooms are…"

Read all Venice Gold reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.46
  • Breakfast USD 10.92
  • Towel USD 2.18

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Earliest check in : 2:00 pm Latest Check out : 10:30 am Lock out for cleaning :11am - 2 pm THE LATEST CHECK IN : 9:00 pm Check in after 9:00 pm incur in a 30 euro tax Please note! Cancellations only by email up to 5 days prior to arrival. If cancelled late or no show, we will charge the cost for the full stay. The City of Venice enforced a new tourist tax for visitors staying overnight, starting from August 24th 2011. The decision was taken by the City Council last June 23rd 2011, when the new tax regulations were approved, after the Italian Government passed the national law on "Regulations on the subject of municipal federalism", according to which local authorities are entitled to enforce tourist taxes in order to finance tourism, maintenance of cultural heritage sites and environment, as well as public services. The amount is of 3 euros per person per night . NO PETS ALLOWED

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

CaSa Linger Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 75.1% 887 reviews
AWA Venice Apartments
40.94 USD

Hostel 72.8% 57 reviews
Art Flashpackers
54.59 USD

Hostel 54.9% 34 reviews
Youth Venice Home
32.75 USD

Hostel 48.2% 192 reviews
San Marco Dreams
38.21 USD

Hostel 80.8% 30 reviews
B&B Venice Hazel
21.83 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 113 reviews
Hotel Alloggi Barbaria
43.67 USD

Hostel 84.1% 141 reviews
A Venice Emerald 1&2
136.46 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

229 out of 253 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Venice Gold'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 191 of 245 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel! Extremely friendly and helpful owner, with recommendations for restaurants, groceries, sights, etc. and a free map to boot (an absolute necessity in Venice). Bathrooms clean and well-kept. Bathrooms are shared and it can be hard to get access sometimes. Note: towels not provided, but sheets and blankets are provided and seem clean and fresh. Lockers provided free, but keys can open multiple lockers, so that's awkward. Really good wifi. Easy to walk to main areas, but is in fairly out of the way area so it's easy to get away from touristy places. Directions to get to hostel are great and we found our way to the hostel fairly painlessly, even on our first night there! Don't forget to read the fine print on requiring you to bring cash and on the added fee for late checkins!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Manuela Assunção Oliveira

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2015 Manuela would recommend this property

Liked: A localização, perto de farmácia, mercadinho, bares e restaurantes, além de ser perto da estação San Zacaria.

Disliked: nada a reclamar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good. Room was really comfortable and clean. Owner was really nice to us and helpful. I really like this hostel and next time i will chose the same ;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Liber Batalla

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2015 Liber would recommend this property

Liked: Really quiet and clean. The only staff member that I met was really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: A little hard to find at first, but everything is hard to find in Venice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Stacey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2015 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the hostel was extremely polite, helpful and friendly. I was given a map and information on the best places to eat and see. The hostel had compfier beds than the one I have at home and was very relaxed, the rooms are massive which is great. There are rules in place but as long as you are respectful enough to follow them then you won't have any issues! I would definately come back to this hostel, it's so close to the main square so if you get lost, head for it and you'll be fine! Overall great experience :-)

Disliked: Eva left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the hostel, it was very clean and very easy To Find with the instructions. It was also easy To Find Again later because it was close To a shopping street and a Church. I also liked that it was located in an area where mostly locals are living

Disliked: You could not cook your own meals and there was no breakfast, Since all supermarkten close before 8 This was pretty inconvenient. If it doesnt matter for the price id rather stay in the western part from san marco, as there you are able To get take away pizza and it is more lively at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christina Mitzali

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2015 christina would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location very clean and comfortable just

Disliked: The fact that you feel a little pressed cause there are many rules.. Like take shower very fast... But still all the rules keep the place organized

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was really nice and had a lot of useful tips on what to visit in Venice and where to get the best icecream for instance. The hostel is also very secure, and very well situated: only 5mn away from Piazza San Marco, which is absolutely great. Everything was also very clean and tidy. I highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2015

Liked: clean. much space. nice rooms.

Disliked: we arrived after 10 hours travelling at six o clock. we felt treated from the staff like children. he gave us so many information, rules, things to do, we couldn't make it. then we didn't read the text about "cash only" (yes, our fault). so we had to pay right now (till 8). we had cash to pay night 1, but the staff didn't accept, so we had to get cash on the atm (it's not too easy when you are the first time in florence) and had to pay both nights imediatly. that was sad and a really bad welcome to venice.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Venice Gold sets a much higher standard on how to be a good hostel. It was so clean (room, shower, kitchen, common room), my grandfather would bestow it a gold medal if he had stayed there. I like it that there were only three beds in my room (which was very spacious), makes it less crowded even when it's full house. I also like the possibility to use the kitchen (no stove but equipped with complete utensils, fridge, microwave, and electric kettle). There was a supermarket nearby should you need to stock-up. In short, I wouldn't look at other place if I'm to come back to Venice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff. clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Chapman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2015 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: You could not ask for better staff as the owner went out of his way to help us plan the next part of our trip and was extremely accommodating when we were there. Plus he has lots of knowledge about the area.

Disliked: Greg left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Travis Dees

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, it was fun to walk the streets to get there. the staff was amazing, he felt like a friend.

Disliked: I really have no complaints.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The proprietor of the hostel was extremely friendly and helpful in providing great and inexpensive recommendations on where to eat, sight see and on what to do. Our room was clean, location was great with very good proximity to San Marco Place and the Arsenale as well.

Disliked: Walls were very thin so you could easily hear guests in other rooms and the hallway and thus had to be very quiet at night so as not to disturb others. The hostel itself wasn't very big though in terms of number of guests so it wasn't that big of a problem. It's also not the easiest place to find

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great atmosphere where I met almost everyone else staying and we actually ended up touring the city together. It was a really small place so the experience felt personalized and you really only interacted with one staff - the owner. He was a nice guy and made it a point to ask about how your stay was going whenever he saw you. I also like that it wasn't a party hostel. While you could party and come and go as you please, I wasn't one of those mega hostels that organizes club nights/pub crawls.

Disliked: While very nice and accommodating for me, the owner is very opinionated and does have a particular way of doing things. He is very strict on his rules (which are posted everywhere) and actually scolded a guest for bringing a friend in to wait while another guest quickly changed clothes to go out again. That being said, follow the rules or you'll feel like you're walking on eggshells.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

eyal kadosh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 eyal would recommend this property

Liked: Small hostel that has privet rooms, not expensive, there is a kitchen and WiFi. The man is very helpful. It's in a good location.

Disliked: For every extra request we need to pay Air condition Towels Londry

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, incredibly informative staff, great location

Disliked: A little hard to find, but the directions are very good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The man in charge was really lovely and friendly. He gave us lots of useful information about where all the nearest places were and he spoke really good English. Our room was lovely and big. The bathrooms were shared but we never had to wait long for one to be available although most of the time we didn't have to wait at all. It's in a really good location. It's nice and close to St Mark's Square but it's on a quiet street so we weren't disturbed by outside noise. There were some nice cafes and restaurants nearby. It's a really nice place to stay and we had a wonderful time! :D

Disliked: I can't really think of anything I disliked. We had a great time!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014

Liked: The location was perfect, the room was nice, bathrooms were very clean.

Disliked: The staff was pretty helpful with directions and suggestions, however half the time they were pretty rude. A simple question about hostel amenities would often result in a defensive and rude remark. Also, we were kicked off the beautiful balcony at a pretty early hour even though we were talking at a very low volume. Also, I guess the hostel doesn't want to pay for gas to power their stove so don't believe the listing, there aren't any cooking amenities (which was definitely a reason why we chose the spot in the first place).

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly,knowledgeable about Venice and his suggestions for where to go was spot on.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jinwook Oh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Jinwook would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs is a very kind! They are trying to help us sincerely, and careful about cleaness.

Disliked: At first, a little difficult to find it. Just it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were allowed access to the kitchen: microwave, fridge, dishes, toaster, tea and coffee, utensils. There was a nice balcony for eating or lounging. The location was actually pretty perfect. Not too far at all from main attractions. The manager was very nice and helpful. Heprovides a map and ddirections to neat places. Wonderful place overall.

Disliked: Nothing at all, honestly. :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alix Kreder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Alix would recommend this property

Liked: George is an awesome guy and was always there willing to help with advice or anything else. The hostel is also in a good place in my opinion. Maybe not super easy to find but anyone complaining about that is just being picky as anything in Venice takes time and patience to find and with the directions George has on the site it's actually pretty easy to find from st. Marco's square. The rooms were spacious and clean as well with lockers for your stuff.

Disliked: Not really any negatives. Maybe not being able to cook in the kitchen but that was not a big deal for me. Coffee and tea free and lots of utensils and a microwave.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anastasiia Volkova

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

25 May 2014 Anastasiia would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful stuff. Not far away from the center. But a bit more expensive than expected. And besides Venice introduced tourist tax 4€/person/day payed at hotel. So be aware

Disliked: A little bit of noise not ideal sound isolation but very good nevertheless


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels