We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Smart Holiday

Guesthouse | cannaregio 1981, Venice, Italy 30121

73.5% Overall Rating

29 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2015)

"It is a very cosy and small hostel in a very super location in Venice. Only 2 rooms, so it is very quite and not massive at all. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Only 15 min walk form Piazale Roma or 10 from…"

Read all Smart Holiday reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Angolo Sconto
49.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
hostel santa fosca
26.65 USD

Hostel 76.9% 12 reviews
A Venice Fish
27.77 USD

Hostel 60.6% 883 reviews
Casa del Melograno
27.77 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 20 reviews
Hotel Leonardo
38.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 376 reviews
Venice casa Diedo
44.42 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 42 reviews
Venice Luxury
38.87 USD

Hostel 87.2% 134 reviews
Antica Raffineria
38.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.5%

Overall Rating

29 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Holiday'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Damien Lemoine

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2015 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: There is no curfew and the staff are extremely friendly.

Disliked: Quite thin walls so you can hear others in the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

12 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very cosy and small hostel in a very super location in Venice. Only 2 rooms, so it is very quite and not massive at all. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Only 15 min walk form Piazale Roma or 10 from Train Station. Recommendation: If you carry big bags and do not want to go up and down stairs in the Venice bridges take the ferry directly from the airport (Alilaguna). It is only 30 minutes and leaves you very close!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SE YOUNG KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2015 SE YOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: I can enjoy venezia thanks to Smart holiday. Most of all, it is very near by station. So it is easy to find out smart holiday. Smart holiday is calm and clean. Specialy the staff is very kind!! Thanks :)

Disliked: .

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hossein Moghasem

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 May 2015 hossein would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly,it was worth it for the price we paid and we like the manager YASIN he was helpful to tell us where we can go for shopping and visiting the places in venice. thanks YASIN HOPE WE SEE YOU AGAIN ☺

Disliked: hossein left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudio Dos Santos

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 April 2014 Claudio would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything, good conditions and friendly people!

Disliked: Location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jj jay

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 January 2014 jj would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. From S.lucia st just take 10min. To Rialto bridge and S.marco square in 10min. Supermarket in 10sec. very clean and kind staffs.

Disliked: jj left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although small, everything you need is here. Staff are very friendly and it's always clean!! Supermarket two minute walk and kitchen to cook.

Disliked: Nothings

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kathryn Dwyer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location in actual Venice, unlike a lot of the hostels which are in Mestre, good kitchen facilities

Disliked: Only one shower/toilet for the whole hostel, showers cold and not the cleanest, doesn't have the best atmosphere

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Vilmar Ribeiro da Silva Junior

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chee Meng Yong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Chee Meng would recommend this property

Liked: Though some have written badly about this. I find this place to be really good and quiet. Clean sheets, very helpful staff. Take your bags for you. The reason why they have the 1981 location is so that it is easy for people to find and then bring you to the accommodation which is only 5 mins away. Make sure you notify them of your arrival time.

Disliked: A bit small but since my stay was short that didnt matter. As in all Venetian homes, they are all small though.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013

Liked: The attendance was very rude, hostel was in a place and then changed to other location.. there are nobody there. Now i now why. It's terrible. I didn't like it. It doesn't worth the money you pay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very safe. I left my Ipod lie around for over 24 hours and when I came back, it was still there. The location was near to a vaporetto station.

Disliked: I was the only not South Korean in this hostel. There was only one toilet for 10 people. It was 30 minutes walking distance away from Piazzale Roma and not 10 minutes as descript by the hotel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Minglei Yang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Minglei would recommend this property

Liked: there is a public kitchen and the stuff is very nice.

Disliked: the room is very small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: None

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

kok hwa wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013

Liked: What I like is the owner is very nice and friendly.

Disliked: It really far away from bus station or train station. U need to walk more than 30 minutes to reach this travel agency( the property is the other side) After that only go to hostel from the office. It is terrible for those who are backpacker bring backpack and walk to search for the hostel. Be bear in mind, no one will be in the office.you need to call the office number then only she will come and lead you to the hostel.( about few minutes walk from the travel agency office).

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anil Sehitoglu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013

Liked: Staff were nice and helpful. Location is good too.

Disliked: Unfortunately the room was very dirty. I have stayed many hostels in my life but haven't ever seen a dirty hostel like this. There were lots of mosquitos in the room and also dead mosquitos on the walls. Linen wasn't seemed clean neither, it had taints (hopefully it wasn't from mosquito blood). Also there were only one bathroom/toilet. And the room doesn't have anything to do with the pictures they presented.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and quiet. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: They need to post somewhere on their site that that don't accept credit cards. They claimed they do but I never saw it even when I looked later on. Also, the room was really hot at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Beale

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013

Liked: I felt safe. The man at the desk knew the area and how to get to the tourist places. It was clean.

Disliked: It was alot further away and harder to find than what they had advertised. Then I found out I was not to stay at that hostel but at another one further away from the train station. It was not the properlty that I believed I had booked so my trust quotient dropped a lot. As I was concerned about taht , I dob't rememver if HostelBookers was promoted at the hostel

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013

Liked: The staff was quite nice, the guy even helped us bring our luggage to the second house where we had to stay (see dislikes...). Also, pretty cheap for Venice. It's O.K. for a nigh but... not really cool.

Disliked: First, we had to search for the hostel for more than 1h because the directions are so not clear and we can't see the sign for the hostel (check for an appartment, use the numbers, not a hostel sign!). Then, when we finally got there (it's more of a 15 minute walk... I have no clue how fast they walk but to make it a 5 minute ''walk'', you'd have to run & bump into people), they made us walk another 5 minutes to get to a second house where we stayed. The smell was aweful and it was NOT clean at all...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with a really nice atmosphere. Feels a bit like sharing a large flat with a family. Everyone was very friendly, the staff kind and helpful and the facilities clean. Good location too at the heart of Venice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Chor Hiang Tan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013

Liked: N.A.

Disliked: Poor staff, location and living conditions

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: definitely not a 24 hour reception.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

NICOLAS SANTIAGO RODRIGUEZ PULECIO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 NICOLAS SANTIAGO would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sugam Kuchhal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

12 November 2012 Sugam would recommend this property

Liked: Good and spacious, considering that Venice is so tightly packed. Near to train station and super market. Friendly people at reception. Total value for money, given the expensive city this is.

Disliked: No maps provided. Clean toilets but only 2 for about 15 people. Every house is practically on the street in Venice and so is this one. Noises can be clearly heard in the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sangrok Han

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 November 2012 Sangrok would recommend this property

Liked: good location and clean bathroom close to vaporetto stop easy to find. good atmosphere kind staff

Disliked: nothing


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels