HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Smart Holiday

Guesthouse | cannaregio 1981, Venice, Italy 30121

68.8% Overall Rating

24 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2014)

jj jay thinks…

"Good location. From S.lucia st just take 10min. To Rialto bridge and S.marco square in 10min. Supermarket in 10sec. very clean and kind staffs."

Read all Smart Holiday reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

hostel santa fosca
33.17 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
A Venice Fish
24.88 USD

Hostel 78.6% 797 reviews
Casa del Melograno
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 20 reviews
Hotel Leonardo
48.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 371 reviews
Venice casa Diedo
55.28 USD

Guesthouse 73.3% 39 reviews
Venice Luxury
34.55 USD

Hostel 80.9% 86 reviews
Antica Raffineria
51.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Al Campanile Madonna Dell'Orto
58.04 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.8%

Overall Rating

24 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Holiday'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
76.0%
Value
65.6%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jj jay

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 January 2014 jj would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. From S.lucia st just take 10min. To Rialto bridge and S.marco square in 10min. Supermarket in 10sec. very clean and kind staffs.

Disliked: jj left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although small, everything you need is here. Staff are very friendly and it's always clean!! Supermarket two minute walk and kitchen to cook.

Disliked: Nothings

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kathryn Dwyer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location in actual Venice, unlike a lot of the hostels which are in Mestre, good kitchen facilities

Disliked: Only one shower/toilet for the whole hostel, showers cold and not the cleanest, doesn't have the best atmosphere

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Vilmar Ribeiro da Silva Junior

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chee Meng Yong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Chee Meng would recommend this property

Liked: Though some have written badly about this. I find this place to be really good and quiet. Clean sheets, very helpful staff. Take your bags for you. The reason why they have the 1981 location is so that it is easy for people to find and then bring you to the accommodation which is only 5 mins away. Make sure you notify them of your arrival time.

Disliked: A bit small but since my stay was short that didnt matter. As in all Venetian homes, they are all small though.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013

Liked: The attendance was very rude, hostel was in a place and then changed to other location.. there are nobody there. Now i now why. It's terrible. I didn't like it. It doesn't worth the money you pay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very safe. I left my Ipod lie around for over 24 hours and when I came back, it was still there. The location was near to a vaporetto station.

Disliked: I was the only not South Korean in this hostel. There was only one toilet for 10 people. It was 30 minutes walking distance away from Piazzale Roma and not 10 minutes as descript by the hotel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Minglei Yang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Minglei would recommend this property

Liked: there is a public kitchen and the stuff is very nice.

Disliked: the room is very small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: None

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

kok hwa wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013

Liked: What I like is the owner is very nice and friendly.

Disliked: It really far away from bus station or train station. U need to walk more than 30 minutes to reach this travel agency( the property is the other side) After that only go to hostel from the office. It is terrible for those who are backpacker bring backpack and walk to search for the hostel. Be bear in mind, no one will be in the office.you need to call the office number then only she will come and lead you to the hostel.( about few minutes walk from the travel agency office).

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anil Sehitoglu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013

Liked: Staff were nice and helpful. Location is good too.

Disliked: Unfortunately the room was very dirty. I have stayed many hostels in my life but haven't ever seen a dirty hostel like this. There were lots of mosquitos in the room and also dead mosquitos on the walls. Linen wasn't seemed clean neither, it had taints (hopefully it wasn't from mosquito blood). Also there were only one bathroom/toilet. And the room doesn't have anything to do with the pictures they presented.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and quiet. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: They need to post somewhere on their site that that don't accept credit cards. They claimed they do but I never saw it even when I looked later on. Also, the room was really hot at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Beale

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013

Liked: I felt safe. The man at the desk knew the area and how to get to the tourist places. It was clean.

Disliked: It was alot further away and harder to find than what they had advertised. Then I found out I was not to stay at that hostel but at another one further away from the train station. It was not the properlty that I believed I had booked so my trust quotient dropped a lot. As I was concerned about taht , I dob't rememver if HostelBookers was promoted at the hostel

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013

Liked: The staff was quite nice, the guy even helped us bring our luggage to the second house where we had to stay (see dislikes...). Also, pretty cheap for Venice. It's O.K. for a nigh but... not really cool.

Disliked: First, we had to search for the hostel for more than 1h because the directions are so not clear and we can't see the sign for the hostel (check for an appartment, use the numbers, not a hostel sign!). Then, when we finally got there (it's more of a 15 minute walk... I have no clue how fast they walk but to make it a 5 minute ''walk'', you'd have to run & bump into people), they made us walk another 5 minutes to get to a second house where we stayed. The smell was aweful and it was NOT clean at all...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with a really nice atmosphere. Feels a bit like sharing a large flat with a family. Everyone was very friendly, the staff kind and helpful and the facilities clean. Good location too at the heart of Venice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Chor Hiang Tan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013

Liked: N.A.

Disliked: Poor staff, location and living conditions

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: definitely not a 24 hour reception.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

NICOLAS SANTIAGO RODRIGUEZ PULECIO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 NICOLAS SANTIAGO would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sugam Kuchhal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

12 November 2012 Sugam would recommend this property

Liked: Good and spacious, considering that Venice is so tightly packed. Near to train station and super market. Friendly people at reception. Total value for money, given the expensive city this is.

Disliked: No maps provided. Clean toilets but only 2 for about 15 people. Every house is practically on the street in Venice and so is this one. Noises can be clearly heard in the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sangrok Han

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 November 2012 Sangrok would recommend this property

Liked: good location and clean bathroom close to vaporetto stop easy to find. good atmosphere kind staff

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monika Ríhová

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean, shower and toilet as well. Really friendly and helpfull staff and great atmospehere :).The location is more then perfect and easy to find ( it was really appreciate in Venice:))..I highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Monika left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, 20 mins walk from bus station, 2 mins to billa shop, 5 mins to water buses

Disliked: common area together with reception so no place to meet up with other travelers really, also some people were very noisy till 3am and haven't been said to quiet down.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catherine Callaghan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Location is AMAZING, pretty easy 10-15 minute walk to the main train station, on a canal, right next to a supermarket, close to gelato place, sandwich place, really good and cheap pizza takeaway place (Arte della Pizza - check it out!), tons of restaurants/cafes/shops, even a park! The kitchen is basic but useful and nice. Although I was displeased that there was no lock on the door of our shared room (4 females), I ended up feeling very safe, the atmosphere was so homey I didn't feel I had to worry. Wifi worked well, shared bathroom was made easier to handle by separating the sink, shower, and toilet so multiple people could use the bathroom at once, was much more efficient than other shared single bathroom situations I've had to deal with. Considering how cheap it was and how incredibly expensive everything else was, in the end we were just glad to be able to stay comfortably in Venice without breaking the bank.

Disliked: It's definitely a budget accommodation, not fancy though not ugly, rooms are small, bathroom is small, the whole place is small, basically it's just a house but there are lots of beds in the bedrooms. Don't expect hotel-like services such as little soaps and fluffy towels etc. There aren't locks on all the room doors, I was pretty mad about that at first but it ended up not mattering because the place made me feel safe. Also beware of using Google Maps to find it, I entered the address and got directed to a totally wrong place!! If you use Google Maps and it tells you to go near the Hotel Tre Archi that's totally wrong, look at the HostelBookers-provided map instead, that one is correct.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels