HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of The Arches Venice

Guesthouse | Fondamenta di Cannaregio 925, 30121, Venezia Venice, Italy 30121

77.9% Overall Rating

128 out of 140 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

Mihaela Druga thinks…

"Excellent location for a good price, free tea and coffee,quiet area but still close to the main attractions,friendly and helpful staff"

Read all The Arches Venice reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.14

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Hotel Tre Archi
41.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.6% 80 reviews
Guest House Bella Venexia
41.41 USD

Guesthouse 51.0% 182 reviews
Venice Garden
42.79 USD

Hostel 65.7% 26 reviews
Hotel Ai Due Leoni
103.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.8% 8 reviews
Ai Due Leoncini
96.63 USD

Hostel 77.9% 49 reviews
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
73.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Alberghiera Venezia
79.38 USD

Apartment 95.2% 3 reviews
Shiraz House
41.41 USD

Guesthouse 70.8% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

128 out of 140 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Arches Venice'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 96 of 139 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mihaela Druga

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Mihaela would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for a good price, free tea and coffee,quiet area but still close to the main attractions,friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Mihaela left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Judit Kocsis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013

Liked: the hostel is clean and has a good location

Disliked: first night I had a room mate and the heating was ok from the second night I was alone in the whole building and I realised after returning to the hotel late in the evening that there was no heating at all I tried to tell the staff but I could not do anything because there was nobody in the building next morning I left a message what I have found in the evening at the same place unopened, then I lost my patience and I called a number to ask them to heat the room, a woman promised me to come but she did not I spent 2 horrible ice-cold nights at the hotel, I wanted to get warm by taking a shower no hot water only a little bit warm, which was not enough for me to get better sorry to say but I could not enjoy my stay, I had to spend my day from early in the morning till late at night somewhere else not to get frozen I understand that the heating for one person is not economic, but in this case the hostel should be closed in winter, I do not recommend it from November till April not to get cold please note, I have travelled with my children all over the world and spent many nights in hostels, I have never made any complaints but now I am very upset because the have made my stay in Venice very unpleasant best regards Judit

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maree O'hanlon

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Maree would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful,very grand old world furniture.Huge bedroom and bathroom with great facilities. The room overlooked the canal. Fascinating sights and sounds. Downstairs to the left was a late opening cafe, perfect for a romantic, candlelit coffee and liquor by the canal. To the right the waterbus stop to take us to Murano Island,Rialto, Markets, San Marco and back to the Train station. Plenty of shopping just walking distance.Helpful service and free access to wifi so I could send pictures of the property and surrounds to friends and family. We had a ball. Will definitely stay here when we next visit Venice.

Disliked: No Dislikes!!!! It was the first week of November and therefor high tides. We tip toed along Caraveggio and San Marco was flooded, so we had to walk along trestles to cross the square. This only added to the adventure and we were high and dry in The Arches.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Makropoulos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff she was very helpful with tips about Venice and offers to go out for dunner, good location and a great canal view, close to shops with restaurants around the corner and a water bus stop in front, highly recommended

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: confortable beds, clean sheets

Disliked: the room was very cold.the bathroom is not very clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girl working there was so helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing, it was better than I expected.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the atmosphere was nice. Just women can stay in here, so it made me comfi. I can see the canal in my room.

Disliked: It doesn't have sign on the top, so it looks like ordinary house that make not easy to find it. And the toilet is with the bathroom. So if somebody use bathroom I can't use toilet. It doesn't have kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from the center. Very clean very calm place, not crowled by tourists!

Disliked: WiFi doesn't work on 3d floor. That's all. :)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view overlooking one of the many canals!

Disliked: Having one bathroom. Was terrible to deal with in mornings getting ready or anytime to use the restroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location on the island of venice. It was away from most of the tourist traps, and had i not stayed here i would never have even ventured off into this part of town. It had a great view of the canal and was easy to find from bus drop off. The staff was friendly and very relaxed with the check in/check out times. It's great for someone who will rarely spend time at their hostel as not very many amenities are offered. Wifi is available down in the lobby as well.

Disliked: There was only one bathroom available to use for the four rooms in the building. This made showering difficult at times.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No bunk bed! Very quiet and clean. The view is really nice from the room

Disliked: Kind of expensive for what it is. No A/C--it was 35 degrees-- No meals, laundry, & common area. wifi does not work on the third floor. No lift so if you have a big luggage, be prepared. And there is only one bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay here! The staff made me feel welcome and the hostel is beautiful and really clean. The rooms are really big and you get a fantastic view. It is really easy to find and only about 10-15 minutes walk from the station. Will definitely be back :)

Disliked: Nothing! It was one of the best hostels I've stayed in!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sonja O'Neill

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the view. Also the size of the room was fantastic!

Disliked: Unfortunately there was only one shower and toilet to share between at least 10 people. The power points in the room were also unsafe.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013

Liked: Wide room. Good sightseeing.

Disliked: 1. NO CREDIT CARD. ONLY CASH. 2. You know, summer in Italy is hell. When I went to the room, The fan was broken, so I told about it to staff. But the staff said, "Someone did it. What should I do?" How irresponsible... 3. Theres no lift, its very hard to bring my lugguage. 4. no breakfast service, even the fee is expensive.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite a good location, could see the canal from my room

Disliked: Pretty unwelcoming staff, never available, no air conditioning, luggage storage isn't free, don't take credit card. Only ONE BATHROOM. In the entire place. And I mean only one place to go to the toilet. There is just one room with a shower and toilet. So when one person is having a shower you can't use the toilet! And everyone in the hostel just has to use this one room!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, balcony for each room, all female, good neighborhood and nice area, nice staff. A fridge and kettle provided.

Disliked: Only one bathroom for the hostel so you had to be patient, it was really hot at night we only had pedestal fans which would have been fine except the air flow wouldn't reach up to the top bunk ( we couldn't open the widows at night because of mosquitos)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Away from the main touristy area, which was perfect for a second visit. Good access to train station and bus station on foot or by waterbus. Shops, pharmacy, restaurants nearby. Rooms are big with great canal view.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheradyn Dekker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Sheradyn would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! simple, clean, great veiw from the room. close enough to walk every where but with the option of the water bus as it right out front. will be back!

Disliked: Sheradyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Drynkowska

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: We were absolutely suprised with the hostel quality, great internal design, cleanliness and very friendy staff :) We had a balcony with view over the canal and close enough to open water (fresh wind). Big shared bathroom - in fact a couple could use it in the same time. Very firendly and helpful staff. We could leave our luggage after check-out for the whole next day. We alos recommend the district! It's beautifull and without tourists.

Disliked: Sorry - nothing comes to my head. We did enjoy our stay there!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013

Liked: Clean, good location

Disliked: WARNING: It is IMPOSSIBLE to get in contact with this hostel, and the reception is not 24 hours. If you can't make it on time for check in for some reason like it was the case for me, they will NOT let you in. We were charged for two nights but were not allowed in our room the first night because we came after hours, though we searched literally for hours for a phone number. We even had our previous hostel call the Italian directory, and they were not listed. The staff was extremely unfriendly and rude about the ordeal. Unless you are 100% sure you can make it during the reception opening hours, I can't recommend this hostel.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Haley Wells

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Haley would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything in Venice and no lockout or curfew

Disliked: Owners was not the mostfriendly

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristin Harris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Kristin would recommend this property

Liked: Nina, our host, was lovely. I felt very safe an comfortable staying here. The property was safe and secure. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in Venice. It is in a great location, with a great view. Completed my amazing Venice experience.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was only a ten minute walk from Santa Lucia train station and all rooms had balconies looking out onto a beautiful canal. Very, very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yan Chi Ma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Yan Chi would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice hostel. And the man is so friendly!

Disliked: There is no wifi at the room, but the sofa in common area may not be very clean to sit and use wifi there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. The washroom and rooms+beds were very clean. The place is relatively small and I was in a five person room. Right off the canal so you've got an excellent view outside your window and just a 10 minute walk to the train station with a water bus stop right in front as well. Walkable to the main sights.

Disliked: We were on the third floor so we couldn't connect to wifi. The connection is best on the ground floor. There was only one washroom and that washroom had the only toilet, sink and shower available so if there's a lineup you end up having to wait awhile for your turn. Bad when someone is showering and you just need the toilet or sink. Large closets to store bags but no way to lock them up.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels