HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of The Arches Venice

Guesthouse | Fondamenta di Cannaregio 925, 30121, Venezia Venice, Italy 30121

71.8% Overall Rating

144 out of 166 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

Gunay Farzaliyeva thinks…

"This was my last minute booking. I was not sure about the place and condition of my room. So, the hostel is very home style and it is house indeed and you should look for it carefully because even it…"

Read all The Arches Venice reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.94

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Hotel Tre Archi
49.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.3% 85 reviews
Guest House Bella Venexia
39.40 USD

Guesthouse 48.3% 191 reviews
Venice Garden
34.14 USD

Hostel 63.5% 36 reviews
Hotel Ai Due Leoni
98.49 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.8% 8 reviews
Ai Due Leoncini
91.92 USD

Hostel 77.9% 49 reviews
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
84.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Alberghiera Venezia
75.51 USD

Apartment 96.2% 6 reviews
Shiraz House
45.96 USD

Guesthouse 67.8% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.8%

Overall Rating

144 out of 166 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Arches Venice'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
75.2%
Value
68.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 164 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, it s clean, in a quiet area in venice, the room its big

Disliked: there is just 1 bathroom, staff not always available

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gunay Farzaliyeva

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 Gunay would recommend this property

Liked: This was my last minute booking. I was not sure about the place and condition of my room. So, the hostel is very home style and it is house indeed and you should look for it carefully because even it was in a very good place I searched it for more than an hour. Check the instructions on the website. My room had a amazing view to the canal from the stylish balcony.

Disliked: No kitchen. And even if it is in a very strategic place it was still challenging to find it. The hostel is more like house and it is indeed house and there is no big sign with name.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amber May

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for vaporetti to train station, and the other islands. Quite close to Sights and restaurants. Marcia was very helpful and friendly! Great view and rooms and bathroom were clean

Disliked: Nothing, except maybe an extra toilet could be included outside the bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anastasiia Gerasimova

Alone

Events / festivals

12 July 2014 Anastasiia would recommend this property

Liked: venetian furniture

Disliked: no public zone like a hall where to hang out

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Aimee Moon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014

Liked: Great location in a less touristy area and right of the canal, great views from the room's balcony.

Disliked: There is only one bathroom (with both toilet and shower in one) that is shared between both dorms and I think one of the private rooms too, this meant that there were big line ups in the mornings and evenings. And it would be quite dirty prior to cleaning each day. It is a really hard place to meet people if you're travelling around, there are only two dorms and males are not allowed to stay in the dorms. Internet was only available on the ground floor.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014

Liked: Near 2 boat stations

Disliked: It wasn't very clean - dusty table tops in the rooms, smelly and unkempt toilet. There was only 1 toilet that was shared among at least 4 rooms (not sure about the occupancy of each room but mine had 4 people) Please note that there is a charge for tourists (tourist tax) (not something I dislike but just thought I should point out) and charges for leaving baggage. Also, there wasn't ANY maps provided.. the staff that tended to us was only minimally helpful..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stunning building. Very clean bathroom.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms. Wifi only available on ground floor. Beds not very comfortable and i woke up covered in bites!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house is nice and clean, just by the water bus stop so it's just convenient!

Disliked: There are no kitchen , just have only a broken kettle and small fridge ! and wifi is really weak thus just can be used on the basement. Toilet is bit smell and long queue for it! Anyway just a place to put ur head down after long day traveling, nothing else!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014

Liked: The loction was good. close to bus station and rail station. just front of the cannal. really good to experience sunset.

Disliked: There was no kitchen and even the tea room was out of order. ONLY ONE TOILET AND SHOWER ROOM FOR 10 people. A lot of mosquitoes. No explanation on tax and recipt. really BAD STAFFS.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Groundwater

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014

Liked: Very close to train station and also boat stop to get to airport. Large sized rooms

Disliked: Had to share nod bathroom with lots of other dorm rooms, only one bathroom for 2 floors. Covered in flea bites after our stay ???

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very unique and the rooms and bathroom were very clean. The staff (Sophie) was wonderful, she gave us restraunt recommendations and was very helpful and accommodating. We had a wonderful stay in beautiful Venice.

Disliked: The only downfall was not having wifi in our room, but we had in the main area so it was not much of a problem at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind service

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Soledad Berrios

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Soledad would recommend this property

Liked: Muy cerca de la estación del tren, el edificio tiene un aire antiguo muy bonito. Para mi fue suficiente porque solo me quede una noche

Disliked: El wifi no funciona en las habitaciones, no incluye desayuno y al hacer el checkin paguen con sencillo, porque a mi me quedaron debiendo el vuelto. No era mucho pero para una backpackers todo cuenta! No podías guardar tu equipaje con llave, hay unos armarios pero no te facilitan la llave. El checkin es a las 11 am entonces si quieres dejar tu equipaje guardado te cobran alrededor de 5 euros. Al final solo pagas por dormir.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Quigley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The property was great because it was very quiet and clean. It is located close to the train station but away from the noise and touristy areas. Every room has a beautiful view of the water, too.

Disliked: Only one bathroom in the whole place! Granted there are only about 12-16 beds in the whole place, but there was always a line for the bathroom.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Charlotte Poirier

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Good location (less than 10 mins from the station), with a couple of vaporetto stops on the canal the hostel faces. Helpful staff, clean rooms.

Disliked: There is only one bathroom for all the guests, with no separate toilet, which leads to queues forming in the morning and the evening to use it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Isabel Steigemann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I had a great time at The Arches Venice Hostel! We booked for 6 nights and ended up staying two more because we had not quite finished seeing Venice. The Arches was a great place for us to rest our tired legs and feet (Venice can be tiring because of all the wonderful things to see!). The staff was supper nice to us, friendly, and always helpful if we needed anything! The beds are really comfy and clean. Our room was cleaned daily. The garbage always taken out. the rooms all have really nice little porches that look out to the beautiful wide canal that lies right in front of the building. Great sunsets from the window! The bathroom is really nice too. It is cleaned daily. there are two sinks which was nice. The shower had really good temperature and was really nice! It was nice to be able to come and go as we pleased as we had a front door key and a room key. The Hostel has an overall peaceful vibe. There are not that many rooms so it is quite quiet. The location is really nice as it is located on one of the wider canals in Venice. It is walking distance from everything! We walked everywhere! Except the islands. If you do not want to walk to much though there is a water buss station only a couple feet from the door of the Hostel. (note that this is Venice and is you are opting to walk everywhere you will get tired! Its a big island). All in all we really had a great time here and where quite grateful to have this nice and safe Hostel to come home at anytime of the day! Thank you to The Arches Venice and to Venice for our wonderful stay! We will miss this magical City!

Disliked: Isabel left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

suzy jones

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014

Liked: The room was big

Disliked: No shower curtain so the floor would get soaked, there were feminine hygiene (used ones) in the bin leftover! There were mosquitos everywhere, the floor was dirty (a dirty sock under the bed with a thick layer of dirt), only way to know it was the hotel from outside was a taped small bit of paper saying the arches by the door bell, the coffee/tea was very cheap stuff, but couldn't taste any as the cups were dirty in the room, and kettle was dirty. It was loud in the private rooms-kids crying and dogs barking constantly!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mihaela Druga

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Mihaela would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for a good price, free tea and coffee,quiet area but still close to the main attractions,friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Mihaela left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Judit Kocsis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013

Liked: the hostel is clean and has a good location

Disliked: first night I had a room mate and the heating was ok from the second night I was alone in the whole building and I realised after returning to the hotel late in the evening that there was no heating at all I tried to tell the staff but I could not do anything because there was nobody in the building next morning I left a message what I have found in the evening at the same place unopened, then I lost my patience and I called a number to ask them to heat the room, a woman promised me to come but she did not I spent 2 horrible ice-cold nights at the hotel, I wanted to get warm by taking a shower no hot water only a little bit warm, which was not enough for me to get better sorry to say but I could not enjoy my stay, I had to spend my day from early in the morning till late at night somewhere else not to get frozen I understand that the heating for one person is not economic, but in this case the hostel should be closed in winter, I do not recommend it from November till April not to get cold please note, I have travelled with my children all over the world and spent many nights in hostels, I have never made any complaints but now I am very upset because the have made my stay in Venice very unpleasant best regards Judit

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maree O'hanlon

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Maree would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful,very grand old world furniture.Huge bedroom and bathroom with great facilities. The room overlooked the canal. Fascinating sights and sounds. Downstairs to the left was a late opening cafe, perfect for a romantic, candlelit coffee and liquor by the canal. To the right the waterbus stop to take us to Murano Island,Rialto, Markets, San Marco and back to the Train station. Plenty of shopping just walking distance.Helpful service and free access to wifi so I could send pictures of the property and surrounds to friends and family. We had a ball. Will definitely stay here when we next visit Venice.

Disliked: No Dislikes!!!! It was the first week of November and therefor high tides. We tip toed along Caraveggio and San Marco was flooded, so we had to walk along trestles to cross the square. This only added to the adventure and we were high and dry in The Arches.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Makropoulos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff she was very helpful with tips about Venice and offers to go out for dunner, good location and a great canal view, close to shops with restaurants around the corner and a water bus stop in front, highly recommended

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: confortable beds, clean sheets

Disliked: the room was very cold.the bathroom is not very clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girl working there was so helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing, it was better than I expected.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the atmosphere was nice. Just women can stay in here, so it made me comfi. I can see the canal in my room.

Disliked: It doesn't have sign on the top, so it looks like ordinary house that make not easy to find it. And the toilet is with the bathroom. So if somebody use bathroom I can't use toilet. It doesn't have kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from the center. Very clean very calm place, not crowled by tourists!

Disliked: WiFi doesn't work on 3d floor. That's all. :)


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels