We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Viva Venezia

Guesthouse | Santa Croce, 1149, Venice, Italy 30135

86.7% Overall Rating

74 out of 76 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2015)

Ryan Down thinks…

"The guy running the place is very helpful, just email him whilst you're there and he will sort anything out. Not far from the train station, easy to get to. There are things in the kitchen for…"

Read all Viva Venezia reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

L'Imbarcadero
29.11 USD

Hostel 82.5% 805 reviews
Residenza Corte Canal-Ca'Dario
38.82 USD

Guesthouse 76.5% 87 reviews
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
24.80 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 251 reviews
Hotel Rossi
36.39 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.1% 185 reviews
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan
26.96 USD

Hostel 78.4% 605 reviews
San Geremia Rooms
26.96 USD

Hostel 82.7% 459 reviews
Hotel Moderno
107.83 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Frari Apartment 2
37.74 USD

Apartment 93.1% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

74 out of 76 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Viva Venezia'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 76 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ryan Down

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 April 2015 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The guy running the place is very helpful, just email him whilst you're there and he will sort anything out. Not far from the train station, easy to get to. There are things in the kitchen for breakfast, just help yourself.

Disliked: No card payment

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, great value, the room itself, helpful owner

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, warm (heating)

Disliked: noisy at night, the owner only comes to give u the keys (no actual time to ask questions etc), breakfast is poor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mustafa cemil coskun

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014 mustafa cemil would recommend this property

Liked: the room was good enough. the breakfast was very nice and there was a man as staff and he was very nice and friendly.

Disliked: mustafa cemil left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Sas

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

09 September 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, 5 minutes away from the station and around 10 from St Mark's Square (that is if you don't stop and admire the city) , easy to find. Franco was incredibly friendly and helpful, we arrived very late due to our flight being delayed for 2 hours, but he came to welcome us when we called him (at 1am) and let us in, showed us around quickly as we were very tired and it was very late. We shared a bathroom with other people staying there but we didn't have to wait once to use it. We had a big kitchen at our use which was helpful as we could have breakfast in the morning before setting off into town, and we could cook dinner when we got back. Everything was clean and tidy. He even printed tickets for us so we wouldn't have to go and pay at a shop. It was a lovely experience, highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Haunss

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 September 2014 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, right in the middle of Venice in View of the Canale Grande, but still quiet at night

Disliked: Eva left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect.

Disliked: There is only one bathroom for all to share.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Doyle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well equipped and reasonably priced for Venice. Good location, near train station and a Vaporetto stop. Breakfast was provided which was also good and the host there was very helpful and accommodating.

Disliked: There was only one thing and that was the duvet didn't smell very nice, so I'm not sure when the duvet cover was last washed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Marco was very friendly and so helpful. It's easy to access from the train station and the piazzale Roma where the bus dropped us. Easy access to the beautiful city's sites too. Had a very good value for money dinner just down the street. Very clean and slept very well. Fully recommend it!!!!

Disliked: Nothing to complain about

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Escogimos este alojamiento porque disponía de cocina y está muy bien ubicado.

Disliked: No limpiaron la habitación en los 4 días que estuvimos y el desayuno muy escaso y repetitivo.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to find, the owner was very nice and accommodating, and was very clean.

Disliked: Since the owner was not on site, I thought that maybe he was not there and waited for awhile for him to come let me in. But, it was only a few minutes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, nice owner, super good location near train station. Breakfast whenever you like (very basic but adequate for the price). It's a guest house with a shared kitchen and bathroom, you feel like at your own place. Franco is very very helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krystle Taniguchi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Krystle would recommend this property

Liked: We were immediately moved to a new room once he realized we were a married couple and would prefer a full bed to two twins! Also the kitchen was pretty well stocked for us to cook all our own dinners.

Disliked: Krystle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked Franco 's hospitality. The place was really clean and cozy, the breakfast very complete ..... Everything was perfect for a nice vacations!!! is a very good place in Venecia

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Isabelle Karpierz

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Ferrovia train station

Disliked: Isabelle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Docking

As a family with children

Family Holiday

22 December 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The host was lovely and helpful. The rooms were very clean and well equipped. The location is good if away from the centre. Close enough to walk.

Disliked: Nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house is located in a very good position, it's just 5 minutes walk from the train station. All the rooms (bedroom and bathroom) are tidy. And last but not least with the use of the kitchen facilities you can save money because you avoid to go to restaurant every day.

Disliked: There isn't a clear prices list, so you pay what the owner tells you without the possibility to check on a paper the rates. You receive just a receipt with the total amount.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, beautiful property, lovely room, and Franco was extremely friendly and helpful! we'd definitely come back!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Randall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great place , friendly owner and very helpfull , would highly recomend , easy to find and good location , close to bus / train station and vaporetti . Facilitys are ideal if your on a budget , kitchen and laundry saved us loads ! Breakfast is great . Its almost like having ur own place in venice as its more like renting a room ( bearly saw the other guests almost like having the place to our selfs ) you're off the main tourist trail so its peacfull after a hot day in the streets , but you're also close enought to walk and be in the thick of the herds . Would love to stay again

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very close to the bus station in a very safe feeling and quiet location. Franco was very kind and helpful and let us store our belongings until our flight after we checked out on the last day.

Disliked: Can't think of anything!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Cook

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Value

Disliked: All good really

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Mraz

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 May 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Traditional furniture created cosy atmosphere that fits to Venice.

Disliked: The first look at the property from outside was definitely not promising. Afterall it looks like every other house in Venice.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was spotlessly clean & in an excellent location. The host was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It was basic.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kelly Stjernfelt

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the alternate property, with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms - this had great size rooms and plenty of space. Franco was very helpful. There were easy directions provided to locate the property. It was centrally located, with easy walks to P. Roma, Rialto, the local supermarket and food market. The ground floor unit was in a quite place (not on a "main" street), on the way to a ferry stop (not a major stop). The breakfast provided was a small yoghurt, corn flakes/milk, "the laughing cow' cheese, a plain pastry, a small cake, spreads, bread/toast, tea/coffee and 2 small juices. The computer with internet was handy, as the free wi-fi signal was not so strong. The kitchen was sufficient to prepare meals and cook. Overall, we were very happy with our stay, and would highly recommend for others to stay at Viva Venezia.

Disliked: I recommend to wear ear plugs, as the noise of people travels easily in Venice - trolleys/bags with wheels over cobblestones makes noise as do voices echoing amongst the buildings.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels