We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Viva Venezia

Guesthouse | Santa Croce, 1149, Venice, Italy 30135

87.9% Overall Rating

81 out of 83 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

"My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at Viva Venezia. We got lost on the way there and rang the owner who kindly came and found us and took us to the hostel. He was really friendly and responded quickly to emails.…"

Read all Viva Venezia reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

L'Imbarcadero
32.60 USD

Hostel 77.9% 808 reviews
Residenza Corte Canal-Ca'Dario
28.10 USD

Guesthouse 76.5% 87 reviews
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
25.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.8% 255 reviews
Hotel Rossi
33.72 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.0% 195 reviews
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan
28.10 USD

Hostel 79.2% 616 reviews
San Geremia Rooms
28.10 USD

Hostel 83.4% 466 reviews
Frari Apartment 2
73.07 USD

Apartment 93.1% 7 reviews
Frari Apartment 1
61.83 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

81 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Viva Venezia'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 83 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Miguel Pantoja

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in main island

Disliked: Miguel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at Viva Venezia. We got lost on the way there and rang the owner who kindly came and found us and took us to the hostel. He was really friendly and responded quickly to emails. The room was big and the free breakfast provided was good.

Disliked: Only one bathroom (toilet and shower) to share between 3 rooms/6 people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rajeshbhai Patel

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015 Rajeshbhai would recommend this property

Liked: My 18 year old daughter and I stayed at Viva Venezia for three nights. It is in a great location, very close to train and main water bus station. Hotel kept clean though you won't see Franco, the owner, much unless you require him. Directions from bus station is spot on and met Franco at hotel. We had a twin room, the size was good. Wifi worked brilliantly and the shared bathroom/shower was kept clean. Didn't see much of the other guests, but I expected this as you come and go as you feel like. You are given a key to hotel front door and your room. Room had AC which was helpful and overlooked a very small but busy alley, which we did not mind as by the time we got in it went quiet after 11'sh. We found most essential things close by - good restaurants, supermarket and shops to browse through, especially near the train station, which is about 5 mins away from. As for the city of Venice, it was memorable! We bought a 3 day water bus pass, and used it to the max. Recommend travelling on Grand Canal at night, see sunset at Giardini walking towards San Marco and bell tower at San Giorgio Maggiore. Also, if travelling with people aged below 25, mention this when paying entrance fees to museums and other places of interest as you pay reduced prices (3 day water pass was nearly half price) and if arriving at airport, buy them there as it easier

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Staff is excellent and very friendly. Good location.

Disliked: There were a few mosquitoes in our room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buen lugar, muy cómodo y acogedor, el dueño te da las llaves y prácticamente te deja como si fuera tu casa, afrece un desayuno sencillo y se puede hacer uso de la lavadora sin costo extra, el lugar es limpio y el wifi rápido. Nos encanto a mi esposo y a mi, volveríamos definitivamente.

Disliked: Como detalle hay que avisar al dueño antes de la hora aproximada de llegada ya que el no vive ahí y deja un número de teléfono pero si no se cuenta con ello es un problema, nosotros avisamos un día antes por email y no tuvimos problema, el dueño estuvo puntual a la hora acordada.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tina Bout

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: location so close to the Grand Canal

Disliked: faulty hair dryer

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ryan Down

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 April 2015 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The guy running the place is very helpful, just email him whilst you're there and he will sort anything out. Not far from the train station, easy to get to. There are things in the kitchen for breakfast, just help yourself.

Disliked: No card payment

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, great value, the room itself, helpful owner

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, warm (heating)

Disliked: noisy at night, the owner only comes to give u the keys (no actual time to ask questions etc), breakfast is poor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mustafa cemil coskun

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014 mustafa cemil would recommend this property

Liked: the room was good enough. the breakfast was very nice and there was a man as staff and he was very nice and friendly.

Disliked: mustafa cemil left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Sas

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

09 September 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, 5 minutes away from the station and around 10 from St Mark's Square (that is if you don't stop and admire the city) , easy to find. Franco was incredibly friendly and helpful, we arrived very late due to our flight being delayed for 2 hours, but he came to welcome us when we called him (at 1am) and let us in, showed us around quickly as we were very tired and it was very late. We shared a bathroom with other people staying there but we didn't have to wait once to use it. We had a big kitchen at our use which was helpful as we could have breakfast in the morning before setting off into town, and we could cook dinner when we got back. Everything was clean and tidy. He even printed tickets for us so we wouldn't have to go and pay at a shop. It was a lovely experience, highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Haunss

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 September 2014 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, right in the middle of Venice in View of the Canale Grande, but still quiet at night

Disliked: Eva left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect.

Disliked: There is only one bathroom for all to share.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Doyle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well equipped and reasonably priced for Venice. Good location, near train station and a Vaporetto stop. Breakfast was provided which was also good and the host there was very helpful and accommodating.

Disliked: There was only one thing and that was the duvet didn't smell very nice, so I'm not sure when the duvet cover was last washed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Marco was very friendly and so helpful. It's easy to access from the train station and the piazzale Roma where the bus dropped us. Easy access to the beautiful city's sites too. Had a very good value for money dinner just down the street. Very clean and slept very well. Fully recommend it!!!!

Disliked: Nothing to complain about

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Escogimos este alojamiento porque disponía de cocina y está muy bien ubicado.

Disliked: No limpiaron la habitación en los 4 días que estuvimos y el desayuno muy escaso y repetitivo.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to find, the owner was very nice and accommodating, and was very clean.

Disliked: Since the owner was not on site, I thought that maybe he was not there and waited for awhile for him to come let me in. But, it was only a few minutes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, nice owner, super good location near train station. Breakfast whenever you like (very basic but adequate for the price). It's a guest house with a shared kitchen and bathroom, you feel like at your own place. Franco is very very helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krystle Taniguchi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Krystle would recommend this property

Liked: We were immediately moved to a new room once he realized we were a married couple and would prefer a full bed to two twins! Also the kitchen was pretty well stocked for us to cook all our own dinners.

Disliked: Krystle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked Franco 's hospitality. The place was really clean and cozy, the breakfast very complete ..... Everything was perfect for a nice vacations!!! is a very good place in Venecia

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Isabelle Karpierz

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Ferrovia train station

Disliked: Isabelle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Docking

As a family with children

Family Holiday

22 December 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The host was lovely and helpful. The rooms were very clean and well equipped. The location is good if away from the centre. Close enough to walk.

Disliked: Nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house is located in a very good position, it's just 5 minutes walk from the train station. All the rooms (bedroom and bathroom) are tidy. And last but not least with the use of the kitchen facilities you can save money because you avoid to go to restaurant every day.

Disliked: There isn't a clear prices list, so you pay what the owner tells you without the possibility to check on a paper the rates. You receive just a receipt with the total amount.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, beautiful property, lovely room, and Franco was extremely friendly and helpful! we'd definitely come back!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels