HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Holiday House Domus Cavanis

Guesthouse | Dorsoduro 895, Venice, Italy 30123

73.3% Overall Rating

208 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/12/2013)

Veronica Mayela Reyes Peña thinks…

"The location is good. We like to take walks and get lost in new cities, that's the way you really get to know a place! So I don't think it was far from everything. The only thing is that you…"

Read all Holiday House Domus Cavanis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Palazzo Guardi
133.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.1% 15 reviews
Suite In Venice Ai Carmini
43.54 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Silk Road
52.25 USD

Hostel 97.0% 249 reviews
Casa Rezzonico
73.69 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Ca' Loredan
66.99 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 3 reviews
Venice Resort
62.97 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 63 reviews
Al Gallo
44.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 20 reviews
Hotel Locanda Salieri
53.59 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.1% 126 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.3%

Overall Rating

208 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Holiday House Domus Cavanis'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
67.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 156 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Veronica Mayela Reyes Peña

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 December 2013

Liked: The location is good. We like to take walks and get lost in new cities, that's the way you really get to know a place! So I don't think it was far from everything. The only thing is that you definitely would NEED A MAP since Venice is a maze!

Disliked: We arrive at 10:00pm so basically we just left our baggage in the room and went out to have dinner and drinks, so in a quick look the room seemed fine, but the next morning when waking up we realized the ceiling was full of insects!!! I checked the bed and thanks God I didn't find insects sleeping with us... There was no staff in the property, if you need anything you'd have to go across the street to the Hotel Belle Arti (the reception is here for both hotels). The staff at the reception is not friendly at all. We felt like we were bothering them while the check-in and out. But the staff serving the breakfast were really kind. You can leave your baggage after the check-out but in a room where no one is taking care of, fortunately when we came back our bags where still there but I couldn't really enjoy our last day while thinking if our baggage would still be there.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Linda Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was simple continental, but nice, and the courtyard tables provided a beautiful setting to start the day

Disliked: The room was tiny for a three person booking: one double mattress and a couch/bed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

David Fourie

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, clean, free Wi-Fi though only available in the hotel foyer, reasonably good continental breakfast.

Disliked: My TV remote had the program down button missing, so I could only scan through the limited +-7 channels going up, then had to switch off the TV and on again to get back to channel 1. The few channels available were only in Italian! One lady staff member was very unfriendly and abrupt with guests. While working in the hotel foyer one evening I asked her for a cappuccino and was abruptly told that the bar was closed as the barman was busy repairing something. With the amount of International guests visiting and most speaking English, they can really brush up on their English language skills and learn a little more about customer service! This unfortunately is not just prevalent at this hotel, but at every hotel I've visited in Italy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kim roberts

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

02 March 2012 kim would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location,friendly atmosphere ,have already recommended the hotel to friends and l will definetly go again .

Disliked: nothing...............

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrea Sadiwnyk

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 February 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean, functional, and actually pretty! The breakfast was quite good--and at a reasonable time. Staff was helpful (I did not get there until 1:30am and there was someone still awake and friendly), and the location is perfect!

Disliked: It is a little hard to find. The directions that they list are hard to follow--instructions like, "turn left at the church," which church?--but look for the sign for the hotel Bella Arti, that is where you need to check in and where breakfast will be.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to everything and right off a water bus stop

Disliked: Nothing except that it wasn't really the property we booked.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011

Liked: Location and room was good.

Disliked: Because you have to check in at the "nicer more expensive" hotel you are treated poorly. There is no reception at the actual hotel you stay at. There is no free wifi it was 5 euro per hour! and I had to pay for a map of Venice! The phone in the room did not work. The staff is very rude and not helpful to travellers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 July 2011

Liked: location and quiet

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

25 June 2011

Liked: the quiet place

Disliked: even in the most chepeest Hostel Wifi is for free, here it cost 9 E per Hour, and 25 E per 20 hours. I mean it;s not mucho money, but i think they take vantage from this, i really dont like it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and very good value for money. The man who came to service our room was very sweet and helpful. Included breakfast buffet each morning was an added bonus and the lobby garden area was beautiful. There is a lift to the higher floors and it is a quiet peaceful area.

Disliked: The bathroom had no window or ventilation which was slightly annoying at times and we had a room of 4 beds which were so cramped together in the room we had very little floor space for to store our luggage and get to the bathroom etc.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 March 2011

Liked: Location and free breakfast.

Disliked: Gross

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

24 March 2010

Liked: definitely not the stairs my friend has a bad back and we were told there was no stairs

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Suzanna Zelezny

16 March 2010

Liked: It's location and that's about it! The staff manners are appalling. We were incorrectly charged twice for our stay however when we tried to explain this the gentleman grew very angry and demanded I pay again. We have spent the last 5 months fighting it with them and in the end handed it over to our bank to get back ( which they did as it showed up twice on our bank statements ) This Hotel still deny it to this very day.... so as you can see besides location this hotel has nothing going for it. Infact I saw another hotel further the down the road that was in just as good a location.... I would aviod staying here at all cost... it's just not worth it on your pocket.

Disliked: Suzanna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was more like a hotel than a hostel. My room was nice and clean and the maid even came in to clean it everyday. The staff was also friendly. Also, the location is great--Accademia stop--right in the middle of everything. Very near to St. Mark's square.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Flavian Gomes

04 January 2010 Joseph Flavian would recommend this property

Liked: location was great and was pretty cheap for a hotel in Venice

Disliked: Joseph Flavian left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, large rooms, comfortable beds--it was like staying in a hotel room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, in a more quiet but nonetheless central area of Venice so it is only a 10 minute walk to san marco but the area is not swarming with tourists at night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The shower curtain was ripped and had black mold on it!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Rachel O'Sullivan

27 August 2009 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: great location and good breakfast, staff were really nice and helpful... bathroom was big and clean but the room itself was a little shabby and not quite as nice as the picture and the aircon wasn't working... area was great and we felt safe walking back there and was easy to find from the centre... fine for 2 nights stay

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok, but no own reception

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 August 2009

Liked: This hostel is well located. However, the room was not that attractive, with small windows and was not nice. The breakfast was served on the hotel that manage this property, which was good. We went everywhere by foot, without having to take the boat to visit the most important places. This place has the front door always open, which does not inspire much safety for the ones that stay there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Good breakfast, quiet surroundings and a nice room and bathroom. The staff (at Hotel Belle Arti across the street where you check in and have breakfast) was very kind and helpful.This hotel is quite a find for the money, but it would be a lot easier for foreigners to find the place, if they were to give you the address 'Rio Terà Foscarini 896', rather then 'Dorsoduro 896'!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and nice room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet, and away from the really touristy parts, but close enough to the night life. Really fantastic. and air-conditioning! Not to mention the complimentary breakfast buffet...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

melinda natividad

06 August 2009 melinda would recommend this property

Liked: The best value for me is that the B&B is just 5 minutes by boat from St. Mark's Square, and 10 minutes walking. After having walked for 10 hours around the center of Venice, I just took a boat ride home, rested for an hour in bed, then went out again to continue touring until late evening! This is a major plus, because if I had taken a tour package, most tours would have hotels outside of Venice.

Disliked: melinda left no negative feedback.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels