HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Art Flashpackers

Hostel | ramo della Fraterna, Castello 3368A, Calle De La Fraterna Venice, Italy 30122

55.4% Overall Rating

17 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/09/2013)

Kaitlin Slaven thinks…

"The only good thing I can say about this property was the location turned out to be okay for our situation, even though initially we were frustrated that we weren't in the part of the city we had…"

Read all Art Flashpackers reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.70
  • Linen USD 6.70
  • Towel USD 2.68

Important Information

check in is from 10 am to 10 pm, in case of late arrivals please let us know, so we can arrange the check in, or even a train station pick up. We accept only cash. We do also not accept guests over the age of 50 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Youth Venice Home
33.49 USD

Hostel 46.4% 185 reviews
AWA Venice Aparthotel San Marco
42.63 USD

Hostel 78.6% 34 reviews
B&B Venice Hazel
26.80 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 97 reviews
San Marco Dreams
46.89 USD

Hostel 81.4% 24 reviews
CaSa Linger Hostel
40.19 USD

Hostel 73.0% 877 reviews
Amadeus B&B
57.61 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Venice Gold
37.51 USD

Hostel 84.3% 228 reviews
Schiavoni Apartments
73.69 USD

Apartment 90.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
55.4%

Overall Rating

17 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Art Flashpackers'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
54.4%
Staff
56.0%
Value
50.4%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Kaitlin Slaven

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 September 2013

Liked: The only good thing I can say about this property was the location turned out to be okay for our situation, even though initially we were frustrated that we weren't in the part of the city we had planned to be.

Disliked: The staff was either flat out rude, or disinterested in helping you. They have so many different people floating around from location to location you never know who actually works there and who doesn't. the first night we arrived we dealt with probably 3 different people, none of whom knew whay was going on or where we were supposed to stay and it took over 2 hours for them to find a bed for us in the same room. After you pay your initial charge for the nights stay they add on all these other charges... For example 5 Euro for linens and another 5 Euro for a towel!!?? Prices are already high for what you get here and these extra charges were ridiculous. They do send you an email ahead of time telling you this but they send it one day before you check in which is , conveniently for them, after the deadline to cancel a reservation. So, you basically have no choice but to pay the extra charges which can be difficult for travelling youth who are on a budget. The facilites themselves were clean to the bare minimum except for the bathroom which is tiny and always wrecked and disgusting because about 25 people have to share it. This also means that anytime you need to use the bathroom you have to wait... And wait... And wait. There was rarely toilet paper and none could be found anywhere when it ran out. They do have cupboards you can rent to lock up your stuff, yet another extra charge, but they're very small. So, if you have a large pack or suitcase it won't fit and you have to take everything out. Since the doors are seemingly never locked and anyone can just walk into your room this was a big problem for us. We talked to several other people staying here the same time as hs and they're experience was very much the same.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location!! Within walking distance to most attractions. Located near San Marco square. We took a water bus to and from the train station. Owner was friendly and helpful. Kitchen and fridge to use as well as dishes and a bathroom (one for all the dorms) but it was never an issue for us. Rooms are comfortable and clean and we had a locker to put our this into (bring a lock if you want to use). There was a fan to help keep the room cool. There was a grocery store a couple streets away (ask owner for directions) as well as a reasonably priced restaurant. Great hostel overall!

Disliked: Finding the hostel was difficult the first time (Venice is a total maze). We did not find the directions on this website enough; we used google maps as well. Definitely get a map before heading out into the labyrinth. We noticed that the owner seemed to be a little "over-friendly" to one of the single girls staying there as well, especially when he took us out to a bar. A friend we met there got his iPhone stolen when he left it on the table (not smart) but we don't suspect a fellow traveller (not many of us at the time, few we didn't know) to have taken it... So use the lockers! Overall though it was a positive and fun experience.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

asif salam

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 May 2013 asif would recommend this property

Liked: good and friendly environment

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

merve demirel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 merve would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and comfortable hostel. there was single beds, and this was good. the wifi was also good

Disliked: stuff

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alexandra Hyde

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013

Liked: Five minutes from Piazzo San Marco.

Disliked: All of the above.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CESAR ESPARZA SOTO

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 CESAR would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place, close to the station and the staff was awesome... It was the best option I could have chosen.

Disliked: CESAR left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Konrad Van Zyl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Konrad would recommend this property

Liked: The great staff and wonderfull location.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Erica Lane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012

Liked: it was in a safe building

Disliked: it was a gross property. not somewhere I would want to stay. No bedsheets unless you pay, no internet access, no anything really, you can do much better for the price

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emma steeper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2011

Liked: Wifi worked.

Disliked: There was a crazy sensor light in the bathroom that shut off the lights AND the hot water after about 90 seconds, and the censor to put them back on was outside the shower - silly! I was moved to a different location which had no kitchen as advertised.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011

Liked: good location, some helpful staff

Disliked: staff were hardly present, very small, still lots of work being done on the hostel. internet password was written unclearly and took me awhile to get online (which caused quite a few communication problems). Also, on our last day, no one was there to take our keys to check out. My train did not leave until 4pm so I wanted to know if I could leave my suitcase there while doing more sightseeing but since no staff was there I decided to write a note and hope it was alright. Later when I came to pick it up someone finally came and when I said (quite nicely) I hope it's OK that I am still here and left my bag all I got was "Well, what's done is done." No sorry we weren't here, blah blah. Not my fault, so don't be rude. Also hot water heater is on demand type and does not work amazingly well, but it does work. Don't mess around with their settings and ask if you have problems.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011

Liked: The people that I met there, which was not thanks to the hostel itself,

Disliked: Ive been backpacking for 6 months now, and this was without doubt my worst hostel. When I arrived the hostel was locked and abandoned, with no sign that it even still exists, and their phone number was unavilable, After a long time when they did answer the phone, they said I didnt mention my arrival time, but I could prove that I did. On the second night they suddenly announced that we are all moving to another hostel immidiately whether we like it or not, so we had to take our stuff and start walking to an uknown place at night. The "hostel" itself is more like an old house with some beds stuffed inside, not much staff and generally a very weird feeling. Save your time and money, go to a real hostel.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011

Liked: Nada.

Disliked: Muito dificil de encontrar o local. É a propria residencia da pessoa que aluga.Ttive que pagar pelo lençol. No hall de entrada tem varios objetos velhos... o edredon tinha aspecto de sujo, a porta do banheiro é de vidro... não tem chave na porta do quarto nem locker... não voltaria neste lugar.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Patricia Mera

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 November 2011 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: We liked home feeling of the place and the location was good. Free wifi :)

Disliked: It was really hard to find the spot and we went around in circles till we found.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nadege Lambert-Benoit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2011 Nadege would recommend this property

Liked: It was really accessible, near to everything, the place was clean and we could wash our clothes!!!

Disliked: The price 45 euros is a little bit expenesiv

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very new hostel and in a few weeks time it will be amazing and arty! Wonderfully odd and colourful creatures cover the walls bringing life to the hostel. The staff are really nice and helpful, showing me where to get the best coffee in the area, and helping with any other requests that were asked of them. There is a good internet connection and always hot showers (although the shower door is a bit tricky open/close) I met lots of great people at art flashpackers and would recommend it to friends without a doubt.

Disliked: The toilet and the shower are in the same room so when its busy you might end up waiting for someone to shower so you can go to the bathroom. But this was never really a problem for me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Wright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Roberto is amazing. He was completly helpful and friendly. There was a mix-up on booking the mixed dorm room, and he had it resolved in a short time and then upgraded us to an apartment so I can't really rate the actual hostel rooms as I never stayed a night, but from what I saw the kitchen was set-up well, clean etc. There only appeares to be one toilet and shower, both in the same room so depending on how many people are staying could get busy, but was clean and modern. Nice common area to use wifi, talk with other travellers. The location is perfect! Easy to find from the train station and just 5 min walk. And to find something in Venice your first try....that is a good thing, No need to take a water taxi to get to your room. He will help you find places to eat, where to go, what to see the list is endless what he will do to help your stay enjoyable.

Disliked: It is pricey, but it is Venice, and everything is expensive, food, drinks, accomodations.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

saulius valius

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 saulius would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to find, very friendly, goodwiling staff and free internet wifi

Disliked: everything was O.K.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Art flashpackers was one of the best hostels I have been to. It's in a great location and I was surprised how friendly and helpful the staff was. They created a really warm atmosphere to all the guests staying there. The rooms were always clean, beds comfortable, fast free internet. If I ever have to stay in Venice for a few nights I'd come here again.

Disliked: For everything was good :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location, staff was welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: As a traveler, it's important to recognize that bed bugs does not imply the hostel or even hotel is dirty, but acquiring them on my 2nd night at the hostel was extremely frustrating for the rest of my trip. I would recommend everything else about the hostel: the staff, location, and the accomodation. But I did get bedbugs here and that's the only thing I'll ever remember about it........ like I said, it's your responsibility as a travel to trust that bed bugs does not imply bad hotel (it's the traveler who has them that doesn't get rid of them when s/he goes to a new hostel, not the hotel).

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty easy to get to from the train station, everything was clean, bars and restaurants nearby. Hostnwas nice and watching the murals being painted on the walls was cool.

Disliked: Not a really big communal feel.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels