We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Friendly Venice - Female only

Guesthouse | San Marco, 2947- 30124, Campo Santo Stefano, Venice, Italy 30135

84.7% Overall Rating

59 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

"Excellent location, very helpful and friendly staff. Was almost like being at home."

Read all Friendly Venice - Female only reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Locanda Arte
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 42 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
41.11 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Ca' Contarini
16.45 USD

Guesthouse 80.9% 951 reviews
B&B Ca'Contarini
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 9 reviews
Venice Academy
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 165 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 33 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.3% 281 reviews
Venice Paradise
53.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

59 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Friendly Venice - Female only'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 64 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very helpful and friendly staff. Was almost like being at home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Friendly Venice is about 5-15 minites walking to basically all the major attractions (Accademia, San Marco Square...) 2. The hostel is very cozy and clean. Unlike most of the hostels which can be quite noisy in the night, Friendly Venice is quiet. Don't get me wrong, you can still meet new people. 3. Luciano and the other Italian( sorry, I forgot his name) were very helpful and friendly. You can always ask them anything and they were willing to help.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judy Randall

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2013 Judy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful staff, great facilities, centrally located close to tourist spots in Venice. The rooms are nice and big too.

Disliked: Judy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think this is one of the best options to find in Venice. For the price you pay, everything is really good. The location is perfect, the staff is very helpfull, even though their english is not perfect, they try to understand you and make sure you enjoy your stay. The bed and breakfast is very clean, the bathrooms are big and nice, everything is there, even a bubble bath! Also the bedrooms are spacious and have big windows. There is no airconditioning, so it can be warm in summer, but there are enough fans available. You can always ask the staff for that. I would recommend this property to everyone.

Disliked: for this price, there was nothing I can say that did not meet my expextations.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was fairly easy to find and is about an 8-10 mintue walk to St. Mark's Square. The breakfast was croissants/toast/crakers- so not a huge variety- but it was free. There is a computer that guests are allowed to use.

Disliked: The actual door to your bedroom doesn't have a key/lock (there is just the key to the building and to the hostel's entrance door) and there is no locker to lock up any valuables. The staff had very basic English stills, which made it difficult to explain why I arrived a day late or to get answers to questions.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really cute and the bathrooms and rooms are SUPER clean. The breakfast was great--yogurt, toast, jelly, cheese, croissants, juice/coffee/tea, whatever you want. The staff was also SUPER helpful and were very nice and accommodating. Also, location... it is maybe a ten minute walk from San Marco square and the main attractions of Venice.

Disliked: It is super quiet.. meaning, it isn't exactly a youth hostel. It is sort of difficult to meet people because of that. Also, it is advertised as free WIFI, but the WIFI didn't reach our room, which can be frustrating because sometimes you want a little bit of privacy. The positives WAY outweigh the negatives, though. I would take clean and great staff over an awesome WIFI connection any day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really great hostel, the staff were really nice, good location, modern bathrooms. Rooms were cleaned every day. Modern kitchen. I was given my own keys to come and go. I felt very safe.

Disliked: Couldn't pay by card so had to go to the cash machine last in the evening to pay. The staff's English was limited but I can't really criticize them for that.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very nice stay, would certainly recommend it.

Disliked: The staff did not speak english.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, incredible room interior, very nice atmosphere, security, cleanliness. Il felt like I was living in a palace!

Disliked: Everything was fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, the bed was comfortable, the facilities were clean, and the room was pretty big. breakfast was pretty good as well. The lady in the morning is extremely helpful. Wifi signal is pretty strong.

Disliked: The kitchen closes at 9pm and you're not even allowed inside it to grab water (I went in anyway). The lady at night does not speak very good english or italian and is not very helpful. You have to be quiet after 10pm because of her and the wifi was cutting in and out and she wasnt very helpful in fixing it. We were pretty chilly but they wouldn't turn up the heat. No help with tours or much to do in venice. Had to figure all of that out on my own.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Taylor Colby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff! There are a lot of bathrooms and bedrooms. It can hold large groups of people. Best quality hostel I have ever stayed in. Comfortable beds (got a great nights sleep)! Also woke up to breakfast that was provided. I would highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: I wish there was better directions to get to this hostel from the St. Lucia train station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and it is very clean inside.

Disliked: The actual building dosn't have a big sign, so remember to write down the address, and also the stairways to the actual hostel is scary, but it's very nice when you get inside.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

29 October 2012

Liked: - good position in venice - shared bathroom clean

Disliked: - who greeted us on arrival seemed to be there by chance .. spoke little Italian and did not issue any receipt for the payment of the room and did not even know exactly what was the amount to be paid ... the next morning we thought we meet someone who ask but we were told that it was too late ... - when we facing the breakfast room we found a table and chairs enough for all the guests, on the table, dirty, there were only bread for toast, jam, yogurt and cereal but no plates, forks and cups. no fresh food. No one greeted us and when we are facing in the kitchen there was a girl who did not speak English or Italian. The cutlery clean were finished and we spread the jam on the bread with forks. The girl has just prepared the coffee. Even the other guests were in the same situation..surreal!! - very noisy room, the old doors did not close properly and every time you opened or closed a door you could hear a deafening noise. we could not sleep all night because of loud noises coming from the hostel and from the neighboring houses. - any map of venice available - 100 €/room with these condition is realy a robberry! in conclusion a nightmare at the limit of the scam!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valbona Lufta

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 Valbona would recommend this property

Liked: I thought i was in home, that was my impression.

Disliked: The image of the stairs before you enter the hostel. Create a bad image before entering the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location easy to find and very unique interior decor. Host offered amazing breakfast and was very friendly.

Disliked: Host did not speak English very well. We asked host for a map of Venice and he tried to sell us a map of Rome

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ANARGYROS MELETIS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 ANARGYROS would recommend this property

Liked: very good location for this price..good atmosphere it's suitable for backpackers

Disliked: poor breakfast

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: Unfriendly help.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amy Santullo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Room was way too hot the little fan did absolutely nothing. We changed our booking dates via email and when we arrived the host couldnt speak english and we had to pay the full amount including our deposit again which was $50 AUS. Bathroom door didnt lock properly.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mohammad Tavassoli

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012

Liked: it was in a good location.

Disliked: it was a very old building with a bad smelling.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Dylan Brand

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012

Liked: great location, hot water, free wifi.

Disliked: Staff barely spoke english, no air conditioning or fans; no ventilation of any kind so it was very hot and stuffy. Neighbor had their TV blaring all night until 8:00AM. Got NO sleep.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing and the room we stayed in was adorable! Luckily we had a window so there was a breeze, but some rooms did not offer that. There was always staff there to help us (even though we had a little trouble understanding each other due to the language barrier). They even let us leave our bags after check-out until our flight late at night!

Disliked: Everything was great.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This very old building had lots of character and a fantastic location on Campo San Stefano. If was very clean and had a better-than-most hostels breakfast. We had a private room/shared bath with a window overlooking a canal. It was clean and the bathrooms were spacious. Free wifi was very good. The woman that checked us in was very helpful and spoke English.

Disliked: There are only two bathrooms with showers and one WC, which when all three were operational there was no problem. But, one of the bathrooms broke for day and weekend attendant would not allow late access to the WC which is in an area that closes at 10:30. 45 minute wait to gain access to the only working bathroom:-( The bathroom was back in working order in less than a day. The broken bathroom was less a problem for me as the manner in which the attendant handled it by locking all the guests out of the WC. This is the only factor that would make me consider staying somewhere else.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the very good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisa Campos Costa

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

15 May 2012 Elisa would recommend this property

Liked: We would definitely recomend this place. Perfect location, easy to find. The room was spacious, everything clean, including the kitchen, which is very well equiped. We booked shared bathroom, which were huge and very nice. Breakfast was enough. Free wifi!!! Carolina, one of the staff, was very friendly and helpful. We felt like living on a Venetian home :D The only thing we think could be improved is hooks for clothes in the room.

Disliked: Elisa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Vidal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: The room was great! Also the bathroom. The place is really clean! The location ia great, you are about 8 blocks from the Plaza San Marcos. I really recommend it!

Disliked: The only thing we didn't like wad that the heating sistem was not working and it was really cold.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels