HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Friendly Venice - Female only

Guesthouse | San Marco, 2947- 30124, Campo Santo Stefano, Venice, Italy 30135

84.1% Overall Rating

57 out of 65 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

"1. Friendly Venice is about 5-15 minites walking to basically all the major attractions (Accademia, San Marco Square...) 2. The hostel is very cozy and clean. Unlike most of the hostels which can be quite noisy in the…"

Read all Friendly Venice - Female only reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Locanda Arte
69.02 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.9% 41 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
60.39 USD

Guesthouse 91.3% 79 reviews
Ca' Contarini
17.95 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 914 reviews
B&B Ca'Contarini
62.12 USD

Guesthouse 71.0% 6 reviews
Venice Academy
48.32 USD

Hostel 86.5% 147 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
4.14 USD

Guesthouse 75.5% 30 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
51.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.6% 273 reviews
Venice Paradise
57.98 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

57 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Friendly Venice - Female only'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 62 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was spacious, kitchen well equiped, location is good, water in bathroom was hot enough and any time we needed, we like computer with free internet in common room and sufficient breakfast too. And most of all really friendly staff.

Disliked: Cleanliness in the kitchen would be better but probably they've just finished some work for new season so I would give another chance :-) One thing in the room may be emproved - a hooks for clothes.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012

Liked: The location was ideal, and the breakfast in the morning was more than I would have expected for a hostel. It was also obvious that they attempted to clean the bathroom while we were out.

Disliked: We booked the double room, and they checked us into the single room, which included a waterbed and was really awkward for two people who aren't dating. After we paid for the stay, we also were informed that the heater in that room was broken. It took a lot of negotiating to get partially refunded and moved into a new room, which was also very cold, and had lots of squished bugs on the wall.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. It was easy to find as the instructions on how to get there were excellent.

Disliked: The bathroom which was supposed to be our private bathroom- was across a hallway from our room and anyone could use it...and they did!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like an apartment than a hostel. Great location in the heart of Venice... Helpful staff and substantial free breakfast. Huge bathroom! Very safe and quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay here. The view from our bedroom window was of one of the canals and beautiful garden. The place was clean and we felt safe the whole time. The staff was so hlepful and even walked us to the water bus station in the morning to make sure we made it on the right one!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was absolutely charming. It felt as if we were staying in a Venetian apartment. As soon as you enter the building, you can tell that this was once a wealth Venetian family's home. It was a very genuine experience. The location is fantastic.

Disliked: There was sign for the hostel- we found the building because we had the address but the only indication that the hostel is there is a tiny plaque next to the button to buzz the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Events / festivals

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and thoughtful staff was the main reason we loved staying there. The B&B is small and only has a few rooms in a former private home, which makes it cozy and special. Location is good, and the double room was very good value for the price. View was also nice, our window faced one of the smaller canals.

Disliked: Noisy other guests who woke us up too early in the morning - but can't really blame the hostel for this. Usually it's quite quiet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheng Gao

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Sheng would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find and from there it's convinient to walk or take water bus to most of the attractions. The staff from India, Mali, is really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: nothng

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Jones

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: This splendid property is full of character located in a fantastic location for exploring the historic centre of Venice. The member of staff in charge was very friendly and helpful. Our bedroom outlook was a minor canal. Breakfast was very good and it gave an opportunity to meet the handful of other guests. Kitchen facilities were also available to guests and this was handy for storing cold drinks etc

Disliked: Initially the standard of the propery seemed rather run down and worn but soon we were to realise that much of the interior was truly authentic. In fact it added to the excellent experience of staying at this Hostel. Cash payment was the only concern.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very central but also a good escape from crowds.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located in lively buit not too busy location. Just few rooms, so feels personal. Internet acess useful. Staff helpful and common room good for social interaction with others, to relax. Breakfast, coffee etc. offered.

Disliked: n.a.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its central location. Nice big clean room. Malli, the host was very friendly and bent over backwards to make our stay very pleasant

Disliked: Only 1 chair. No decor/pictures on the wall. no place to hnag clothes in the 4 bed bedroom.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Xiaoyu Weng

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2011 Xiaoyu would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. cute room decoration and window view and a nice water mattress was a surprise.

Disliked: Not very much in favor of the neighborhood of where it locates. You have to pay cash...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Treaisa Rowe

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Treaisa would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly. Good location. Clean room.

Disliked: Nothing really the shower leaked a bit but I'm sure they will fix this soon and other guests were a bit noisy in the morning but this isn't a reflection at all on the hostel just a few noisy people!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Ledden

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: More than anything it was the staff. Mali was really welcoming and helpful. He made sure we had everything we needed and nothing was too much trouble. He was professional and efficient and a great conversationalist as well! Thanks Mali, you were great and a credit to your boss. Really good location and large room too.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the campo stefano location is nothing short of awesome and very cool to have our own canal out the window. the facilities initially appear shabby but the place really grows on you. some rooms are decorated much better than others. i never saw the fancy room shown in the advertisement. it was great to have a nice breakfast every morning and a sip of amaretto each evening. good to have fans in the rooms bc it was hot. staff was very accommodating and even got up early the day we left to make us breakfast and carry our luggage down to the square.

Disliked: faucets in bathrooms had weird pinhole leaks so spurted fine stream of water all over your clothes. tub/shower in one bathroom leaked all over the floor. staff was very eager to please but was temporary and didnt speak english too well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anita Goldsmith

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 September 2011 Anita would recommend this property

Liked: The size, location and services were all very good for the money. Excellent location. We were also very impressed with the receptionist/staff on site, who was extremely helpful and friendly and showed genuine concern in making our trip and stay at the hostel a positive experience. He made an especial effort to provide us with a vegetarian breakfast as soon as he found out we were veggies.

Disliked: Beds were too soft but other than that, nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adriana skaf

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were big and spacious, and the over all security of the hostel was great. Also the place was very clean and the guy behind the front desk was very helpful, and he made us feel very welcome.It felt more like a hotel then a hostel. The breakfast in the morning was ok, and the location of the place was perfect.

Disliked: its not the place for a party atmosphere, but perfect for some sleep and chill time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location - charming. Malli was an excellent and lovely host.

Disliked: NA

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Peter Green

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location and is easy to find. Mali, who works there, is considerate and attentive. He works hard and provides an excellent service. The breakfast was very good and the bathrooms were cleaned regularly

Disliked: The only problem i had was when i arrived, as the hostel had a problem with the bathroom and i had to stay another hostel for a couple of nights. They did arrange this and made every effort to contact me to advise their was a problem before i arrived.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The gentleman who worked in the hostel was very helpful. He helped with our (heavy) luggage, showed us to our big room (double bed) and asked if we had any more questions after he showed us around and gave us our keys. Breakfast was good and he made it for us when we were ready. There is a kitchen that you can make your own food too if you'd like. There are 2 big bathrooms, one with a tub shower and the other with a stand up shower, and a toilet room, so waiting for a bathroom was not an issue at all. There is no air conditioning in Venice and most of Europe, but they do have fans at this hostel and I was very comfortable as a spoiled American who can't stand being inside without A/C! :) It was also a great location. The front door opens up to a large square with restaurants and shops. Its a bit of a walk from the water bus stop S. Angelo, but its not difficult to get to it as long as you have a map with ya to find the right streets.

Disliked: None

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

29 August 2011

Liked: Location is fine

Disliked: Service is not adapted to the price paid

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaakko Huhtala

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Jaakko would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed in. Beautiful decoration, excellent location, helpful staff, tasty breakfast, nice common room to hang out and meet other travelers. This place is simply perfect.

Disliked: I liked everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

PATRICIA PEREZ WALTERS

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 PATRICIA would recommend this property

Liked: MALI, THE YOUNG HINDU MAN IN CHARGE IS THE NICEST PERSON EVER. THANK YOU FOR BEING SO WONDERFUL. GOOD KITCHEN AND NICE CLEAN COMMON BATHROOMS THE PLAZA IS QUIET AND YOU CAN GET A GOOD NIGHT SLEEP

Disliked: I THOUGHT THE DELUXE SINGLE HAD A PRIVATE BATHROOM, BUT IT WAS OK

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Grand hostel, with amazing marbel bathrooms. Great location in Stefano, inbetween San Marco and Rialto Bridge. view of little canal from room window. Solid breakfast. Highly recommended

Disliked: Quiet place so not for party goers. Rooms, although grand, have boot camp like beds. Very comfortable but a little weird.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels