HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel & Hostel Colombo For Backpackers

Hostel | Viale Antonio Paolucci 5, Venice, Italy 30175

67.8% Overall Rating

347 out of 498 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/03/2014)

"The location is good, it is very easy and inexpensive to go to Venezia or any airport from Mestre station."

Read all Hotel & Hostel Colombo For Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 34.51
  • Breakfast USD 5.52
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

CITY TAX( effective from 24th August, 2011 and not included in Hotel Rates ) High Season : 2,10 Euros per person per night (in the private room) High Season : 1,40 Euros per person per night (in the shared room) Low Season : 1,50 Euros per person per night (in the private room) Low Season : 1,00 Euros per person per night (in the shared room) For group (min. 10 person) bookings we will need the 50% of the balance, after the booking is confirmed. The difference must be paid at least 14 days (2 weeks) before group arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Nuova Locanda Belvedere
30.37 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.7% 494 reviews
PLUS Camping Jolly
17.26 USD

Hostel 77.3% 877 reviews
Green Garden Resort
66.05 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Venice Villa Dori
22.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.3% 1199 reviews
Camping Serenissima
17.26 USD

Campsite 73.1% 33 reviews
Camping Venezia Village
20.71 USD

Campsite 87.5% 39 reviews
Hotel Palladio
39.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.4% 74 reviews
Eco BB Venice
38.65 USD

Apartment 92.9% 119 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

347 out of 498 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel & Hostel Colombo For Backpackers'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
70.4%
Value
68.8%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 361 of 483 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Johnny Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Johnny would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the friendliness of staff.

Disliked: bad wifi connection, need to be at the lobby area to use wifi connection.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014

Liked: The neiborhood is safe. Had elevator. Had wifi.

Disliked: I found it not very clean. The walls were very thin and we could hear things in the middle of the night and it would wake us up. The room was not cleaned in 3 days of stay or the toilet paper replenished. Location, close to the bus line but very far away from everything else, just one bad restaurant near the city and staff even if friendly and wanted to help, didn't know very much about the area around the hotel.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 March 2014

Liked: The location is good, it is very easy and inexpensive to go to Venezia or any airport from Mestre station.

Disliked: The reservation stated that I had paid 15% of the reservation but the staff made me pay the full price (a contradiction to this page and therefore charging more money than the booking). The shower is one of the worst I found in any hostel. Wifi only in reception. The power plug near my bed didn't work.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the 24 hour reception andit was close to the bus stop and train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Agata Michalak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014

Liked: Cheapest

Disliked: Creepy not clean

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Venice Mestre station and very cheap

Disliked: Facilities not at all as described and staff rude and sarcastic

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiza Arias Bagno

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Luiza Arias would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are really confortable, and the bathroom is clean. The location is also good, although it is not on the island, it is very easy to get there. It is also near a wonderful supermarcket!

Disliked: There are no wifi in the rooms, only in recepcion. This is a hotel, not a hostel, so if you are looking for parties and meeting new people, you won't find any. Happily, it was not my case.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, close to the train station and easy to find. It has all facilities needed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

29 January 2014

Liked: Ping pong table, table football. The lift. It was close to Mestre station so very super easy to get to the island

Disliked: The only kitchen facilities were a sink, kettle, microwave and cutlery. It feels more like a hotel then a hostel. I was there mid january and when I arrived the place felt like it was completely empty. Had to ask reception to turn the corridor lights on at night. Seemed slightly disorganized. The power points were a different size to my europe adaptor. Had to hire one from reception. Not enough toilet paper in the bathrooms. Staff were friendly enough but didn't go out of their way, except for one gentleman who helped me find a cheap train to rome at about 2am. Saved me €40!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The pipe above my bed leaked.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful, location good and the price for what I got was great, so much so that I plan to stay another night.

Disliked: A bit run down, but I think they are in the process of getting it better.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best point, close to the train station and there is a bus stop in front that you can take a bus to go direct to the Venice Island.

Disliked: There is no heating in the bathroom, now in the winter is too cold inside. The locker seems a little fragile.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great that the bus to and from Venice centre was right out the doorstep of this hostel, with buses every couple of minutes. The rooms were cleaned daily and the reception area as well.

Disliked: Cannot use the kitchen to cook, which was a bit disappointing. And though it said the hostel was easy to find, I wandered for a good amount of time, as I got out of the train station at the wrong exit because it wasn't clearly mentioned on the site which exit to take.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyone was friendly and helpful, someone was at the desk 24-7, it was easy to find

Disliked: the busses were very crowded going in to venice during the day. breakfast could have used fruit or protein. most backpackers have to eat cheap food , all starch and sugar, it would not be hard to add a bit of health to breakfast.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Musa Lugemwa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013

Liked: the location is good, it's pretty close to the train station.

Disliked: the girl at the reception on 21/10/2013 at 11am, she was so horrible to me, she was inhospitable, she treated customers like sheet. it seemed like she hated customers. She needs to go on a customer service course, she needs to learn that without customers, no business can survive, and she wouldn't have a job either. the other receptionists were very nice, and helpful.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013

Liked: The lokation near the railwaystation

Disliked: The safety alle the Keys to the roms are the same

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and 10 minutes to venice buy bus. clean room with bathroom. main thing about customer service. Brasil guy Silva was great and he help me all the way with nice drawing in the venice map. Thanks for him for kind service.

Disliked: one group soooo noisy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

johannes bijvoet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 johannes would recommend this property

Liked: The nearby restaurant

Disliked: johannes left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Yannis Kontopoulos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013

Liked: The staff, free parking

Disliked: Small rooms, not very clear, no elevator

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bruno braga

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013 bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, it is not far from the center of Venezia. You can take a bus just in front of the hostel/hotel.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location,very polite stuff...service acording to money spent

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Maria Fernanda Salas Nieto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013

Liked: The quiet room.

Disliked: The fact tht they don't advertise that there is no kitchen for guests and the dirty space given to cook.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013

Liked: Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. It is located about 5 minutes from the train station and bus stops. The local supermarket is about 10 minutes walk away.

Disliked: There is no atmosphere or nightlife, with the closest being a 15 minute bus ride into the island of Venice. At best, the shower temperature was "warm" and it smelt like our toilets had been used during the day whilst we weren't there (my friend and I were the only occupants of the room). The wifi only works well in the lobby.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Raymond

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2013

Liked: Air con worked, loudly

Disliked: The listing for Colombo on hostelbookers claims that the hostel is clean when it is unfinished and the toilets are unsanitary. It claims to be in a great area but really the area is run down and offers little. The listing claims every room has tv but ours did not. We were once locked out of our room due to the door jamming and had to wait over an hour to get in while they looked for the maintainance guy. The fire alarms went off repeatedly during our stay. We found a cockroach in our bathroom on day one but he got away from us. The beds are very creaky and noisy and uncomfortable. This truly is the worst hostel I've ever stayed in and not only would I not recommend it to people, I will actively warn them against staying here. This has all the feeling of an abandoned building though it is not yet abandoned.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013

Liked: it's close to the train station and with interrail pass you can go for free they have free dinner sometimes instead of a 4 bed grils room i stayed in a room for 2 with just one other guy

Disliked: the breakfast is a disaster


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels