HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel & Hostel Colombo For Backpackers

Hostel | Viale Antonio Paolucci 5, Venice, Italy 30175

73.3% Overall Rating

363 out of 523 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

"The staff at the reception and the cleaning guy were polite and helpful. Especially at the reception even we plagued them with a million questions."

Read all Hotel & Hostel Colombo For Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 33.57
  • Breakfast USD 5.37
  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

CITY TAX( effective from 24th August, 2011 and not included in Hotel Rates ) High Season : 2,10 Euros per person per night (in the private room) High Season : 1,40 Euros per person per night (in the shared room) Low Season : 1,50 Euros per person per night (in the private room) Low Season : 1,00 Euros per person per night (in the shared room) For group (min. 10 person) bookings we will need the 50% of the balance, after the booking is confirmed. The difference must be paid at least 14 days (2 weeks) before group arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Nuova Locanda Belvedere
30.88 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.0% 503 reviews
PLUS Camping Jolly
15.04 USD

Hostel 83.0% 934 reviews
Green Garden Resort
64.25 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Venice Villa Dori
25.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 1209 reviews
Camping Serenissima
17.46 USD

Campsite 78.5% 51 reviews
Camping Venezia Village
18.13 USD

Campsite 88.8% 46 reviews
Hotel Palladio
38.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.6% 75 reviews
Camping Fusina Tourist Village
20.14 USD

Campsite 75.2% 349 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.3%

Overall Rating

363 out of 523 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel & Hostel Colombo For Backpackers'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 381 of 507 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy, good value for money,

Disliked: It was very busy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014

Liked: The staff at the reception and the cleaning guy were polite and helpful. Especially at the reception even we plagued them with a million questions.

Disliked: The air-conditioning in the room failed to keep us cool in the Venetian heat. The air-conditioning in the common area wasn't even on. And we couldn't get the wifi from our rooms. We also couldn't plug our chargers into the powerpoints in the room. Also, somehow, there were a million mosquitoes in the room and we got bitten like crazy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Bethan Griffiths

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2014 Bethan would recommend this property

Liked: Close to venice mestre train station so easy to get to venice.

Disliked: Our room wasn't great, when it rained the water leaked into the room with the window closed! Bathroom was not very nice - repulsive shower curtain that was hanging off the rails. The lights didn't seem to work in the corridor? Was also walked in on by a member of staff which was embarrassing…

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Simone Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really easy to get to Venice from this property.

Disliked: It is not the cleanest property. Also the AC in my room did not work. The towel we were given were definitely hand towels, they were tiny.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Jeeah Hong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Jeeah would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: No clean..

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheaper than on the island, but still really easy to get to the island by ever bus or train. Close to a grocery store. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No screen on the windows (mosquitos get in). Air conditioner in the room, but didn't work. Shower in my room was very bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jeffrey Wheeler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2014

Liked: Very friendly staff, easy to get to Mestre and Venice downtown

Disliked: They were short one room key for my room, WC was not very pleasant, sheets uncomfortable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sierra de la Croix

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Sierra would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap room and got the basics. Private toilet and bathroom was nice. Kitchen facilities included. Staff very helpful. Directions to hostel were Good. Transport to Venice was quick. Supermarket close.

Disliked: I could feel the springs through the mattress in places. Still was able to sleep ok. No wifi in room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the transport - railway station and city bus. Definitely good value for money. Kind of normal :o) reasonably tidy, pleasant staff.

Disliked: There is no special atmosphere in the hostel, just a normal place. I didn't miss it, though, I think that a hostel is for sleeping and not for amazing people. For using the lockers in the rooms, one has to bring his own lock. The electrical sockets in the whole building are not compatible with "German-style" plugs, so be careful and do not rely on it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Oliver Handley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014

Liked: The four bed room I stayed in had spacious lockers for all of your stuff, just had to provide a padlock.

Disliked: Beds were uncomfortable and I had to nick the pillow from the unused bed below me. The room I was staying in was facing into the road which was never free from traffic. The street lights shone right into the room and the curtains were inadequate. Two of the power sockets didn't work. I would call this more of a hotel than a hostel and is definitely not a good choice if you're travelling alone.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Keir Gravil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 June 2014 Keir would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyed our stay. Really convenient for travel into Venice St Lucia from Venice Mestre station. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Disliked: Keir left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Alejandro Ortega

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Security. Nice lounge.

Disliked: Awesome hostel although we could have used a kitchen. On the other hand, our room suffered from a massive leak from the toilet upstairs. Shit was raining on our heads. Literally. Other than that, everything was fine.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014

Liked: Location is great and easy to reach from Venice

Disliked: I paid for a female only dorm and reception checked in a guy!all that reception was able to tell me was I am sorry there is nothing i can do.Great staff!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located in quiet residencial area. Close to a big supermarket.

Disliked: I personaly didn't mind but it is far from the centre of Venezia. You have to catch a bus. But it only costs 1.30 euro and takes 10mins.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014

Liked: No comment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Shefras

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: I liked every thing about the hostel

Disliked: No thing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and gave great inside advice on Venice. The internet was fast and worked well.

Disliked: I saw some bad comments so only booked my first night in Venice there just in case. I would have left after my first night even if I'd paid for more. It was very uncomfortable. Mostly - Noisy (from outside the hostel, it's on what seems like a quite street but actually has got continual bus and cars on it throughout day and night) the windows don't block any noise from outside. The beds in the room were terrible. 2 beds were empty so I layered two mattresses ontop of eachother so I didn't feel the metal frame. It was still Crap!!! The bathroom wasn't clean and I refused to shower in it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

fatnassi abdelkader

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 fatnassi would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpfull and best priced hotel in venice rest of hotels too expensive for a backpacker i found.

Disliked: a bit out of central venice .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Caponi brothers was super close to the Mestre station, which meant we could arrive at the station, drop off our bags then get back on a train to the islands for 1.25€. Although it was incredible on the islands of Venice I enjoyed having cheap accommodation and it was in a quieter area. The supermarket nearby was awesome to buy things for picnics! The beds were comfy and the bathrooms were kept clean. Breakfast was good too, a croissant, cornflakes, breakfast bread, spreads, coffee and orange juice.

Disliked: Its location is not near the pretty canals and sights of Venice, but it's not hard to get to these islands. 1.25€ to the island then 7€ to get on a boat on the grand canal that allows you to go anyway! (Or you can walk, its so beautiful!)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014

Liked: Cheap Close to Mestre station Male receptionist was very approachable, polite and helpful

Disliked: Kitchen is underequipped and lacks a stove to cook on Luggage room is unsecured (literally just a curtain behind which you put your bags)

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Johnny Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Johnny would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the friendliness of staff.

Disliked: bad wifi connection, need to be at the lobby area to use wifi connection.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014

Liked: The neiborhood is safe. Had elevator. Had wifi.

Disliked: I found it not very clean. The walls were very thin and we could hear things in the middle of the night and it would wake us up. The room was not cleaned in 3 days of stay or the toilet paper replenished. Location, close to the bus line but very far away from everything else, just one bad restaurant near the city and staff even if friendly and wanted to help, didn't know very much about the area around the hotel.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 March 2014

Liked: The location is good, it is very easy and inexpensive to go to Venezia or any airport from Mestre station.

Disliked: The reservation stated that I had paid 15% of the reservation but the staff made me pay the full price (a contradiction to this page and therefore charging more money than the booking). The shower is one of the worst I found in any hostel. Wifi only in reception. The power plug near my bed didn't work.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the 24 hour reception andit was close to the bus stop and train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Agata Michalak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014

Liked: Cheapest

Disliked: Creepy not clean


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels