We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel & Hostel Colombo For Backpackers

Hostel | Viale Antonio Paolucci 5, Venice, Italy 30175

62.1% Overall Rating

381 out of 548 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/06/2015)

"Excellent location, easy to find. Helpful, English-speaking staff, a perfectly good budget hostel. Good food deals for guests in the pleasant restaurant. Functioning A/C overnight (though make sure you turn it on -…"

Read all Hotel & Hostel Colombo For Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.95
  • Breakfast USD 4.47
  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

CITY TAX( effective from 24th August, 2011 and not included in Hotel Rates ) High Season : 2,10 Euros per person per night (in the private room) High Season : 1,40 Euros per person per night (in the shared room) Low Season : 1,50 Euros per person per night (in the private room) Low Season : 1,00 Euros per person per night (in the shared room) For group (min. 10 person) bookings we will need the 50% of the balance, after the booking is confirmed. The difference must be paid at least 14 days (2 weeks) before group arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Nuova Locanda Belvedere
27.95 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.7% 516 reviews
PLUS Camping Jolly
13.86 USD

Hostel 80.0% 1051 reviews
Green Garden Resort
61.49 USD

Hotel 89.3% 4 reviews
Hotel Venice Villa Dori
20.13 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.5% 1223 reviews
Camping Serenissima
16.77 USD

Campsite 81.5% 70 reviews
Camping Venezia Village
24.60 USD

Campsite 89.6% 52 reviews
Hotel Palladio
29.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.5% 79 reviews
Camping Fusina Tourist Village
16.77 USD

Campsite 75.4% 355 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.1%

Overall Rating

381 out of 548 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel & Hostel Colombo For Backpackers'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
61.6%
Value
59.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 397 of 532 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ping pong table.

Disliked: Noisy bed. Shower water was everywhere. Plugs don't work.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, easy to find. Helpful, English-speaking staff, a perfectly good budget hostel. Good food deals for guests in the pleasant restaurant. Functioning A/C overnight (though make sure you turn it on - heard a few people saying they had no A/C and turned out they had just not found the switch!), hot showers and good wifi signal downstairs. There is always someone at the main desk, so you can check in at any time. Check out is at 10.30 but you can leave your luggage for the day. For some people this hostel may be a bit basic, but if you are used to budget backpacking hostels it's fine.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't work in the bedrooms. The space for leaving luggage is not very secure. But for a budget hostel it's all fine!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - easy to get to Venice. Bus runs every 10 min to and from Venice and day/night and stop is right by the hostel. Much better than paying lots to stay right in Venice.Sheets were crisp and clean.

Disliked: Just a pretty standard backpackers, nothing special.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very basic amenities offered. adequate for the easy traveller. receptionist allowed my other friends who were not staying at the hostel to leave their luggages, which was grand.

Disliked: shutter on the windows so there was minimal ventilation.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to the bus which takes you to Venice.

Disliked: Beds were really uncomfortable. I could feel ever spring in the mattress.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ciprian Nuta

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

29 April 2015 Ciprian would recommend this property

Liked: -nice

Disliked: Ciprian left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2015

Liked: Close to the train station

Disliked: Shower sprayed everywhere, wifi could only be used downstairs, luggage storage wasn't locked, not worth what you pay for it.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kobie Perfrement

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2015 Kobie would recommend this property

Liked: There was a supermarket down the road which was handy and also the kitchen facilities were useful. The bus stop to go into venice is only a short stroll from the hostel.

Disliked: Room 307 was disgusting. The shower was cold water and one spray, the bed you could feel every spring. Do not stay in this room. Some new people came into the room, the bed sheets had not been changed from the previous people staying, I had to tell them to go get fresh sheets. This place was dirty. Then I got moved to room 304 the bed was okay and the shower was hot so this was ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alfred Wiltfang

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015 Alfred would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Venice. Reachable for low cost by buss and train.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, quiet atmosphere, the morning staff is nice.

Disliked: the position of one of the beds in a dorm room - right in front of the entrance door is awkward for those who sleep on there. the power socket position is also not so convenient. kitchen access needs key

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ホテル内は、ロビーは広く、ゆったりとしてました。が、部屋の中は、普通かな。

Disliked: メストレ駅から、このホステルまでは、歩いて5〜7分ぐらいでしょうか。 夜になると、お店も少なくて薄暗く、空き地や、不法移民っぽい人が公園のベンチで座ってます。あまり治安は良いとは言えませんので、特に女性の方は気をつけてください。夜の一人歩きはなるべく避けた方がいいかもしれません。

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014

Liked: The fact that it's close to the bus station to go into Venice, and the fact that the rooms are secure.

Disliked: The bathroom was atrocious. Mold everywhere, smelled like urine, the shower didn't drain, and the water only ever got lukewarm. Our A/C was also broken, but we couldn't open the window because of the giant mosquito population. Even then, they came in through a hole in the wall and ate us alive.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Amit Kumar

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 September 2014

Liked: Very close to the Venezia Mestre Train station, hardly 5 minutes walk.

Disliked: The bathroom is horrible. The shower area was just 2x2 sq. feet. You cant stand there and take a shower. The AC didn't work. The room is very small.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is clean and although it's out of venice but with a bus you can get to the island easily.

Disliked: Internet works only in the lobby and not in rooms. The staff were not so helpful. When I asked for the map they said you can get it in the morning. In the morning they said we don't have. Theb again the night after, when I asked, they said you can get it in the morning!! !! Also when I asked for the bus ticket, reception didn't mentioned that if you buy it from the driver, it would be more expensive.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014

Liked: I had a roof over my head. that's it. probably one of the worst hostels i've stayed in. avoid it if you can help it.

Disliked: on the mainland, so takes almost an hour to get to the centre & main attractions (bus stop is right outside the hostel, so its about 15min by bus, then another 30mins by boat).rude & unhelpful staff. can't even call it a shower - it's a corner in the toilet covered by a curtain - water overflows and floods the whole floor every time! No power plugs in rooms, have to charge everything downstairs at reception which is rediculous! Wifi only works at reception, even though they say it works in rooms. Uncomfortable, old beds & matrasses. Cleaners clean every day, but the hostel is just old & needs renovations!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014

Liked: I didn't

Disliked: There are no directions to get to the hostel so get ready for some serious being lost. Our room was literally shitty so cleanliness wasn't the best either. Worst hostel experience ever, if you can I seriously recommend to book another.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy, good value for money,

Disliked: It was very busy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014

Liked: The staff at the reception and the cleaning guy were polite and helpful. Especially at the reception even we plagued them with a million questions.

Disliked: The air-conditioning in the room failed to keep us cool in the Venetian heat. The air-conditioning in the common area wasn't even on. And we couldn't get the wifi from our rooms. We also couldn't plug our chargers into the powerpoints in the room. Also, somehow, there were a million mosquitoes in the room and we got bitten like crazy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Bethan Griffiths

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2014 Bethan would recommend this property

Liked: Close to venice mestre train station so easy to get to venice.

Disliked: Our room wasn't great, when it rained the water leaked into the room with the window closed! Bathroom was not very nice - repulsive shower curtain that was hanging off the rails. The lights didn't seem to work in the corridor? Was also walked in on by a member of staff which was embarrassing…

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Simone Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really easy to get to Venice from this property.

Disliked: It is not the cleanest property. Also the AC in my room did not work. The towel we were given were definitely hand towels, they were tiny.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Jeeah Hong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Jeeah would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: No clean..

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheaper than on the island, but still really easy to get to the island by ever bus or train. Close to a grocery store. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No screen on the windows (mosquitos get in). Air conditioner in the room, but didn't work. Shower in my room was very bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jeffrey Wheeler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2014

Liked: Very friendly staff, easy to get to Mestre and Venice downtown

Disliked: They were short one room key for my room, WC was not very pleasant, sheets uncomfortable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sierra de la Croix

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Sierra would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap room and got the basics. Private toilet and bathroom was nice. Kitchen facilities included. Staff very helpful. Directions to hostel were Good. Transport to Venice was quick. Supermarket close.

Disliked: I could feel the springs through the mattress in places. Still was able to sleep ok. No wifi in room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the transport - railway station and city bus. Definitely good value for money. Kind of normal :o) reasonably tidy, pleasant staff.

Disliked: There is no special atmosphere in the hostel, just a normal place. I didn't miss it, though, I think that a hostel is for sleeping and not for amazing people. For using the lockers in the rooms, one has to bring his own lock. The electrical sockets in the whole building are not compatible with "German-style" plugs, so be careful and do not rely on it.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels