We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Youth Venice Home

Hostel | Sestiere Castello, 3368/A, Venice, Italy 30122

47.0% Overall Rating

104 out of 191 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/05/2014)

Nagy Timea thinks…

"Nothing really, only the other travellers who were in the same situation as us were nice."

Read all Youth Venice Home reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.34
  • Linen USD 6.34

Important Information

Guests are kindly requested to inform the property of their estimated time of arrival to arrange check-in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Art Flashpackers
50.74 USD

Hostel 55.4% 33 reviews
B&B Venice Hazel
25.37 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 102 reviews
AWA Venice Aparthotel San Marco
40.37 USD

Hostel 71.8% 46 reviews
San Marco Dreams
47.57 USD

Hostel 81.0% 27 reviews
CaSa Linger Hostel
38.06 USD

Hostel 72.6% 878 reviews
Amadeus B&B
65.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Schiavoni Apartments
69.77 USD

Apartment 90.7% 4 reviews
Venice Gold
36.79 USD

Hostel 87.2% 237 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
47.0%

Overall Rating

104 out of 191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Youth Venice Home'

Atmosphere
40.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
33.6%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
38.4%
Value
38.4%
Safety
50.4%
Refine your results Showing 140 of 174 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ALONGKOT MAIDUANG

Alone

Business / conference

08 September 2014 ALONGKOT would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, spacious dorm room, not very far from San Marco or San Zaccharia.

Disliked: A bit pricey, but there are discounts if you book long in advance.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

13 August 2014

Liked: Didn't have to see the owner where we stayed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Heather Ferguson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014

Liked: The beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The bathroom was very dirty. No hot water in the shower. There was only one bathroom in the whole place so many people wanted in at one time. They seemed to move people about in the rooms. We came back from our day to find a random man in our room setting up a new bed. The owner seemed very dodgy and made up prices of the rooms as people arrived. When we paid we did not get any change from our payment. Poor instructions to the property. Poor wifi and only one working socket in our room. The staff were very unfriendly and had little local knowledge. Do not follow their advice on getting places.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located and clean rooms

Disliked: The 5€ charge for the lien that I didn't notice and that there was just one bathroom. Overall, it was good.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Soraia Cardoso

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Soraia would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff, location.

Disliked: Dirtyness, couldn't use kitchen to cook, taxes.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014

Liked: Close to main street.

Disliked: No key. Different location than it said on the internet. Extra costs that wasnt included on hostelbookers website. No safetybox/locker. The straff didnt seem to know how many stayed in every room and so on.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The owner was a completely sneaky and greedy man, tried to do everything to earn more and told us to leave if we dont want to pay these extra fees. He took advantage of our desperate situation in immediately finding another hostel because it was too late. He first told us that he would give us the deposit, then when we didnt want to stay at the place to which he moved us, he didnt give us the deposit. It was an awful day because of him not accepting us in the hostel that we paid for in the first place!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

03 June 2014

Liked: The location is very central.

Disliked: This was the most unpleasant place I have ever experienced. I felt very insecure. I didn't get a female room as I had booked - when I complained, the manager said it was my own fault since I didn't email them about this separately. A drunk guy tried to lay down in by bed at night when I was sleeping. When I was moved to another room and shown a new bed, that bed was taken when I came back in the evening. At that moment I cancelled my remaining nights and asked my money back. The manager cheated me on money when I did so, and didn't accept the booking confirmation from hostel bookers as a confirmation on how much the rooms should cost.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Jessica Thorson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014

Liked: It was nicely located--seriously the only positive.

Disliked: There is only ONE toilet and ONE shower in the SAME room for the entire hostel. Who thought that was a good idea? The staff was super unorganized and there were several miscommunications regarding what was or was not included in our room and they had no change when I tried to pay. Early in the morning (around 8am) the owner played loud music to "wake people up for their trains"--excuse me, I'm an adult. If I need to be awake I will set an alarm. He, among with other guests, were chatting loudly in the kitchen right outside of our door. There is no common area so everyone congregates there and it's very loud. This is the absolute worst hostel I've ever stayed at in my life.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nagy Timea

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 May 2014

Liked: Nothing really, only the other travellers who were in the same situation as us were nice.

Disliked: Everything, you book and pay for something and you get everything different, and when you start asking questions and ask for explanations they ignore you, or tell you that " Who are you to ask so many question? "

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Kaylee Moore

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014

Liked: That it had a kitchen to cook meals

Disliked: They charged you for sheets per night, and for the overall charge was over priced. Wifi services was bad, the younger staff didn't seem like they didn't have a clue about what they were doing.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sergey Gumenik

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014

Liked: Человек,который, как я понял, управляет этим заведением - весьма интересная личность - напоминает этогого, Александра Анатольевича из НьюсБлока)), и вообще атмосфера-то там неплоха, а вот у меня не сложилось...

Disliked: Мне товарищ этот пытался объсянить, что он мне какие-то письма там писал на почту электронную, на что я в свою очередь ответил, что и претензий не имею но и почту не проверял неделю, ибо путешествую, дело не в часе заезда и не в десяти евро, дело в принципе - когда цена на четверть вырастает - это не дело...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Zulmy Lorena Ruge Botero

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014

Liked: Just the location, near the St Mark Square.

Disliked: The people in charge, really impolite, rude and dishonest. They want to charge whatever they want. It's not a friendly place. Dirty, you have to pay for linen, towels and the internet and they are not even clean and the internet didn't work properly. The staff is an unfriendly man, the reception is inside the kitchen. There are not lockers, not hot shower. When we arrive there was a man, who was part of the staff, sleeping in one of the beds, as we had booked a female room, the man just left, and we have to ask for change the linen we were charged.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014

Liked: Only the location... The problem is that the address written on the email confirmation of the booking is not necessary the address of the room they will give you : there are 4 buildings with rooms inside, but you don't know where you will be put in advance.

Disliked: The guy that was working there when we arrived was unfriendly, tired and not friendly... It looked like we were bothering him. He told us so many hidden fees that we had to pay and that we had no idea of (city tax for 3 euros per person per day, bed sheets and towel for 5 euros per person per day) ; we had to move to another building in the city for our room. We booked for a 4-beds mixed room with a shared bathroom, but this kind of room was not available, so we ended up in different rooms with strangers, with no lockers to put our personal items in and no keys to lock the rooms (the doors could not even close properly). Also, we asked for city maps, but they didn't have any, and the bed sheets we had to use were not even cleaned...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Caroline Mazaro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014

Liked: Maybe the location only

Disliked: When you get there they will charge you city tax 4 or 5 euro (I don't remember how much was) plus something else for the bed sheets, which I found kinda abusive, It seemed to me that the percentage that we pay to the website doesn't go to the hostel so they charge whatever they want to get more money back from us... I was changed of room 3 times. 3 times they changed me to another room, bad management. There is no sockets for all the beds. There is no reception so if I was in, for several times i had to answer the intercom... ridiculous. There is a printer in the midle of the place but they are so unhelpful, I needed to print something and i would pay for the print but they didn't ant to print because the owner wanted to take me to a place where they would print that to me... Jesus christ... I just wanted to run away from there.... there was only one bathroom for 12 people.. caos..No individual lights... anyway.. I wouldn't go back there no way...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Shane Palmer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014

Liked: Close to the waterbus stop to the Airport. Reasonably close to the sights of Venice. Nice small rooms, with only 4 beds.

Disliked: The staff had no record of my booking when I arrived. I had to call up the emailed confirmation from Hostelbookers to prove I was booked there. Then the staff decided to tell me that the place was fully booked, so we where off to their second place; on the other side of the City - which is kinda stressful in a town like Venice. No major signs anywhere to find either property, which made it hard in the first place.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Varas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, an Italo Brazilian, is very helpful and kind. The hostel is well located and very clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

shigim shahera shuhaizan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013

Liked: The toilets was clean. There was a kitchen we can cook in, the house was clean. It was in a quiet atmosphere which was good.

Disliked: We got a room which the staff kept coming in for sheets for other rooms. The room couldn't be locked. The main door was also not locked. There was no privacy. It was so hard to find this hostel as the directions given was not helpful at all.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Callum Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013

Liked: Excellent location by St Marcos Square

Disliked: Impolite staff, untidy, lack of toilet facilities, bad atmosphere and no brochures or help for activities/tours or any staff at recetion.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ruoying YANG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: Each person has to pay an extra 8 euro per night. This was not stated explicitly when I made the reservation.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great little atmosphere and very helpful owners.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: Unprofessional

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. It is very close to the main attractions in Venice as well as the ferry stops, and the owner Nino was helpful with anything we needed. He showed us a good bakery and coffee shop, recommended attractions for us to visit, and provided us with a map with everything important marked on it. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Venice.

Disliked: The worst thing about the hostel was that there was only one bathroom, although this was not an issue when we were there, and we rarely had to wait more that a couple of minutes to use the bathroom.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Just about everything. We felt intimidated, unsafe and overcharged. The hostel was unclean and there was nobody appropriate to book in with when we arrived. Staff were absent for long periods of time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ceylin Tatl?dil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Ceylin would recommend this property

Liked: Its a very nice hostel. You feel like your at home. Has a very clean bathroom and friendly managers. Location is good.

Disliked: Common area is kitchen.We stayed on the second floor -which has just one room- internet wasn't working there but other than that internet was working.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels