HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Youth Venice Home

Hostel | Sestiere Castello, 3368/A, Venice, Italy 30122

66.5% Overall Rating

101 out of 169 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Shane Palmer thinks…

"Close to the waterbus stop to the Airport. Reasonably close to the sights of Venice. Nice small rooms, with only 4 beds."

Read all Youth Venice Home reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.91
  • Linen USD 6.91

Important Information

Guests are kindly requested to inform the property of their estimated time of arrival to arrange check-in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Art Flashpackers
48.38 USD

Hostel 55.4% 33 reviews
B&B Venice Hazel
27.64 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 87 reviews
AWA Venice Aparthotel San Marco
43.98 USD

Hostel 76.8% 26 reviews
San Marco Dreams
41.47 USD

Hostel 81.1% 23 reviews
CaSa Linger Hostel
48.38 USD

Hostel 76.6% 869 reviews
Amadeus B&B
71.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Schiavoni Apartments
76.02 USD

Apartment 90.7% 4 reviews
Venice Gold
38.70 USD

Hostel 85.9% 205 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.5%

Overall Rating

101 out of 169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Youth Venice Home'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
66.4%
Value
63.2%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 155 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Shane Palmer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014

Liked: Close to the waterbus stop to the Airport. Reasonably close to the sights of Venice. Nice small rooms, with only 4 beds.

Disliked: The staff had no record of my booking when I arrived. I had to call up the emailed confirmation from Hostelbookers to prove I was booked there. Then the staff decided to tell me that the place was fully booked, so we where off to their second place; on the other side of the City - which is kinda stressful in a town like Venice. No major signs anywhere to find either property, which made it hard in the first place.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Varas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, an Italo Brazilian, is very helpful and kind. The hostel is well located and very clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

shigim shahera shuhaizan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013

Liked: The toilets was clean. There was a kitchen we can cook in, the house was clean. It was in a quiet atmosphere which was good.

Disliked: We got a room which the staff kept coming in for sheets for other rooms. The room couldn't be locked. The main door was also not locked. There was no privacy. It was so hard to find this hostel as the directions given was not helpful at all.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Callum Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013

Liked: Excellent location by St Marcos Square

Disliked: Impolite staff, untidy, lack of toilet facilities, bad atmosphere and no brochures or help for activities/tours or any staff at recetion.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ruoying YANG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: Each person has to pay an extra 8 euro per night. This was not stated explicitly when I made the reservation.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great little atmosphere and very helpful owners.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: Unprofessional

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. It is very close to the main attractions in Venice as well as the ferry stops, and the owner Nino was helpful with anything we needed. He showed us a good bakery and coffee shop, recommended attractions for us to visit, and provided us with a map with everything important marked on it. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Venice.

Disliked: The worst thing about the hostel was that there was only one bathroom, although this was not an issue when we were there, and we rarely had to wait more that a couple of minutes to use the bathroom.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Just about everything. We felt intimidated, unsafe and overcharged. The hostel was unclean and there was nobody appropriate to book in with when we arrived. Staff were absent for long periods of time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ceylin Tatl?dil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Ceylin would recommend this property

Liked: Its a very nice hostel. You feel like your at home. Has a very clean bathroom and friendly managers. Location is good.

Disliked: Common area is kitchen.We stayed on the second floor -which has just one room- internet wasn't working there but other than that internet was working.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very warm and inviting. It's definitely a family-type atmosphere and you will have the most fun if you have a good energy.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel made the experience...I had left something in my last hostel in Florence, and the owner did all he could to help me get it back. The location was fantastic and the hostel itself was clean and cozy.

Disliked: The staff is rather laid back, this wasn't a problem for me as I am the same way. If order and professionalism is your main concern, you may not get that here, but you will get authenticity and friendliness.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is very large, very quiet, has a kitchen

Disliked: No locker in the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vydrina Alexandra

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 Vydrina would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location, lots of interesting people to talk to in the kitchen, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: no lockers and the room was almost always open,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013

Liked: -Very nice property, view of canal, central location -Big bedrooms -Free wifi, worked well in kitchen but not our room -kitchen was handy but minimal fridge space, fridge wasn't cold & it was confusing to work out stovetop/oven -Large bathroom but tiny shower -Lockers with free padlocks

Disliked: -VERY hard to find, took us over an hour -Extra charge of €3 per person per night on top of priest quoted on hostelbookers.com -Extra charge of €5 per bed for linen (no including a towel), which was then removed from our beds after 1 night -Hostel not located at address provided, this is only reception then its 5min walk to hostel -No locks on bedroom doors -Bathroom was connected to our bedroom so other guests constantly walking in & out -Thin walls, so very noisy -Some renovations taking place in kitchen so workmen had noisy tools going at 8.30am

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gloria Schmitz

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: It was centrally located, clean, and beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was very secure, definitely my favorite hostel I´ve stayed at so far!

Disliked: It was a little bit pricey. For one person for one night it was 45 euros, more than twice what a typical hostel costs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and central - friendly.

Disliked: Nothing except that like everything in Venice, it was difficult to find and we got lost!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

06 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: I ve been travellin for many years and this is one of the worst places I ve ever stayed. First of all, the address they gave me was the worst ever (and I live in a country where address are the worst worldwide). It was like a rally to find it. Afterwards, when we arrived there, they didnt know how much do I have to pay, so they tried to charge me more. Besides that, they charge 5 euros for the linen. Internet never worked. The staff was useless, there was a kind girl, but she didnt seem to know sometin about the place and there was this man who look kind of dirty. He entered in our room twice without knocking the door in the middle of the night.... Really, dont stay here, it sucks!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013

Liked: I liked how close it was to the city centre

Disliked: the man made us all feel very uncomfortable. the building was freezing cold. we missed our train and couldn't make it within checkin time and he made us spend the night outside in the freezing cold, huddled in the doorway of an alley.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: They charge a "city tax" that was not previously inform, also they charged for blankets and towels, but they didnt give me towels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

farah kaddouri

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 farah would recommend this property

Liked: the location was incredible, we got very nice place (appartement) well furnished ( sheet not needed); the staff (Barton)was very friendly and halpful( they wait for us even late) we are very satisfied ( farah and her family)

Disliked: farah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Detrent

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: great people, great location

Disliked: nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012

Liked: It´s location

Disliked: Everything else. I had to wait 25 minutes for someone to open the door when I arrived. They didn´t have any computer available. The fan didn´t work. There was no breakfast. The sheets coast 5 euros and one member of staff was very unprofessional and rude.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012

Liked: good location

Disliked: shower world go hot and cold and clog up in the drain. no safety, keys dont work to your front door of room so people can walk in at anytime. non helpful staff. you have to pay for bedsheets and in you want to levare your bags there

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shannon Carter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: It's pretty much old appartments converted so It really felt like home. The kitchen was great, especially considering there is a supermarket about 3 min walk away.

Disliked: The description of getting there was really bad, better to just google maps it. Also it says the tax is 3% on the hostelbookers listing but it was 3 euro. They asked for each night but some people just paid once for the first night.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels