We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Alloggi Gerotto Calderan

Hostel | Campo S. Geremia 283, Venice, Italy 30121

78.2% Overall Rating

543 out of 614 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2015)

"Very good location given the price, unlikely that you will find better for the price for that central a location."

Read all Alloggi Gerotto Calderan reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Upon arrival cash payments only. Curfew at 1 am Payment only by cash Children who are more than 2 years old pay as an adult. Dorms are only for under 35 No lift in our buildings ------------------------------------------------------ PLEASE NOTE: From 24/08/11 the municipality of Venice obliges every hotel to charge every guest an extra CITY TAX. The amount is of 2 euros per person per night during the high season. During low season the amount is 1,40 euro per person per night. ----------------------------------------------------- PLEASE NOTE: Every day we check the credit card details of our arrivals. If we can't charge the price of the first night of your stay we won't consider valid your reservation. - Check in from 2 pm - Check out 10 am - Lock-out from 10.30 am to 2 pm (just for the dormitories, not for the private rooms) - Curfew at 1 am (it is not possible to came back later even if you are in a private room) - We don’t serve breakfast - Payment only by cash - No elevator in our buildings (we have 4 floors) - The dorms are only for people under 35 years old (no age limit for private rooms) - Free stay for children under 2 years old - The city tax is not included in the price - Your room can be here or in another house nearby, same type of room same price. If the date of you arrival is March 28th you have to cancel within the midnight of March 24th.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

San Geremia Rooms
27.46 USD

Hostel 83.4% 466 reviews
Hotel Rossi
32.95 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.3% 194 reviews
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
25.26 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.0% 252 reviews
L'Imbarcadero
29.65 USD

Hostel 77.9% 808 reviews
Anonimo Veneziano
54.91 USD

Apartment 93.3% 6 reviews
Viva Venezia
42.83 USD

Guesthouse 88.1% 82 reviews
Hotel Atlantide
43.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.6% 32 reviews
Alberghiera Venezia
63.15 USD

Apartment 96.7% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

543 out of 614 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alloggi Gerotto Calderan'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
73.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 459 of 602 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tseng YunYu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015 Tseng would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good and very near the train station

Disliked: The room soundproofing is not enough, it's really noise at night

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good shower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location given the price, unlikely that you will find better for the price for that central a location.

Disliked: Lacked the typical hostel atmosphere.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Artem Avakian

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Artem would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great, they let us chill in the back room even after we checked out so we could charge our devices and relax. The location is also great - it's 5 minute walk from train station and there's several boat stops nearby

Disliked: I booked a room in Alloggi Gerotto Calderan, but the reception was in a completely different hotel and they send us to a third hotel as well, with the view on someone's backyard. The wifi was absolutely bad (but at least free), the electric breakers were sometimes switching off, and there was a total of 2 sockets available in the whole room. What is more, the socket in the bedroom was disabled at first, and when we turned it on, the AC also started working. Oh, and there's no off switch on that thing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kehinde Olanrewaju

Alone

City break

18 June 2015 Kehinde would recommend this property

Liked: Late review... having stayed in this hostel in summer 2014 Very nice and friendly staff who were carrying and giving safety recommendations ? Clean and tidy. Nice free breakfast. Perfect location being in front of the central station. Very popular area... So a lot of good and bad kind of people. Watch out your belongings!!

Disliked: The "roughness" of the area.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Marie Bullingham

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Wash basin in bedroom. Extremely small toilet area. Noisy bathroom fan. Old fit out

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms. Very clean.

Disliked: Staff is not very friendly. Kind of expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offer rooms like a hotel, which means you can get your own bathroom and not share that part. Even though they don´t offer breakfast, they give you a 50% discount on the café next door, so you can have breakfast for 3 or 4 euros.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, Good location, Comfy beds, Balcony overlooking the streets.

Disliked: WiFi was very bad on the 4th floor.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015

Liked: Very close to the station and main square.

Disliked: No elevator, so good luck lugging suitcases up the stairs. No interaction between residents and staff; no communal area. No breakfast included, though you do get a 50% discount at the store next door, but it's really affordable anyway.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2015

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful

Disliked: Tiny room and bathroom, constant smell of sewage and/or mildew, few amenities.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Train Station and good location to know the city,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Johnson

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 January 2015 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to station and sightseeing

Disliked: bed and pillows a bit hard but that is just a personal thing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station

Disliked: Reception location not well known

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. I love the fact that they have everyday housekeeping this ensure that the hostel maintains cleanliness. The beds are comfy. The staff is friendly and very helpful especially Miss Luana she has been very helpful and attentive to my request and questions. I enjoy my stay here.

Disliked: Would have been better if they have put locker inside the room. You know every backpacker, the security of our belongings especially money and gadgets are always our top priority. By putting a locker inside the room simply show that the management is also taking into consideration with regards to security. Especially the rate, i considered it as a bit pricey compare to what hostel i have tried. secondly, i would advise to put rug in the toilet so that to avoid leakage of water coming from the toilet.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

thiago Rodrigues de Castro

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2014

Liked: Good location, near the main train station!

Disliked: The "hot" shower varieties between burning skin and extreme cold in a fell seconds in a endless loop of hate! The bathrooms that they say to be private can be OUTSIDE your room, like in my case, what is terrible for privacy. The bathroom is EXTREMELY small, EXTEMELY! When you complain about something, the staff just giove some excuses!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joseph Mirro Macatangay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2014 Joseph Mirro would recommend this property

Liked: This isn’t the Ritz but when you’re in a magnificent city like Venice, who wants to stay indoors anyway? This hostel is just a 6-minute walk (about 450 meters) from Sta. Lucia station and close to many good pizzerias and restaurants littered along Lista di Spagna. The piazza near the hostel can be quite busy until late in the evening but is truly charming early in the day when you have no crowds and you have a great view of the 16th century church (Chiesa di San Geremia) all to yourself. (The church is literally 50 meters away from the hostel’s doorstep!) I stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm and had a restful sleep. Also, (because you are in Italy), remember that you have to pay city tax of 2 euros per night on top of the published rates. There’s no breakfast but the hostel provides 50% discount on breakfast and 20% on all menus at a nearby cafe. Hostel has very strong wifi too.

Disliked: Downsides: The hostel provides only 1 key per dorm. No towels provided. No elevators.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ellie Sparke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2014 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location not far from the train but not far from the main area. It was pretty good price (for Venice) and you got your own bathroom

Disliked: You get one key per room (even for the dorms) which is a bit wierd and the beds are really really close together (about 30cm between some!) so you get to know your roomies! It's good for the price range.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to from the main railway station Helpfulness of staff Our room had a little balcony.

Disliked: No kettle to boil in rooms. Had to walk up and down five flights of stairs to lobby to get some water for coffee. Good that at least available but a bit tough from the top floor. Very small room (but cases could fit under bed fortunately

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gavin Ryan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the centre of Venice for a fairly reasonable price, with clean and well decorated rooms.

Disliked: Breakfast is not included and the hostel does not provide any (although there were discounts for breakfast at the cafe next door).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness of the rooms and washrooms were better than expected. Washroom facilities were clean. Large, good quality clean towels were provided. Closet had nice hangers. Beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The room and beds were a bit small and we didn't know our washroom would be located outside of our bedrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather Torr

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Well serviced for a hostel, towels, soap etc in private rooms. Aircon and good shower. Also gave us a voucher for 50% of the food and drinks at the cafe next door. Great directions to hotel on the booking confirmation.

Disliked: Poor wifi reception. Room a bit small. Had to hand in key when going out so sometimes had to wait behind other guests at reception to get room key on return.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jennifer Mellifont

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. It's very basic but with everything you need.

Disliked: The air conditioning was quite poor. Venice is such a noisy place that you can't open a window at night. I noticed other people commented on the air conditioning as well so, if I were coming back to Venice, I would probably pay a bit more to be more comfortable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dominic Koch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: it was central. Frendly staff

Disliked: We got just one key for a 4 bed dorm. the recepiton was closing at 1am till 6 am


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels