HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Alloggi Gerotto Calderan

Hostel | Campo S. Geremia 283, Venice, Italy 30121

86.7% Overall Rating

466 out of 527 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

"great place to stay, it is more like a hotel, they have nice tables outside, great location, great staff."

Read all Alloggi Gerotto Calderan reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Upon arrival cash payments only. Curfew at 1 am Payment only by cash Children who are more than 2 years old pay as an adult. Dorms are only for under 35 No lift in our buildings ------------------------------------------------------ PLEASE NOTE: From 24/08/11 the municipality of Venice obliges every hotel to charge every guest an extra CITY TAX. The amount is of 2 euros per person per night during the high season. During low season the amount is 1,40 euro per person per night. ----------------------------------------------------- PLEASE NOTE: Every day we check the credit card details of our arrivals. If we can't charge the price of the first night of your stay we won't consider valid your reservation. - Check in from 2 pm - Check out 10 am - Lock-out from 10.30 am to 2 pm (just for the dormitories, not for the private rooms) - Curfew at 1 am (it is not possible to came back later even if you are in a private room) - We don’t serve breakfast - Payment only by cash - No elevator in our buildings (we have 4 floors) - The dorms are only for people under 35 years old (no age limit for private rooms) - Free stay for children under 2 years old - The city tax is not included in the price - Your room can be here or in another house nearby, same type of room same price. If the date of you arrival is March 28th you have to cancel within the midnight of March 24th.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

San Geremia Rooms
35.93 USD

Hostel 81.5% 419 reviews
Hotel Rossi
53.21 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.1% 157 reviews
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
51.82 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.0% 208 reviews
L'Imbarcadero
51.13 USD

Hostel 88.9% 776 reviews
Anonimo Veneziano
71.86 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Moderno
138.20 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Viva Venezia
48.37 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 63 reviews
Hotel Atlantide
62.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.7% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

466 out of 527 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alloggi Gerotto Calderan'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 403 of 515 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay, it is more like a hotel, they have nice tables outside, great location, great staff.

Disliked: no kitchen, but staff will microwave stuff for you and they have nice tables to seat and eat outside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Pires

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, organized and comfortable. Excelent location.

Disliked: Victor left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Asim Das

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 April 2014

Liked: Location of the hotel and the room at the top floor

Disliked: Getting up and down the stairs to the 4th floor with luggage.Any room in lower floors is noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Felipe Leonardo

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

14 April 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: the bed are really confortable

Disliked: Only two bathrooms for the hostel and there was no locker as it said

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This accomodation is placed smack in the middle of where the action is. The staff took one look at us (borderline older couple!!) And allocated us an appropriate room that was quietter than most without our requesting it. There are dorm rooms which can get a bit rowdy. They were not close to our room. We had to go up three flights of steps but that was not a problem as we are fit and travel light. Take note if that doesn't fit you. We took the boat in from the airport and walked to the hotel. We sorted this out in advance by way of Google Maps, etc. It was the perfect way to arrive for a stay in Venice. Truly, you would not want to stay outside of Venice and commute in... what a pain! This place made it well within our economic reach, saved us precious time on a limitec time holiday... everything we could want. Oh! Eating places and grocery stores a short stroll away.

Disliked: Nly that there was a risk of being near noisy people. We had a room full of hsppy noisy Asians who when we requested they pipe down a bit, they happily and completely obliged. They honestly were not aware that the walls are a bit thin and the rooms a bit close together which is the norm in Europe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

douglas watson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Well located-easy walk from bus terminal. Excellent plumbing. Helpful staff.

Disliked: We are 60+ years old so a 5th floor room was a challenge.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Cook

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location & easy to find. Able to leave luggage prior to and after check-in/out. Clean and comfortable and we felt safe staying here.

Disliked: The wifi is only available in the reception area... would be nice to be able to access it from your room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: curfew

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Amanda Hutapea

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Bad air circulation and noises at night from other rooms in the hotel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you wanna go to hotel easily from bus(train) station, location is pretty good. Cleanliness is also good. My room(dormitory) was cleaned everyday, and sheets were changed everyday too. Someone complained about wi-fi here review, but my room was good.

Disliked: There is no lockable locker, just wardrobe. But you can leave your stuff (lap-top, camera, etc.) at reception desk. If you wanna go Venice Biennale and museums(Ca’Pesaro, Punta della Dogana, etc.), this hotel is far from them. Especially to the Biennale, You have to take a ship(a little bit expensive) or walk about 40~50 minutes( but you should lose a way. Venice is so complex town). But it's not so bad for enjoying the sightseeing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, good location, quiet and very friendly staff.

Disliked: No lift when taking luggage to third floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect for tourists that arrive and don't want to walk with baggage. The room was renovated and very clean as well as the bathroom.

Disliked: I couldn't get WiFi in the room and had to go down to the lobby.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mun Hong Yee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2013 Mun Hong would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to locate, just follow the instruction precisely and we will be able to find the location for first timer! friendly staff, peace and quiet in the city of Love!

Disliked: If you are carrying lot of luggage, be prepared to carry all your luggage by stair if you are staying top floor. :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel was clean and in the perfect location.

Disliked: No lift - 3 flights of stairs with a big bag is a real effort. There is a liggage room, but there is a man living behind the bookcase in the room - was a bit strange.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HAKAN OZAN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 HAKAN would recommend this property

Liked: good location 5 minutes away from the train station,

Disliked: Our second day, there was strike in Venice but staff didnt give us any information about it and when we cheked-in she suggested to go island on the second day... So we couldnt go to islands, i think she should have known it and direct us well... Bad internet connection...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Ferguson

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 October 2013 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient near the Railway Station and central for tourists. Room very clean and staff friendly. Breakfast excellent and great value.

Disliked: Lots of stairs and no lift as reception is on 3rd floor, we didn't mind and it was mentioned on trip advisor, and we only had hand luggage.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antti Suniala

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Antti would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for a night in a 5 bed room that was suprisingly beautiful for a hostel. The location of this place is amazing and the staff was very friendly and spoke perfect english. If you're planning to explore the city and use the hostel just for sleeping then I'd say this is the perfect choise. You can leave bags in the luggage storage before check in and even after you check out and wait for your train or whatever.

Disliked: The 1am curfew might be a problem for some. There's another door from the street close to the luggage storage that the check in desk can't control and it might be open, making the storage less secure.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica Constable

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 October 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: location was perfect

Disliked: it was on a main street so a little noisy in th early evening

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fook Cheong Lee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Fook Cheong would recommend this property

Liked: Good location n clean. Pleasant staff.

Disliked: Nil

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very small room, really make you feel uncomfortable, not worth for value

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, showers, location and price. Also luggage holding.

Disliked: Awful WiFi connections and speed. Curfews.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013

Liked: N/A

Disliked: The reception is located in a different building than the hostel which is extremely confusing and inconvenient

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms in the room

Disliked: Had to get out for 3hours of cleaning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trevor Sullivan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 September 2013 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy walk from station. We stayed at the hotel opposite which suited us an ole couple.

Disliked: No lift.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Curfew at 1am. Very noisey outside the windows at night, hard to sleep.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels