We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Alloggi Gerotto Calderan

Hostel | Campo S. Geremia 283, Venice, Italy 30121

78.4% Overall Rating

536 out of 606 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2015)

"They offer rooms like a hotel, which means you can get your own bathroom and not share that part. Even though they don´t offer breakfast, they give you a 50% discount on the café next door, so you can have…"

Read all Alloggi Gerotto Calderan reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Upon arrival cash payments only. Curfew at 1 am Payment only by cash Children who are more than 2 years old pay as an adult. Dorms are only for under 35 No lift in our buildings ------------------------------------------------------ PLEASE NOTE: From 24/08/11 the municipality of Venice obliges every hotel to charge every guest an extra CITY TAX. The amount is of 2 euros per person per night during the high season. During low season the amount is 1,40 euro per person per night. ----------------------------------------------------- PLEASE NOTE: Every day we check the credit card details of our arrivals. If we can't charge the price of the first night of your stay we won't consider valid your reservation. - Check in from 2 pm - Check out 10 am - Lock-out from 10.30 am to 2 pm (just for the dormitories, not for the private rooms) - Curfew at 1 am (it is not possible to came back later even if you are in a private room) - We don’t serve breakfast - Payment only by cash - No elevator in our buildings (we have 4 floors) - The dorms are only for people under 35 years old (no age limit for private rooms) - Free stay for children under 2 years old - The city tax is not included in the price - Your room can be here or in another house nearby, same type of room same price. If the date of you arrival is March 28th you have to cancel within the midnight of March 24th.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

San Geremia Rooms
27.09 USD

Hostel 82.7% 459 reviews
Hotel Rossi
36.58 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.4% 186 reviews
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
24.93 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 251 reviews
L'Imbarcadero
31.43 USD

Hostel 82.5% 805 reviews
Anonimo Veneziano
31.43 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Moderno
108.38 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Viva Venezia
42.27 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 78 reviews
Hotel Atlantide
59.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

536 out of 606 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alloggi Gerotto Calderan'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
76.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 452 of 594 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offer rooms like a hotel, which means you can get your own bathroom and not share that part. Even though they don´t offer breakfast, they give you a 50% discount on the café next door, so you can have breakfast for 3 or 4 euros.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, Good location, Comfy beds, Balcony overlooking the streets.

Disliked: WiFi was very bad on the 4th floor.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015

Liked: Very close to the station and main square.

Disliked: No elevator, so good luck lugging suitcases up the stairs. No interaction between residents and staff; no communal area. No breakfast included, though you do get a 50% discount at the store next door, but it's really affordable anyway.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2015

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful

Disliked: Tiny room and bathroom, constant smell of sewage and/or mildew, few amenities.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Train Station and good location to know the city,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Johnson

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 January 2015 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to station and sightseeing

Disliked: bed and pillows a bit hard but that is just a personal thing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station

Disliked: Reception location not well known

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. I love the fact that they have everyday housekeeping this ensure that the hostel maintains cleanliness. The beds are comfy. The staff is friendly and very helpful especially Miss Luana she has been very helpful and attentive to my request and questions. I enjoy my stay here.

Disliked: Would have been better if they have put locker inside the room. You know every backpacker, the security of our belongings especially money and gadgets are always our top priority. By putting a locker inside the room simply show that the management is also taking into consideration with regards to security. Especially the rate, i considered it as a bit pricey compare to what hostel i have tried. secondly, i would advise to put rug in the toilet so that to avoid leakage of water coming from the toilet.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

thiago Rodrigues de Castro

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2014

Liked: Good location, near the main train station!

Disliked: The "hot" shower varieties between burning skin and extreme cold in a fell seconds in a endless loop of hate! The bathrooms that they say to be private can be OUTSIDE your room, like in my case, what is terrible for privacy. The bathroom is EXTREMELY small, EXTEMELY! When you complain about something, the staff just giove some excuses!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joseph Mirro Macatangay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2014 Joseph Mirro would recommend this property

Liked: This isn’t the Ritz but when you’re in a magnificent city like Venice, who wants to stay indoors anyway? This hostel is just a 6-minute walk (about 450 meters) from Sta. Lucia station and close to many good pizzerias and restaurants littered along Lista di Spagna. The piazza near the hostel can be quite busy until late in the evening but is truly charming early in the day when you have no crowds and you have a great view of the 16th century church (Chiesa di San Geremia) all to yourself. (The church is literally 50 meters away from the hostel’s doorstep!) I stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm and had a restful sleep. Also, (because you are in Italy), remember that you have to pay city tax of 2 euros per night on top of the published rates. There’s no breakfast but the hostel provides 50% discount on breakfast and 20% on all menus at a nearby cafe. Hostel has very strong wifi too.

Disliked: Downsides: The hostel provides only 1 key per dorm. No towels provided. No elevators.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ellie Sparke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2014 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location not far from the train but not far from the main area. It was pretty good price (for Venice) and you got your own bathroom

Disliked: You get one key per room (even for the dorms) which is a bit wierd and the beds are really really close together (about 30cm between some!) so you get to know your roomies! It's good for the price range.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to from the main railway station Helpfulness of staff Our room had a little balcony.

Disliked: No kettle to boil in rooms. Had to walk up and down five flights of stairs to lobby to get some water for coffee. Good that at least available but a bit tough from the top floor. Very small room (but cases could fit under bed fortunately

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gavin Ryan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the centre of Venice for a fairly reasonable price, with clean and well decorated rooms.

Disliked: Breakfast is not included and the hostel does not provide any (although there were discounts for breakfast at the cafe next door).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness of the rooms and washrooms were better than expected. Washroom facilities were clean. Large, good quality clean towels were provided. Closet had nice hangers. Beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The room and beds were a bit small and we didn't know our washroom would be located outside of our bedrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather Torr

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Well serviced for a hostel, towels, soap etc in private rooms. Aircon and good shower. Also gave us a voucher for 50% of the food and drinks at the cafe next door. Great directions to hotel on the booking confirmation.

Disliked: Poor wifi reception. Room a bit small. Had to hand in key when going out so sometimes had to wait behind other guests at reception to get room key on return.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jennifer Mellifont

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. It's very basic but with everything you need.

Disliked: The air conditioning was quite poor. Venice is such a noisy place that you can't open a window at night. I noticed other people commented on the air conditioning as well so, if I were coming back to Venice, I would probably pay a bit more to be more comfortable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dominic Koch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: it was central. Frendly staff

Disliked: We got just one key for a 4 bed dorm. the recepiton was closing at 1am till 6 am

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Umayr Ahmad

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Adam Umayr would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, literally 1 minute away from train station. it was located in a square with restaurants etc so was nice and lively. Also was a beautiful church opposite. The rooms were decent and the staff were great. even got discount on food next to hostel because we were staying in their hostel. would recommend.

Disliked: The only dislike would be that you had to keep asking reception to be buzzed back into building as building is opposite reception. Also key was only for room and had to be buzzed into building and return key everytime you went out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HSU CHAO PENG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 HSU CHAO would recommend this property

Liked: It is near train station and there are air-conditioner in dorm!!!

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staffs

Disliked: No elevators and stairs are narrow

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Phillips

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find from st lucia station - no bridges to cross which is great when you have big bags to carry! All staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfy and bathrooms in all rooms which were clean.

Disliked: Not any facilities e.g. laundry service, kitchen or kettles but close to lots of cafes etc so mot a problem.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Farryn Crawford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014

Liked: bathroom was nice. location was really good as was close to the station so didn't have to pull our bags for long.

Disliked: check in took forever even though we had filled out a form for them online to make it faster? they've the same receptionist for 2 buildings. she asked us for all of our passports to process while we went up to our room in the other building which I declined and waited as we did not want her having all of our passports and out of our site. this is not the only security risk we felt. they told you you had to hand your key in whenever you left, this meant that we felt our belongings were not safe as there were no safes either. the rooms were decent but no lift, typical for Venice though. very expensive but again that's Venice for you. decent rooms but you expect a few perks like tea/coffee etc when you are spending that kind of money.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

kyungyal kwak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 July 2014 kyungyal would recommend this property

Liked: 좋았다

Disliked: 없었다

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The quad with private bathroom was like new. Clean and fresh. Great location!

Disliked: Hooks in the bathroom would be great


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels