HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Al Giardino

Guesthouse | Via Altinia 119/B, Venice, Italy 30173

78.2% Overall Rating

65 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/06/2014)

"We stayed in a suite which was lovely, very clean and easy bus route into Venice. We were hoping for a bit of luxury after a long backpacking trip and this place delivered! Room was beautifully decorated and lots of…"

Read all Al Giardino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

for arrivals after 10pm please advise in advance

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Eco BB Venice
37.59 USD

Apartment 92.9% 119 reviews
Camping Venezia Village
18.13 USD

Campsite 88.8% 46 reviews
Nuova Locanda Belvedere
32.22 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.5% 504 reviews
Hotel & Hostel Colombo For Backpackers
26.85 USD

Hostel 73.3% 523 reviews
Green Garden Resort
64.25 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Guest House Bella Venexia
40.28 USD

Guesthouse 49.8% 188 reviews
Hotel Tre Archi
46.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 84 reviews
The Arches Venice
40.27 USD

Guesthouse 69.1% 163 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

65 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Al Giardino'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
72.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 67 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a suite which was lovely, very clean and easy bus route into Venice. We were hoping for a bit of luxury after a long backpacking trip and this place delivered! Room was beautifully decorated and lots of little extra features.

Disliked: The lady who dealt with us from our initial arrival onwards was quite rude (the first man was lovely), she made us feel like an inconvenience and very unwelcome and we weren't sure why. She did not speak much English and even when we tried to find alternative ways of communicating she seemed very unwilling to try. There was also a small problem with the wifi adapter in the suites so we had to go over to the main building to use wifi but that wasn't too much of a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dariusz Dura

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Dariusz would recommend this property

Liked: It's a quite , nice place for a long weekend in Venice.

Disliked: Dariusz left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013

Liked: The hotel was quiet

Disliked: The mould on the wall and staff not cooperative

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yotam Karmon

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2013 Yotam would recommend this property

Liked: Gianni, the host, was very friendly and helpful. There's a bus stop just by the place that takes you to Venice.

Disliked: The breakfest was minimal. The lady there wasn't so nice to us.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

JACQUELINE KNOWLES

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

12 June 2013 JACQUELINE would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure parking, good access to local shops and bus stop right outside to Venice historic centre.

Disliked: Although we had booked a double ensuite room some time ago the owner had allocated the room to someone else! We were accomodated in a sparsely decorated small room only big enough really as a single. Therefore the double bed that was in there took up most of the room. We had our own bathroom that was down the landing but obviously not as convenient as an ensuite. The owner did give us a 10€ discount for his mistake though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The b&b is clean and comfortable, the bus that takes you straight to Venice is located right outside the entrance, and the staff is friendly and respectful. There is nothing fancy about it, but if you want is a nice, affordable place to sleep 30 min away from Venice, this is a great option. Also, the restaurant next door, restaurante trettoria Alla pesa, is famous for its local cuisine. Their fish is wonderful, so is the pasta, and the homemade gnoquis are unbelievable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cristiana Pina

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Cristiana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful. Not so far from Venice just 15 min - bus stop was in front of this B&B. Breakfast was reasonable for the price we paid.

Disliked: We booked a twin room and private bathroom and then they told us it was a kind of mistake of the website and gave us just one bed and private bathroom but outside of the room. Anyway they made a small discount.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sevcan Ekici

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Sevcan would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is quite a kind person. It's a small place and yet lovely. It's very clean and safe.

Disliked: It's a little bit far away from the historical centre.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the station.

Disliked: everything was ok.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jordyn Gagnon

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Jordyn would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful, English speaking staff. Safe location. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Jordyn left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012

Liked: Air conditioning was nice:

Disliked: "Breakfast," inability of staff to speak English, wait of over an hour to check in (we couldn't even get into the building), size of shower.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Large, clean room which was quiet. Bus stop right outside for going into central Venice.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't that great and the shower head was broken.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: el lugar muy tranquilo, rodeado de un hermoso parque

Disliked: todo estuvo bien

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hitanshu Khatri

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Hitanshu would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay with. This B&B is really nice.

Disliked: Nothing as such..

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012

Liked: It was pretty swanky in terms of decoration, and there was a kitchen with a stove. The shower was pretty cool (it had both a shower head and wall showers), but the drain clogged in about three minutes, so you couldn't actually enjoy it. An easy bus ride (no transfers) to the old city (the island part), and generally you can sneak onto the bus without paying. Close to a grocery.

Disliked: Four beds = one queen and one sofa bed, which was not advised. Sofa bed takes up the entire kitchen, so if someone is still sleeping then you can't use the kitchen at all. Staff would only accept exact change when we paid, which when you're in a group of four is sometimes difficult. They also kept my passport overnight, which made me a bit uneasy. Breakfast was pretty meagre, we ended up going out to buy our own food. There was no toaster and no kettle in the kitchen. It was also cold at night, and though we were told which remote to use to turn on the heat, none of us could figure it out. Though the bus was generally easy to get to the city, it did take about 15-20 minutes and the bus was always crowded, which is a bit of a problem when you have large bags.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Anna Mansfield

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Bus 19 only takes 15min to the centre of Venice, the other buses take a bit longer. Breakfast was packet food, but that seems to be normal in Italian hostels and hotels.

Disliked: When I walked through the door there was a strong smell of chlorine. I got excited because I thought there must have been a surprise indoor pool, turns out it was the cleaning products they use. The room was extremely clean but the smell was so strong it was overbearing. Wifi is advertised but it didn’t work and apparently hadn’t been working all week, which was extremely frustrating.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ALBERTO OSA GARCIA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 ALBERTO would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful for getting to know Venice , how to get there (the historic centre is not near for waling , but you can get there by bus 15 in 15 minutes and it's not so bad) and for anything you need (we were 13 people for 12 beds, for example, and they didn't mind we set as we wanted). The breakfast is rather good.

Disliked: Probably the distance to the city is too much for people who think of enjoying the city, but there are not so many problems to get there and back as at first sight.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Friendly, helpful owners.

Disliked: nothing really

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Cindy Yam

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff upgraded us to a small studio apartment even though we had made a booking for a room. The apartment was impeccable and the staff at the hotel was extremely and wonderfully sweet and helpful.

Disliked: It requires about a 30-minutes bus ride to get to the Venice city centre.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like da place cz its very quiet & more towards like my own home...

Disliked: its very hard 2c da receptionist 4any emergency...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, cleanness, and nice room

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: When I arrived, I waited too long before the satff came to greet me. (about 15-20 minutes)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean, although a little small. Very cosy place.

Disliked: Very far from the center of Venice, but it isn't too bad with a 15min bus ride. When locating the B&B, you'll have to be alert as the directions given by the B&B are not very clear. The staff we met speak minimal English but it wasn't too much of a problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofia Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: This place is located in a small village at 20 minutes by bus from Venice historical centre. Even when is a bit long from town, once you reach the B&B by the first time, the others trips are quite easy because the bus drop you just in front the B&B. Bus cost: 1 euro.

Disliked: Traveling by bus, but it was worth it because of the quiet and safe village around the B&B.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ritianne Abohason

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 April 2011 Ritianne would recommend this property

Liked: Quaint garden - we were upgraded to a suite for 2 out of our 4 days' stay due to works being done in our room. Quite a pleasant surprise. We had a kitchen and balcony in the suite which got to be quite comfortable having two very young children. We were still given breakfast items in our room for those two days and the next two days we enjoyed breakfast in the common room where we got to know the rest of the staff.

Disliked: The only down side of it is that it's a bit farther to the City Center and it takes about 15 mins by bus. We were caught up with two days bus strikes. However, Gianni kindly offered to take us to Venice with his own car one of those days. The 19 bus takes you to Venice in 15 mins but it only works up till 20.45. After that you have to take the no 4 which works till about 1 am. I would have really appreciated the use of kitchen facilities in the evening during the two days spent in the 'normal' rooms since having an infant, I needed to heat up her milk etc. The breakfast room is kept closed after breakfast is served.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels