HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Ca' Contarini

Guesthouse | San Marco-Accademia, 3025, Calle Dei Orbi, Venice, Italy 30124

87.3% Overall Rating

727 out of 912 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/03/2014)

Shawna ashlock thinks…

"The breakfast was a nice easy start to the day. Yes it was prepackaged as mentioned in other comments but it was light and a good variety. The room was quite larger than expected and was perfect for…"

Read all Ca' Contarini reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled 3 days before arrivalis free of charge, otherwise the first night will be charged on your credit card. Upon arrival cash payments only, please.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

B&B Ca'Contarini
55.24 USD

Guesthouse 71.0% 6 reviews
Venice Academy
41.43 USD

Hostel 86.5% 147 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
54.55 USD

Guesthouse 91.3% 79 reviews
Friendly Venice - Female only
52.48 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 65 reviews
Locanda Arte
55.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.9% 41 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
46.95 USD

Guesthouse 75.5% 30 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
44.19 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.6% 273 reviews
Venice Paradise
58.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

727 out of 912 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ca' Contarini'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 627 of 869 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yi-Tai Chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 Yi-Tai would recommend this property

Liked: close to the center of Venezia

Disliked: The bulb blinks

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Adam Blenkinsop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private room in a premises just around the corner from the hotel - it was nothing special, but quiet andsecure and perfectly adequate for our needs. Bathroom was decent too. The location is really good - central but not noisy. A great base for sightseeing during the day, and also close enough to a range of restaurants in the evening (although be warned that that food and prices in Venice at pretty dire!).

Disliked: Being stung by the increase in local tax, (which had been brought in by the venetian council between the time of our booking and our arrival). Can;t actually remember whether we paid it in the end or not now, but if advertised as including "all taxes", then the property should be prepared to take the hit if taxes subsequently increase after the booking has been made and price agreed. Come to think of it, I'm pretty sure that's what I told them and we didn't pay the extra tax!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MANTANA TEMTED

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2011 MANTANA would recommend this property

Liked: i got a very nice room with TV and comfortable bed. The breakfast was ok.. not too good

Disliked: internet is so SUCK.!!! i could not check any imformation?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marcelo castro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this hostel

Disliked: marcelo left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fine hostel, not very special, a little bit simple but nice. Good location, did everything on foot and it was good to do.

Disliked: You can hear the neighbours go to the bathroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, location

Disliked: Breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was a good size, and clean. We were in a building with only two other rooms. It was a little off the beaten path, but within easy walking distance to everything. All in all, I'd stay there again.

Disliked: There was a kitchenette in the room that was boarded up, which we thought was a bit odd. It was a bit tricky to find, but then again, most places in venice are. We were on the ground floor, which was excellent, but the building is also a few blocks from a school, so in the morning when the kids were going to school there was a lot of noise.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabella Swaren

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Izabella would recommend this property

Liked: it was located right on the canal (obviously) and in a good location for restaurants and catching the canal bus.

Disliked: the staff were pretty much never at the desk and had NO idea where anything in Venice was (not even an atm because you have to pay in cash). the wifi was only available at the door (there wasnt really a lobby) and it cut out at 11pm. there wasnt really anything in the hostel. the bathroom was kind of dirty and the shower didnt drain properly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Popescu Maria Gabriela

Alone

City break

16 November 2011 Popescu would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly and helpful staff, clean everywhere, kitchen with all you need...everything was very good, except the price ... but you should expect that when you go to Venice!

Disliked: On the website writes: "* Taxes included in price". and when i got there, they asked me 3 euro/day, as a"tourist tax"!...and wi-fi only works when he wants, not when you need.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No computer or wi-fi. No lockers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, the place is clean and nice with atmosphere.

Disliked: The heating did not work for 4 days from 5 we were staying there (and it was rather cold at the end of October), breakfeast not special, only sweet stuff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful typical Italian building, quiet street, centrally located, clean.

Disliked: One of the staff was somewhat rude to me when I first arrived and showed me into a room with 2 twin beds pushed next to each other and someone sleeping in the other half! That was a bit awkward.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: No locks on the doors. Staff were not hospitable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Edgar Montoro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Edgar would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty quiet place, just to relax and to have a nice sleep

Disliked: the location maybe, not that bad but pretty hidden, and there was no wi fi for the last day, they told me that they just have this limited plan for certain downloads, and it should be unlimited, but I had a nice time though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Bednarczyk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2011 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: I had a room all to myself the first night. They seem pretty good at accommodating based on availability. Some places would just throw everyone in one room so they don't have to clean more. Breakfast was nice to have, as others said it was just packages bread type items but it did the trick and what else can you expect from a hostel. They hold your luggage for you without question which is SOOO nice, especially in venice. Staff was nice. Whoever said that it's loud outside in the morning must have had my room. It's not that bad, you're room was on the ground floor so you're bound to hear people walking and talking outside. It was very quiet in the hostel as well. I though I was the only one staying there untill I saw people at breakfast. I was only there in the morning and at night so idk how it is during the day. Overall a very peaceful nice place to stay at.

Disliked: Little hard to find even with directions and a map. I asked an officer and he didn't know either. Lucky I really studied the map and retraced my steps and found it. PRINT A MAP before you come! Venice in general is really hard to get around so it will be useful.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kenneth Schorner

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2011 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: value, location, reasonably stocked kitchen

Disliked: somewhat cold staff, definitely cold room and building, shower backs up, dim or non-existent lighting, same breakfast every single day all pre-packaged. no lockers, mosquitoes even with the bone-chilling cold.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

jaime roberson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 jaime would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very nice and helpful...to a point. it was clean and the bathrooms and bedrooms were clean too, good water pressure for the shower, rooms have a tv and heating, location was good, right in the centre of venice but took a while to get from the station, i advise not to walk, get the boat, lol dont be fooled by people telling you its only a 20 min walk, its not it took nearly 2 hrs hahahaha but hey was a great way to see more of venice. the boat stop is only around the corner from the hostel.

Disliked: the bed i had for the first night was very bad, i changed for the 2nd night which was much more comfortable. the heating was on a timer and only went on at certain times of the night, which for the time of yr that i was there was a bad thing, the weather was bad and it was really cold. they have a kitchen but no oven, only stove top, the oven didnt work and when i asked i was told that its not there problem...how rude

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

craig myles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 craig would recommend this property

Liked: Location, huge room, clean,quiet, nice bathroom, wi-fi, helpful staff, the breakfast is actually pretty good considering what you get for the price of the room, besides you can take it with you for later.

Disliked: No lift, small foyer

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011

Liked: Very good location, free breakfast, very cheap, kitchen use available.

Disliked: A bit boring, the kitchen is only for a few hours a day, there were no free maps available as stated on the site, there is no room key or even a place to lock your valuables - BUT, it is really cheap to stay here. So if you're not picky, go for it. (Also, a little boring. Nothing to do there)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly hostel :) staff are really nice and funny :) and location is also good when you take vapuretto

Disliked: expensive

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Cleanliness, Free Luggage Storage, Spacious Room

Disliked: None

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nicely located in downtown Venice for tours in the city and sightseeing. Simple, but match expectations. Charming Venice style town house with simple facilities

Disliked: At first contact not easy to find location Staff / reception could be better organized

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011

Liked: The rooms and beds were clean, they had a safe (but only one per room so first come first serve) and closet for your clothes. They had luggage storage, though it wasn't locked or clean but was in plain sight of the receptionist (who wasn't always there).

Disliked: At night, the alleys to access the hostel are completely unlit so I had a scary experience going down one of them alone one night. They are not very helpful with things to see and do not provide proper maps. I received a photocopied maps and no brochures on what I can do. Even though I paid for the dorm room, what I actually received was a makeshift cot in the corner of a room where a couple had already moved in and got the proper bed. They had essentially expanded a private room by throwing in an extra bed for me. Also no lockers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Débora Roots

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

01 October 2011 Débora would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent! Very Cosy and Confortable... Thanks for All!!!

Disliked: Love everithing!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Patricia Cavalcanti

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: look like home... not really like a hostel

Disliked: small rooms, not a lot of travelers, also expensive but because Venice is expensive


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels