HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Ca' Contarini

Guesthouse | San Marco-Accademia, 3025, Calle Dei Orbi, Venice, Italy 30124

81.3% Overall Rating

754 out of 943 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2014)

jojo loys thinks…

"This place is definitely worth the money. The location ,just past the accademia bridge ,and a short walk from at.mark square,is perfect . The rooms had plenty of space ,very nice and very clean,got…"

Read all Ca' Contarini reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled 3 days before arrivalis free of charge, otherwise the first night will be charged on your credit card. Upon arrival cash payments only, please.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

B&B Ca'Contarini
59.83 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 9 reviews
Venice Academy
46.54 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 161 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
54.85 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Friendly Venice - Female only
50.53 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 66 reviews
Locanda Arte
59.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 42 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
45.21 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 33 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
44.87 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.0% 279 reviews
Haven Hostel
33.24 USD

Hostel 73.7% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

754 out of 943 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ca' Contarini'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 644 of 900 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Andreeva

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful place with friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Lachlan Hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012

Liked: The hostel was in a good location - close to San Marco, Rialto and various art museums.

Disliked: Firstly the security wasn't great. You are provided with a key for the main door, but all the rooms are left unlocked. I was staying in a room on the first level and everytimesomebody arrived they would ring the bell and it would wake me up (right up to 3am). The directions they give are pretty good, except if you arriving after 5pm because the water uses don't go to San Samuel. You can get a number 1 to San Angelo though, which is pretty close. The free wifi didnt work very well. There was only one bathroom for the entire hostel. All in all not wonderful, but I'd you're looking for budget accommodation in Venice it's much better than a big mixed dorm. Be careful though - they only accept cash and they say that there's a Venetian hotel tax of 3 euro a night. Don't buy it.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Alexandra Pershina

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012

Liked: Good location. Wide and comfortable rooms.

Disliked: * Taxes included in price When we arrive and have to pay we were told that taxes are not included. * Breakfast Included (hot tea is served at 7.30 a.m. only, breakfast is simple and doesn't included any hot meal) * Free Venice map (it is helpless map, because it was poorly printed on a4 and was useless) * Free kitchen use (from 12 a.m. till 2 p.m. only!!!) Our room wasn't cleaned during our staying.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a nice area of Venice. Comfortable beds and very good free breakfast.

Disliked: Dodgy WIFI.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff ,Verry clean hostel ,center of venice, Wc are so clean. best hostel ever stayed in venice raccomand it for all travellers back for sure

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Swee Ching Lim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Swee Ching would recommend this property

Liked: We were allocated in another hostel room which was a short walking distance from the reception building. Breakfast was provided but just a very basic one (biscuits, milks, hot drinks), not a hearty breakfast but for us it was sufficient. This hostel has great location, in the center of Venice Island and short walking distance to the Vaporetto No.2. But please be aware that at night, the Vaporetto No.2 only operates until ~7 or 8pm at night (cannot really remember). After that, there would be only Water Bus No.1 operates (with lesser frequency). So if you walk around the island until late at night, you need to take the No.1 to the nearest vaporetto station then walk your way to your hostel room.

Disliked: Swee Ching left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maya Stoyanova

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2012 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful and extremely friendly staff; location is also superb

Disliked: Maya left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012

Liked: Location is good but damn hard to find - the name of the hostel is also a street so if you ask randoms (as it tells you do for directions) they will probably take you to the street. Reasonable internet except when they don't charge the modem. Pretty clean.

Disliked: Staff never around, even at checkout time or breakfast time to serve the breakfast sometimes. Kitchen only usable for 2 hours over lunchtime if you find someone to unlock it - can't cook for dinner. Gas stove sometimes broken but no lighter. Dorm not actually a dorm - looked like a private but they will just cram extra fold out beds as they will fit. Also cant lock room, don't give you room keys.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012

Liked: the staff is friendly, room is clean, location is good, price is acceptable.

Disliked: the owner is suck, the way he talk to me very impolite. the day i check out at morning, the staff allow me to use the kitchen, but after that the owner ask me to leave and do not allow to use the kitchen. he talk to me: "i am not owner, not him, u cant use kitchen once you checkout. THIS IS THE RULE". besides that kitchen only can use from 12pm - 2pm. at evening u cant use to cook dinner. WTF. the wifi coverage is poor. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOSTEL BEFORE YOU REGRET!!!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

aritz saez arostegui

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012

Liked: The price is good, you can get a pretty big private room in the center of venice for little money.

Disliked: -They will always try to cheat you asking for more money, so always take the printed paper with your reservation and the price you have to pay. You will have to argue with them for that, and their english and flexibility to understand you will be minimun. -Only guests are there most of time. No responsible guy from the hostel at nights, and during most of the day. -They offer breakfast but some days no just no one came to open the kitchen so it was impossible to have it. -Rooms are very cold and hot water also finishes for the last to take the shower. -No room for luggage. -In Venice, be ready for paying 3eurs per person and night as city taxes for tourist.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Amie Tolson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 Amie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic. It was very clean, and there was lots of common space. For Venice it was pretty good.

Disliked: '24 hour reception' means that you've got the same chance of getting someone at any time of day or night - that is, very little. I waited an hour to check out and no-one appeared. It's not very secure, and the rooms just have extra fold out beds shoved in to fit in more guests. For a fold out bed squeezed into a double room, it was expensivie - but that's Venice for you. Also, they had two beds pushed to make a double which they put two strangers in. The internet was very intermittent.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2012

Liked: The location is good

Disliked: Its cold as hell and the staff is not helpful at all since they nearly didnt show up in the reception desk.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Véronique Roy

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 January 2012

Liked: Just the location, it's close from piazza San Marco

Disliked: No service at all, the reception guy just show us our room No internet (even if it was suppose to have it) Our room was so cold !!!!!!!!!! Cleanliness

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012

Liked: Nothing, May be the price.

Disliked: It was difficult to reach, and if you go by night, the place looks dangerous. When I arrived, they had some bags of sand in the "reception", which looks creapy. The guy showed me my bed, which was a 2 sizes bed, with two towels. I explained to him that I reserved a bed for my self, and wouldn't share it, and he said "ok". The guy spoke almost no english. The room, by the way, smelled. At 2 am, a guy came to my bed, he has just arrived. I went down to talk to the personnel, but noone was there. Therefore, I had to SHARE MY BED WITH ANOTHER GUY. The following morning, when I wanted to make the checkout, noone was there. Internet didn't worked properly. i would't returned there for all the money in the world.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012

Liked: the bedroom

Disliked: the heating never worked.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jose bava

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012 jose would recommend this property

Liked: Location, rooms are comfortable, price is good for the location

Disliked: poor internet connection, place not that easy to find... they do not even have a sign saying the name of the hostel

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

J.P. VD GUN

As a family with children

Events / festivals

19 December 2011

Liked: notting

Disliked: J.P. left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yi-Tai Chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 Yi-Tai would recommend this property

Liked: close to the center of Venezia

Disliked: The bulb blinks

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Adam Blenkinsop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private room in a premises just around the corner from the hotel - it was nothing special, but quiet andsecure and perfectly adequate for our needs. Bathroom was decent too. The location is really good - central but not noisy. A great base for sightseeing during the day, and also close enough to a range of restaurants in the evening (although be warned that that food and prices in Venice at pretty dire!).

Disliked: Being stung by the increase in local tax, (which had been brought in by the venetian council between the time of our booking and our arrival). Can;t actually remember whether we paid it in the end or not now, but if advertised as including "all taxes", then the property should be prepared to take the hit if taxes subsequently increase after the booking has been made and price agreed. Come to think of it, I'm pretty sure that's what I told them and we didn't pay the extra tax!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MANTANA TEMTED

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2011 MANTANA would recommend this property

Liked: i got a very nice room with TV and comfortable bed. The breakfast was ok.. not too good

Disliked: internet is so SUCK.!!! i could not check any imformation?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marcelo castro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this hostel

Disliked: marcelo left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fine hostel, not very special, a little bit simple but nice. Good location, did everything on foot and it was good to do.

Disliked: You can hear the neighbours go to the bathroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, location

Disliked: Breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was a good size, and clean. We were in a building with only two other rooms. It was a little off the beaten path, but within easy walking distance to everything. All in all, I'd stay there again.

Disliked: There was a kitchenette in the room that was boarded up, which we thought was a bit odd. It was a bit tricky to find, but then again, most places in venice are. We were on the ground floor, which was excellent, but the building is also a few blocks from a school, so in the morning when the kids were going to school there was a lot of noise.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabella Swaren

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Izabella would recommend this property

Liked: it was located right on the canal (obviously) and in a good location for restaurants and catching the canal bus.

Disliked: the staff were pretty much never at the desk and had NO idea where anything in Venice was (not even an atm because you have to pay in cash). the wifi was only available at the door (there wasnt really a lobby) and it cut out at 11pm. there wasnt really anything in the hostel. the bathroom was kind of dirty and the shower didnt drain properly.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels