We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Ca' Contarini

Guesthouse | San Marco-Accademia, 3025, Calle Dei Orbi, Venice, Italy 30124

82.4% Overall Rating

760 out of 949 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/09/2014)

Rebecca Efford thinks…

"Very good location, close to many of the main sites and the staff were helpful and friendly. Basic room but good value for money."

Read all Ca' Contarini reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled 3 days before arrivalis free of charge, otherwise the first night will be charged on your credit card. Upon arrival cash payments only, please.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

B&B Ca'Contarini
57.08 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 9 reviews
Venice Academy
38.06 USD

Guesthouse 83.7% 164 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
59.94 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Friendly Venice - Female only
57.08 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 67 reviews
Locanda Arte
63.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 42 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
43.13 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 33 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
53.91 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.3% 281 reviews
Haven Hostel
31.71 USD

Hostel 72.1% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

760 out of 949 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ca' Contarini'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 649 of 906 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pantea Razzaghi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Pantea would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, nice staff! comfortable bed, nice ceiling fan helped keep thins cool, and usb charger in TV.

Disliked: all good!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet, location

Disliked: For a reason I don't know, Internet connection didn't work with some mobile devices....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inna Ioshchenko

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Inna would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly!!!and the location is wonderful)And everything was really great!!!

Disliked: absolutly nothing!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Richard Mayne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012

Liked: The Bangladeshi guy who worked there was pleasant. The WiFi was useful and, most important, the location was superb. Just 10 minutes from San Marco Square and within easy access of vaporettos.

Disliked: The staff were absolutely awful. They provided no assistance and guidance around the city and seemed to resent our presence, for instance, having a go at us for using the kitchen too much. Kitchen time was limited from 12pm-2pm, so we had to eat out every night which is not cheap in Venice. They lied on this website about the facilities available, the bedding was uncomfortable and dirty and our room was located away from the main hostel without being told prior, meaning we had no WiFi access in our room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Syazwani Rosli

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Syazwani would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly good location... it's not too far from Rialto and the hostel isn't too far from the closest vaporetto stop (i.e. Accademia) We've got a big room for four people, it wasn't noisy at all and the WiFi has been very reliable. The staff has been nice. They can speak a good amount of English, so communication was too much of a problem.

Disliked: The breakfast was a tad too simple, only packaged goods like croissants, dried bread and crackers that all came in packets. But in their defense, it was part of the hostel policy to serve dry food only. The one thing I disliked the most about the hostel is the fact that there is no kettle in the room and you can only use the kettle (which is in the kitchen) from 12pm to 2pm. As for the room itself, the only complaint (apart from the lack of kettle) would be the floors, it accumulates dust very easily and so if you step into the toilets, the toilet floors get dirty too.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Dower

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, bang in the middle of it all.

Disliked: On my second night, I was surprised to find an extra bed had been put in the room, which was already cramped for 3 people. My impression is perhaps marred by enduring a night two feet from a German girl who set a new benchmark for snoring.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Hender

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Had a fantastic time here. Location of hostel is fantastic; very close to all the major sights. Staff were incredibly friendly and had lots of helpful hints on where to go at what times of day and where to eat.

Disliked: Lockout between 11 and 2 was a bit annoying.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012

Liked: The outside of the main building was charming. That's all. Do yourself a favor and look for another place to stay!

Disliked: Unless you are desperate to find a place to stay in Venezia, don’t go to Ca Contarini “Bed&Breakfast”. The manager is so ignorant and arrogant ahere is nothing called service. Breakfast is from 7.00-8.30, so you better .30 to reach it in your holiday... There is no reason to limit time for breakfast, since it's no real breakfast. You will be served plastic wrapped wheat bread, with a notice on the wall that this is due to a law on hygiene.. You are not allowed to touch the coffee machine, and should not have more than one cup, even though the page says free coffe and tea all day, unless you want to be told “Do you come for another cup???”. The WIFI is not in the room we had (that was in another building), even though we were charged for it. We had to pay extra 12 euros as city tax, which we were not informed about - the only info on this was "city tax not included" which was really hidden between "TV included" and "towels included", as if to hide it. The room in itself is OK, even though it is obviously a renovated kitchen. The place was not clean, and the “double bed” just two single beds put next to each other, shifting place in the night. The information to find it by foot is not sufficient.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful from the beginning. We got a little lost walking around the first night, we called Ca' Contarini and the staff picked us up to show us where to go within 5 minutes. The bedrooms were nice sized, and so was everything else. The pice was not high, and breakfast was provided. And for the location, you are 5 minutes from most tourist attractions. Overall, I would rate this property very highly.

Disliked: The only negative would be the difficulty of finding the property. However, after the first time it is easy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nice and clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location was pretty good too. We were only about a 10 minute walk to San Marco Square.

Disliked: The kitchen is only open for guest for 2 hours during the day from 12-2pm which kind of defeats of the purpose of having a communal kitchen. There were no locks on any of the room doors which didn't seem very secure to us. Also, the "lockers" in the rooms were actually just one big chest to share with everyone staying in the room and there was only one key for them. Also, breakfast was only served from 7 - 830 in the morning.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to squares, churches and waterbus

Disliked: Shower was a bath tub with no shower curtin. Breakfast was pre-packaged toast and jam.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012

Liked: Centrally located.

Disliked: Ridiculous breakfast hours of 0700h to 0830h, and arrival anytime after 0820h, and you can forget about getting breakfast since staff INSIST they must close up by 0830h. An extremely rude member of staff, who threatened to kick us out of the hotel when we were "rude" to him; we were only trying to seek clarification on the breakfast hours, and was hoping to have it to go, since they had refused to serve us when we arrived at 0820h. Breakfast was also miserable, with every item, besides the coffee (instant), being packaged and cold.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near San Marco and the Rialto bridge. I had no problems with the wi-fi. The staff was friendly. The washroom was very nice and clean.

Disliked: It was difficult to find and the directions were not clear. I would not recommend going to the hostel by foot unless you have a map. I usually dislike using maps but for Venice, it is definitely a must.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Regina Helena Scanferla

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Regina Helena would recommend this property

Liked: O atendimento é muito bom. Os empregados são simpáticos. O quarto que ficamos é bastante confortável.

Disliked: Os pães no café da manhã são todos doces. Isso é um costume na Itália, porém como eles recebem hóspedes de todas as partes, poderiam diversificar um pouco... Tive um pouco de dificuldade para conversar com um dos empregados que só falava inglês. Como estava na Itália, o mínimo que eu esperava era tratar com as pessoas em italiano.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Uncomfortably hot, bad service, awful directions, below average bathroom

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

clint lowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2012 clint would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close, to main things I wanted to see, it was clean and tidy

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marcos Jose Lomonico

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Marcos Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Do funcionário Noor que teve muita presteza no atendimento e na recepção e principalmente com a localização, pois está localizado muito próximo da estação San Samuelle do vaporetto, assim como do Campo San Stefano e Piazza de San Marco.

Disliked: O café da manhã deiza a desejar e o outro atendente que foi antipatico tanto no café da manhã como no resto da recepção, sendo que inclusive não ficamos nem sabendo do seu nome.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Roquis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Propreté impeccable, personnel gentil et souriant, très bien situé. Le calme est vraiment agréable: pas de bruit dans l'hotel ou dans la rue après 22h00, le silence est total. Air climatisé dans la chambre: ne pas hésiter à demander la télécommande pour l'activer à la réception en insistant un peu. Wifi très fonctionnel. Un bon choix pour les backpackers à mon avis.

Disliked: La disposition des chambre est inhabituelle. Au lieu des lit supperposés habituels, il y avait 3 lits côtes a côte et 2 autres plus "individualisés" (chambre à cing). Ca peut générerer une certaines promiscuité qui pourrait déranger. L'obligation de payer le séjour en cash est dérangeante par contre, surtout qu'il n'y a pas de distributeur directement à côté. Aussi, il est possible que vous n'ayez pas la chambre que vous aviez reservé. Je pensais avoir une chambre à trois, et deux personnes avec nous pensaient avoir une chambre à deux, et nous étions dans une chambre à 5. Personnellement, ca ne m'a pas géné, mais ca peut refroidir certains. Le petit déjeuner consiste en croissant en sachet et biscotte avec de la confiture + thé/café/chocolat. Ce n'est pas mauvais, mais après deux jours, on a envie d'autre chose de meilleure qualité.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close proximity to everything I wanted to do in Venice. Also, my room was a converted studio apartment in a separate building down the front office. I really enjoyed the privacy.

Disliked: My room was not in range of the hotel's wireless internet. Also, some of the lights did not work. The breakfast offered was pretty meager.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012

Liked: Nice building, good coffee, good location

Disliked: Breakfast was too early (7-8.30) and not very good- nothing fresh, I was given a bed that was obviously just an extra for two nights and the mattress was really bad, plus there was not really enough space in the room for it, the rooms were really hot and the windows didn't have screens on them so the mosquitos were bad, the bathroom was uncomfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central position, Clean and cool. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were tastefully renovated and the other rooms were very tastefully adapted to accommodate the new role of being a hostel. The breakfast room was a good place to meet up with other travelers and share your ideas and travel plans.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorothy Peyton Jones

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Dorothy would recommend this property

Liked: Ca Contarini is in a very characteristic old Venetian building off a narrow street. We had an attic 3- bed room which had a lovely view of higgledy-piggledey rooftops, and was clean and spacious, as was the bathroom. Plenty of hot water. The beds were comfortable and the furnishing minimal but tasteful. The staff were friendly and the location near the waterbus stop was very handy.

Disliked: The directions from Accademia were not very clear (better from San Samuele)and it is hard to find places in Venice. Kitchen use is very limited, and the breakfast time finishes at 8.30 which seems quite early.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

frank dean

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2012 frank would recommend this property

Liked: Best place to stay in Venice. Super friendly and awesome staff. No cerfew, kitchen, breakfast and good facilities and the location is amazing. MUST STAY!!!!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels