We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Ca' Contarini

Guesthouse | San Marco-Accademia, 3025, Calle Dei Orbi, Venice, Italy 30124

79.5% Overall Rating

772 out of 964 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/05/2015)

"Location was great, good value, spacious room and friendliness of staff member Malik."

Read all Ca' Contarini reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled 3 days before arrivalis free of charge, otherwise the first night will be charged on your credit card. Upon arrival cash payments only, please.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

B&B Ca'Contarini
43.66 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 9 reviews
San Samuele apartments
43.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Venice Academy
31.66 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 166 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
38.21 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Locanda Arte
54.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.8% 44 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
37.11 USD

Guesthouse 80.7% 36 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
42.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.1% 286 reviews
Haven Hostel San Toma
38.21 USD

Hostel 72.1% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

772 out of 964 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ca' Contarini'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 657 of 921 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JeongRak Kim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 JeongRak would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like Staff was Very Kindness.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like that it's near a port and that it's quite near shops

Disliked: the room has a smell of cigarettes. the bathroom had a smell also but it's fine.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The directions that were provided made it easy to find it. The breakfast was good- toast, jam, croissant, and crackers. It had everything that was needed for a 3 night stay- I was there to explore Venice, not stay in the hostel. So for my needs, it was perfect.

Disliked: There was only one bathroom on each floor, so you have to wait sometimes for other people to be done and hope no one else gets in before you do!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really friendly. Comfy beds and our room was spacious (we had a private one with a private bathroom). Breakfast and coffee in the mornings was great to have (nothing special though). The link to google maps was wrong (as was just going to google maps separately)...it is close to Piazzo San Stefano. The city map we bought in Venice had the street name on it so we didn't have too much of a problem. Great location!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brenda Padilla

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Brenda would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location and free wifi. The room was spacious and clean (but they only clean once every two days!!).

Disliked: Breakfast sucks, big time... And it is served from 7 am to 8:30 am... One wonders if it is worth to wake up so early for a piece of dry bread... Check out is at 10 am. They only clean once every two days. They charged us 3 extra euros per person per night (government requirement, but one wishes that was included in the price already).

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very well situated and it's hard to find a cheaper hotel in Venice. Also, the room are large.

Disliked: The breakfeast was a big disappointment. Also, the room where very cold and it seemed impossible to change this situation. So, I had to sleep whit many clothes on. There where mosquitos in the room wich was quite annoying. Finally, the wall are thin as paper so you definatly need earplugs!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location! Very easy to get around Venice from here. The wifi is also very fast and effective!

Disliked: There were no locks on the doors, the staff just ensured us that all should be safe. There was no bar, the kitchen is only open at an inconvenient 2 hr slot in the middle of the day.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was huge and very nice. There was A/C (though we couldn't find the remote for it and didn't bother to ask) and a little Samsung lcd tv. Both the room and bathroom were very clean. Location was not too far from San Marco, but a bit of a walk. Staff was friendly and let us leave our luggage there for the day after we checked out. I would stay here again.

Disliked: The place was difficult to find (at least at night). The address is Calle Dei Orbi, but the number and front door are not on Calle Dei Orbi. Walk down Calle Dei Orbi and find an open square on the left about midway down - Ca' Contarini is ahead at the corner of this square - the side of the buiding is on Calle Dei Orbi and the front door is in the square. Poor signage also. Some people may be uncomfortable walking down the small dark streets at night to get to/from this place. Towels were tiny. There was apparently no lock for the bedroom door. If you plan to fill up on the included breakfast, be warned it's pretty measly. Didn't ask about the free city map, but it wasn't offered to us.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ke Jun Baey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012

Liked: The staff was very helpful, lent me his own Venice guidebook when the hostel ran out of city maps. Sadly, this is also the only good memory I have of this place.

Disliked: Lousy directions given. Ran out of city maps when I arrived, and still was the case when I left 2 nights after. The boss still had the cheek to joke with me "Don't hate me!" and asked me to go buy my own map. The very least I expect would be for him to buy a map for me! In the end his staff lent me his own guidebook with map after I kept asking for solutions to the map problem. A tourist tax that was higher than other Italian cities that was not said on its website. Lousy breakfast consisting of only dried food (they claim it is due to some regulations but I highly doubt that all hotels/hostels in Venice can only serve dried food). No free coffee/tea as claimed. No kitchen available as claimed. Wi-fi went down during a heavy downpour, and did not recover until a long long time after.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012

Liked: Noor

Disliked: everything

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and friendliness of staff

Disliked: cutting corners in providing good customer service

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thao Pham

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012

Liked: Near S.Marco square. Breakfast is good but quite soon in limited time.

Disliked: Furniture is hmmm, look old and unclean (Even if they are clean). Very limited provided stuffs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lloyd Stiles

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Lloyd would recommend this property

Liked: the location. VERY easy to find via vaporetto and easy walking distance from Piazza San Marco and Accademia.

Disliked: Weird system for locking the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vickie Morris

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Vickie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff very helpful. Breakfast great if you are a sweet tooth. Shower good, bed comfortable. Shutters on windows helped to keep room dark when the sun came up so I could keep sleeping.

Disliked: Breakfast time a little early. A little bit noisy from room above eg can hear people walking across floor and chairs sliding in the breakfast room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Cusack

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: 10 Minute walk from San Marco, great little location.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

WONG WAI CHING

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

13 September 2012 WONG would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent, clean and the staff is very helpful.

Disliked: wi-fi is not work

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Bevington

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The property was a great location, and the room was spacious.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MURAT ATACAN AVGIN

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 MURAT ATACAN would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is lovely and staff is friendly, the rooms are clean.

Disliked: Far from train station. Better to go with vapuretto.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jesus Mendez Sampedro

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

02 September 2012

Liked: Air conditioning in the room. Good facilities, bearing in mind the price.

Disliked: Impossible to find. We spent more than 2 hours looking for the main entrance. During the night, worst even.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt secure - door constantly watched and entrance only accessible to those with a key. Room was spacious and clean. Great location about 15 minutes from S. Marcs, 10 minutes from Rialto and 5 minutes from the Accademia. Easy to reach from the airport (via Alilaguna Yellow line at S. Angelo Stop) or train station (via Line 1 at S. Angelo or via Line 2 at S. Samuele). One of the cheapest in such a central location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Breakfast was very dry (Melba Toast, Crackers and Brioche). Card machine and safety deposit box were not available. The fact that you pay tourist tax on top of the listed price (€2 per person per night) is hidden away in the middle of the list of facilities.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rita Fernandes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2012 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast, calm rooms and nice bathroom.

Disliked: A bit far from everything, especially by night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, and friendly staff. It was good to arrive to such a nice hostel after a long and late travel.

Disliked: Limited breakfast time, only from 7-8.30, too early for us, but not really a major problem.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities and cleanliness.

Disliked: At the reservation was a little messed up. So we had despite reservations (with private bathrooms) in a different room, which was without a private bathroom and air conditioning (at least was still charged extra air conditioning in the room)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & friendly, near the Grande Canal and no steps or bridges to carry luggage over between the water bus stop and the hotel

Disliked: not enough seating at the dining tables for all the residents

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Ezequiel Wierzba

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 August 2012

Liked: Que hay toallas

Disliked: Los baños se inundan, el personal (una sola persona que a veces esta y a veces no) no sabe nada ni puede ayudarte y casi nunca esta o esta durmiendo


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels