HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Ca' Contarini

Guesthouse | San Marco-Accademia, 3025, Calle Dei Orbi, Venice, Italy 30124

80.8% Overall Rating

755 out of 944 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2014)

jojo loys thinks…

"This place is definitely worth the money. The location ,just past the accademia bridge ,and a short walk from at.mark square,is perfect . The rooms had plenty of space ,very nice and very clean,got…"

Read all Ca' Contarini reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled 3 days before arrivalis free of charge, otherwise the first night will be charged on your credit card. Upon arrival cash payments only, please.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

B&B Ca'Contarini
59.69 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 9 reviews
Venice Academy
46.43 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 161 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
54.72 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Friendly Venice - Female only
59.69 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 66 reviews
Locanda Arte
59.69 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 42 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
45.10 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 33 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
44.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.0% 279 reviews
Haven Hostel
33.16 USD

Hostel 73.7% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

755 out of 944 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ca' Contarini'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 644 of 900 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Noor was an amazing individual who was very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was more than plentiful and included: orange juice, tub of yoghurt, croissant, 4 pieces of mini toast and a packet of crackers (and other condiments such as butter, jam and some nutella). The doors (main door and the bedroom door) required keys. The place was very clean and the location was good as it was close to the water bus stop and also close to San Marco.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Silz

Alone

City break

17 January 2013 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: I was positive surpriced, the accomondation was perfect for that price! The location is really good, the included breakfast more than usually suspected in Italy. The accomondation is clean, the walking distance to bus station is 20 min, to train station 25 min and to San Marco only 10 min.

Disliked: Everything was fine!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eleni McIlroy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Eleni would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff (Noor) was great, the location was great, it was clean.

Disliked: LIttle things that weren't good. Some can't be helped, like the walls aren't thick as it's an old building and so you can hear a lot of things happening in and outside the building (it's usually ok during sleeping hours as it isn't a big party place). But then there are things like the kitchen being basically useless, not having lockers OR room keys, the breakfast is ok (particularly considering that this part of Europe really don't do breakfast themselves, but for foreigners one can feel it's a bit dry and sugary, I personally forgive this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amit Sharma

Alone

City break

08 January 2013 Amit would recommend this property

Liked: I have no complaints from this hostel. Staff is very helpful. Location of hostel is central.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Willis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean accomodation in the centre of Venice, great value for money, very kind and helpful staff (they went out of their way to help us every time, even so far as making my wife a tea and bringing it to her when she was desperate for one!), very quiet, free breakfast, excellent value for money. Contrary to what some other reviewers there were locks on our doors which worked securely! We stayed in the 4 bed dorm room, my wife and I had the entire area to ourselves for the 3 nights we were there. Great location, we were within walking distance of the Rialto Bridge and Academia Bridge, near to good restaurants (which were cheap compared to the rest of Venice) and walking distance from San Lucia train station. Will definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Only a couple of minor issues but the kitchen was only open from 12-2 and my wife found her side of the bed quiet hard, but as I said they were only minor issues and we were able to live with it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Panthong Wangperawong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Panthong would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the center of Venice by Academia Bridge. Noor the receptionist was a really helpful guy. He is friendly and works hard. He definitely enhances your stay.

Disliked: Panthong left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Joshua Norman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2012

Liked: The location is good for the price, which is why we chose this hostel.

Disliked: Almost everything... the breakfast included was crap. The kitchen is only open between the hours of 1200 - 1400 (so if you leave anything in the refridgerator you cannot access it except during those times). The staff was nearly useless; they did not even bother to tell us how to find them after hours. The rooms do not lock. There is no area to store packs securely, even if you bring your own lock.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to San Marco and have feeling of living in one of Venice style houses.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Falconer

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 December 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Great location. Noor the

Disliked: There have been bad review about this place. While some may have been accurate at the time my experience was quite the opposite. If any were true they have gone to great effort to rectify any issues. Only dislike was leaving.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, a decent breakfast provided, the best shower I have had in weeks, and a single bed rather than bunks. Cheapest price you'll find in Venice too I believe.

Disliked: Kitchen was only available for about an hour and a half over lunchtime. This was disappointing considering that it advertises having a communal kitchen. The vibe of the place was odd, not helped by the fact that there was a lock-out during the day. Directions were correct, but if would be helpful if it mentioned that the hostel is just off the named street. This said, I will go back next time I'm in Venice and would recommend the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dominique Bouavichith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: It was a converted Bed and Breakfast, so the facilities were really nice.

Disliked: The rooms didn't have locks, which was a bit worrying.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jessica McCulloch

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: We got upgraded to a private room, the location was fantastic, very close to all the sights! Safety deposit boxes in the private rooms, mini fridges in the rooms, very nice and clean bathrooms, all though the head of the shower in our room needed adjusting. The man at the desk was very nice most of the time.

Disliked: It got a bit cold at times in the rooms and even more in the common area. In our room and only one of the windows had proper blinds that could keep the light out. If you want to a place to stay to cook your own food, this is not the place to go. It says communal kitchen but it's only accessible from 12-2 at lunch which is not when u want to be cooking!!! And the kitchen itself is bad, lack of cooking equipment and space to prep and clean. You have to be out of the common area by 10pm, or stay and make no noise. The internet wasn't very reliable and sometimes cut out for hours. Breakfast is only served from 7-8.30 am, which is very early, and included crackers, a croissant, jam, chocolate spread and dry prepackages toast and a range of hot drinks. Early breakfast is good as it gets you up early and motivated but not so good if you need to sleep.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JeongRak Kim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 JeongRak would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like Staff was Very Kindness.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like that it's near a port and that it's quite near shops

Disliked: the room has a smell of cigarettes. the bathroom had a smell also but it's fine.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The directions that were provided made it easy to find it. The breakfast was good- toast, jam, croissant, and crackers. It had everything that was needed for a 3 night stay- I was there to explore Venice, not stay in the hostel. So for my needs, it was perfect.

Disliked: There was only one bathroom on each floor, so you have to wait sometimes for other people to be done and hope no one else gets in before you do!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really friendly. Comfy beds and our room was spacious (we had a private one with a private bathroom). Breakfast and coffee in the mornings was great to have (nothing special though). The link to google maps was wrong (as was just going to google maps separately)...it is close to Piazzo San Stefano. The city map we bought in Venice had the street name on it so we didn't have too much of a problem. Great location!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brenda Padilla

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Brenda would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location and free wifi. The room was spacious and clean (but they only clean once every two days!!).

Disliked: Breakfast sucks, big time... And it is served from 7 am to 8:30 am... One wonders if it is worth to wake up so early for a piece of dry bread... Check out is at 10 am. They only clean once every two days. They charged us 3 extra euros per person per night (government requirement, but one wishes that was included in the price already).

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very well situated and it's hard to find a cheaper hotel in Venice. Also, the room are large.

Disliked: The breakfeast was a big disappointment. Also, the room where very cold and it seemed impossible to change this situation. So, I had to sleep whit many clothes on. There where mosquitos in the room wich was quite annoying. Finally, the wall are thin as paper so you definatly need earplugs!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location! Very easy to get around Venice from here. The wifi is also very fast and effective!

Disliked: There were no locks on the doors, the staff just ensured us that all should be safe. There was no bar, the kitchen is only open at an inconvenient 2 hr slot in the middle of the day.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was huge and very nice. There was A/C (though we couldn't find the remote for it and didn't bother to ask) and a little Samsung lcd tv. Both the room and bathroom were very clean. Location was not too far from San Marco, but a bit of a walk. Staff was friendly and let us leave our luggage there for the day after we checked out. I would stay here again.

Disliked: The place was difficult to find (at least at night). The address is Calle Dei Orbi, but the number and front door are not on Calle Dei Orbi. Walk down Calle Dei Orbi and find an open square on the left about midway down - Ca' Contarini is ahead at the corner of this square - the side of the buiding is on Calle Dei Orbi and the front door is in the square. Poor signage also. Some people may be uncomfortable walking down the small dark streets at night to get to/from this place. Towels were tiny. There was apparently no lock for the bedroom door. If you plan to fill up on the included breakfast, be warned it's pretty measly. Didn't ask about the free city map, but it wasn't offered to us.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ke Jun Baey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012

Liked: The staff was very helpful, lent me his own Venice guidebook when the hostel ran out of city maps. Sadly, this is also the only good memory I have of this place.

Disliked: Lousy directions given. Ran out of city maps when I arrived, and still was the case when I left 2 nights after. The boss still had the cheek to joke with me "Don't hate me!" and asked me to go buy my own map. The very least I expect would be for him to buy a map for me! In the end his staff lent me his own guidebook with map after I kept asking for solutions to the map problem. A tourist tax that was higher than other Italian cities that was not said on its website. Lousy breakfast consisting of only dried food (they claim it is due to some regulations but I highly doubt that all hotels/hostels in Venice can only serve dried food). No free coffee/tea as claimed. No kitchen available as claimed. Wi-fi went down during a heavy downpour, and did not recover until a long long time after.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012

Liked: Noor

Disliked: everything

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and friendliness of staff

Disliked: cutting corners in providing good customer service

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thao Pham

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012

Liked: Near S.Marco square. Breakfast is good but quite soon in limited time.

Disliked: Furniture is hmmm, look old and unclean (Even if they are clean). Very limited provided stuffs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lloyd Stiles

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Lloyd would recommend this property

Liked: the location. VERY easy to find via vaporetto and easy walking distance from Piazza San Marco and Accademia.

Disliked: Weird system for locking the room.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels