HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Ca' Contarini

Guesthouse | San Marco-Accademia, 3025, Calle Dei Orbi, Venice, Italy 30124

88.2% Overall Rating

728 out of 914 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

Johanna Timmermans thinks…

"It was in a good location and quiet neighborhood, close to waterbus and short walk to shopping and restaurants."

Read all Ca' Contarini reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled 3 days before arrivalis free of charge, otherwise the first night will be charged on your credit card. Upon arrival cash payments only, please.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

B&B Ca'Contarini
62.10 USD

Guesthouse 71.0% 6 reviews
Venice Academy
41.40 USD

Hostel 86.5% 147 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
54.51 USD

Guesthouse 91.3% 79 reviews
Friendly Venice - Female only
52.44 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 65 reviews
Locanda Arte
69.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.9% 41 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
46.92 USD

Guesthouse 75.5% 30 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
51.75 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.4% 274 reviews
Venice Paradise
57.96 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

729 out of 915 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ca' Contarini'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 628 of 871 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brenda Padilla

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Brenda would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location and free wifi. The room was spacious and clean (but they only clean once every two days!!).

Disliked: Breakfast sucks, big time... And it is served from 7 am to 8:30 am... One wonders if it is worth to wake up so early for a piece of dry bread... Check out is at 10 am. They only clean once every two days. They charged us 3 extra euros per person per night (government requirement, but one wishes that was included in the price already).

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very well situated and it's hard to find a cheaper hotel in Venice. Also, the room are large.

Disliked: The breakfeast was a big disappointment. Also, the room where very cold and it seemed impossible to change this situation. So, I had to sleep whit many clothes on. There where mosquitos in the room wich was quite annoying. Finally, the wall are thin as paper so you definatly need earplugs!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location! Very easy to get around Venice from here. The wifi is also very fast and effective!

Disliked: There were no locks on the doors, the staff just ensured us that all should be safe. There was no bar, the kitchen is only open at an inconvenient 2 hr slot in the middle of the day.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was huge and very nice. There was A/C (though we couldn't find the remote for it and didn't bother to ask) and a little Samsung lcd tv. Both the room and bathroom were very clean. Location was not too far from San Marco, but a bit of a walk. Staff was friendly and let us leave our luggage there for the day after we checked out. I would stay here again.

Disliked: The place was difficult to find (at least at night). The address is Calle Dei Orbi, but the number and front door are not on Calle Dei Orbi. Walk down Calle Dei Orbi and find an open square on the left about midway down - Ca' Contarini is ahead at the corner of this square - the side of the buiding is on Calle Dei Orbi and the front door is in the square. Poor signage also. Some people may be uncomfortable walking down the small dark streets at night to get to/from this place. Towels were tiny. There was apparently no lock for the bedroom door. If you plan to fill up on the included breakfast, be warned it's pretty measly. Didn't ask about the free city map, but it wasn't offered to us.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ke Jun Baey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012

Liked: The staff was very helpful, lent me his own Venice guidebook when the hostel ran out of city maps. Sadly, this is also the only good memory I have of this place.

Disliked: Lousy directions given. Ran out of city maps when I arrived, and still was the case when I left 2 nights after. The boss still had the cheek to joke with me "Don't hate me!" and asked me to go buy my own map. The very least I expect would be for him to buy a map for me! In the end his staff lent me his own guidebook with map after I kept asking for solutions to the map problem. A tourist tax that was higher than other Italian cities that was not said on its website. Lousy breakfast consisting of only dried food (they claim it is due to some regulations but I highly doubt that all hotels/hostels in Venice can only serve dried food). No free coffee/tea as claimed. No kitchen available as claimed. Wi-fi went down during a heavy downpour, and did not recover until a long long time after.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012

Liked: Noor

Disliked: everything

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and friendliness of staff

Disliked: cutting corners in providing good customer service

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thao Pham

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012

Liked: Near S.Marco square. Breakfast is good but quite soon in limited time.

Disliked: Furniture is hmmm, look old and unclean (Even if they are clean). Very limited provided stuffs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lloyd Stiles

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Lloyd would recommend this property

Liked: the location. VERY easy to find via vaporetto and easy walking distance from Piazza San Marco and Accademia.

Disliked: Weird system for locking the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vickie Morris

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Vickie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff very helpful. Breakfast great if you are a sweet tooth. Shower good, bed comfortable. Shutters on windows helped to keep room dark when the sun came up so I could keep sleeping.

Disliked: Breakfast time a little early. A little bit noisy from room above eg can hear people walking across floor and chairs sliding in the breakfast room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Cusack

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: 10 Minute walk from San Marco, great little location.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

WONG WAI CHING

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

13 September 2012 WONG would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent, clean and the staff is very helpful.

Disliked: wi-fi is not work

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Bevington

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The property was a great location, and the room was spacious.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MURAT ATACAN AVGIN

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 MURAT ATACAN would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is lovely and staff is friendly, the rooms are clean.

Disliked: Far from train station. Better to go with vapuretto.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jesus Mendez Sampedro

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

02 September 2012

Liked: Air conditioning in the room. Good facilities, bearing in mind the price.

Disliked: Impossible to find. We spent more than 2 hours looking for the main entrance. During the night, worst even.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt secure - door constantly watched and entrance only accessible to those with a key. Room was spacious and clean. Great location about 15 minutes from S. Marcs, 10 minutes from Rialto and 5 minutes from the Accademia. Easy to reach from the airport (via Alilaguna Yellow line at S. Angelo Stop) or train station (via Line 1 at S. Angelo or via Line 2 at S. Samuele). One of the cheapest in such a central location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Breakfast was very dry (Melba Toast, Crackers and Brioche). Card machine and safety deposit box were not available. The fact that you pay tourist tax on top of the listed price (€2 per person per night) is hidden away in the middle of the list of facilities.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rita Fernandes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2012 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast, calm rooms and nice bathroom.

Disliked: A bit far from everything, especially by night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, and friendly staff. It was good to arrive to such a nice hostel after a long and late travel.

Disliked: Limited breakfast time, only from 7-8.30, too early for us, but not really a major problem.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities and cleanliness.

Disliked: At the reservation was a little messed up. So we had despite reservations (with private bathrooms) in a different room, which was without a private bathroom and air conditioning (at least was still charged extra air conditioning in the room)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & friendly, near the Grande Canal and no steps or bridges to carry luggage over between the water bus stop and the hotel

Disliked: not enough seating at the dining tables for all the residents

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Ezequiel Wierzba

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 August 2012

Liked: Que hay toallas

Disliked: Los baños se inundan, el personal (una sola persona que a veces esta y a veces no) no sabe nada ni puede ayudarte y casi nunca esta o esta durmiendo

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Monika Kosowska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: pretty good location

Disliked: - Breakfast is served only 7:00-8:30 - not so perfect timing.... and it is not worth to get up to get it - Room didn't have air conditioning (ceiling fan in agust is not enough). - Description of the hostel is far from the truth, for example: - "Free coffee and tea daily from 11 AM till 9 PM" - NO, kitchen is locked up at 8:30, after they served the breakfast - "Discount in our restaurant 10%" - never heard about it - "Bar" - NO bar - “Credit Cards Accepted” NO, they’re not

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zivile Bruzeviciene

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday

16 August 2012 Zivile would recommend this property

Liked: it was cute and silent

Disliked: everything was as prescribed

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012

Liked: Big room

Disliked: Hard to find, no signage

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Gillian McMinn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2012

Liked: A bed in a decently sized room in a great location in Venice.

Disliked: The hostel was generally grubby, bathroom not cleaned daily, no bathmats or mop so floor quickly became muddy, bin in bathroom overflowing. I mopped the bathroom floor myself twice using toilet paper. The description of the hostel facilities is grossly untrue, as below: "Free coffee and tea daily from 11 AM till 9 PM" - not true, kitchen is locked up at all times and reception unapproachable "* Breakfast Included" - yes, totally packaged unpalatable dry breakfast is included, but from 7am-830 only. Crockery provided was dirty. "* Free Venice map" - no reception staff reported not to understand the english word "map" and after some complex charades, reported not to have any maps, nor the capacity to obtain any "* Discount in our restaurant 10%" reception staff did not know anything about this "* Bar" - there is certainly NO bar "* Free kitchen use" apparently kitchen may be used between 12pm and 2pm as per signage (I can’t confirm that is actually is available, as I was not in the hostel between 12 and 2pm). At all other times it is locked. It's not possible to prepare your own food during breakfast to supplement that provided as reception staff sit at kitchen door and hand out coffee etc and no-one else is welcome in "* Common room " is the dining room which is 3 dining tables in a very small room, with a sign that says "Dear Guests PLEASE KEEP SILENT IN DINING ROOM. AFTER 10PM DON'T LAUGH AND TALK. THANK YOU." The decor consists of a framed jigsaw puzzle, some artificial flowers and plastic floral table cloths. "* No curfew" - perhaps, except that the kitchen is locked at all practical hours and there is only silence tolerated in the common room, so there's pretty much a constant curfew "*City tax not included" We were over-charged for this at 3 euros each per night for the city tax, which is equal to the tax required at a 3 star hotel in Venice old town – this is NOT a 3 star hotel by anyone’s standards. “* 24 hour reception”, reception is a desk at the door and was often unmanned, when we arrived in Venice we rang the hostel number several times to check whether they would be open to receive us but there was no answer “* TV lounge” – there is a TV in the “dining room”, however, no lounge and I’m not sure that TV is a great experience when “silence” is required “We are just 3 minutes from Rialto Bridge and San Marco” – If you have a helicopter and parachute, you could perhaps reach San Marco in 3 minutes. Otherwise, allow 15min if you’re walking fast and can push through crowds. The hostel is in a great location, only a short walk away from Academia waterbus stop, so I’m not sure why the owner would have to lie about its proximity to San Marco? “Air conditioning” – there is NO air conditioning, only a fan “Credit Cards Accepted” NO, they’re not. (Granted, if one reads the advert carefully, after credit cards are listed in the facilities, in the description it reads that they are not) “Secure lockers” – I didn’t see any lockers. Rooms are locked via flimsy sliding doors with key only “Café” – there is no café!


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels