HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Ca' Contarini

Guesthouse | San Marco-Accademia, 3025, Calle Dei Orbi, Venice, Italy 30124

87.3% Overall Rating

727 out of 912 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/03/2014)

Shawna ashlock thinks…

"The breakfast was a nice easy start to the day. Yes it was prepackaged as mentioned in other comments but it was light and a good variety. The room was quite larger than expected and was perfect for…"

Read all Ca' Contarini reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled 3 days before arrivalis free of charge, otherwise the first night will be charged on your credit card. Upon arrival cash payments only, please.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

B&B Ca'Contarini
55.24 USD

Guesthouse 71.0% 6 reviews
Venice Academy
41.43 USD

Hostel 86.5% 147 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
54.55 USD

Guesthouse 91.3% 79 reviews
Friendly Venice - Female only
52.48 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 65 reviews
Locanda Arte
55.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.9% 41 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
46.95 USD

Guesthouse 75.5% 30 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
44.19 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.6% 273 reviews
Venice Paradise
58.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

727 out of 912 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ca' Contarini'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 627 of 869 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was more like a hotel room than a hostel.

Disliked: Location was a bit hard to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect room.

Disliked: The radiators didn`t work all the time and the room was quite cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathrine Duggan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Kathrine would recommend this property

Liked: I love the location,close to the vaparetta.But do not try to find it at night with directions from google map,or you mat never find it in all the windy streets. I love how close to San Marco. We had a lovely time in the area ever though it was freezing cold.

Disliked: Use of the kitcken is only btw. 12-2 when you are out seeing the sights. Would love to be able to rustle up a dinner at dinner time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to St Marks Square and most of the sights. It is nice to be in a back alley, but definitely read the instructions provided in order to get to the accomodation without getting lost (apparently google maps is terrible!)

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, breakfast was decent for an italian b&b, the host was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: If you're walking from the train station rather than taking vaporetto 2, it's a bit of a haul, but it's a nice location for seeing the sights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Simonetta

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, good breakfast, nice rooms.

Disliked: The check in was an hour later to what they said in the website.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nisarg Shah

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 Nisarg would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast and atmosphere and character of rooms...

Disliked: two storey high.. no elevators.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Noor was an amazing individual who was very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was more than plentiful and included: orange juice, tub of yoghurt, croissant, 4 pieces of mini toast and a packet of crackers (and other condiments such as butter, jam and some nutella). The doors (main door and the bedroom door) required keys. The place was very clean and the location was good as it was close to the water bus stop and also close to San Marco.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Silz

Alone

City break

17 January 2013 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: I was positive surpriced, the accomondation was perfect for that price! The location is really good, the included breakfast more than usually suspected in Italy. The accomondation is clean, the walking distance to bus station is 20 min, to train station 25 min and to San Marco only 10 min.

Disliked: Everything was fine!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eleni McIlroy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Eleni would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff (Noor) was great, the location was great, it was clean.

Disliked: LIttle things that weren't good. Some can't be helped, like the walls aren't thick as it's an old building and so you can hear a lot of things happening in and outside the building (it's usually ok during sleeping hours as it isn't a big party place). But then there are things like the kitchen being basically useless, not having lockers OR room keys, the breakfast is ok (particularly considering that this part of Europe really don't do breakfast themselves, but for foreigners one can feel it's a bit dry and sugary, I personally forgive this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amit Sharma

Alone

City break

08 January 2013 Amit would recommend this property

Liked: I have no complaints from this hostel. Staff is very helpful. Location of hostel is central.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Willis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean accomodation in the centre of Venice, great value for money, very kind and helpful staff (they went out of their way to help us every time, even so far as making my wife a tea and bringing it to her when she was desperate for one!), very quiet, free breakfast, excellent value for money. Contrary to what some other reviewers there were locks on our doors which worked securely! We stayed in the 4 bed dorm room, my wife and I had the entire area to ourselves for the 3 nights we were there. Great location, we were within walking distance of the Rialto Bridge and Academia Bridge, near to good restaurants (which were cheap compared to the rest of Venice) and walking distance from San Lucia train station. Will definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Only a couple of minor issues but the kitchen was only open from 12-2 and my wife found her side of the bed quiet hard, but as I said they were only minor issues and we were able to live with it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Panthong Wangperawong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Panthong would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the center of Venice by Academia Bridge. Noor the receptionist was a really helpful guy. He is friendly and works hard. He definitely enhances your stay.

Disliked: Panthong left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Joshua Norman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2012

Liked: The location is good for the price, which is why we chose this hostel.

Disliked: Almost everything... the breakfast included was crap. The kitchen is only open between the hours of 1200 - 1400 (so if you leave anything in the refridgerator you cannot access it except during those times). The staff was nearly useless; they did not even bother to tell us how to find them after hours. The rooms do not lock. There is no area to store packs securely, even if you bring your own lock.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to San Marco and have feeling of living in one of Venice style houses.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Falconer

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 December 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Great location. Noor the

Disliked: There have been bad review about this place. While some may have been accurate at the time my experience was quite the opposite. If any were true they have gone to great effort to rectify any issues. Only dislike was leaving.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, a decent breakfast provided, the best shower I have had in weeks, and a single bed rather than bunks. Cheapest price you'll find in Venice too I believe.

Disliked: Kitchen was only available for about an hour and a half over lunchtime. This was disappointing considering that it advertises having a communal kitchen. The vibe of the place was odd, not helped by the fact that there was a lock-out during the day. Directions were correct, but if would be helpful if it mentioned that the hostel is just off the named street. This said, I will go back next time I'm in Venice and would recommend the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dominique Bouavichith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: It was a converted Bed and Breakfast, so the facilities were really nice.

Disliked: The rooms didn't have locks, which was a bit worrying.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jessica McCulloch

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: We got upgraded to a private room, the location was fantastic, very close to all the sights! Safety deposit boxes in the private rooms, mini fridges in the rooms, very nice and clean bathrooms, all though the head of the shower in our room needed adjusting. The man at the desk was very nice most of the time.

Disliked: It got a bit cold at times in the rooms and even more in the common area. In our room and only one of the windows had proper blinds that could keep the light out. If you want to a place to stay to cook your own food, this is not the place to go. It says communal kitchen but it's only accessible from 12-2 at lunch which is not when u want to be cooking!!! And the kitchen itself is bad, lack of cooking equipment and space to prep and clean. You have to be out of the common area by 10pm, or stay and make no noise. The internet wasn't very reliable and sometimes cut out for hours. Breakfast is only served from 7-8.30 am, which is very early, and included crackers, a croissant, jam, chocolate spread and dry prepackages toast and a range of hot drinks. Early breakfast is good as it gets you up early and motivated but not so good if you need to sleep.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JeongRak Kim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 JeongRak would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like Staff was Very Kindness.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like that it's near a port and that it's quite near shops

Disliked: the room has a smell of cigarettes. the bathroom had a smell also but it's fine.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The directions that were provided made it easy to find it. The breakfast was good- toast, jam, croissant, and crackers. It had everything that was needed for a 3 night stay- I was there to explore Venice, not stay in the hostel. So for my needs, it was perfect.

Disliked: There was only one bathroom on each floor, so you have to wait sometimes for other people to be done and hope no one else gets in before you do!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really friendly. Comfy beds and our room was spacious (we had a private one with a private bathroom). Breakfast and coffee in the mornings was great to have (nothing special though). The link to google maps was wrong (as was just going to google maps separately)...it is close to Piazzo San Stefano. The city map we bought in Venice had the street name on it so we didn't have too much of a problem. Great location!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brenda Padilla

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Brenda would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location and free wifi. The room was spacious and clean (but they only clean once every two days!!).

Disliked: Breakfast sucks, big time... And it is served from 7 am to 8:30 am... One wonders if it is worth to wake up so early for a piece of dry bread... Check out is at 10 am. They only clean once every two days. They charged us 3 extra euros per person per night (government requirement, but one wishes that was included in the price already).

The property's response is...


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels