We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Ca' Contarini

Guesthouse | San Marco-Accademia, 3025, Calle Dei Orbi, Venice, Italy 30124

80.9% Overall Rating

762 out of 951 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/09/2014)

Rebecca Efford thinks…

"Very good location, close to many of the main sites and the staff were helpful and friendly. Basic room but good value for money."

Read all Ca' Contarini reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled 3 days before arrivalis free of charge, otherwise the first night will be charged on your credit card. Upon arrival cash payments only, please.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

B&B Ca'Contarini
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 9 reviews
Venice Academy
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 165 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
41.11 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Friendly Venice - Female only
45.54 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 67 reviews
Locanda Arte
35.42 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 42 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 33 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.3% 281 reviews
Haven Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 72.1% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

762 out of 951 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ca' Contarini'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 650 of 908 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nima Dadgar

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 June 2013 Nima would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice and big enough, it was a bit noisy thought.

Disliked: Poor breakfast and it was abit expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christian Terrazola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist (owner?) was extremely helpful!

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Guillaume Trudel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed there for 2 nights (April 18th and 19th). The place is simple, clean and secure. The breakfast was included: coffe, tea, yogourt, croissant (commercial), crackers, jam, butter. The staff is helpful. Not very hard to find if you follow directions, it is near the Ponte Dell Accademia. The price is good!

Disliked: Guillaume left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: boss

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Mendel

Alone

Family Holiday

16 May 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location--a short walk to the Accademia and other points of interest. Located in quiet, safe residential neighborhood. Facilities were adequate.

Disliked: Bathroom floor was always wet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice old house, my bedroom was very comfortable and across the hall from the bathroom. Two nights I had the room to myself, and got to sleep in a big bed! And, on those nights I also had the bathroom to myself. There was even a television in the room, and the wifi worked like a charm. A real deal for Venice, in a charming quiet neighborhood not far from the Academia bridge (which was more important than I initially thought, since there are only a couple bridges across the grand canal)...

Disliked: I was a little confused about where breakfast was the first morning (it's on the third floor)... and, I'm not used to 'mixed dorm', so I was surprised to find I would be sharing a room with a man (and a woman) the first night. Otherwise, lovely.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Neil Luscombe

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Noor an reception was very friendly and accommodating. Location was outstanding, close to the main square and other major sights

Disliked: Quite expensive for a hostel - but then it is Venice after all!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quartier très calme et personnel accueillant.

Disliked: Traces d'humidité dans la chambre et décoration très "cheap". Le petit-déjeuner n'est vraiment pas terrible, sans grand intérêt. Quand nous payons 110 euros la nuit pour 2 nous nous attendons au moins à un petit-déjeuner digne de ce nom. De plus, les horaires sont de 7h30 à 8h30, un peu tôt tout de même. Le premier jour nous sommes descendus à 8h15, on nous a fait comprendre que nous aurions pu arriver avant. Bref il n'y avait plus de place dans la salle, nous avons dû le prendre dans nos chambres.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: This property is not bad per se. The location is convenient but it just feels like they are aware they can cut corners because Venice is expensive so people will come to stay there anyway because of the location. Several specifics: No wifi - checked with staff on the first two days, then just gave up. An iron - a pretty simple thing but not even one for the entire property. Was told by staff that they don't need it and neither should I. Breakfast - bare dry essentials. More useful to nourish yourself mid-day, during your walks around town. We had to buy something a bit more substantial to start the day well. Air con - nope. Just a noisy ceiling fan. Kitchen facilities - informed on arrival that this was abandoned due to complaints and can be made accessible for 10 EUR/day (!!!). Negotiated free access from the manager subsequently. Room - clean but looks dingy even when clean. Had to air it frequently due to damp smell. Opening the window blinds pointless and had to switch on the light in the room anyway. Also street level so if you get this one don't expect to sleep in past 7:30 am. Luggage room - two curtained holes. We didn't get robbed but the first impression doesn't inspire much confidence.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sergiy Velychko

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Sergiy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, very helpful staff

Disliked: do not use Google maps to get there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Friendliness and helpful nature of staff. It was quiet. Breakfast was included so that was a bonus

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location close to many of the main attractions. Room is clean and feels extremely homely. Quiet residential location so does take some effort to locate the place. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly, speaks good English, makes extra effort to ensure you are taken care of, gives you pointers of places to visit etc. Has a small kitchen available to use by guest at stipulated times so convenient if you wish to prepare you own meals. All in all good and way better than expected.

Disliked: None

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Naomi Rolef

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is centrally located. The deluxe double room was indeed large and comfortable. Breakfast was basic, but the good thing about it was made so that you could easily pack it in your bag and take it with. But the very best thing in Ca'Contarini was Noor, the fellow at the desk. He was very friendly and helpful and it was fun to talk to him.

Disliked: No dislikes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and neat

Disliked: So difficult to find this hostel. Look up the directions, find it on the map before you go

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location 10 minutes from St. Mark's square for a very reasonable price. Internet worked great all over the hotel. Bathroom very clean and modern.

Disliked: The staff were friendly but seemed... Inexperienced. There were a few odd incidents where I felt like the staff didn't know what was going on (particularly check-in and breakfast). Breakfast was very limited as well: only between 7 and 8:30 (though the staff tried to accommodate our schedules admirably outside of that) and not all you can eat. Safe was already locked when we got to the room so we couldn't use it.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: No wifi in room. Breakfast was dry crackers in a dark dingy room. Kitchen only able to be used for two hours in the middle of the day, not even tea and coffee facilities for the rest of the time. Our room was not even in the main building.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013

Liked: The location was pretty good, though a little hard to find - the building it was located in was cute and not very far from attractions if you knew where you were going. They provided towels and it was generally clean overall.

Disliked: When I arrived the host asked for more than the agreed upon amount booked with hostelbookers.com. And, as it says they only take cash. They factored in a higher tourist tax and had me repay the fee I had already payed to reserve the room. Felt uncomfortable around one of the two staff members. Didn't provide us with a map of venice as promised on website.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Burt Thyng

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

25 March 2013 Burt would recommend this property

Liked: Noor the main staff working is very dedicated and helpful to ensure that guests are well settled in.

Disliked: WIFI signal is not available in the rooms. It is very troublesome for guests to head to the dining room to use WIFI.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Boyne

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: A Great location it is only a ten minute walk to the palace of the Doge and dozens of other major sites and landmarks the service was very friendly and helpful I stayed in a 2 person room with a friend that was very spacious and well worth the price.

Disliked: The hostel doesn´t really have an area where you meet other people who are staying there and the atmosphere wasn´t really one for travellers who are looking to meet people in the hostel and explore the city with them pretty much all the travellers that stayed while I was there kept to themselves and the people they were travelling with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Sanda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: great manager

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rick Schols

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Rick would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel. Location was good, near to San Marco and other nice squares. The rooms where very warm and cosy. Also the staff was very kind: Noor Assad was a great person and very helpful with every question I had.

Disliked: No complaints.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Robello

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: I showed up and was surprised with an upgrade to a more private room and ended up alone with a private bath my last day, when I paid only for a shared room/bath! Very clean, extra blankets! Breakfast comes in a cute little basket already all packaged up for you! Safe.

Disliked: Little hard to find but then again this is Venice with tons of little side streets and alleyways.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful for the price!

Disliked: breakfast was subpar

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was more like a hotel room than a hostel.

Disliked: Location was a bit hard to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect room.

Disliked: The radiators didn`t work all the time and the room was quite cold.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels