HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Ca' Contarini

Guesthouse | San Marco-Accademia, 3025, Calle Dei Orbi, Venice, Italy 30124

83.9% Overall Rating

749 out of 937 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

"Great location and management. Let us use their computer and printer when we were in a pinch. Very helpful with directions beforehand and when we were looking for somewhere to go."

Read all Ca' Contarini reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled 3 days before arrivalis free of charge, otherwise the first night will be charged on your credit card. Upon arrival cash payments only, please.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

B&B Ca'Contarini
60.43 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 9 reviews
Venice Academy
40.28 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 159 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
53.38 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Friendly Venice - Female only
59.08 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 66 reviews
Locanda Arte
60.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 42 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
45.66 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 33 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
45.32 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.1% 277 reviews
Haven Hostel
33.57 USD

Hostel 77.7% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

749 out of 937 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ca' Contarini'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 642 of 894 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: ridiculously overpriced for what you get, but have to expect this in venice. breakfast was poor. shared bathroom situation wasn't great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOONJEONG KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 MOONJEONG would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really easy to get to only if you follow the direction! Staff are very helpful and welcoming and very nice! It was a really pleasant experience to stay here :)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff where VERY friendly and helpful. Had a wonderful time in Venezia!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Busuttil

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Privacy of the place despite sharing. Spacious and clean. Very bear to main facilities and attractions. The staff was very helpful and went out of his way to accommodate requests.

Disliked: na

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sinikka Sorvali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Sinikka would recommend this property

Liked: Venice! That's mostly the thing and with accommodation you'll just have to take the place you can afford. But quite a nice place anyway. Friendly staff and at least they were trying. A clean place. For me the location was quite practical and even rather easy to find at the first time.

Disliked: There wifi went down but amazingly it was fixed in a day. Breakfast is quite horrible. One night there were five persons in our bedroom for four. A lot more expensive than all the other hostels I've stayed in but I think it's just the thing here. And really, Venice is just so amazing that it's somehow understandable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really kind and friendly

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't really what you would expect in a hotel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The neighbourhooh very safe. The room ver y clean, the atmosphere and the staff very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Kyrkou

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and fantastic atmosphere both in and around the hotel.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really near to some city attractions.

Disliked: The WiFi never worked. The pretext was the bad weather; however, it never rained as we where there. The breakfast was really basic. It didn't have huevito.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: the only slight positive i'd give is location in the city.

Disliked: the overwhelming impression this place gave is of penny pinching - cutting everything to the bare minimum to squeeze as much money out as possible. this is franky ridiculous in a place where people will pay a few euros extra in tourist prices. it's irritating that these issues have been raised on here by others consistently but havn't been addressed. Issues in order annoyance: 1) locating the place - it's fair enough if google shows you in the wrong place (although surely only a few emails can fix this), but providing crap directions (no map, no website) to a narrow backstreet location with very little signage on the front of the place is not acceptable. 2) pretty much everything advertised about this place on here is wrong. it doesn't accept cards, leading to the necessity to carry hundreds of euros in cash through pickpocket central. the kitchen is not accesible. it has no restaurant, no bar. no free coffee or tea. 3) breakfast - crap. 7-8am only for some dry crackers and packaged 'toast' in a dingy upstairs room was extremely poor. what was worse was that it required the staff member to answer the main door to get into the breakfast room, which in practice led to 15-20min standing outside waiting to be let in. 4) insects/bedbugs - every morning woke up with a new set of bites. hostel seems to only be cleaned every 3 days and we observed room 'cleaning' between guests to take a maximum of 10min. 5) 'shared bathroom' means very shared - expect max 8-10 people to a single bathroom. barely enough toilet paper at times.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff and extremely clean and spacious hostel. excellent location

Disliked: i would have preferred if there were lockers or locks on the bedroom door. the entry for the hostel was very secure though

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Yasutake

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very hard to find, as any place in Venice might be. It's down a tiny little street off the beaten path of Campo Santo Stefan, that seems to consist primarily of local residences. It seems to be in a very safe part of town, and I personally enjoy the "local" atmosphere of a hotel than the touristic portions. With the minimal dorm purchase, one gets a towel, a private bathroom, and even has small breakfast if you can wake up early enough for it (7-8:30am). Wifi throughout the hostel, so one can stay in the rooms to use the internet. Overall, it was an easy experience, which is not always true with hostels, and I was satisfied with my stay.

Disliked: The doors to the rooms themselves remain unlocked at all times. The only key you get opens up the front door, which is very well secured. I can't speak for the more private rooms, for I purchased a dorm facility. The air conditioner in my room was also broken.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luciana Luciana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Luciana would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was satisfying.

Disliked: It's a bit far from piazza di San Marco.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great room at an affordable (for Venice...) price

Disliked: The breakfast was pretty terrible

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a semi-private room and it was beautiful! Nice decor and very roomy and comfy. Good size bathroom and very clean. Very quiet neighborhood.

Disliked: Breakfast is extremely basic (just a basket with a few cookies/croissant and a juice tetrapak and some spreads). Security: though the external door is always locked (you get a key for it), the room door had no lock whatsoever. I didn't feel unsafe, though.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Susannah Beck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Susannah would recommend this property

Liked: The location of it was really central, great for exploring Venice and easily accessible. Tony on reception was fabulous, always really helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this place if you want somewhere in the centre of Venice on a budget.

Disliked: It would be nice to have access to a kitchen especially in very expensive Venice. I got on really well with my roomate but otherwise I didn't really get a chance to chat to any other people staying so could be hit and miss for lone travellers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rata Rojjanavaroe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Rata would recommend this property

Liked: The bed and duvet were very comfortable. I had a good night's sleep throughout my four nights stay. The location was very close to many main attractions and restaurants. Breakfast was very plentiful.

Disliked: There was one little safe in the closet but it wasn't working and seeing as I was sharing the room with three other people, it wouldn't help most people. There is a small fridge in the room. The kitchen is only open for a few hours in the afternoon but it was quite limited. (The staff said there wasn't really suppose to be cooking in the kitchen) Making sandwiches and hot water is ok.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nima Dadgar

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 June 2013 Nima would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice and big enough, it was a bit noisy thought.

Disliked: Poor breakfast and it was abit expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christian Terrazola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist (owner?) was extremely helpful!

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Guillaume Trudel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed there for 2 nights (April 18th and 19th). The place is simple, clean and secure. The breakfast was included: coffe, tea, yogourt, croissant (commercial), crackers, jam, butter. The staff is helpful. Not very hard to find if you follow directions, it is near the Ponte Dell Accademia. The price is good!

Disliked: Guillaume left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: boss

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Mendel

Alone

Family Holiday

16 May 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location--a short walk to the Accademia and other points of interest. Located in quiet, safe residential neighborhood. Facilities were adequate.

Disliked: Bathroom floor was always wet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice old house, my bedroom was very comfortable and across the hall from the bathroom. Two nights I had the room to myself, and got to sleep in a big bed! And, on those nights I also had the bathroom to myself. There was even a television in the room, and the wifi worked like a charm. A real deal for Venice, in a charming quiet neighborhood not far from the Academia bridge (which was more important than I initially thought, since there are only a couple bridges across the grand canal)...

Disliked: I was a little confused about where breakfast was the first morning (it's on the third floor)... and, I'm not used to 'mixed dorm', so I was surprised to find I would be sharing a room with a man (and a woman) the first night. Otherwise, lovely.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Neil Luscombe

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Noor an reception was very friendly and accommodating. Location was outstanding, close to the main square and other major sights

Disliked: Quite expensive for a hostel - but then it is Venice after all!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quartier très calme et personnel accueillant.

Disliked: Traces d'humidité dans la chambre et décoration très "cheap". Le petit-déjeuner n'est vraiment pas terrible, sans grand intérêt. Quand nous payons 110 euros la nuit pour 2 nous nous attendons au moins à un petit-déjeuner digne de ce nom. De plus, les horaires sont de 7h30 à 8h30, un peu tôt tout de même. Le premier jour nous sommes descendus à 8h15, on nous a fait comprendre que nous aurions pu arriver avant. Bref il n'y avait plus de place dans la salle, nous avons dû le prendre dans nos chambres.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels