HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Ca' Contarini

Guesthouse | San Marco-Accademia, 3025, Calle Dei Orbi, Venice, Italy 30124

80.3% Overall Rating

757 out of 946 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

Constanza Csori Pinto thinks…

"The breakfast was a nice surprise, the room was big and the bathroom was really clean. Near a lot of places to eat and you don't have to walk very far from the water bus to the place."

Read all Ca' Contarini reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled 3 days before arrivalis free of charge, otherwise the first night will be charged on your credit card. Upon arrival cash payments only, please.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

B&B Ca'Contarini
52.49 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 9 reviews
Venice Academy
39.37 USD

Guesthouse 83.4% 163 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
57.09 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Friendly Venice - Female only
65.62 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 66 reviews
Locanda Arte
65.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 42 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
44.62 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 33 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
43.74 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.0% 280 reviews
Haven Hostel
32.81 USD

Hostel 73.7% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

757 out of 946 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ca' Contarini'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 647 of 903 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, right in the center near San Marco and still very quiet. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The silliest thing... I was a bit sick of the same breakfast on offer in the morning, only because I had 5 nights there.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Air conditioning worked well. Room perfectly OK.

Disliked: On arrival, there was no member of staff, just a note on the door with a telephone number for us to call, It took 3 phone calls over a 40 minute period before a member of staff arrived to check us in.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Beatriz von Loebenstein

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: The staff was very unfriendly and unpolite. There was noone at the reception, so yo couldn´t ask anything. The atmosphere was bad, the breakfast was very early in the morning so that noone could have it. Very bad experience. Too expensive for what it is.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Bad breakfast. They changed which bed i was through my stay, which i only found out when all my stuff has been pushed over and was skattered under the bed. Dont think they had changed the sheets since the last person left. Towel and sheets had stains, when they brpught me.my nasket of.breakfast there was ants in it. This place is okay if you just need somewhere to sleep but isnt great for meetingn people and is very expensive for what it is.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lyn Wilkinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Lyn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. We called the fellow at reception "Mr. No Problem" as that was his friendly response to every enquiry. Rooms were beautiful with excellent air conditioning and WIFI. Easy to find from the San Samuele vaporetto stop following the instructions provided prior to arrival.

Disliked: Lyn left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: ridiculously overpriced for what you get, but have to expect this in venice. breakfast was poor. shared bathroom situation wasn't great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOONJEONG KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 MOONJEONG would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really easy to get to only if you follow the direction! Staff are very helpful and welcoming and very nice! It was a really pleasant experience to stay here :)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff where VERY friendly and helpful. Had a wonderful time in Venezia!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Busuttil

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Privacy of the place despite sharing. Spacious and clean. Very bear to main facilities and attractions. The staff was very helpful and went out of his way to accommodate requests.

Disliked: na

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sinikka Sorvali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Sinikka would recommend this property

Liked: Venice! That's mostly the thing and with accommodation you'll just have to take the place you can afford. But quite a nice place anyway. Friendly staff and at least they were trying. A clean place. For me the location was quite practical and even rather easy to find at the first time.

Disliked: There wifi went down but amazingly it was fixed in a day. Breakfast is quite horrible. One night there were five persons in our bedroom for four. A lot more expensive than all the other hostels I've stayed in but I think it's just the thing here. And really, Venice is just so amazing that it's somehow understandable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really kind and friendly

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't really what you would expect in a hotel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The neighbourhooh very safe. The room ver y clean, the atmosphere and the staff very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Kyrkou

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and fantastic atmosphere both in and around the hotel.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really near to some city attractions.

Disliked: The WiFi never worked. The pretext was the bad weather; however, it never rained as we where there. The breakfast was really basic. It didn't have huevito.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: the only slight positive i'd give is location in the city.

Disliked: the overwhelming impression this place gave is of penny pinching - cutting everything to the bare minimum to squeeze as much money out as possible. this is franky ridiculous in a place where people will pay a few euros extra in tourist prices. it's irritating that these issues have been raised on here by others consistently but havn't been addressed. Issues in order annoyance: 1) locating the place - it's fair enough if google shows you in the wrong place (although surely only a few emails can fix this), but providing crap directions (no map, no website) to a narrow backstreet location with very little signage on the front of the place is not acceptable. 2) pretty much everything advertised about this place on here is wrong. it doesn't accept cards, leading to the necessity to carry hundreds of euros in cash through pickpocket central. the kitchen is not accesible. it has no restaurant, no bar. no free coffee or tea. 3) breakfast - crap. 7-8am only for some dry crackers and packaged 'toast' in a dingy upstairs room was extremely poor. what was worse was that it required the staff member to answer the main door to get into the breakfast room, which in practice led to 15-20min standing outside waiting to be let in. 4) insects/bedbugs - every morning woke up with a new set of bites. hostel seems to only be cleaned every 3 days and we observed room 'cleaning' between guests to take a maximum of 10min. 5) 'shared bathroom' means very shared - expect max 8-10 people to a single bathroom. barely enough toilet paper at times.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff and extremely clean and spacious hostel. excellent location

Disliked: i would have preferred if there were lockers or locks on the bedroom door. the entry for the hostel was very secure though

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Yasutake

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very hard to find, as any place in Venice might be. It's down a tiny little street off the beaten path of Campo Santo Stefan, that seems to consist primarily of local residences. It seems to be in a very safe part of town, and I personally enjoy the "local" atmosphere of a hotel than the touristic portions. With the minimal dorm purchase, one gets a towel, a private bathroom, and even has small breakfast if you can wake up early enough for it (7-8:30am). Wifi throughout the hostel, so one can stay in the rooms to use the internet. Overall, it was an easy experience, which is not always true with hostels, and I was satisfied with my stay.

Disliked: The doors to the rooms themselves remain unlocked at all times. The only key you get opens up the front door, which is very well secured. I can't speak for the more private rooms, for I purchased a dorm facility. The air conditioner in my room was also broken.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luciana Luciana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Luciana would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was satisfying.

Disliked: It's a bit far from piazza di San Marco.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great room at an affordable (for Venice...) price

Disliked: The breakfast was pretty terrible

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a semi-private room and it was beautiful! Nice decor and very roomy and comfy. Good size bathroom and very clean. Very quiet neighborhood.

Disliked: Breakfast is extremely basic (just a basket with a few cookies/croissant and a juice tetrapak and some spreads). Security: though the external door is always locked (you get a key for it), the room door had no lock whatsoever. I didn't feel unsafe, though.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Susannah Beck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Susannah would recommend this property

Liked: The location of it was really central, great for exploring Venice and easily accessible. Tony on reception was fabulous, always really helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this place if you want somewhere in the centre of Venice on a budget.

Disliked: It would be nice to have access to a kitchen especially in very expensive Venice. I got on really well with my roomate but otherwise I didn't really get a chance to chat to any other people staying so could be hit and miss for lone travellers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rata Rojjanavaroe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Rata would recommend this property

Liked: The bed and duvet were very comfortable. I had a good night's sleep throughout my four nights stay. The location was very close to many main attractions and restaurants. Breakfast was very plentiful.

Disliked: There was one little safe in the closet but it wasn't working and seeing as I was sharing the room with three other people, it wouldn't help most people. There is a small fridge in the room. The kitchen is only open for a few hours in the afternoon but it was quite limited. (The staff said there wasn't really suppose to be cooking in the kitchen) Making sandwiches and hot water is ok.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nima Dadgar

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 June 2013 Nima would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice and big enough, it was a bit noisy thought.

Disliked: Poor breakfast and it was abit expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christian Terrazola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist (owner?) was extremely helpful!

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Guillaume Trudel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed there for 2 nights (April 18th and 19th). The place is simple, clean and secure. The breakfast was included: coffe, tea, yogourt, croissant (commercial), crackers, jam, butter. The staff is helpful. Not very hard to find if you follow directions, it is near the Ponte Dell Accademia. The price is good!

Disliked: Guillaume left no negative feedback.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels