We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Ca' Contarini

Guesthouse | San Marco-Accademia, 3025, Calle Dei Orbi, Venice, Italy 30124

80.2% Overall Rating

771 out of 963 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/02/2015)

Haide Neves Silveira thinks…

"Big and clean room and good breakfast (even it is over too early in the morning)."

Read all Ca' Contarini reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled 3 days before arrivalis free of charge, otherwise the first night will be charged on your credit card. Upon arrival cash payments only, please.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

B&B Ca'Contarini
44.03 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 9 reviews
San Samuele apartments
44.03 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Venice Academy
31.92 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 166 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
38.53 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Locanda Arte
55.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.8% 44 reviews
Ca' del Pozzo
37.42 USD

Guesthouse 80.7% 36 reviews
Hotel San Maurizio
42.65 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.1% 286 reviews
Haven Hostel San Toma
38.53 USD

Hostel 72.1% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

771 out of 963 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ca' Contarini'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 656 of 920 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very good, (4 bed mixed, en-suite), although only two of us in there so not sure if different if fully occupied. I liked that linen and towels were provided, which were clean and fresh. It was warm enough. Free WiFi. Breakfast included. The member of staff was very polite, friendly and spoke good English.

Disliked: The mattress was too firm for me. I was disappointed not to be able to self-cater - ie use the kitchen after it advertises the facility. I had to eat out so more expensive stay than I wanted. Sound-proofing wasn't perfect but depends on the guests. WiFi signal sometimes slow. Breakfast could be improved with fresh bread and fresh croissants rather than pre-packaged items. I didn't get a key to my room which would have concerned me more at times with lots of guests. I think the things that are advertised need to be provided - kitchen use, secure lockers. I wasn't informed about the luggage room or 20% off at the restaurant, and I did ask about eating out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andela 777

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

22 November 2013 andela would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing & lovley place very good hotel i loved so much,, breackfast ,was good ,so clean,big rooms clean and well decorated, when we travel again we will be back for sure in that place thank you to make our trip unforgettable... recommended for all travellers.

Disliked: andela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joseph d

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

18 November 2013 joseph would recommend this property

Liked: We found this hotel on the net. Its website displays pictures of very nice rooms , all recently renewed. We booked a "comfort" room,just got back after a short 4 day trip, hotel is great for position, staff friendly and helpful, room clean, shower hot, breakfast enjoyable, we had a lovely stay thank you . great location close to st mark's square, a short walk from the water taxi stop ( about ( 1 minutes) and easy to find...

Disliked: NA...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria jons

Alone

Events / festivals

18 November 2013 maria would recommend this property

Liked: We booked ca'contarini based on recommendation and it was a great choice. Having read some bad reviews here I can understand why some few people left such negative comments. It's all about expectation. Venice is an amazing live museum. If you are Doge you stay in Palazzo Ducale, if not, ca'contarini definitely will give you some good experience of how normal Venetian lives. So don't be bitter if you are not a millionaire! The hotel is very clean and that's a good sign because I'm allergic to dust LOL. the guy are very friendly and often give you good advice of where to go and eat. Do equip yourself with some Italian because this will help massively during your travel. back for sure..

Disliked: Nothing...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rose neil

Alone

Romantic getaway

13 November 2013 rose would recommend this property

Liked: I recently stayed at the CA'CONTARINI . rooms are clean and big , nice decoration The location of the hotel was awesome. We were close to the waterbus stop and 2-5min walking distance to all the major attractions we had wanted to see during our stay. Upon arriving, we were greeted warmly and were given a map and explanation of the city and how to get to. Back for sure, recommended it

Disliked: Nothing..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna boscova

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 November 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment of booking everything went beautifully with this hotel!. Since we had never been to Venice, we had several questions/requests before departing the us and every issue was positively.Upon arrival at 10:00am on the day we expected a long wait for our room but were cheerfully checked in by noor and assured access to our room asap. We chose to wait at the outside tables and were welcomed - very soon we were in our rooms and well rested.noor continued to look out for us at the awesome breakfast patiently with our questions and needs. We have nothing but good things to say about this hotel and hope to return.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIEGO MARCEL DA SILVA

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 DIEGO MARCEL would recommend this property

Liked: The place is clean. Bedrooms are beautiful and clean as well. Staff is very friendly! There is a good breakfast and internet.

Disliked: DIEGO MARCEL left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013

Liked: Compare to its price, it has good facility and is clean

Disliked: Location is really bad and the nearest vaporetto stop ( S. Samuel ) has one bus for centre, which is no.2. That only starts from 9:30 am till 8pm You have walk further more

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013

Liked: Wifi is very good.

Disliked: The location is bad so that it is very difficult to find. No common room and public facilities. Atmosphere is extremely bad. Even worse, the 4 bed dorm , actually, only have one double bed, one single bed and a sofa. it is terrible.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, right in the center near San Marco and still very quiet. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The silliest thing... I was a bit sick of the same breakfast on offer in the morning, only because I had 5 nights there.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Air conditioning worked well. Room perfectly OK.

Disliked: On arrival, there was no member of staff, just a note on the door with a telephone number for us to call, It took 3 phone calls over a 40 minute period before a member of staff arrived to check us in.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Beatriz von Loebenstein

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: The staff was very unfriendly and unpolite. There was noone at the reception, so yo couldn´t ask anything. The atmosphere was bad, the breakfast was very early in the morning so that noone could have it. Very bad experience. Too expensive for what it is.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Bad breakfast. They changed which bed i was through my stay, which i only found out when all my stuff has been pushed over and was skattered under the bed. Dont think they had changed the sheets since the last person left. Towel and sheets had stains, when they brpught me.my nasket of.breakfast there was ants in it. This place is okay if you just need somewhere to sleep but isnt great for meetingn people and is very expensive for what it is.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lyn Wilkinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Lyn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. We called the fellow at reception "Mr. No Problem" as that was his friendly response to every enquiry. Rooms were beautiful with excellent air conditioning and WIFI. Easy to find from the San Samuele vaporetto stop following the instructions provided prior to arrival.

Disliked: Lyn left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: ridiculously overpriced for what you get, but have to expect this in venice. breakfast was poor. shared bathroom situation wasn't great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOONJEONG KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 MOONJEONG would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really easy to get to only if you follow the direction! Staff are very helpful and welcoming and very nice! It was a really pleasant experience to stay here :)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff where VERY friendly and helpful. Had a wonderful time in Venezia!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Busuttil

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Privacy of the place despite sharing. Spacious and clean. Very bear to main facilities and attractions. The staff was very helpful and went out of his way to accommodate requests.

Disliked: na

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sinikka Sorvali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Sinikka would recommend this property

Liked: Venice! That's mostly the thing and with accommodation you'll just have to take the place you can afford. But quite a nice place anyway. Friendly staff and at least they were trying. A clean place. For me the location was quite practical and even rather easy to find at the first time.

Disliked: There wifi went down but amazingly it was fixed in a day. Breakfast is quite horrible. One night there were five persons in our bedroom for four. A lot more expensive than all the other hostels I've stayed in but I think it's just the thing here. And really, Venice is just so amazing that it's somehow understandable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really kind and friendly

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't really what you would expect in a hotel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The neighbourhooh very safe. The room ver y clean, the atmosphere and the staff very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Kyrkou

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and fantastic atmosphere both in and around the hotel.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really near to some city attractions.

Disliked: The WiFi never worked. The pretext was the bad weather; however, it never rained as we where there. The breakfast was really basic. It didn't have huevito.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: the only slight positive i'd give is location in the city.

Disliked: the overwhelming impression this place gave is of penny pinching - cutting everything to the bare minimum to squeeze as much money out as possible. this is franky ridiculous in a place where people will pay a few euros extra in tourist prices. it's irritating that these issues have been raised on here by others consistently but havn't been addressed. Issues in order annoyance: 1) locating the place - it's fair enough if google shows you in the wrong place (although surely only a few emails can fix this), but providing crap directions (no map, no website) to a narrow backstreet location with very little signage on the front of the place is not acceptable. 2) pretty much everything advertised about this place on here is wrong. it doesn't accept cards, leading to the necessity to carry hundreds of euros in cash through pickpocket central. the kitchen is not accesible. it has no restaurant, no bar. no free coffee or tea. 3) breakfast - crap. 7-8am only for some dry crackers and packaged 'toast' in a dingy upstairs room was extremely poor. what was worse was that it required the staff member to answer the main door to get into the breakfast room, which in practice led to 15-20min standing outside waiting to be let in. 4) insects/bedbugs - every morning woke up with a new set of bites. hostel seems to only be cleaned every 3 days and we observed room 'cleaning' between guests to take a maximum of 10min. 5) 'shared bathroom' means very shared - expect max 8-10 people to a single bathroom. barely enough toilet paper at times.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff and extremely clean and spacious hostel. excellent location

Disliked: i would have preferred if there were lockers or locks on the bedroom door. the entry for the hostel was very secure though


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels