HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Guest House Bella Venexia

Guesthouse | Cannaregio 2976/C, Venice, Italy 30121

51.0% Overall Rating

106 out of 182 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

Ekaterina Kovrova thinks…

"Location. Sea view and boat stop quite close. If you come to Venice in WARM season it may be a good place to stay - cheaper than others, though more expensive than should be."

Read all Guest House Bella Venexia reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept cash payments only. Please note that you MUST inform the property your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Hotel Tre Archi
41.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.6% 80 reviews
The Arches Venice
41.43 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 140 reviews
Venice Garden
42.82 USD

Hostel 65.7% 26 reviews
Hotel Ai Due Leoni
103.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.8% 8 reviews
Ai Due Leoncini
96.70 USD

Hostel 77.9% 49 reviews
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
73.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Shiraz House
41.44 USD

Guesthouse 70.8% 22 reviews
Alberghiera Venezia
79.43 USD

Apartment 95.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
51.0%

Overall Rating

106 out of 182 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Guest House Bella Venexia'

Atmosphere
40.8%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
35.2%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
53.6%
Value
51.2%
Safety
51.2%
Refine your results Showing 118 of 171 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ekaterina Kovrova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014

Liked: Location. Sea view and boat stop quite close. If you come to Venice in WARM season it may be a good place to stay - cheaper than others, though more expensive than should be.

Disliked: the appartment could be really nice and worth of it's value if you could use in there something more than your bed and shower. There is - as stated - 'a common kitchen', even with dishes, but the stove is out of order (or - more likely- you are forbidden to use it) - "don't touch!!!" is written on it as well as on the washing machine and the main heater...so they are all fake. Hot water was availible only in the shower cabin, so you had to step inside to get it! In short, for winter stay the place is not comfortable, maybe summer visitors would be luckier...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ruth Everatt

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

25 October 2013

Liked: Nothing really

Disliked: When we arrived we had to phone for someone to let us in. This is not a hostel, it was effectively someone's house. There was nobody there, so when the electricity turned itself off we had to phone to get it fixed. There was a thin film of dust under the bed, the sheets however seemed clean. There was a VERY STRONG SMELL OF MOULD and mildew in the room, which, as an asthmatic really affected me. You could taste it, it hit your lungs. The room was cold. The shower was dirty and there was no hot water, presumably in the night we'd lost the electricity, again. For one night, it made me ill, but if you really want to save money it's ok. If you have the money to spend and you're there for a few nights, stay somewhere better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Cleanliness, Value for money

Disliked: Location of this Guest House on the map is nit correct.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Christine Steinmetz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: HORRIBLE smell!! We were lucky and the other room was vacant and it smelt a little less bad. But I would of rather slept on the street then in that one room. The windows had to be open but the room is unsafe then. We showed up late on our actual day and had emailed owner three times three days before with no reply and we called twice with no reply. We found s room in a nearby hotel luckily because some one didn't show up , called the next day and he finally answered said he'd meet us at 11 and was late then to, almost 2 weeks later I got an email response. Very pour management and it's like staying in a slum and we have both stayed in some bad places around the world. Spend the extra money and stay some where else!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nicole Tamsett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: close to city, nice bathroom, like a hotel

Disliked: no air con and no wifi

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and it was vheap compared to all other accomodation in venezia.

Disliked: Kitchen was not really useable.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jasmine Mitchell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013

Liked: It had a nice view

Disliked: The kitchen described was in a total state of disrepair, the stove wasn't even connected because the plug was cut off, the fridge was lukewarm at best and the freezer was covered in mold. If you opened a cabinet the door would fall off or in our case we could not shut a drawer we pulled out. Pictures look nice but are deceiving. The washer in the bathroom doesn't work which we found out after we bought laundry detergent and the shower doors are falling off. By saying the bedroom is clean they were saying it was swept and mopped with the bed made. They fail to mention the mold growing on the ceiling and the stench that causes. The ceiling fan did not work not did the screen in the window stay down so we had to sleep with the window open which allowed for many bugs to come in not to mention the fact that it was not safe to leave the window open since we were on ground level. The view was nice that's about the only thing it had going for it. We also had to call when we arrived at the train station to let them know we had arrived and said we'd be there shortly (it's a 15-20 minute walk from the station with heavy backpacks). When we arrived no one was there and when we called him he said he had just left because we were late (it took us about 25 minutes after buying our next train ticket) he then told us he would be back shortly. He sent his 15 year old son who arrived an hour after we called the second time so we had to sit outside waiting with no idea how long it would be. I wouldn't have minded had he let us know or called us when he was leaving to see if we were still coming. Ridiculously bad service, uncleanliness, and a disappointment of a place to say when it seemed like we would have so much available to us. I am not a high maintenance person but when I pay for things such as a kitchen I expect that it will work and that I won't have to sleep on top of extra blankets because the bed looks moldy.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

22 April 2013

Liked: helpful staff, but very unhelpful owner

Disliked: difficult to find, not valued for money, and in the end it was impossible to stay there, and it is neither a hostel, nor guest house

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: it was a too quiet place

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ingvar Gislason

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: broken facilities

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great - in a mostly residential area of venice so its quieter and cheaper food options around. For the money, I dont think you can find a private room on the island for cheaper than this.

Disliked: The place is literally falling apart (ie kitchen, bathroom). Wifi only works in one corner of the place, and I think it was someone else's open network so advertising the place as having Wifi was a bit of a stretch.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price, a nice view of the water where you can see the sunset. That there was a communal room with kitchen.

Disliked: It was not very clean and a bit crappy, some things were broken. Staff is not very friendly and some of them don't speak English at all.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 June 2012

Liked: Read the above, it is worth it, believe me.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012

Liked: An interesting neighbourhood, set apart from the usual tourist locations.

Disliked: The amenities were sub-standard (tiny towels, lights not working, smells of damp and mould).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 June 2012

Liked: il prezzo economico, la cortesia e la posizione non centralissima ma molto tranquilla e facilmente raggiungibile. La possibilità di entrare ed uscire senza vincoli di orari.

Disliked: La manutenzione sia dal punto di vista del fabbricato che dal punto di vista dell'arredamento. La mancanza delllo stretto necessario (es. sapone)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. At least bed, shower and toilet was clean. 2. Location from central train station is not far and it is good.

Disliked: 1. The point indicated on map is different, so we looked for 2976/C (15 minutes) and found it two blocks upper in the very corner of the area. 2. Cleanness is rather true, it was necessary to air the room because of mold smell and humidity, and when tried to open the window it was fragile and sticky with dirt, so didn't take risk to open, as it was ready to be broken. Bed was OK, but room temperature was lower and humidity level was higher in the room than outside. 3. Nice kitchen furniture was also hardly fixed, if opened without caution, can easily be broken. 4. Waited the girl who handed over us the keys for 30 minutes instead of 5 as said. 5. And one of the most important thing is that the oven was not working, one of things for which we preferred this place. The girl went out and we checked the oven, called the owner and said that it is not working, he answered that she will come and see, they we waited for 1 hour, nobody appeared, we called again the owner and he said I called the electrician, but it will not be fixed today, as it is late after 08.00 pm. I looked to the oven cable and found out that plug part was cut away. So, couldn't use the kitchen, and I am sure that the owner knew the problem with oven, but didn't fixed it before.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a two room apartment with kitchen and a small living room. We rented both rooms and no one disturbed us during the stay. Considering the prices, it was excellent.

Disliked: The walls were a bit moldy and we had to keep the windows open for a long time, otherwise it smelled bad.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 November 2011

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Did not work gheat (in the middle of November!) Even they told us to do . When we tried to turn onwather, the water boiler started making excessive noise. The neighbors came and asked to take something to the building would not have gone into the air!!! (in Italian, because nobody speaks English). We called the owners, but they did not come within the agreed time, and neighbors did not want to leave until we resolve the situation themselves. At the end we were without heating and hot water without. Nobody even apologise us

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011

Liked: only the location

Disliked: nothing seemed to be working in this apartment. the smell of mold is bad but I guess this is quite normal for Venice given the humidity.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and silence.

Disliked: The kitchen wasn't working.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011

Liked: The view onto the lagoon was nice and being on the edge of the city meant you could escape from the tourist rabble. The supermarket, once we found it, was cheap and saved us money on snacks.

Disliked: Where to begin? Firstly, I would like to set the tone by saying that this so called hostel is very, very disappointing. So much so in fact, that both me and my partner believe that the reviews for this 'hostel' that are in the 90%s are fake and are in all likelyhood written by the owner. Guest House Bella Venexia is effectively a run down, abandoned apartment on the very edge of Venice. We are not picky when it comes to accomodation and have stayed in hostels all over Italy and indeed Europe. However, the 'Guest House Bella Venexia' is the worst we have ever come across. Firstly, after arriving in Venice and calling the owner as instructed, we found him very rude, abrupt and unhelpful. This was a sign of things to come and gave me a bad feeling which was almost as bad as the smell of the place (more on that later). We EVENTUALLY found the place, after spending an hour deciphering the cryptic and mysterious 'directions'. Put simply, they are misleading and WRONG, which in itself is quite an achievement. Well done. It is not 8 mins away from the station as described, but more like 20. And as for 8 mins from the Rialto and 15 from San Marco - dream on! The Rialto alone was a good hour's walk away and even on the waterbus, San Marco is over 30 mins away. We arrived at the 'guest house' with not enough cash. I expected to be able to leave our bags and return shortly with the cash. This was very far from the reality. The young girl who met us to hand over the keys FROGMARCHED us to the nearest ATM - a good 15 min walk away, all the while not saying a word and leaving us feeling very awkward. Upon getting the cash, she then wanted us to hand it over, in the middle of a busy Venetian street. Nice idea! Now the real fun begins. The apartment itself is a wreck. The ceiling is covered in damp patches and the walls are bare and equally damp. In our room there was a hilarious attempt to cover up a giant damp patch with a - and I kid you not - giant bamboo beach mat. Really guys? Really? The whole apartment stunk. Like the inside of a wet boot. And even opening all the windows does nothing to help. While on the topic of windows, they do not lock properly, leaving the whole apartment unsafe. Say goodbye to your belongings! My favourite pet-hate of all was the cold water/broken boiler. We had to rely on our fellow unfortunates to work the boiler and even once we did, it was unreliable and nearly always coughing up cold water. Other utilites were also broken or damaged; the fridge leaked water due to a broken door and the hob does not spark at all, which meant we could not cook as we had no matches with which to light the ring. Phew. In conclusion, we are disappointed to have to say these things. Really. Venice is a great place but unfortunately it is marred by rip-off merchants such as the owner of Guest House Bella Venexia. A review previous to this one, by 'Matthew Drinkwater' is hilariously accurate and we wish we had heeded it before booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that it was in a great location only a few minutes walk to the shops, was in venice but away from all the tourist spots in a nice area

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guesthouse is located in a quiet part of Venice but it's only a 15 minute walk to get to where things are happening.

Disliked: The hot water would come and go. We were not informed at check in that the refrigerator was broken. We only found out after we bought 20 euros worth of groceries.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels