We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Il Veliero Romantico

Guesthouse | Sestr. Santa Croce 328 int 1, Venice, Italy 30135

82.6% Overall Rating

39 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2012)

"clea room and good location with reasonable price.... the check-in office is actually opposite the tran station (across the river). Thus, from the train station, turn right and heading to the bus station and cross…"

Read all Il Veliero Romantico reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

>>*******Important Info******* >>Please note: The Check in address is different: SANTA CROCE 555 Venice, Italy

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Canton del Doge
101.20 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Ca' Loredan
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 3 reviews
Casa Rezzonico
69.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Locanda Salieri
37.95 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.1% 126 reviews
Suite In Venice Ai Carmini
46.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Canal
30.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 11 reviews
Hotel Airone
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.6% 35 reviews
Venice Resort
50.60 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 63 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

39 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Il Veliero Romantico'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
76.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very centeral

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

soudabeh khodambashi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2012 soudabeh would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, close to train station and terminal bus

Disliked: Heating system starts at 8 pm and it takes long to get warm

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clea room and good location with reasonable price.... the check-in office is actually opposite the tran station (across the river). Thus, from the train station, turn right and heading to the bus station and cross the big bridge. ater crossing the big bridge, turn left and cross the green bridge. then follow the road toward left hand side (along the river) and cross another bridge, you will then see the check-in office beside an ice cream stall.

Disliked: nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Rishen Maharaj

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012

Liked: It had a fridge

Disliked: "private" bathroom was not within room, but off a public corridor, and had to be locked and unlocked after each use. Room was ages away from the checkin office, so if you needed anything, you had to ring them with your own mobile

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had our bathroom and they gave us towels. It was near the bus station and a lot of restaurant and shop.

Disliked: Too small, no AC in summer when its 35 degrees outside... we were dying in there. No wifi....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good little self contained hide away for two with in built bathroom

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yee Ping Goh

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

22 May 2012 Yee Ping would recommend this property

Liked: courtyard before entering the apartment

Disliked: room is a little small. :'(

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 February 2012

Liked: The rooms had free lockers to put your valuables in. The shower was powerful and hot.

Disliked: It felt a bit like staying in a prison or a hospital - The room was dark and it was really warm!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martine Poingt

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 November 2011 Martine would recommend this property

Liked: quiet location, very close to the railway station

Disliked: bathroom separated from the room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, friendly staff at check-in address

Disliked: The shower is very low and switches between (too) hot and cold

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite clean hostel. Rest room big enough.

Disliked: We spent more than 1 hour tring to find it. Finally, at 1:30am we realized it was in a hidden door not shown in the map. We were really angry about that. Only because of that I wouldn´t come back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location of the hotel. It was also very clean and apartment like. Towels, crackers and tea kettle were all provided in our stay. Great hostel!

Disliked: The building is old and creaks at night which is a little scary.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, couldn't have been better, helpful staff, very clean, safe, obvious to find when u get there.

Disliked: slightly dated decor, but maybe i didn't get what they were trying to do

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YI SU

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 YI would recommend this property

Liked: good access to everywhere, especiallz railway station.

Disliked: no internet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice clean property at the right location where everywhere was accessible. We could not find this place for over a couple of hours as directions can be pretty difficult to get in a place where very few people speak English but Staff was excellent, as one member actually pitied our situation and came and showed us in.

Disliked: The whole concept of property far from the registering office did not help. Plastic cups! No tea/coffee provided in a private en-suite. No hair dryer/ iron. Really lacking in amenities. No broadband. A television that did not work!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for trains & buses.

Disliked: Directions as given by hostel bookers, only need 555 Santa Croche, opposite to railway station on grand canal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: **this is based on my stay in a shared room** 1. loacation was great, only a couple minutes from the bus/train stations and major water taxi (and a co-op if you want groceries) 2. if you say you're new to venice she'll give you a detailed map and show you places to visit and how to get there 3. there are two LAN cables if you bring your own notebook (no wireless, no comps provided) 4. security door before you can get to you room and you have your own locker & key in the room. 5. fridge 6. linen & towels provided, linens are washed after you leave & room is mopped/cleaned everyday (i witnessed)

Disliked: directions on the website are a bit confusing considering how easy it is to find - from the bus station follow the river, cross over two small bridges and it'll be just ahead in the corner, look for "555" just to the left of the 'Canal Hotel'. from the train station cross the large bridge to the left, and go right along the river and look for "555" just before the 'Canal Hotel' (you won't cross any small bridges). **neutral** (for me) shower is short-ish as someone mentioned but i'm 5'8" and it didn't bother me. no common area to hang out/meet others. no kitchen. no breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ronaldo santos

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

05 November 2010 ronaldo would recommend this property

Liked: great place... i would stay again

Disliked: ronaldo left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Elise Deben

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2010

Liked: spacious room.

Disliked: We had the twin ensuite, which had a awful shower. It's maximum height was 1.50 meter, it fell down all the time and the water was either burning hot or ice cold. It was very cold in the appartment and the heating was locked so we couldn't turn it on.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Diego Musacchio

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

19 October 2010 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: the location was great, just a few blocks away from the san Marco square

Disliked: Diego left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emre Senoglu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2010 Emre would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are not too crowded, bathrooms are clean, its not noisy, staff is always helpful, great location, free lockers in the room.

Disliked: no common area to socialise

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The check-in office is at a different location like the website said it would be. It was easy to find. You find the address and just go through the door. The office is situated inside. The girl there was very nice. She spoke english very well and gave us a very detailed map of the city (a $5 value!). She even gave us advice on where to good stores and restaurants were. The room wasn't where I thought it was, but it wasn't a big deal. It was about 20 mins from the train station. The room was perfect for what we needed. It was very cute and overlooked one of the canals. It was secure and quiet. I would recommend it.

Disliked: nada

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

James Bates

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

19 September 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent

Disliked: Its appearence is TIRED. the shower didn't work properly

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Karl Duffill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: The room was large and very clean and tidy.

Disliked: The directions given to the check in area of this hostel were shockingly bad. We had to use sat nav to find it and ask at the hotel nearby if they knew where it was.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 September 2010

Liked: 1 - good location if you stay for long time. 2 - Near big market easy to get food.3 - Quiet. 4 - Big refrigerator.

Disliked: 1 - Small room 2 - Small shower for huge people will be hard to fit. 3 - Overpriced if you compare to other hostels in other location. 4 - No Breakfast. 5 - Early check out 10 am. 6 - Main office located at other address far away. 7 - far away from mass transportation.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels