HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of L'Imbarcadero

Hostel | Santa Croce, 1268, (Calle Zen), Venice, Italy 30135

88.9% Overall Rating

707 out of 776 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

"The size of the rooms, the facilities on offer (e.g. kitchen), provision of breakfast, friendly staff - and perfect location, only 5 mins from the station."

Read all L'Imbarcadero reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Viva Venezia
48.38 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 63 reviews
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
51.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.0% 208 reviews
Hotel Rossi
27.64 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.1% 157 reviews
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan
35.94 USD

Hostel 86.6% 528 reviews
Santa Croce Apartments
53.90 USD

Apartment 82.0% 21 reviews
San Geremia Rooms
35.94 USD

Hostel 80.9% 420 reviews
Hotel Moderno
138.22 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Residenza Corte Canal-Ca'Dario
48.38 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 83 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

707 out of 776 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'L'Imbarcadero'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 664 of 715 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The size of the rooms, the facilities on offer (e.g. kitchen), provision of breakfast, friendly staff - and perfect location, only 5 mins from the station.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, the rooms and the kitchen are nice and clean.

Disliked: No internet in the rooms and a bit hard to find.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yunghan Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Yunghan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and good atmosphere. Most important is nice staffs.

Disliked: Yunghan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the private rooms which are a few minutes walk from the main address, these are lovely 3rd floor apartments with a south facing balcony with superb atmospheric views, a shared kitchen & sitting room.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

KEUMPIL CHOI

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014

Liked: Not at all

Disliked: The staff was not friendly at all, the room was very old and makes an creaking sound when the doors closed. Also the bed was squeaking when we were in bed, so we could not sleep very well. The accommodation we reserved was not with the office, so our family has to move with our luggages again. They said they're going to recharge the food every day, but it was not. Even the kitchen there was too dirty to use, we can find some rusty spoons and forks so our family bought plastic spoons to eat meals.(They didn't change our towels, even if we stayed there for 3 days!) The worst thing is that we have to pay in cash, and there's no indication about it at all in the hostelbookers site. I said it to the man who was at the reception(If I could say that small chair a 'reception'), but he repetedly says sorry, but you can pay only with cash. It was the worst accommodation that I've chose. I recommend all of the travelers who are going to visit Venice not to stay this house.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely staff and a nice atmosphere. My room was comfortable and home-like.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't very filling and the bathroom needed some TLC (it was perfectly clean but the shower head was broken).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station, we had basically an apartment to share with one other group. Good self-catering equipment and some food provided.

Disliked: Wifi broke which was annoying, didn't have any for most of our stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere -eating together Location - close to the station

Disliked: The design of the sink outside the room The bathroom that was effectively in the kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the train station!

Disliked: Doesn't offer any maps

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and it was nice to be in a hostel that didn't have bunk beds for a change.

Disliked: There were only 2 toilets and 2 showers for the whole hostel and the showers weren't very clean and would block up. Staff were some times hard to find and the locker system wasn't very secure - I think it needs to be as the rooms don't lock and there's not always some one sitting in reception.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Kerollos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was fantastic, very helpful and always available. Location was close to the train station and a water bus stop, and an enjoyable 30 minute walk to San Marco

Disliked: Breakfast was a bit lacking and heating in the rooms was very weak.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Perkins

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Location, privacy, security, wifi, kitchen, and value were all fantastic. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Washing machine didn't work, bedside lamp did not work, no extra toilet paper, and shower door was broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keny Estuardo Perez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Keny Estuardo would recommend this property

Liked: Homelike

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Ka Meng Yap

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Gavin Ka Meng would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and assisted us generously. The facilities were clean.

Disliked: Gavin Ka Meng left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cosmin Rentea

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Cosmin would recommend this property

Liked: good location close to bus and train station, quiet, clean, spacious room, normal beds (not bunk-beds), kitchen facilities, and a nice host (Sam) !

Disliked: it was a bit cold in the room (due to below-average window insulation).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Erin Tsu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at this hostel in Venice. I met some of the best people here! Most of the travelers were single girls, including me (so girls, you know where to go)! The rooms were nice, spacious, & clean. No bunk beds! The bathrooms are the cleanest after 12PM around the time they clean the hostel, so the later in the night it gets--the more times it is used, the dirtier it gets. But obviously that's expected. Also, Sam is very nice & extremely helpful!

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phuc Nguyen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Phuc would recommend this property

Liked: decoration of the hostel is the best, very beautiful, just as nice as VEnice. Location is also good. The direction to the hostel is so accurate. It was extremely easy to find it while you will find too difficult to find any place in VEnice.

Disliked: Breakfast is not good while the price is quite high

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julio Garcia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Julio would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place to sleep, close to a water bus stop (like one minute away) and close to the train station. Sam the guy who attends the hostel is very helpful and kind.

Disliked: Next to the property there is a construction on progress so a lot of noise in the morning, the hostel doesn't have nothing to do, so, it's a good place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, right on the Grand Canal. The mixed room (where my brother and I were staying) was one of the best I've stayed at in a long while. The manager (Sam) was relaxed and helpful. It was a much welcome relief after traveling in Italy during peak season where tempers tend to be a bit raised.

Disliked: It is a little expensive for a hostel, but it's more like a guest house and it is Venice after all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piyawitt Jaturunt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Piyawitt would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are so useful n friendly

Disliked: difficult to find!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located right on the Grand Canal

Disliked: Told me a few times about the free Wifi which seemed like their best deal, but the signal was weak and everyone staying there had to gather in kitchen area to use it; basically a converted apartment; very little security... no lock on bedroom door; no free maps.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorothy Barbieri

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Dorothy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was fantastic, room was great, & location was very good too.

Disliked: Not one thing to dislike. It was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derryn Brinton-Wragg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Derryn would recommend this property

Liked: Small with a homely atmosphere. Fantastic location being only 10 min walk from the main train station and right on the Grand Canal. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and they have a lock-up facility that you can use to store your luggage up until 10 pm after you've checked out. You have your own door key and so can come and go as you please and they are located 20m from a water taxi station which is really convenient.

Disliked: Wi-fi connection it's limited and not available in the rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the station which is handy when you have a huge backpack. It's right next to a vaporetto stop that takes you down the grand canal. The staff were all really nice and friendly. The kitchen was sufficient and there's a supermarket close by. Breakfast included isn't that great but enough to get you started for the day. Beds are comfy.

Disliked: The wifi was terrible. Really slow and often wouldn't work. As its right by the grand canal the boats can be pretty noisy at night, but it didn't bother me too much. I know some people it would. The room needed airing quite a bit.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels