HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of L'Imbarcadero

Hostel | Santa Croce, 1268, (Calle Zen), Venice, Italy 30135

82.6% Overall Rating

718 out of 788 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

"Great location, close to the train station and pretty easy to find, atmosphere and other backpackers were great ended up making a few friends"

Read all L'Imbarcadero reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Viva Venezia
44.31 USD

Guesthouse 89.0% 68 reviews
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
40.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.5% 227 reviews
Hotel Rossi
33.57 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.6% 169 reviews
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan
34.91 USD

Hostel 80.6% 574 reviews
Santa Croce Apartments
52.36 USD

Apartment 82.0% 21 reviews
San Geremia Rooms
34.91 USD

Hostel 83.2% 437 reviews
Hotel Moderno
134.26 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Residenza Corte Canal-Ca'Dario
30.21 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 84 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

718 out of 788 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'L'Imbarcadero'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 673 of 726 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: NO WOMAN, YOUNG OR OLD SHOULD STAY HERE. NOTHING.

Disliked: IT IS UNSAFE FOR WOMEN, DO NOT STAY HERE AND DO NOT TRUST THE STAFF.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to the train station and pretty easy to find, atmosphere and other backpackers were great ended up making a few friends

Disliked: When I arrived there was a Sign saying back in twenty mins I had to wait over an hour for someone to be available to check me in

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how close this hostel was to both the train station and the bus stop. This made getting into and out of Venice a breeze. Aditionally, I loved how helpful the staff was! I got a fabulous recomendation for dinner, directions to a great cafe, and help figuring out how early to leave for, and how to get to the airport. Also, the directions to the hostel could not be better!

Disliked: Breakfast was a little funky- but definatley edible and filling. Really the only thing "wrong" with the place, and that's beig extreemly picky.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, staff and safety feature is great! Included linens, lockers, kitchen! WiFi in common areas and in one dorm!

Disliked: The staff could be rude sometimes, the hot water shower didn't work!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Roy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly and make you feel welcome. Even made dinner for us and provided drinks. Great hospitality. The Hostel, It is a 5 minute walk from train station, very central. Would recommend!

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

gde bagus unna wicaksana

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 gde bagus would recommend this property

Liked: The grand canal view was stunning...awesome

Disliked: The breakfast was terrible and for the price is the most expensive hostel I had been stayed...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Whitaker

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

09 June 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Sam was the best! He was so helpful and nice and even carried our bags for us. Instead of staying in the main hostel he let us stay in a private apartment with a fully stocked kitchen and a beautiful balcony overlooking the canal, it was everything we could have imagined and more! Cannot wait to go back to Venice and stay with Sam again!

Disliked: Jordan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, you can walk everywhere in Venice. The free breakfast was family style, so all the tenants sat down together and that was nice. It's a small hostel, 13 beds and a kitchen, but the rooms are a good size with windows so nothing feels cramped. There were many types of people staying there (young and old, individuals and groups) so it's definitely a backpacking experience. Venice is an expensive city so the kitchen was nice. Added bonus - the owner of the hostel lives there too, so security isn't an issue. Really enjoyed this hostel.

Disliked: Wifi only works well in common areas - not super important but something to be aware of if that's what you care about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, breakfast included, large rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The size of the rooms, the facilities on offer (e.g. kitchen), provision of breakfast, friendly staff - and perfect location, only 5 mins from the station.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, the rooms and the kitchen are nice and clean.

Disliked: No internet in the rooms and a bit hard to find.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yunghan Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Yunghan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and good atmosphere. Most important is nice staffs.

Disliked: Yunghan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the private rooms which are a few minutes walk from the main address, these are lovely 3rd floor apartments with a south facing balcony with superb atmospheric views, a shared kitchen & sitting room.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

KEUMPIL CHOI

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014

Liked: Not at all

Disliked: The staff was not friendly at all, the room was very old and makes an creaking sound when the doors closed. Also the bed was squeaking when we were in bed, so we could not sleep very well. The accommodation we reserved was not with the office, so our family has to move with our luggages again. They said they're going to recharge the food every day, but it was not. Even the kitchen there was too dirty to use, we can find some rusty spoons and forks so our family bought plastic spoons to eat meals.(They didn't change our towels, even if we stayed there for 3 days!) The worst thing is that we have to pay in cash, and there's no indication about it at all in the hostelbookers site. I said it to the man who was at the reception(If I could say that small chair a 'reception'), but he repetedly says sorry, but you can pay only with cash. It was the worst accommodation that I've chose. I recommend all of the travelers who are going to visit Venice not to stay this house.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely staff and a nice atmosphere. My room was comfortable and home-like.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't very filling and the bathroom needed some TLC (it was perfectly clean but the shower head was broken).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station, we had basically an apartment to share with one other group. Good self-catering equipment and some food provided.

Disliked: Wifi broke which was annoying, didn't have any for most of our stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere -eating together Location - close to the station

Disliked: The design of the sink outside the room The bathroom that was effectively in the kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the train station!

Disliked: Doesn't offer any maps

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and it was nice to be in a hostel that didn't have bunk beds for a change.

Disliked: There were only 2 toilets and 2 showers for the whole hostel and the showers weren't very clean and would block up. Staff were some times hard to find and the locker system wasn't very secure - I think it needs to be as the rooms don't lock and there's not always some one sitting in reception.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Kerollos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was fantastic, very helpful and always available. Location was close to the train station and a water bus stop, and an enjoyable 30 minute walk to San Marco

Disliked: Breakfast was a bit lacking and heating in the rooms was very weak.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Perkins

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Location, privacy, security, wifi, kitchen, and value were all fantastic. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Washing machine didn't work, bedside lamp did not work, no extra toilet paper, and shower door was broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keny Estuardo Perez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Keny Estuardo would recommend this property

Liked: Homelike

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Ka Meng Yap

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Gavin Ka Meng would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and assisted us generously. The facilities were clean.

Disliked: Gavin Ka Meng left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cosmin Rentea

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Cosmin would recommend this property

Liked: good location close to bus and train station, quiet, clean, spacious room, normal beds (not bunk-beds), kitchen facilities, and a nice host (Sam) !

Disliked: it was a bit cold in the room (due to below-average window insulation).


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels