We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of L'Imbarcadero

Hostel | Santa Croce, 1268, (Calle Zen), Venice, Italy 30135

77.9% Overall Rating

734 out of 808 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2015)

Georgia Simpson thinks…

"The lady on the reception desk was lovely and helpful and the 1 positive about this hostel."

Read all L'Imbarcadero reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Viva Venezia
49.82 USD

Guesthouse 88.1% 82 reviews
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
25.47 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.0% 252 reviews
Hotel Rossi
33.22 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.9% 193 reviews
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan
27.68 USD

Hostel 78.2% 614 reviews
San Geremia Rooms
27.68 USD

Hostel 83.4% 466 reviews
Residenza Corte Canal-Ca'Dario
27.68 USD

Guesthouse 76.5% 87 reviews
Hotel Albergo Marin
60.89 USD

Hotel 1 star 92.2% 275 reviews
Apartments Venice
55.36 USD

Apartment 73.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

734 out of 808 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'L'Imbarcadero'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
72.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 690 of 745 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Georgia Simpson

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2015

Liked: The lady on the reception desk was lovely and helpful and the 1 positive about this hostel.

Disliked: The man on reception was hating life. His English was terrible but clearly hates his job. Very in helpful. The lockers were a chain around a cupboard, and this was your 'lockers' The room was noisy and heard boats and horns all night and morning. Also there were 2 bathrooms between everyone and if 2 people were in the shower there was no toilet. If this hostel had been 20euro or less a night I would right a bad review because that is all it's worth.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Matthew Marsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2015

Liked: clean room, good breakfast

Disliked: hostel owner was extremely unhelpful and couldnt speak english properly, bad location,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is beautiful and bright and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

john flores

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 john would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gareth Crawford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2015 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, it is close to the train station.

Disliked: It isn't a flash property, but you get what you pay for. I was happy with my choice.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: conveniently near to main station.. just one stop away and right infront there is the waterboat station.. beautiful view..

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people running the place. Unbelievably friendly and helpful and personal. Everything's clean. Nothing's crumbled. Everyone has enough space for him/herself. Feels like a lovely home. Also nice setup for the breakfast - you can't not become friends with other visitors, even if normally you're too fond of random contacts. Also, though it's close to the Train Station and generally very central, it's oh so quiet and in a tiny little street so you feel like in a secret space.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Colville

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and lovely views. The apartment was amazing and we had it to ourselves. It was great to have a balcony looking out over the city. Great facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in Venice! Directly on the Grand Canal by a Vaporetta stop so you can hop on. The owner is very helpful suggesting we went to the film festival as we had been to Venice three times before and wanted to do something different, she also suggested the islands of Burano and Murano which are well worth a visit. The property was very clean and had great cooking facilities, and the included breakfast was good for a hostel. Locks were provided to lock away backpacks and we could leave them there until our departure around 1pm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Beata Nitka

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014

Liked: Location was perfect and we get the other apartament and it was beautiful but not cleen.

Disliked: Cold at night, No towels , dierty kitchen and bothroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wenrou liang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 wenrou would recommend this property

Liked: lovely room

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Salthouse

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: It is one of the most beautiful hostels I have ever stayed in. It is more like a hotel than a hostel. It over looks a Venician canal and includes a big balcony.

Disliked: You have to be taken to the hostel by the owners. It seems a bit dodgy and like you're going to be mugged.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reza Parchami

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Reza would recommend this property

Liked: it was the greatest hostel I have ever been. Sam ( staff) was perfect. he gave me a lot of advice about site seeing and helped me to arrage a gondola trip on the canal. I am strongly recommended this hostel for starting the venice discovery to all backpackers.

Disliked: nothing at all

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Great location.

Disliked: Bit difficult to find at first, great location otherwise.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Near the train station and the waterbuss -The breakfast :it's simple but it's good and alot of things to eat -Sam ,the guy from the hostel.He is funny

Disliked: -Noise at night -No Venise maps

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Conor Whitehead

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 August 2014 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: Only 2 bathrooms, no WiFi in rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Rice

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The place is run by a guy and girl in their early 30's, and they are both super friendly. The bed was comfy, and the room was spacious. It wasn't cramped at all. You get free lockers with locks, and a key to come and go as you please. They even let me keep my luggage there on the day I checked out, and it was free. The breakfast is a buffet-style continental breakfast with toast, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, etc. I found it to be filling, and I really enjoyed it. It's in a great location. It's right across from the train station and i found it right away, so i didn't wander around forever. Everybody at the hostel was also really friendly, and it was a super chill place. I felt very safe, and wasn't worried about anything getting stolen. I will definitely stay at this hostel again when I'm back in Venice.

Disliked: The wifi was consistent and I never had a problem with it, but it wasn't very fast. I also had to wait a couple of minutes (5 min) before the guy came back to let me in to check-in.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: NO WOMAN, YOUNG OR OLD SHOULD STAY HERE. NOTHING.

Disliked: IT IS UNSAFE FOR WOMEN, DO NOT STAY HERE AND DO NOT TRUST THE STAFF.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to the train station and pretty easy to find, atmosphere and other backpackers were great ended up making a few friends

Disliked: When I arrived there was a Sign saying back in twenty mins I had to wait over an hour for someone to be available to check me in

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how close this hostel was to both the train station and the bus stop. This made getting into and out of Venice a breeze. Aditionally, I loved how helpful the staff was! I got a fabulous recomendation for dinner, directions to a great cafe, and help figuring out how early to leave for, and how to get to the airport. Also, the directions to the hostel could not be better!

Disliked: Breakfast was a little funky- but definatley edible and filling. Really the only thing "wrong" with the place, and that's beig extreemly picky.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, staff and safety feature is great! Included linens, lockers, kitchen! WiFi in common areas and in one dorm!

Disliked: The staff could be rude sometimes, the hot water shower didn't work!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Roy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly and make you feel welcome. Even made dinner for us and provided drinks. Great hospitality. The Hostel, It is a 5 minute walk from train station, very central. Would recommend!

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

gde bagus unna wicaksana

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 gde bagus would recommend this property

Liked: The grand canal view was stunning...awesome

Disliked: The breakfast was terrible and for the price is the most expensive hostel I had been stayed...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Whitaker

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

09 June 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Sam was the best! He was so helpful and nice and even carried our bags for us. Instead of staying in the main hostel he let us stay in a private apartment with a fully stocked kitchen and a beautiful balcony overlooking the canal, it was everything we could have imagined and more! Cannot wait to go back to Venice and stay with Sam again!

Disliked: Jordan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, you can walk everywhere in Venice. The free breakfast was family style, so all the tenants sat down together and that was nice. It's a small hostel, 13 beds and a kitchen, but the rooms are a good size with windows so nothing feels cramped. There were many types of people staying there (young and old, individuals and groups) so it's definitely a backpacking experience. Venice is an expensive city so the kitchen was nice. Added bonus - the owner of the hostel lives there too, so security isn't an issue. Really enjoyed this hostel.

Disliked: Wifi only works well in common areas - not super important but something to be aware of if that's what you care about.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels