We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Locanda Barbarigo

Guesthouse | San Marco 2503/A, Venice, Italy 30124

77.0% Overall Rating

41 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/05/2013)

Russell Trimmer thinks…

"The location. Very close the San Marco Piazza. Living in an area just like Venice folk. Removing the tourist layer that can often insulate you from where you are."

Read all Locanda Barbarigo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 12.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

In order to guarantee your booking, we will pre-authorize your credit card. For non-valid credit cards you will receive an e-mail notification. Failure to provide a valid credit card details within 3 days, may result in your booking being. Cancellation policy - From 10 to 7 days before arrival: 1 Night cost - From 5 days before arrival to 0 day before arrival: 100% of total value - No Cancellation, No Show: 100% of total value. - No Cancellation, No Show: 100% of total value. Cancellations must be received in writing by letter, fax or e-mail. Children up to 2 years old: free of charge.*** The rooms are inside the Locanda Barbarigo. The one bedroom apartment is locate outside the building 5 minutes walking distance.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Albergo San Samuele
28.46 USD

Hostel 85.7% 306 reviews
San Marco Apartments
94.88 USD

Apartment 80.4% 8 reviews
Hotel Astoria
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.6% 69 reviews
Hotel Alla Fava
82.23 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.1% 27 reviews
Hotel Caneva
22.14 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.1% 58 reviews
Locanda Armizo Hotel
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 91 reviews
Rialto Star
138.95 USD

Hostel 80.9% 535 reviews
Lion Morosini Palace
31.63 USD

Hotel 5 star 80.5% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

41 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Locanda Barbarigo'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Russell Trimmer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: The location. Very close the San Marco Piazza. Living in an area just like Venice folk. Removing the tourist layer that can often insulate you from where you are.

Disliked: The bathroom was very hard to articulate and would not recommend it to the elderly or infirmed. It had the smell we expected but it's like an old Venetian church that is closed up all the time. We opened the windows and purchased air fresheners and all good; you really live the sounds and smells in this place. That was OK for us.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fantastic location and extremely clean and atmospheric!

Disliked: The security safe didn't work in our room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing, and the apartment we stayed in was beautifully decorated and really spacious, much bigger than in places we had previously stayed in Venice. Plus, it was extremely easy to find.

Disliked: Although we had a small kitchen area in our room there were no pots available with which to cook or crockery to eat cereal etc.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Kim Huynh

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011

Liked: I'm struggling to think of One nice thing to say about this place.. I suppose the location was convenient.

Disliked: As previously mentioned, the photos are very misleading. Even though we paid for a large room - the one we got was no bigger than a shoe box. The place smelt a little strange - the room was dindgy and dark. The Wi-fi was hopeless. The owner had zero personality. When we told her we had paid for the deluxe (larger room) she simply just said "well the photos you saw were for the family room, there are no other rooms for you to move into..thats all we have" - My response is - "What is the point of a reservation then?" Venice is such a beautiful place, and there are so many other hotels, B&B's and hostels to stay in - Please don't pick Locanda Barbarigo.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautifully decorated, large room, hidden away but still very central. it was a real oasis of calm in the frenetic atmosphere of tourist overrun venice.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

cyprien allard

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 August 2011 cyprien would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011

Liked: The room/ensuite was large and clean.

Disliked: The (un)welcome by the hostess at check in set the tone for our stay ay this hotel. Her rudeness over the breakfast issue was uncalled for and perhaps could have been resoved in a more customer-friendly way. When I indicated that one of the reasons that we had chosen this hotel was because it included breakfast she respnded by saying that I had booked the hotel because it was "cheap"! There was no point discussing this comment with her so we left it alone. She did not seem to respect the HB information site.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location at a quiet small canal close to all major sights, interior nicely furnished in Venetian style, romantic atmosphere; everything else is as good as expected.

Disliked: Room is a bit small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Ervine

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed the location and Monica, and the other young gentleman at reception, was absolutely fabulous and so accommodating as well as a mine of useful information about where to go and how.

Disliked: Nothing !

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Michael Ghobrial

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Hotel in good location

Disliked: Could not get wifi in our room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Nation

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a studio appartment but when we arrived they gave us a 2 bed appartment. The appartment was clean and spacous and had a balcony and was idealy located to tour venice. I will reccomend this hotel to others looking for accomodation in Venice

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY close to St Marks square so location was quite awesome.

Disliked: The place had a funny smell to it and the bed wasn't very comfortable. Also got quite a few mosquito bites during the night.... at least I hope they're mosquito bites... jebus I hope they're not bed bug bites...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location, completely self contained, and very clean!!!

Disliked: Was quite a dark apartment, but once the window shades were open, a bit of light came through, also the double bed was two singles pushed together.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011

Liked: Location was in the centre of Venice. It was easy to reach everywhere.

Disliked: The rooms were cold, wet and had no heating. The towels didn't get dry in a one day and also all our clothes got wet. We put the towels once on the dirty floor and the next day we found the same dirty towels. When I asked the new ones from the staff they were rude and couldn't care less. After I complained this to the manager, her answer was that we should have talked to her. Well he introduced herself as a manager when we were checking out. And also didn't take any responsibility of her staff. My staying in Locanda Barbarigo was very bad and I will never go there again!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Cane

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 April 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location, historic building with grand atmosphere. Good breakfast. Staff really helpful

Disliked: Room a bit tight.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the apartment, which was in a fantastic location near all the main attractions and the water bus. It was spotlessly clean, had good cooking facilities and a really comfy bed! Staff at the reception were helpful, and staying in an apartment gives the feeling of a more 'authentic' experience than being in a hotel or hostel.

Disliked: No complaints.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Ryan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 April 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and clean rooms. Staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good english. No curfew and 24hr access.

Disliked: Room was a bit small and breakfast is overpriced

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Foresman

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The decor was very original it made the stay feel unique.

Disliked: you had to pay for the internet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenni Rintala

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2011 Jenni would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and beatifully decorated room with all the necessary equipment needed. The location is great, near Grande Canale and the main sights.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Shiao Chin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2011 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Clean and nice room.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Edward Given

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a really good location. We had a private room and it was really nice. More like a B&B rather than a hostel. The staff were really friendly and the place had a nice character.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't free and there wasn't really anyway to cook for ourselves.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronald Grass

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location, a quiet place to stay in the centre of Venice, a beautiful oldfashioned room with a new modern bathroom. Nice room for breakfast.

Disliked: Breakfast could be better and more. However, there's no other place to have breakfast for € 5,- in Venice.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: mainly the location in the centre of Venice

Disliked: the electricity did not work properly so the cooker did not work (self catering)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the staff was really helpful. Breakfast is not included, but is definitely worth it. Also, it is really close to St. Mark's Square.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels