HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of A Venice Fish

Hostel | Sestiere Cannaregio 2205, Campo della Maddalena, Venice, Italy 30121

77.9% Overall Rating

612 out of 813 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Lauren Williams thinks…

"The staff were very friendly and worked hard to make sure everyone felt welcome and was having a good time."

Read all A Venice Fish reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.76

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

A Venice Fish is a youth hostel. We require payment in cash upon arrival. Please notice, after check-in, there is no refund under any circumstance.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

hostel santa fosca
31.11 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Venice casa Diedo
54.11 USD

Guesthouse 73.3% 40 reviews
Smart Holiday
202.89 USD

Guesthouse 69.3% 44 reviews
Venice Luxury
47.34 USD

Hostel 82.6% 99 reviews
Antica Raffineria
45.08 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa del Melograno
33.82 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 20 reviews
Hotel Leonardo
43.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 371 reviews
Al Campanile Madonna Dell'Orto
55.46 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

612 out of 813 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A Venice Fish'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 719 of 770 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lauren Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and worked hard to make sure everyone felt welcome and was having a good time.

Disliked: It was pretty dirty and there was never any hand soap in the bathrooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and central, close to a grocery store and lots of restaurants. The staff was very friendly and it was good to meet people.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find but I think they've put a sign up now. The staff seemed a little unaware of what was happening sometimes but they were always nice and tried to help.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building and friendly staff.

Disliked: Lack of lockers, cooking facilities,

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jorge Osorio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014

Liked: Tiene buena ubicación.

Disliked: Hay un sólo baño para todos. El internet es muy malo. En la estancia había mucho ruido a altas horas de la noche.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying here so so so much we have even extended our stay another week. the guys that work here are amazing, so much fun, and I love the idea that you all eat dinner together.... Mostly ending in all going out together :) if you want to have fun, meet a lot of people then I defiantly recommend this place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Brook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and made an extra effort to get to know guests. It was easy for us to get to know other guests. Location was right in the heart of Venice, about a ten minute walk from the station and near to tourist destinations. Great atmosphere! Wifi was available in all rooms of the hostel.

Disliked: Only two bathrooms for the whole hostel but it wasn't a massive problem as we didn't find ourselves waiting long to use them.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A Venice Fish offers €5 pasta dinners every night (with wine) which is a great way to meet fellow hostel mates. The staff are really nice, helpful and many nights they organize an after dinner excursion to experience Venetian night life. It is a pretty straight ahot from the train station and easy to find, there is a big banner hanging out front. I've stayed there twice and had great experiences both times. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: With two main bathrooms (there's a half bathroom as well if you happen to stay in the female dorm) with 2 showers in the morning can be a bit hit or miss whether you'll be able to get right in and the water isn't always warm but otherwise I had no complaints.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Baylie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014

Liked: Private building with canals on 3 sides.

Disliked: Not really any hot water. Drainage of showers is lacking. Bathroom floors stay wet after sonebody has showered. Only one washing machine, no dryer. Rooms get hot at night.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014

Liked: The staff is super nice and friendly.

Disliked: The bathroom is very dirty. and one of bathroom's stool cover had broken.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Adam Deyoe

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good open area to meet others. The area is so close to the main "spine" of the fish, easy walk to anywhere!

Disliked: The bathrooms were a bit cramped and my first day the shower broke, but that was fixed the very next day. There is a room directly off the main room with glass double doors, which was a bit noiser than others, but since I just came in Venice from the USA, jetlag made me pass out cold. Just a word of caution on that one room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, friendly and helpful staff, good lounge and common area to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Emilia Sánchez González

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Emilia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, and at least in includes tea and coffee but not breakfast.

Disliked: The bathroom is really dirty. To be honest I skipped getting a shower because of it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the price, this is a good location with relatively large dorm rooms, and I found the beds to be comfortable. Free coffee and tea, refrigerator and microwave in the common room.

Disliked: There was no kitchen, but that seems to be normal in Venetian hostels.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tegan Ferguson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Tegan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, easy to find, the layout of the hostel makes it easy to interactact with other travellers

Disliked: Tegan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mikell Schlumpf

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Mikell would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere. The common room and pasta dinners really encouraged interaction with other people staying at the hostel.

Disliked: I was happy to have a private room that locked but I would have felt mush less secure in a room that didn't lock. There was also a frightening insect creature in the bath tub...other than that the stay was incredibly pleasant!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Oliver Kokiong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Mark Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Location is sooo freaking amazing!!! They have their personal bridge to get in! If you stay at a hostel in Venice--- make it this one!!! Ps. 5euro all you can eat pasta! Great area to meet and get to know other travellers! Amazing hosts!!! Wish I has stayed longer!!!

Disliked: Cold-- and I mean cold showers--- however this might have just been because I showed late morning so possibly all the hot water was out. Spoke to another gusts and they mentioned it was the same when she showered later the night before. There are no lockers, however only guest can enter into the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paige Flanary

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014 Paige would recommend this property

Liked: The Venice Fish is in an ideal location. There is a canal right outside the hostel and it's in the center of Venice. The staff was very kind and friendly. They hung out with us and took us to a concert/ club type thing one night which was very fun. They offer pasta and a glass of wine for dinner for five euros. It was very delicious! There were guitars available to play in the common area, which was very homey and nice. It was a great place to meet new people, and it was such a great price. I was worried about bed bugs after reading reviews from summer 2013 but fortunately everything was clean and we didn't encounter any bugs.

Disliked: Paige left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachelle Biernacka

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Rachelle would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is perfect, close enough to walk everywhere, situated on the corner of a beautiful square with one of the many canals literally running past the front door. Inside is very bohemian and authentic to Venice - high ceilings, huge windows etc. It was a great base for the weekend and I would certainly recommend it to any traveler who has the right expectations for a hostel stay. The staff were helpful, considerate and a good laugh. They even put on a free meal for everyone one night which brought those open to socialising together before we all headed out with some of the staff for a night out. I met some great folk, saw a beautiful city and didn't break the bank. Perfect !

Disliked: For the price you pay, you really cannot have any complaints ! Don't expect luxury when you are in a hostel but this one was clean and well run compared to others !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noah Vira

Alone

City break

26 February 2014 Noah would recommend this property

Liked: The Venice fish is part of the journey..If you are visiting the city for sure you will have taken a photo with the Hostel in the background wether or not you realise it ..The place is a traditional Venetian old building over the canal..with high celling ,romantic atmosphere and upgraded conditions. From the balcony you see the parking area for gondolas and people passing by on the famous street Strada Nouva. The location is 5 minutes away from Paradiso Perdutti and 15 mins from Morion where the local artists meet every Monday, Wednesday ,Friday and Saturday evening/night. If you ask the fellow receptionists they are more than happy to show you around . Also ask for the secret free tours and the 2€ gondola ride there ;) I met such a vibrant and cool people arriving there from different part of the world with open eyes on what can Venice really offer us 100%.. I am coming back in March and cannot wait to rest on your couch in the living room!!!...ahaha ..God bless you all!!

Disliked: I dislike the negative comments in common.. Venice is way too beautiful to afford a personal complaint.. get your boots and be part of it!! Thats how we go..enjoy it!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is cheerful I had good time with people

Disliked: The bed is quake

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

kate yerbury

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014

Liked: The location was brilliant. The guy working there was sooooo friendly and helpful. The common area is large and inviting, which makes it easy to talk to othwr travellors. The free tea and coffee and microwave was good.

Disliked: The female staff member was not very friendly or helpful. There were no maps of Venice, and was told to use the wifi to find places. Which is fine in the hostel, but there is not much free wifi in Venice. The directions to the place are very subjective, maybe a little map on the website would be helpful. If the hostel had a tide timetable up, so people would know and be aware that the basement floods (and half of venice is under water) so they are prepared for it. The rooms were quite cold due to the heating and high ceilings, and the doonas would be good for summer, but too light for winter. Also there was a problem with thw hotwater, which isnt great when all you want is a hot shower after being in the rain and cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Csorba

Alone

Partying / nightlife

19 January 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, the staff, outstanding building, the view from the balcony.

Disliked: cleaning lock-out beetween 10am-to-2pm can be annoying, during the night can be very noisy, it only has 2 showers for all hostel

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014

Liked: Super great location, free warm water, tea, and instant coffee

Disliked: Only 2 bathrooms, there was a bathroom in our room but the lights wouldn't turn on. The room we were in was pretty cold until they turned the heater on. The bunk beds squeak and move very easily and make big movements. No lock things besides luggage storage. The lockout is a little annoying.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Seungmin Ban

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2013 Seungmin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere like home. Quite small hostel, so people all gather in the livilng room and have some talks with free tea. Host is quite nice and eager to help you. Within 10 min from S.Lucia station.

Disliked: Facilieties are not so good. e.g, double deck is quite shaking whenever you have small movements on it, and hot water is not stable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception was nice. Good Location. Easy walk from the train station. The dorm rooms were very big.

Disliked: Just the 5 Euro charge for leaving luggage. It's unusual for a hostel, and they have plenty of space for luggage. No kitchen is fine for just a night.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels