We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of A Venice Fish

Hostel | Sestiere Cannaregio 2205, Campo della Maddalena, Venice, Italy 30121

65.7% Overall Rating

644 out of 868 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/02/2015)

Jenna Savolainen thinks…

"The overall atmosphere was very free, boheme and warm. The 5 euro pasta dinner is a good idea, and it was easy to make friends in the common area. Cool music was playing almost constantly and people…"

Read all A Venice Fish reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.60

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

A Venice Fish is a youth hostel. We require payment in cash upon arrival. Please notice, after check-in, there is no refund under any circumstance.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

hostel santa fosca
14.16 USD

Hostel 78.9% 8 reviews
Venice casa Diedo
27.98 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 42 reviews
Smart Holiday
22.38 USD

Guesthouse 69.3% 44 reviews
Venice Luxury
24.62 USD

Hostel 84.1% 122 reviews
Antica Raffineria
25.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Angolo Sconto
27.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Casa del Melograno
27.98 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 20 reviews
Hotel Leonardo
22.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.4% 373 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

644 out of 868 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A Venice Fish'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
77.6%
Value
59.2%
Safety
59.2%
Refine your results Showing 758 of 819 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jenna Savolainen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2015 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: The overall atmosphere was very free, boheme and warm. The 5 euro pasta dinner is a good idea, and it was easy to make friends in the common area. Cool music was playing almost constantly and people acted like they were staying casually at a friend's place. My bed was reasonably comfortable, the bathrooms were clean and the water in the showers was quite warm. We had a good time at the hostel and I would recommend it to those who want to get to know new people and have a good time. The location was good too, since the railway station is just a few minutes away.

Disliked: Although the atmosphere was warm, the temperature was not. We almost had to sleep with our gloves on, because our room was freezing cold. Also, there are no signs outside the hostel, so without Internet connection it could be hard to spot. One night we had a party until pretty late, so for those not interested in partying it could be hard to get a good night's sleep without earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Burcu Celik

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Burcu would recommend this property

Liked: The first thing is i liked, the oldest building. Location was the too centeral to close to main places. I liked to helpful stuff, cleaning boy was too friendly, free coffe and tea:) Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Too old pillow and sheets

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: too cold like no heater ,too loud at night like a disco!!!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2015

Liked: NO

Disliked: 房間髒又小, 上下鋪是組裝式的,搖得非常厲害!! 浴室只有兩間供所有住宿的人使用! 寢具很髒舊,貌似還不足提供.因我原本有一條白色棉被和一條紫色毛毯,但第二天時有其他人入住,而我那條毛毯卻被拿給新房客使用!!!頓時讓我非常懷疑被套那些是否有在清洗....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nick is awesome, the common area is great to meet other people in, and nightly €5 pasta bowl. Felt very safe.

Disliked: Small bathrooms, locker situation.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a nice balcony which overlooks the street, so you can sit there, relax over a cup of coffee and enjoy the scene and the hustle bustle of life. They have a beautiful large living room where all the travellers can chill in the mornings and evenings. They have a system of making pasta and sangria for 5 euros and voila, it's a party right there!

Disliked: Everything in Venice is OLD, including this hostel. While some can find this charming to get the authentic Venice experience, others should be warned. I'm not saying that it's bad, but you should definitely know what you're getting yourself into. The beds creak, there are only two washrooms for about 40-50 people, they ran out of toilet paper on the first day and overbooked themselves on the next days (The last two are because of the Carnivale and keeping track of things can get tough when it's total madness and a tourist jungle!) but still. Run this place like professionals.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2015

Liked: It was accessible by foot from Santa Lucia Train station

Disliked: The building was quite old and a bit noisy at night. The luggage room in most hostels is free for its customers, but here we were charged 3euros for the luggage room. For a very short stay, the place is of okay kind.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location!

Disliked: cleanliness, temperature, safity

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was very good and we met lots of lovely people. The location couldn't of been better, very central.

Disliked: It was very, very cold!! The heating was broken during our stay. There are no secure lockers in the bedrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lucas schreiber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015

Liked: personal very friendly

Disliked: very colt and very loud music every time night and day, in the sleep room colt. and for a winter only a small bedspread, you can not sleep. no good hostel for relax

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anu Salumaa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 January 2015 Anu would recommend this property

Liked: It is the place to meet friendly and cool people. Perfect location. It felt much more like staying at friends' place rather than staying in a hostel :) A Venice Fish was definitely a big part of my unforgettable week in Venice. Nick, Sandor, Marco <3

Disliked: Anu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed for a night. Clean throughout. Solid Wifi. Good spread of free tea and coffee in the common room. Central location. Good rates. A quiet time during the week. Nick and Tiph were easy to chat with, helpful and keen to go out and about with those that wanted to. The evening pasta and wine supper option really helped following a tiring day of exploring and travelling, and was a good way to meet the other people staying there. The events described in the review of 15 September 2014 – where an individual climbed through an open window into a dorm – were nothing short of exceptional. I saw the review before booking, and coming from a life long mountaineer, it must have been pretty sketchy to climb up. As for the attitudes of the staff at the time, the event appears to have changed them for the better. Just make sure that the windows are shut, insert ear plugs, and don't think for a moment that somebody who is prepared to lay on the buzzer for two hours will just go away. Seriously.

Disliked: n/a

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, staff encouraged social nights and outings together.

Disliked: No security. No locks on doors. The bathroom became flooded and dirty within an hour of cleaning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Josh Stannett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2014 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: Was a great location with very friendly staff who make you feel both welcome and equal. Went out two out of three night and atmosphere was great.

Disliked: I had to leave

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gaik Kee Chan

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2014

Liked: Location very good.

Disliked: Bathrooms poorly maintained. Common area used for sleeping purpose .

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014

Liked: N/A

Disliked: My friend and I recently traveled to Venice on a weekend trip from Florence. Upon arrival at "The Venice Fish" we immediately felt uncomfortable and intimidated by what seemed like was going to be a very "rustic" weekend. However, regardless of our expectations, we had a very comfortable and average night's sleep the first night. The second night of our stay was entirely different story. After being woken by the very loud return of the manager after a night out, I was up laying in bed for legitimately 2 hours listening to a locked out guest lay on the buzzer. I would find out the next day that the hostel has a "very strict" no buzzing after midnight rule, but that did not stop these inebriated and inconsiderate tenants. The longer the ringing went on the more my frustration built with the hostel situation, but manager in general as he was clearly not going to be disturbed. It was then after the two hours of ringing, that a drunk male legitimately climbed through the window next to my bed screaming something being locked out but having a reservation. After being directed out of the room by other tenants, everybody went back to bed as if nothing had even happened. My friend and I stood at the foot of our bed in disbelief- we had never felt so unsafe or unaccounted for in our entire lives. We were planning on making this feeling very clear to the manager the next morning during our check-out time, but even after banging on the staff door for twenty minutes during the clearly marked "reception hours", we got no answer. We left the key on the kitchen table, grabbed our stuff and got out of there. Blame it on our lack of experience with hostels, but that is not a situation I would ever step foot in ever again.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Trang Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014

Liked: Has nice location. People were pretty friendly and partied every night. Very laid-back atmosphere.

Disliked: Bathroom was very dirty in the morning (after party night).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great environment that encourages everyone to talk. Music is great, dinner is amazing, and the group trips are awesome.

Disliked: nothing.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dominique Wiehahn

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014

Liked: The location was great and the pasta dinner good value and fun

Disliked: The room was crawling with BED BUGS! I got bitten on my first night and moved bunks and then the staff kept trying to put new guests in the infested bunk. I got bitten even worse on my second night and had an allergic reaction so my whole face swelled up and I had to sleep on the couch. The staff seemed sympathetic and gave me a full refund but they didn't close off the infested room or anything. Everyone in the room found bugs in their beds. It's probably because they use woolen blankets with no top sheets, or doonas with no covers. I'll never stay here again. It ruined my trip.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jaymee Dwyer-Stone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Jaymee would recommend this property

Liked: Really fun, really good to meet people, great location, cheap pasta and wine!

Disliked: A bit unorganised, I asked for a towel a couple of times but they didn't have clean ones

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, but this is pretty much the only thing that is great. The atmosphere is not bad as well but mainly meant for party people.

Disliked: It was the dirtiest hostel where I've ever been and so many things were out of order/broken (lights, sinks, showers - there was no light in one room, two sinks out of three were clogged all the 3 nights that we stayed, one of the two showers did not work, there was a flooding when we arrived, etc.). The staff was friendly, but it was pretty hard to get bedsheets from them: some people got only an unvocered blanket, others got just a duvet cover without a blanket, yet others did not get anything to cover themselves with and it was pretty cold... Also it felt like they only wash the sheet, but not the duvet cover or pillowcase. I find that if the only guy that seemed to be working there would stop denying problems and solve them instead, then it could really be a great hostel because the property has great potential thanks to its location and atmosphere.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014

Liked: Wifi is available, though unstable.

Disliked: Dirty place. Ran by students who don't tidy it up. No keys to the hostel. No lockers. Two toilets for 20+ people to share, be prepared to queue for 2 hours. Receptionists will not tell you where is good to go, very unhelpful, only focused on their beers and when to go drinking. No powerpoints also. This place is hopeless. You can get better deals anywhere else in Venice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gentle Lugtu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2014 Gentle would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest hostel in Venice.

Disliked: Bathrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danielle Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Staff were fab, super friendly, promoted a great atmosphere by taking us to bars every night. Definitely planning to come back :)

Disliked: Slightly pricey, but worth it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THe atmosphere here is awesome! Everyone is super nice and the set up makes it really easy to meet cool hostel mates and staff.

Disliked: There's only two bathrooms for everyone but that's like the only drawback.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels