HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of A Venice Fish Venice

Hostel

Campo de la Maddalena, Cannaregio 2205, Venice, Italy

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 42%

Facilities 45%

Location 82%

Safety 54%

Staff 70%

Value 50%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Adaptors
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.92USD

Important Information

A Venice Fish is a youth hostel.
We require payment in cash upon arrival. Please notice, after check-in, there is no refund under any circumstance.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Lockout
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 42%

Facilities 45%

Location 82%

Safety 54%

Staff 70%

Value 50%

Showing 1-10 of 128 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Was easy to find from the train station following the directions given/researched.

Disliked: On arrival we weren't really given any information or help about the hostel or Venice itself. Other hostels usual tell you a few things, show you where the bathroom is etc but not here. We weren't even given a key for our room/front door! At night there was a storm and my bed was under the window. There was a window higher up that couldn't be reached so my bed was getting sprayed on, also as water was leaking in plaster was falling off the wall!

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location

Disliked: Some of the staff isn't very nice or helpfull

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This property is close to the train station.

Disliked: This hostel was extremly hot and uncomfortable as there was no air conditioning and it was the peak of summer. The bathrooms were dirty and the floor was always wet. The hostel was also quite dirty. The hostel was noisy and it was very difficult to sleep. The hostel also charges you a fee to mind your bags which I think is very unreasonable.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The lady was nice

Disliked: It was dirty and I was accused of not paying by the male employee and he said that if I didn't pay him another 130 euros he was going to call the police

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, nice atmosphere, beautiful building, loved the balcony where you could sit (small, but not a problem as there were only two of us) we were very apprehensive about staying here because of reviews about bed bugs but it was fine. Had a lovely night in Venice here.

Disliked: Beds not great, not a ladder to climb up to top bunk, very noisy in the morning but expected I guess if you're in a dorm room.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Well located in an unbeatable area of town. Young and friendly staff.Interesting old building

Disliked: Mosquitoes! A bit dirty esp the bathrooms Least comfortable bed of any hostel I've ever stayed inLock out is a bit annoying but it's quite common in Italian hostels.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was the best part of it

Disliked: Hope that you get a lower bunk bed because if you get the upper one good luck getting up there since there's no ladders or anything. You have ton find or create a way to go up and the beds sink like a meter and makes it very uncomfortable to sleep at. The kitchen is non existent - unless you call a kettle and plastic forks and knives in a bucket kitchen. The wifi is spotty ar best and very slow since there are a lot of people using it. The washrooms are pretty much disgusting. The shower doors don't really work properly and seems broken and it was just disgusting. Would only stay here for the location but if you can find better options - spend a bit more and stay somewhere else

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Located near Venice Santa Lucia Station

Disliked: The only reason can charge 30 EUR not inc tax is because on Venice, relatively close to train station and 30 mins walk to main square. It's very old and rusty, which I (budget traveler) don't mind if it was in exchange for a cheaper place. Also, the room I got is right next to common room and only a sliding door with no lock + very soft bed that in bend + somehow there were 2 people sleeping on the floor. If you travel in pair, you can pay a bit more and get a nice hotel room.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: fucking bedbug!!!!

Disliked: Fuckingbedbug!!!

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: That is one of my dislike hostel. The staff is friendly and the hostel is very good location and they have movie night, but if you are like me: a traveler enjoy the city more then a party, this is not for you.

Disliked: the internet is so worst, and my room is at a room inside a room.... and the terrible things is they are without air conditional and they close the window!!!!!!!!!! in the summer of Venice.... the staff close the window and told me his boss told him to do so... and i am in the room, sweating he still doing that..... in the midnight, the guys sleeping down stair is keep moving as he can not sleep at the hot hot room( i do a cold shower before i go to sleep) and he keep moving until i wake up at 3:00...... i have to go to take a bath again to let me feel ok to sleep.That is in the island, if i am not for the morning of Venice, i will not suggest anyone to stay here. And i don't know why when they day i arrive everyone like a party animal, but as a long journey traveler. that make the most terrible hostel i been stay in my almost 50s record. And that is so expensive but i guess they are already the cheapest one on the island.

Check Availability