We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of A Venice Fish

Hostel | Sestiere Cannaregio 2205, Campo della Maddalena, Venice, Italy 30121

64.0% Overall Rating

630 out of 847 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Trang Nguyen thinks…

"Has nice location. People were pretty friendly and partied every night. Very laid-back atmosphere."

Read all A Venice Fish reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.42

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

A Venice Fish is a youth hostel. We require payment in cash upon arrival. Please notice, after check-in, there is no refund under any circumstance.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

hostel santa fosca
30.83 USD

Hostel 78.6% 6 reviews
Venice casa Diedo
51.38 USD

Guesthouse 73.3% 40 reviews
Smart Holiday
192.68 USD

Guesthouse 69.3% 44 reviews
Venice Luxury
44.96 USD

Hostel 82.5% 106 reviews
Antica Raffineria
4.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa del Melograno
32.11 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 20 reviews
Hotel Leonardo
48.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.4% 373 reviews
Al Campanile Madonna Dell'Orto
55.23 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.0%

Overall Rating

630 out of 847 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A Venice Fish'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
41.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
54.4%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 744 of 801 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gaik Kee Chan

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2014

Liked: Location very good.

Disliked: Bathrooms poorly maintained. Common area used for sleeping purpose .

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014

Liked: N/A

Disliked: My friend and I recently traveled to Venice on a weekend trip from Florence. Upon arrival at "The Venice Fish" we immediately felt uncomfortable and intimidated by what seemed like was going to be a very "rustic" weekend. However, regardless of our expectations, we had a very comfortable and average night's sleep the first night. The second night of our stay was entirely different story. After being woken by the very loud return of the manager after a night out, I was up laying in bed for legitimately 2 hours listening to a locked out guest lay on the buzzer. I would find out the next day that the hostel has a "very strict" no buzzing after midnight rule, but that did not stop these inebriated and inconsiderate tenants. The longer the ringing went on the more my frustration built with the hostel situation, but manager in general as he was clearly not going to be disturbed. It was then after the two hours of ringing, that a drunk male legitimately climbed through the window next to my bed screaming something being locked out but having a reservation. After being directed out of the room by other tenants, everybody went back to bed as if nothing had even happened. My friend and I stood at the foot of our bed in disbelief- we had never felt so unsafe or unaccounted for in our entire lives. We were planning on making this feeling very clear to the manager the next morning during our check-out time, but even after banging on the staff door for twenty minutes during the clearly marked "reception hours", we got no answer. We left the key on the kitchen table, grabbed our stuff and got out of there. Blame it on our lack of experience with hostels, but that is not a situation I would ever step foot in ever again.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Trang Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014

Liked: Has nice location. People were pretty friendly and partied every night. Very laid-back atmosphere.

Disliked: Bathroom was very dirty in the morning (after party night).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great environment that encourages everyone to talk. Music is great, dinner is amazing, and the group trips are awesome.

Disliked: nothing.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dominique Wiehahn

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014

Liked: The location was great and the pasta dinner good value and fun

Disliked: The room was crawling with BED BUGS! I got bitten on my first night and moved bunks and then the staff kept trying to put new guests in the infested bunk. I got bitten even worse on my second night and had an allergic reaction so my whole face swelled up and I had to sleep on the couch. The staff seemed sympathetic and gave me a full refund but they didn't close off the infested room or anything. Everyone in the room found bugs in their beds. It's probably because they use woolen blankets with no top sheets, or doonas with no covers. I'll never stay here again. It ruined my trip.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jaymee Dwyer-Stone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Jaymee would recommend this property

Liked: Really fun, really good to meet people, great location, cheap pasta and wine!

Disliked: A bit unorganised, I asked for a towel a couple of times but they didn't have clean ones

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, but this is pretty much the only thing that is great. The atmosphere is not bad as well but mainly meant for party people.

Disliked: It was the dirtiest hostel where I've ever been and so many things were out of order/broken (lights, sinks, showers - there was no light in one room, two sinks out of three were clogged all the 3 nights that we stayed, one of the two showers did not work, there was a flooding when we arrived, etc.). The staff was friendly, but it was pretty hard to get bedsheets from them: some people got only an unvocered blanket, others got just a duvet cover without a blanket, yet others did not get anything to cover themselves with and it was pretty cold... Also it felt like they only wash the sheet, but not the duvet cover or pillowcase. I find that if the only guy that seemed to be working there would stop denying problems and solve them instead, then it could really be a great hostel because the property has great potential thanks to its location and atmosphere.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014

Liked: Wifi is available, though unstable.

Disliked: Dirty place. Ran by students who don't tidy it up. No keys to the hostel. No lockers. Two toilets for 20+ people to share, be prepared to queue for 2 hours. Receptionists will not tell you where is good to go, very unhelpful, only focused on their beers and when to go drinking. No powerpoints also. This place is hopeless. You can get better deals anywhere else in Venice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gentle Lugtu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2014 Gentle would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest hostel in Venice.

Disliked: Bathrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danielle Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Staff were fab, super friendly, promoted a great atmosphere by taking us to bars every night. Definitely planning to come back :)

Disliked: Slightly pricey, but worth it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THe atmosphere here is awesome! Everyone is super nice and the set up makes it really easy to meet cool hostel mates and staff.

Disliked: There's only two bathrooms for everyone but that's like the only drawback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Bed bugs, staff disorganized, rarely had toilet paper in the 2 WC's in the whole place. This is okay if you want to play beer pong that management organizes every night and don't mind bed bugs.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Not clean enough, not enough bathrooms, and very noisy. They only take cash, which is inconvenient.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Daniel Lopez Velasquez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Just for young people who want to have fun. The hostel itself ia a disaster, but you can get to know people easely.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

max smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 max would recommend this property

Liked: the location was perfect, easy to get to all of Venice's top attractions in a short amount of time. the staff were helpful and great fun, it felt more like a family group when we stayed as we had group meals and everyone interacted which was a great experience, meeting new people is always great.

Disliked: showers were sometimes cold and the hostel was slightly dusty but it hardly made a difference to our stay .

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guys that work there are so so great. Every night I stayed there, one of the guys would take whoever wanted to go out for drinks to local bars and give mini little tours (and chunks of information about the city). Those guys evidently love their jobs and It is awesome. Also, the 5 euro nightly pasta dinner was awesome.

Disliked: There were only two showers, so there was always a line It could have been a LOT cleaner There were no lockers for belonging storage There were no ladders to get to the top bunks

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Frank

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This is a party hostel and the hostel knows how to party. This likely isn't a place for someone looking for a quiet night in. Excellent excursion to local parties and helpful staff.

Disliked: No A/C (but you shouldn't expect that)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christina Amendola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Super social atmosphere and the staff tried to bring people together with pasta dinners and taking us out. I wish they were a little more organized with finding the good bars etc as it seemed we just wandered and some hostels really take you around etc. They have 5$ wine/pasta dinners and it was worth it for the wine alone. Nice people, though I think the couch in the living room area might have had bugs? I got very bitten when I passed out there for a couple hours after a night out. Not sure if it was just from mosquitos.

Disliked: No real security, door was always open, no locks on bedrooms, no lockers, 2 bathrooms for the whole hostel and huge lines to wait to even pee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yulia Aytalieva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Yulia would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: I booked an all female room, when I got there I was the ONLY female :/

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patrick richard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 patrick would recommend this property

Liked: A Venice Fish is the shit, awesome staff, cool atmosphere, good pasta and wine :) one of te best hostel experiences I've had yet, they do it right

Disliked: patrick left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The venice fish was so much fun.

Disliked: There were only 2 bathrooms

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything - I had one look and couldn't stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful. They also cook a cheap dinner for everyone in the hostel which is sociable and creates a nice atmosphere. Great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and central, cute little bridge to get to the entrance. Very close to the supermarket and the atm opposite also dispenses in multiples of 20. Good atmosphere, there's always chill music on during the day. Nick is very friendly

Disliked: Beds and bedding were dusty, having a dust mite allergy reaction and red lumps all over me wasn't all that fun. There are also only 2 showers/bathrooms and one of them you have to hold so if you want to wash your hair go in the left one only. Wifi doesn't work until 930am so don't get up early to skype your family because you won't be able to.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels