HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of A Venice Fish

Hostel | Sestiere Cannaregio 2205, Campo della Maddalena, Venice, Italy 30121

69.7% Overall Rating

623 out of 831 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

Daniel Lopez Velasquez thinks…

"Just for young people who want to have fun. The hostel itself ia a disaster, but you can get to know people easely."

Read all A Venice Fish reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.59

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

A Venice Fish is a youth hostel. We require payment in cash upon arrival. Please notice, after check-in, there is no refund under any circumstance.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

hostel santa fosca
31.63 USD

Hostel 81.9% 3 reviews
Venice casa Diedo
52.71 USD

Guesthouse 73.3% 40 reviews
Smart Holiday
197.68 USD

Guesthouse 69.3% 44 reviews
Venice Luxury
38.22 USD

Hostel 81.9% 102 reviews
Antica Raffineria
42.83 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa del Melograno
32.95 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 20 reviews
Hotel Leonardo
42.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 372 reviews
Al Campanile Madonna Dell'Orto
56.67 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

623 out of 831 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A Venice Fish'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
61.6%
Safety
59.2%
Refine your results Showing 733 of 786 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Bed bugs, staff disorganized, rarely had toilet paper in the 2 WC's in the whole place. This is okay if you want to play beer pong that management organizes every night and don't mind bed bugs.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Not clean enough, not enough bathrooms, and very noisy. They only take cash, which is inconvenient.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Daniel Lopez Velasquez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Just for young people who want to have fun. The hostel itself ia a disaster, but you can get to know people easely.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

max smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 max would recommend this property

Liked: the location was perfect, easy to get to all of Venice's top attractions in a short amount of time. the staff were helpful and great fun, it felt more like a family group when we stayed as we had group meals and everyone interacted which was a great experience, meeting new people is always great.

Disliked: showers were sometimes cold and the hostel was slightly dusty but it hardly made a difference to our stay .

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guys that work there are so so great. Every night I stayed there, one of the guys would take whoever wanted to go out for drinks to local bars and give mini little tours (and chunks of information about the city). Those guys evidently love their jobs and It is awesome. Also, the 5 euro nightly pasta dinner was awesome.

Disliked: There were only two showers, so there was always a line It could have been a LOT cleaner There were no lockers for belonging storage There were no ladders to get to the top bunks

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Frank

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This is a party hostel and the hostel knows how to party. This likely isn't a place for someone looking for a quiet night in. Excellent excursion to local parties and helpful staff.

Disliked: No A/C (but you shouldn't expect that)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christina Amendola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Super social atmosphere and the staff tried to bring people together with pasta dinners and taking us out. I wish they were a little more organized with finding the good bars etc as it seemed we just wandered and some hostels really take you around etc. They have 5$ wine/pasta dinners and it was worth it for the wine alone. Nice people, though I think the couch in the living room area might have had bugs? I got very bitten when I passed out there for a couple hours after a night out. Not sure if it was just from mosquitos.

Disliked: No real security, door was always open, no locks on bedrooms, no lockers, 2 bathrooms for the whole hostel and huge lines to wait to even pee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yulia Aytalieva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Yulia would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: I booked an all female room, when I got there I was the ONLY female :/

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patrick richard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 patrick would recommend this property

Liked: A Venice Fish is the shit, awesome staff, cool atmosphere, good pasta and wine :) one of te best hostel experiences I've had yet, they do it right

Disliked: patrick left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The venice fish was so much fun.

Disliked: There were only 2 bathrooms

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything - I had one look and couldn't stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful. They also cook a cheap dinner for everyone in the hostel which is sociable and creates a nice atmosphere. Great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and central, cute little bridge to get to the entrance. Very close to the supermarket and the atm opposite also dispenses in multiples of 20. Good atmosphere, there's always chill music on during the day. Nick is very friendly

Disliked: Beds and bedding were dusty, having a dust mite allergy reaction and red lumps all over me wasn't all that fun. There are also only 2 showers/bathrooms and one of them you have to hold so if you want to wash your hair go in the left one only. Wifi doesn't work until 930am so don't get up early to skype your family because you won't be able to.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lauren Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and worked hard to make sure everyone felt welcome and was having a good time.

Disliked: It was pretty dirty and there was never any hand soap in the bathrooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and central, close to a grocery store and lots of restaurants. The staff was very friendly and it was good to meet people.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find but I think they've put a sign up now. The staff seemed a little unaware of what was happening sometimes but they were always nice and tried to help.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building and friendly staff.

Disliked: Lack of lockers, cooking facilities,

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jorge Osorio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014

Liked: Tiene buena ubicación.

Disliked: Hay un sólo baño para todos. El internet es muy malo. En la estancia había mucho ruido a altas horas de la noche.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying here so so so much we have even extended our stay another week. the guys that work here are amazing, so much fun, and I love the idea that you all eat dinner together.... Mostly ending in all going out together :) if you want to have fun, meet a lot of people then I defiantly recommend this place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Brook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and made an extra effort to get to know guests. It was easy for us to get to know other guests. Location was right in the heart of Venice, about a ten minute walk from the station and near to tourist destinations. Great atmosphere! Wifi was available in all rooms of the hostel.

Disliked: Only two bathrooms for the whole hostel but it wasn't a massive problem as we didn't find ourselves waiting long to use them.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A Venice Fish offers €5 pasta dinners every night (with wine) which is a great way to meet fellow hostel mates. The staff are really nice, helpful and many nights they organize an after dinner excursion to experience Venetian night life. It is a pretty straight ahot from the train station and easy to find, there is a big banner hanging out front. I've stayed there twice and had great experiences both times. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: With two main bathrooms (there's a half bathroom as well if you happen to stay in the female dorm) with 2 showers in the morning can be a bit hit or miss whether you'll be able to get right in and the water isn't always warm but otherwise I had no complaints.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Baylie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014

Liked: Private building with canals on 3 sides.

Disliked: Not really any hot water. Drainage of showers is lacking. Bathroom floors stay wet after sonebody has showered. Only one washing machine, no dryer. Rooms get hot at night.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014

Liked: The staff is super nice and friendly.

Disliked: The bathroom is very dirty. and one of bathroom's stool cover had broken.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Adam Deyoe

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good open area to meet others. The area is so close to the main "spine" of the fish, easy walk to anywhere!

Disliked: The bathrooms were a bit cramped and my first day the shower broke, but that was fixed the very next day. There is a room directly off the main room with glass double doors, which was a bit noiser than others, but since I just came in Venice from the USA, jetlag made me pass out cold. Just a word of caution on that one room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, friendly and helpful staff, good lounge and common area to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels