We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of A Venice Fish

Hostel | Sestiere Cannaregio 2205, Campo della Maddalena, Venice, Italy 30121

60.6% Overall Rating

650 out of 883 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2015)

Grace Malbasa thinks…

"As a solo traveller I was worried that I'd be on my own for all of my time in Venice, however the staff made sure that wasn't the case. Through organising group dinners and evenings out it is the…"

Read all A Venice Fish reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.55

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

A Venice Fish is a youth hostel. We require payment in cash upon arrival. Please notice, after check-in, there is no refund under any circumstance.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

hostel santa fosca
26.65 USD

Hostel 76.9% 12 reviews
Venice casa Diedo
44.42 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 42 reviews
Smart Holiday
38.87 USD

Guesthouse 73.5% 48 reviews
Venice Luxury
38.87 USD

Hostel 87.2% 134 reviews
Antica Raffineria
38.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Angolo Sconto
49.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Casa del Melograno
27.77 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 20 reviews
Hotel Leonardo
38.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 376 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.6%

Overall Rating

650 out of 883 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A Venice Fish'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
55.2%
Safety
54.4%
Refine your results Showing 768 of 832 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

BYEONGJIN KIM

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015

Liked: fucking bedbug!!!!

Disliked: Fuckingbedbug!!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Guilherme Yazaki

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2015 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: It is the cheapest hostel in Venice.

Disliked: It isn't so clean, but nothing that you couldn't survive!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2015

Liked: Great location

Disliked: It is what it is, for the price in Venice you can't expect much, if you're just staying a night its not too bad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grace Malbasa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2015 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: As a solo traveller I was worried that I'd be on my own for all of my time in Venice, however the staff made sure that wasn't the case. Through organising group dinners and evenings out it is the perfect place for independent backpackers/travellers as you get surrounded by other like minded people. I enjoyed my time at A Venice Fish so much I stayed an extra day!

Disliked: The bathroom was slightly below par, but as far as youth hostels go you can't complain!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location to train station,but still cost in 15 mins walking

Disliked: not cleanliness ,and the mattress are sucks! very noisy wood door,you can hear it every time when people comes in or out......and also no locker in the room ,people put their things everywhere....

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 May 2015

Liked: It was ok but...

Disliked: ...one night wery loud music woke up all in the hostell (also "stuff" was there)... and in my bed there were bugs (still scarrings on the skin)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Luiza Pissurno Moura

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015

Liked: Nop.

Disliked: Didn't have such a good experience. First they have too many beds for just 2 uncleaned bathrooms, there's always a line! Then, about security, the rooms have no lockers for our things and don't have keys also. A little expensive for what we get.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Micah See

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 Micah would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and comfortable atmosphere, with a lot of youths just chilling out and there being a very welcoming air to the place. I liked how this carried on to all the other travellers there and it made for a very pleasant stay indeed.

Disliked: The building is rather old, so as advertised it is very much a youth hostel with slightly iffy heating in the building, showers and rooms were just barely lukewarm and a little drafty. Didn't affect our stay significantly though, still had a great time.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Allan Macleod

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2015 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and vibrant community of travellers all looking to enjoy a similar experience.

Disliked: The facilities were a little poor but nothing worse than you could've expected from a youth hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can't really find a cheaper accomodation in Venice. The common area is large and cosy, the overall atmosphere of the hostel is great! They provide you with fresh sheets and blankets, so you don't need to bring your own. Good position. Staff very friendly.

Disliked: The staff didn't really speak italian, which is fine cause I know english and they probably don't get many italian guests, but still funny if you're one, since you are in Italy after all. The bunk bed was noisy and a bit shaky. There is only one bathroom with a shower so, unless you shower at unusual times, be ready to queue for a while.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jenna Savolainen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2015 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: The overall atmosphere was very free, boheme and warm. The 5 euro pasta dinner is a good idea, and it was easy to make friends in the common area. Cool music was playing almost constantly and people acted like they were staying casually at a friend's place. My bed was reasonably comfortable, the bathrooms were clean and the water in the showers was quite warm. We had a good time at the hostel and I would recommend it to those who want to get to know new people and have a good time. The location was good too, since the railway station is just a few minutes away.

Disliked: Although the atmosphere was warm, the temperature was not. We almost had to sleep with our gloves on, because our room was freezing cold. Also, there are no signs outside the hostel, so without Internet connection it could be hard to spot. One night we had a party until pretty late, so for those not interested in partying it could be hard to get a good night's sleep without earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Burcu Celik

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Burcu would recommend this property

Liked: The first thing is i liked, the oldest building. Location was the too centeral to close to main places. I liked to helpful stuff, cleaning boy was too friendly, free coffe and tea:) Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Too old pillow and sheets

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: too cold like no heater ,too loud at night like a disco!!!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2015

Liked: NO

Disliked: 房間髒又小, 上下鋪是組裝式的,搖得非常厲害!! 浴室只有兩間供所有住宿的人使用! 寢具很髒舊,貌似還不足提供.因我原本有一條白色棉被和一條紫色毛毯,但第二天時有其他人入住,而我那條毛毯卻被拿給新房客使用!!!頓時讓我非常懷疑被套那些是否有在清洗....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nick is awesome, the common area is great to meet other people in, and nightly €5 pasta bowl. Felt very safe.

Disliked: Small bathrooms, locker situation.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a nice balcony which overlooks the street, so you can sit there, relax over a cup of coffee and enjoy the scene and the hustle bustle of life. They have a beautiful large living room where all the travellers can chill in the mornings and evenings. They have a system of making pasta and sangria for 5 euros and voila, it's a party right there!

Disliked: Everything in Venice is OLD, including this hostel. While some can find this charming to get the authentic Venice experience, others should be warned. I'm not saying that it's bad, but you should definitely know what you're getting yourself into. The beds creak, there are only two washrooms for about 40-50 people, they ran out of toilet paper on the first day and overbooked themselves on the next days (The last two are because of the Carnivale and keeping track of things can get tough when it's total madness and a tourist jungle!) but still. Run this place like professionals.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2015

Liked: It was accessible by foot from Santa Lucia Train station

Disliked: The building was quite old and a bit noisy at night. The luggage room in most hostels is free for its customers, but here we were charged 3euros for the luggage room. For a very short stay, the place is of okay kind.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location!

Disliked: cleanliness, temperature, safity

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was very good and we met lots of lovely people. The location couldn't of been better, very central.

Disliked: It was very, very cold!! The heating was broken during our stay. There are no secure lockers in the bedrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lucas schreiber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015

Liked: personal very friendly

Disliked: very colt and very loud music every time night and day, in the sleep room colt. and for a winter only a small bedspread, you can not sleep. no good hostel for relax

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anu Salumaa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 January 2015 Anu would recommend this property

Liked: It is the place to meet friendly and cool people. Perfect location. It felt much more like staying at friends' place rather than staying in a hostel :) A Venice Fish was definitely a big part of my unforgettable week in Venice. Nick, Sandor, Marco <3

Disliked: Anu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed for a night. Clean throughout. Solid Wifi. Good spread of free tea and coffee in the common room. Central location. Good rates. A quiet time during the week. Nick and Tiph were easy to chat with, helpful and keen to go out and about with those that wanted to. The evening pasta and wine supper option really helped following a tiring day of exploring and travelling, and was a good way to meet the other people staying there. The events described in the review of 15 September 2014 – where an individual climbed through an open window into a dorm – were nothing short of exceptional. I saw the review before booking, and coming from a life long mountaineer, it must have been pretty sketchy to climb up. As for the attitudes of the staff at the time, the event appears to have changed them for the better. Just make sure that the windows are shut, insert ear plugs, and don't think for a moment that somebody who is prepared to lay on the buzzer for two hours will just go away. Seriously.

Disliked: n/a

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, staff encouraged social nights and outings together.

Disliked: No security. No locks on doors. The bathroom became flooded and dirty within an hour of cleaning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Josh Stannett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2014 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: Was a great location with very friendly staff who make you feel both welcome and equal. Went out two out of three night and atmosphere was great.

Disliked: I had to leave

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gaik Kee Chan

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2014

Liked: Location very good.

Disliked: Bathrooms poorly maintained. Common area used for sleeping purpose .


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels