We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel Alloggi Barbaria

Hostel | Castello 6573, Venice, Italy 30122

84.0% Overall Rating

131 out of 138 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/03/2013)

"Tidy, good value property in Venice. 10 minutes walk from main sites - Grand Canal, Piazza San Marco etc"

Read all Hotel Alloggi Barbaria reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The Local Administration has established a Local Tourist Tax (from 24 August 2011) and should be settled directly at the property. The amount is Euro 2.00 per adult, per night, up to 5 nights of stay. Children under 10 free. Further reductions or exemptions will be calculated on the spot.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

San Marco Dreams
27.41 USD

Hostel 80.7% 28 reviews
AWA Venice Apartments
31.63 USD

Hostel 72.0% 49 reviews
Art Flashpackers
25.30 USD

Hostel 55.4% 33 reviews
Youth Venice Home
21.51 USD

Hostel 47.0% 191 reviews
Apartment OTA Rialto III
61.99 USD

Apartment 91.4% 12 reviews
B&B Venice Hazel
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 102 reviews
A Venice Emerald 1&2
158.13 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
CaSa Linger Hostel
24.04 USD

Hostel 72.6% 878 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

131 out of 138 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Alloggi Barbaria'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 101 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy, good value property in Venice. 10 minutes walk from main sites - Grand Canal, Piazza San Marco etc

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was really sweet and helpful. There was a secure safe in the room and the bedroom and bathroom were very spacious and clean. Location good, although a little hidden down an alleyway.

Disliked: Out of all the hotels I stayed at, this one felt the least like a hotel ie. the main entrance was obstructed by hessian sacks and building materials etc. And there only appeared to be one main member of staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendliness, very clean

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the three desk clerks spoke English well, and on the last day made available a laptop for guests' use. I also liked having a frig.

Disliked: The desk clerk who was there most of the time spoke little English and never made available the laptop that was for guests' use (which we didn't know about until the last day when the other guy was there.)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011

Liked: it was easy to get to via water bus, the room was clean and the staff were very nice

Disliked: the breakfast was very poor - bread with jam and yogurt - the location was OK, but the description made it seem as though we were close to the main area/sights. the price was way to steep for what we got.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice size room :)

Disliked: The walls between the rooms and eating area are very thin. You end up listening to your neighbours snores or the breakfast mayhem. The breakfast was awful - stale rolls, instant coffee and poor quality yoghurts.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nicholas Ball

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011

Liked: The first member of staff was friendly, but the main reception / owner man was quite old and didn't seem very engaging.

Disliked: Most things: eaten alive by Mosquitos. No water pressure in the shower. Duvet was very plastic & hot, which along with Mosquitos led to a very uncomfortable stay. Oh, and the shower door had black& yellow warning tape on it!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diane Schevers

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: the location was excellent. close to a water bus station that wasn't too busy. I loved the free internet access as I never did see an internet cafe in Venice.

Disliked: Breakfast could have been more varied and less prepackaged food. A buffet style breakfast would have been better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is very nice and quite place. The room at this hotel was very big and clean. Huge bed, TV, Wi-fi, drinks in the refrigerator (in case it'd be to late to buy some at a shop), soaps, shampoos if it's needed, clean towels and good location (it's about 20 min walk from bus station). Thanks so much hotel owner (sorry, forgot his name) for really good atmosphere and helpfulness. He was very kind. Thanks him a lot and I'm sure that I will come back one more time :)

Disliked: Nothing wrong.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, familly atmosphere, spatious, very clean rooms, great bathroom.

Disliked: Breakfast was awful. Really awful:)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the big bathroom and having a satelite TV was also nice.

Disliked: The walls were thin and the owner was hard to understand because of his accent but nevertheless very helpful.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet and clean and large room

Disliked: too quiet!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff / very clean

Disliked: Room a bit basic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing!! I really enjoyed my stay here, the room was big and really clean. the staff was so helpful and had great recommendations on local things to do. I would stay here again

Disliked: nothing it was a great place

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Anne Cameron

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2010

Liked: getting away from the hustle and bustle of nearer st marks

Disliked: the breakfasts were terrible - the coffee was cold and I know to expect dry rolls but these were exceedingly bad!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Salem Salleh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2010 Salem would recommend this property

Liked: expected nothing and was surprised by this nice and clean place. i really recommend this one to everybody who is planing a trip to venice.

Disliked: Salem left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Helpful staff. Was like a hotel!! Free breakfast in the morning!

Disliked: It lacked character. A little bit empty, no other guests around!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff and clean rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Wei Ling Wang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010

Liked: Friendly staff. Very accessible from the water bus station Operdale. And if you are going to Macro Polo Airport, it's easy to access.

Disliked: I had to clean up the area cos it was so dusty. Cobwebs found at some corners. The safe they provided was hilarious! So old-school.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: null

Disliked: null

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: air conditioning was great, clean, good location, homely feel, free breakfast, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leighton Delmenico

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2010 Leighton would recommend this property

Liked: The old man that runs it charmed the pants off of us!!!

Disliked: Leighton left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Shipman

10 May 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for private en-suite rooms in Venice. Great location away from the crowds on the island. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hernan Ccancce

02 October 2009 Hernan would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great. is far away from the main tourist traps but close enough to do some exploring. the staff was very nice and helpful. do your self a favor dont open the windows or you will regret it in the morning(mosquitoes) let the ac run is better.

Disliked: Hernan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emmie Burrows

21 August 2009 Emmie would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel was only 10 minutes away from St Mark's Square which is a great location (if you can find it as Venice is very confusing). The place was very clean. Our most expensive accommodation in the whole of Europe but Venice is expensive. We had air con and a fridge which was a bonus. Breakfast was limited to coffee, juice, crossaint and bread rolls which was disappointing. The staff was excellent and the elderly man, although speaks no English tried hard to please us and was accommodating.

Disliked: Emmie left no negative feedback.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels