HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Gianni House

Hostel | Via Pergusa 47, Giardini Naxos, Taormina, Italy 98035

91.1% Overall Rating

77 out of 85 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/02/2014)

Alan Smithies thinks…

"Extremely helpful and friendly owner Gianni, an absolutely fantastic host. He provided thorough information on the area and recommended excellent activities. Also made our new year one to remember!"

Read all Gianni House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 124.40
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taormina?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taormina

Hotel Eliseo
30.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 5 reviews
Casale di Caterina B&B
66.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Rupilio
23.50 USD

Guesthouse 70.9% 17 reviews
Taormina's Odyssey
27.64 USD

Hostel 82.7% 27 reviews
Taormina City Center Apartments
38.70 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 7 reviews
Villa Regina
38.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.0% 24 reviews
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
96.75 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Isoco Guesthouse
62.20 USD

Guesthouse 96.0% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

77 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gianni House'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 68 of 82 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Smithies

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly owner Gianni, an absolutely fantastic host. He provided thorough information on the area and recommended excellent activities. Also made our new year one to remember!

Disliked: Alan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janos Horvath

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2013 Janos would recommend this property

Liked: Gianni and his staff were a real highlight. The had a really poslitve energy and were curious about us. We felt comfortable and the tips from them (taormina, castelmola and isola bela) were helpful. There is a kitchen to cook (together). which we liked. And also the travelers were easy going.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Sciglitano

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2013 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, social, clean, and well equipped hostel. The location is a quick walk away from some local and not too busy beaches and shops. The staff are also happy to help book day trips and give you advice on where to go, what to see, and where to eat. Gianni, his family, and the other staff are all great company, friendly, and really helpful. Wi-fi, shower, laundry, kitchen, all worked well and the terrace is a great place to spend the evening eating and drinking with new friends.

Disliked: The kitchen is a little small but there are plans I believe to relocate it to a larger space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel with clean rooms and showers, kitchen facilities are great, helpful staff to point out the things to do while in the city, good location with a supermarket and bakery nearby, was a great and pleasant stay.

Disliked: No aircon or fan in the room so it could get warm at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renato Kestener

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Renato would recommend this property

Liked: The service of Gianni and the way he treat his customers.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location - a few minutes' walk from the beach and a wonderful view of Mount Etna from the roof terrace where you can have breakfast or enjoy a drink in the evening. The room was brilliant, the staff were so friendly and helpful. Gianni booked us onto an Etna excursion which was the highlight of our holiday for me. On our final night he cooked everyone yummy pasta and we had a fab evening up on the terrace. I can't recommend this place enough - if you're going to this part of Sicily, stay here! I would definitely return.

Disliked: I honestly can't find anything to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Poland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2013 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: When I arrived at Gianna house I was impressed by the directions and great signs from the road! Easy to find if you follow the directions on the website. The hostel team was exceptionally helpful. They greeted us on this hot afternoon with a cool lemonade and a lot of information about the area. Beer, wine water, etc provided for low cost. They took time for a tour of our room, terrace and tours that were very easily arranged. I was incredibly shocked that only 7 people were staying in the hostel. The place could easily be filled as it is an outstanding place for beach-goers and mt etna enthusiasts. My theory is that people have not realized that the location of this place is unreal. I suggest you stay here while it is low on the radar as it is amazing! From the terrace you have a gorgeous view no matter what way you turn. Mt etna, the beach, or Taromina in the distance. I spent lots of time on the terrace with the friends made at the hostel...playing cards, drinking wine with the light of candles and the moon! Getting around... The bus stop is about 20 steps from the hostel. You can easily go to catania airport, catania centre, mt Etna, taromina or anywhere else you would like to go. If you need any help the staff will help you arrange your plans! Food... The hostel has a great kitchen set up. You are encouraged to use whatever you need! There is a market with fresh vegetables, meat, breads etc the street over from the hostel that you can grab some ingredients for a picnic or dinner. Also, a geleteria on that street that is delicious. If you feel like going out for dinner the staff at Gianni house will give you suggestions for the bear local spots! The beach... the beach was more secluded than I expected and also an easy walk down a well marked path. You can rech the bech within 10 minutes of slow walking. The snorkling is pretty good. The owners told me after I bought a snorkel that I could use ones provided by them! They also provided beach umbrellas, mats and towels. Other activities. rent kayaks (single or double for 12 euros per hour from the club house on the beach) Guitar and drums in the common room for use Excursions to mt etna, snorkling tour or anything else you desire! I asked to borrow the bikes from the hostel and the BBQ...the response from the owner was "at Gianni house anything is possible!" Overall I was very pleased. I hope you have as much fun as I did! Happy travels!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike! Beds were comfy! Clean! Safe! Must stay :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really loved this hostel! When we arrived, Gianni came and checked us in and thoroughly explained the sites to see, showing us on a map and stapling business cards and info panflets to it. We shared a room with 2 girls the first night, and after that we had a private room! Everything was clean, too. Gianni also organized a pasta party during our stay, which was such a great way to meet others in the hostel and bring everyone together (it was also delicious...and free!). I think he did it because I asked about it when I arrived, so be sure to do so. The bus is also closeby, so its easy to get to Taormina. The beach is a close walk.

Disliked: The walk to the hostel from the main street close to the beach is dark and scary at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Parisi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent-it looks as though its further from the action but really you are right where you want to be; you only realise that when you arrive and take a walk around! The place is very clean, very bright, lots of character and very family oriented; you know you are in Sicily when you stay in Gianni's house! I only stayed for one night and I was treated like no other hostel has. The owner is a very genuine person with a vision to better educate travellers on the culture of Sicily; to make the most out of their stay.

Disliked: I did not find anything to dislike about this place or the people who worked there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gianni was incredibly helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. The hostel was well located, close to beaches of Naxos and a reasonable distance from the touristy Taormina. The staff were very helpful and friendly

Disliked: The local Bus service is restricted from October which can means waiting a long time for a Bus during off peak period during the day. The property has limited hot water supply becuase of old plumbing system.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is not my first stay at Gianni House and I can say that I have only best experiences in this place. It' s very very clean, 5 minutes walking from the beach and with the best bakery shop and gelateria just around the corner, It's very easy to get buses for Taormina and Catania,to visit Etna,Alcantara Gorges and so many beautiful places like Godfather's place Savoca. The owner Gianni and the staff are very helpful and they always try to make the guest's stay more comfortable and interesting.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pablo Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Un hostel muy calido, con un excelente trato al huesped desde la llegada hasta el ultimo minuto de estadia. El staff esta entrenado y se encarga de que la estadia sea perfecta para los pasajeros, pase muy buenos momentos en el hostal. La terraza tiene una visat fabulosa, es limpio en general y todo funciona como corresponde (internet, cocina, refrigerador, banos, etc). La locacion si bien parece lejos de Taormina no es un problema. El sector donde se encuentra esta muy bien conectado con Taormina y todos los servicios son bastante mas baratos que en Taormina que es muy caro. Hay de todo para mochileros y se accede caminando a supermercados, restaurantes, heladerias...

Disliked: Mi estadia fue muy agradable, no tengo quejas.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice; Gianni came out one night and just handed us glasses of wine. They take time to explain where everything is around the city and what to see etc. It is only a short way from Taormina so you can visit it, but aren't surrounded my masses of tourists at all times (who are swarming Taormina) Also there is a really great beach down by the little island infront of Taormina I recommend going to.

Disliked: The property was great, but had some bad experiences with restaurants in the area of Gianni House and extremely rude bus drivers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudia Morar

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

05 July 2012 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like home. Thanks to the very friendly and very helpful staff! Extraordinary location, the "private beach" is almost in front of the house. Couldn't be any better, highly recommended!

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gute Informationen, man konnte sich DVDs ausleihen, Dachterasse mit Blick auf den Ätner, Taormina und Meer. Bushaltestelle quasi vor der Haustüre. Essen gehen und Einkaufen nicht so teuer wie in Taormina

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

María Jimena Jobe

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 María Jimena would recommend this property

Liked: Just a few words are enough to describe the wonderful time we had during our stay there! The facilities are really good (just a tiny problem with the hot water in the shower)... And the staff was great to us and really helpful. Definitely, I would come back!

Disliked: María Jimena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about GH is the location - probably one of the most beautiful spots in the world - 7 minutes from the beach, at the foot of Mount Etna, only 15 minutes by bus (easily accessible) from Taormina... And the rooftop terrace is a hit.

Disliked: I cannot think of anything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything here is perfect! Gianni and his friend are very very kind! Everynight cook for us, tell us everything about sicily. If you want to go to Taormina, to see the Etna, this place maybe the first choice for you! By the way, from the balcony you can see the see and Etna, if you are lucky you will see the Etna erupting from Gianni house. 这里的一切都非常好,位置,设施,从这里可以看到海和火山,早晨在阳台上,可以看日出,如果运气好的话,你还会像我们一样看到Etna喷发的场景!Gianni和他的朋友非常非常热情,还为我们做晚饭,等我们回来,我们都非常喜欢这里!!!

Disliked: Niete. Nothing. 无!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Familiar atmosphere, excellent view, Gianni's helpful attitude.

Disliked: A leak in the toilette.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

shashank mishra

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 December 2011 shashank would recommend this property

Liked: very nice person ( Gianni) ..in front of the bus stop and nearby a excellent bakery.. u can also go to beach just 5 min walk

Disliked: away from Taormina .. bus will take 10-12 min. to reach Taormina bus stop..but buses are available till 8.30 min

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Sacco

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Gianni the owner provided a very friendly service and was very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable. And the best thing about Gianni House is the location, very close to Giardini Naxos beach and only a short bus trip away from Taormina and other cities in the region. The views are great too and weather permitting, one has a great view of Mt. Etna from the terrace. And it is just one hour away from Catania Airport! I would definitely choose Gianni House again should I be staying in the region.

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent international atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff. As we visited the place after the season it was rather quiet, however looked like perfect place to have a good time during the summer. It's located few kilometres from Taormina, however the bus stop is really in front of the building, which is useful as long as bus driver decides to stop ;)

Disliked: Non

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Possibly the best view I have ever seen from the terrace. Sipped my coffee while looking at the sea, smoking Etna, and Taormina! The staff is very welcoming and attentive, the bathrooms in the dorm are nice and clean, and its just a five minute walk to the beach!

Disliked: can't complain about a thing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hilary Claridge

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

30 August 2011 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is great and the free pasta/fish evenings are a real bonus!!!

Disliked: You just know it's gonna be noisy when they offer you free earplugs at Reception!!!! If you can bear the traffic, this is the place to stay!!!!