HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Gianni House Taormina Hostel

47, Via Pergusa, Giardini Naxos, Taormina, Italy

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 83%

Safety 96%

Staff 96%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 106.59USD
  • Towel 2.37USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 08:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taormina?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 83%

Safety 96%

Staff 96%

Value 92%

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was inexpensive. There was hardly anyone else staying there at the time I was there.

Disliked: Well first off there was an issue with paying for the room. I put down $50 in cash to pay for the room. I look away to help my travel companion, when I get back to the desk my $50 is gone and the front desk girl is asking for my money. IT WAS RIGHT THERE! So a bit of back and forth about where it went. You know the bit... From then on the staff had it out for me I felt like. Other issues; the wifi did not work anywhere except the stair well. Pretty inconvenient. The main social area there was very slow wifi. Just terrible. Their guest computers did not work either. Now I am not one to complain. I'm on vacation I should be out. But I am currently looking for a job when I go back. So I need to contact people while away to set things up for when I am back. Could do none of that while I was there. Also the kitchen closed at 9 pm and did not open until 8 am. What if I want a midnight snack? Or I get up before 8 as I did to catch my train? Just annoying rules at this place.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bus stop is a small block away (literally a 5-10 second walk) so you can get anywhere quickly. Taormina is significantly closer than I expected by bus. I would recommend staying here instead of Taormina, which is super touristy and overpriced. This area has enough restaurants and bars within a 10-minute walking distance for you to not have to eat in Taormina (but I did anyways). I stayed on the third floor and internet actually worked as advertised =) The bathrooms are very clean. I appreciated that the mattress was firm and not broken in and the pillow was not lumpy/overused/old. The people who work there are so nice; it was raining the day of my departure so the mom drove me to the train station even though I could have easily taken the bus for like 2 Euros. I would stay here again if I ever return to the area.

Disliked: The shower drains slowly so sometimes when I washed my hair the water would rise above my toes but since they kept the bathrooms so clean, it wasn't a deal-breaker for me.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location near the beach but far enough away that you can still sleep at night when you are not out partying

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms

Disliked: The stairs

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fabulous roof terrace with spectacular views of Etna and the ocean, although surprised more people didn't take advantage of it! Was a bit quiet when I was there which was perfect as I needed to do trip planning. Very relaxed and chilled out atmosphere. Good clean bathrooms in the rooms. Great AC!

Disliked: If you are looking to stay in Taormina, this hostel is a bus ride away. I understood this before I booked because of a review I read, but I think it can be a little misleading.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff! The dorms are very nice and have air con!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: I adored everything - very peaceful, quite, very good, kind people, very close to the sea. i have excellent impressions.

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel is a really crazy place. Gianni one of the best and coolest host I ever had. He gives so much information about Giardini Naxos and Taormina, the Etna, Sicily.....if you have any question whre to go, what to do, how to get there....just ask him! On arrival he offered us a glass of Vino di Mandorle and told us a lot about locol food, and where to get the best. Our Room was for 6 people but we were alone because it was totally off season. There was a nice kitchen with a large balkony to sit outside for eating and on top is a big terrace to sit. The total interieur shows taht tehis place is run by someone who relly wants to create the perfect hostel. If you want to go to the Etna this might be a good place to start.

Disliked: Be careful: This Hostel is not in Toarmina but in Giardini Naxos! I booked this hostel by mistake, but i think thats even better because living directly in Taormina is expensive and you can reach Taormina easily by bus.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's in the perfect spot with easy access to the beach and major bus routes. I prefer this location to Taormina, which is a tourist trap (although beautiful). Also Giardina Naxos has much more beach space.

Disliked: It's a bit quiet at the moment.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Gianni House is a great hostel located in a very strategic spot. You can reach Taormina in a 20 min bus ride (the bus stop is at the corner) or enjoy a great beach in Giardini-Naxos after a 5 min walk. Supermarket, drugstore, meatstore and an amazing candy store a very close as well.The warm staff gives great advices about the region and explain a lot of atractions you can experience within your stay: mount Etna tours, scuba diving, Gole Alcantara, boat tours, Castelmola and others.The place itself is quite comfortable with air conditioning in the rooms, great beds and spacious bathrooms. The included breakfest has a great variety, including fresh fruits.But the thing I liked the most is the huge terrace, with a great view to the sea, Taormina and Etna. Always a good place to meet other guests from all over the world and have a beer!Thanks Gianni for this amazing enviroment! Hope to come back someday!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability