We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Gianni House

Hostel | Via Pergusa 47, Giardini Naxos, Taormina, Italy 98035

94.3% Overall Rating

88 out of 98 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/08/2014)

"Friendly helpful staff, clean, excellent location near to Giardini Naxos, easy bus rides up to Taormina. Free fish party was a delicious, social evening."

Read all Gianni House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 113.85
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taormina?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taormina

Hotel Eliseo
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.7% 6 reviews
Casale di Caterina B&B
60.72 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Rupilio
21.51 USD

Guesthouse 66.6% 19 reviews
Taormina's Odyssey
25.30 USD

Hostel 84.2% 31 reviews
Taormina City Center Apartments
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 9 reviews
Villa Regina
35.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.0% 24 reviews
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
88.55 USD

Hostel 96.2% 3 reviews
Isoco Guesthouse
56.93 USD

Guesthouse 96.0% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

88 out of 98 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gianni House'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 95 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

MEHMET GUL

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014

Liked: ıts clean, staff is helpfull, breakfast is ok, beach is close..

Disliked: ı didnt like the location. its far to taormina and u pay 3 Euro for the bus to go to the taormina town..it takes 25 - 35 minutes to go to taormina and the bus is usually over crowded...the bus station is just in front of the hostel but sometimes we waited half an hour for the bus at the station.but the beach is very close to hostel and water is very nice, clean and deep..so if u are here for the beach this hostel is the right place for u but ıf u have a short time and want to see taormina town u shouldnt stay here...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, clean, excellent location near to Giardini Naxos, easy bus rides up to Taormina. Free fish party was a delicious, social evening.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop terrace, easygoing atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice double room with AC; clean and with balcony. Nice staff and wonderful views of the beach and Etna from the roof.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Sullivan

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: The people

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pauline Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 May 2014 Pauline would recommend this property

Liked: Gianni is very friendly and went out of his way to be helpful booking an etna excursion at the last minute. Super roof terrace to have breakfast looking out to sea and towards Etna ( cloud covered the top) spacious dorms with a private bathroom.

Disliked: The lounge/ common room is small but there are plans for a bigger one later in the year.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonya Audet

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2014 Sonya would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean everywhere, People are nice, location is perfect, breakfast is good...Gianni is a nice guy and the house is in the middle of activities but you may have quiet night to sleep . The terrasse on roof is amazing!

Disliked: I should stay there more than 1night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaila Bittinger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Kaila would recommend this property

Liked: I am obsessed with this place. It was beautiful and did not feel like a hostel at all. There was a terrace and beach chairs and it was less then 10 minutes to the local Beach. The staff (especially Gianni) was absolutely spectacular and helped me with anything I needed to know. The room (I had a 4 person room) was great. There was a TV that we watched movies on every night, breakfast was available in the morning, I got directions and a map upon arrival as well. Great location. Great staff. Beautiful weather. I would go back in a second and recommend it to anyone!

Disliked: Kaila left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Miceli

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel owner, Gianni, is an absolute DOLL! He is extremely helpful and answers all of your questions before you even ask them. The hostel is charming, clean, and comfortable, with a rooftop terrace that offers the best views. Gianni also offers a lot of great excursions, like a trip to Mt. Etna and a wine tour, so you have lots of options!

Disliked: I wrongly assumed that the hostel was in Taormina, but it's actually in a neighboring town about 20 minutes away. It was my own fault, because I didn't read the address too closely. But the bus stop to Taormina is right in front of the hostel, and it's actually a beautiful ride.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Redmore

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 April 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel with a good atmosphere, easy to meet people.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Smithies

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly owner Gianni, an absolutely fantastic host. He provided thorough information on the area and recommended excellent activities. Also made our new year one to remember!

Disliked: Alan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janos Horvath

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2013 Janos would recommend this property

Liked: Gianni and his staff were a real highlight. The had a really poslitve energy and were curious about us. We felt comfortable and the tips from them (taormina, castelmola and isola bela) were helpful. There is a kitchen to cook (together). which we liked. And also the travelers were easy going.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Sciglitano

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2013 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, social, clean, and well equipped hostel. The location is a quick walk away from some local and not too busy beaches and shops. The staff are also happy to help book day trips and give you advice on where to go, what to see, and where to eat. Gianni, his family, and the other staff are all great company, friendly, and really helpful. Wi-fi, shower, laundry, kitchen, all worked well and the terrace is a great place to spend the evening eating and drinking with new friends.

Disliked: The kitchen is a little small but there are plans I believe to relocate it to a larger space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel with clean rooms and showers, kitchen facilities are great, helpful staff to point out the things to do while in the city, good location with a supermarket and bakery nearby, was a great and pleasant stay.

Disliked: No aircon or fan in the room so it could get warm at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renato Kestener

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Renato would recommend this property

Liked: The service of Gianni and the way he treat his customers.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location - a few minutes' walk from the beach and a wonderful view of Mount Etna from the roof terrace where you can have breakfast or enjoy a drink in the evening. The room was brilliant, the staff were so friendly and helpful. Gianni booked us onto an Etna excursion which was the highlight of our holiday for me. On our final night he cooked everyone yummy pasta and we had a fab evening up on the terrace. I can't recommend this place enough - if you're going to this part of Sicily, stay here! I would definitely return.

Disliked: I honestly can't find anything to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Poland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2013 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: When I arrived at Gianna house I was impressed by the directions and great signs from the road! Easy to find if you follow the directions on the website. The hostel team was exceptionally helpful. They greeted us on this hot afternoon with a cool lemonade and a lot of information about the area. Beer, wine water, etc provided for low cost. They took time for a tour of our room, terrace and tours that were very easily arranged. I was incredibly shocked that only 7 people were staying in the hostel. The place could easily be filled as it is an outstanding place for beach-goers and mt etna enthusiasts. My theory is that people have not realized that the location of this place is unreal. I suggest you stay here while it is low on the radar as it is amazing! From the terrace you have a gorgeous view no matter what way you turn. Mt etna, the beach, or Taromina in the distance. I spent lots of time on the terrace with the friends made at the hostel...playing cards, drinking wine with the light of candles and the moon! Getting around... The bus stop is about 20 steps from the hostel. You can easily go to catania airport, catania centre, mt Etna, taromina or anywhere else you would like to go. If you need any help the staff will help you arrange your plans! Food... The hostel has a great kitchen set up. You are encouraged to use whatever you need! There is a market with fresh vegetables, meat, breads etc the street over from the hostel that you can grab some ingredients for a picnic or dinner. Also, a geleteria on that street that is delicious. If you feel like going out for dinner the staff at Gianni house will give you suggestions for the bear local spots! The beach... the beach was more secluded than I expected and also an easy walk down a well marked path. You can rech the bech within 10 minutes of slow walking. The snorkling is pretty good. The owners told me after I bought a snorkel that I could use ones provided by them! They also provided beach umbrellas, mats and towels. Other activities. rent kayaks (single or double for 12 euros per hour from the club house on the beach) Guitar and drums in the common room for use Excursions to mt etna, snorkling tour or anything else you desire! I asked to borrow the bikes from the hostel and the BBQ...the response from the owner was "at Gianni house anything is possible!" Overall I was very pleased. I hope you have as much fun as I did! Happy travels!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike! Beds were comfy! Clean! Safe! Must stay :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really loved this hostel! When we arrived, Gianni came and checked us in and thoroughly explained the sites to see, showing us on a map and stapling business cards and info panflets to it. We shared a room with 2 girls the first night, and after that we had a private room! Everything was clean, too. Gianni also organized a pasta party during our stay, which was such a great way to meet others in the hostel and bring everyone together (it was also delicious...and free!). I think he did it because I asked about it when I arrived, so be sure to do so. The bus is also closeby, so its easy to get to Taormina. The beach is a close walk.

Disliked: The walk to the hostel from the main street close to the beach is dark and scary at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Parisi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent-it looks as though its further from the action but really you are right where you want to be; you only realise that when you arrive and take a walk around! The place is very clean, very bright, lots of character and very family oriented; you know you are in Sicily when you stay in Gianni's house! I only stayed for one night and I was treated like no other hostel has. The owner is a very genuine person with a vision to better educate travellers on the culture of Sicily; to make the most out of their stay.

Disliked: I did not find anything to dislike about this place or the people who worked there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gianni was incredibly helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. The hostel was well located, close to beaches of Naxos and a reasonable distance from the touristy Taormina. The staff were very helpful and friendly

Disliked: The local Bus service is restricted from October which can means waiting a long time for a Bus during off peak period during the day. The property has limited hot water supply becuase of old plumbing system.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is not my first stay at Gianni House and I can say that I have only best experiences in this place. It' s very very clean, 5 minutes walking from the beach and with the best bakery shop and gelateria just around the corner, It's very easy to get buses for Taormina and Catania,to visit Etna,Alcantara Gorges and so many beautiful places like Godfather's place Savoca. The owner Gianni and the staff are very helpful and they always try to make the guest's stay more comfortable and interesting.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pablo Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Un hostel muy calido, con un excelente trato al huesped desde la llegada hasta el ultimo minuto de estadia. El staff esta entrenado y se encarga de que la estadia sea perfecta para los pasajeros, pase muy buenos momentos en el hostal. La terraza tiene una visat fabulosa, es limpio en general y todo funciona como corresponde (internet, cocina, refrigerador, banos, etc). La locacion si bien parece lejos de Taormina no es un problema. El sector donde se encuentra esta muy bien conectado con Taormina y todos los servicios son bastante mas baratos que en Taormina que es muy caro. Hay de todo para mochileros y se accede caminando a supermercados, restaurantes, heladerias...

Disliked: Mi estadia fue muy agradable, no tengo quejas.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice; Gianni came out one night and just handed us glasses of wine. They take time to explain where everything is around the city and what to see etc. It is only a short way from Taormina so you can visit it, but aren't surrounded my masses of tourists at all times (who are swarming Taormina) Also there is a really great beach down by the little island infront of Taormina I recommend going to.

Disliked: The property was great, but had some bad experiences with restaurants in the area of Gianni House and extremely rude bus drivers.