HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Seven Hostel

Hostel | Via Iommela Grande 99, Sorrento, Italy 80065

83.4% Overall Rating

269 out of 277 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2014)

Brianne Lynds thinks…

"BEAUTIFUL ROOFTOP TERRACE!!! And it's very large and hardly used! Good restaurant and cafe around the corner. Close to sorrento. Friendly locals."

Read all Seven Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sorrento?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sorrento

Esperidi Resort
39.80 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hotel Angelina
44.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.7% 60 reviews
Domus Porto Salvo
26.54 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 34 reviews
Florida Hotel & Hostel
33.17 USD

Hostel 92.1% 48 reviews
Hotel Londra
19.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.6% 8 reviews
Orchid Corner
53.07 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Sorrento
23.88 USD

Hostel 61.1% 5 reviews
La playa
49.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

269 out of 277 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Seven Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 246 of 263 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brianne Lynds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Brianne would recommend this property

Liked: BEAUTIFUL ROOFTOP TERRACE!!! And it's very large and hardly used! Good restaurant and cafe around the corner. Close to sorrento. Friendly locals.

Disliked: Slow internet, expensive laundry, horrible breakfast, no communal kitchen or place for people to store their own food. Ok pizza but bad pasta from the hostel bar. No atmosphere.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and sun terrace on roof

Disliked: Bathroom was unclean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel esta muy bueno. Limpio, y nuevo.

Disliked: Mala ubicacion respecto a las playas

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014

Liked: Facilities were good, breakfast was generous and fresh. Staff were generally helpful, although we encountered some very unhelpful staff. We were able to leave a bag securely for a few days while we were on a short excursion. Location is quaint and surrounds are quiet

Disliked: The attitude is laid back, which allows guests to abuse the facilities. The dorm rooms are large, meaning we were disturbed at all hours, allocated beds were not used by other guests causing us problems at 10.30 at night, and staff were not helpful to sort the situation out. The number of people using the facilities meant that they were unclean, as guests were inconsiderate of others. I recommend to the hostel to encourage guests to be considerate of others and treat facilities with respect. I do not recommend this hostel for people looking for a quiet and relaxing experience, definitely a party hub.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yang Pei-Shan

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Yang would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and nicely for everybody

Disliked: Not

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere but quiet, large common area and bar/restaurant, rooms are large and clean, lots of showers and bathrooms, personal outlets and light at every bed, lots of opportunities for excursions where you are picked up right from the hostel, close to train station

Disliked: Hosts private parties (banquet style) in the common area without any notice to hostel guests which are large, loud, and guests are segregated to one section of the hostel and not allowed to move around freely. The one that happened during our stay went until 2AM and was extremely loud

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014

Liked: We liked that it had spacious rooms, big lockers, cheap food, and air conditioning in rooms.

Disliked: We booked a all female dorm, and originally we thought that's what we were put in, but at about midnight of the second night without warning to us a guy came in with his girlfriend. When we brought this to the attention of the staff they said there was nothing they could do because they booked an all female dorm and that they couldn't tell by the booking if both guest were female or not. It took almost 2 full days to be able to talk to someone about this and they kept interrupting, and were very unhelpful, offering no compensation or discount for this. The hostel was also housing a large group and had a DJ playing the Saturday night until 3am even though all the rooms looked on to the court yard. There were also tons of small ants everywhere!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Palmer Hardy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Palmer would recommend this property

Liked: 7Hostel was fantastic. I was there for 2 nights while traveling southern italy. It's very close to the beach and Sant Agnello train station. It was clean and super nice staff.

Disliked: There was a bar for good prices but they're weak and not really worth. Recommend going into Sorrento city center for partying! Food wasn't that great either. Few things were. Good for when you're too tired or its late.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Hanley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

21 June 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: It's beautiful! View is incredible from the roof terrasse (there's a roof terrasse!) and everything is clean. Of all the hostels I stayed at, this one was the most like a resort. It was a nice break from the dirty bedsheets and sketchy business from some of the other places I went to. The staff are helpful but not really friendly. There's inexpensive dinner available from ~6pm to 10pm. Wifi was so-so, but functioning for the most part. Location was really nice; right next to a lemon orchard! Less than 10 minute walk to Sant'Agnello train station, which is one stop from the center of Sorrento. To walk it is approx 35 min. Did not have a problem with mosquitos.

Disliked: Staff were sometimes rude/crabby, though helpful. I had bought some tea in advance, and asking the food/bar guy for a mug of hot water seemed like I was asking for an arm and a leg. There is a church right next to the hostel, so the near constant ringing of bells might get to you... especially at 7 am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara Aguirre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2014 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful

Disliked: It's perfect!! There's a great atmosphere

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kyle Nichols

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Lots of people. Good set up.

Disliked: Wi-fi wasn't working. It is at least 45mins walking outside of town. Not easy to get back and forth from main Sorrento. Good for traveling through. but not for exploring the city.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014

Liked: -nicely renovated old monastery, very stylish

Disliked: -short beds (190 cm) with the cheapest and uncomfortable matrasses (we stayed in a double room for more than 70 EUR per night) -smell of sewage -huge groups of American students arriving and departing any time day and night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberley Malivanek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean.

Disliked: Not the best location.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014

Liked: It's huge. Very spacious room.

Disliked: This property is not in Sorrento. It's a good 20 minute walk to Sorrento (or spend the money on a train ticket everyday). You'd be better off just staying in Sorrento. Or Naples. The internet didn't work while I was there. "Problem with the line. Maybe tomorrow." No self-catering facilities. They say breakfast is at 7. I had to leave at 7:30, but there was no breakfast out.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Yang-Hao Chou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Yang-Hao would recommend this property

Liked: 有附早餐

Disliked: 男生廁所要下樓使用 地點不在蘇連多市中心,要搭私鐵到蘇連多前一站

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martha Davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 Martha would recommend this property

Liked: It has been on of the best hostels I have been to.

Disliked: Martha left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice view from balcony, friendly staff.

Disliked: You need to take a little walk to the city center, but there are places with great views on the way making it totaly worth it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, restaurant,

Disliked: showers was not clean, there is no WIFI in room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are beautifdul. We came in winter and it the first day was completely empty. Two days later.some people arrived. It must be better with some more people in other season.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

WANG LEI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

04 October 2013

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: Too far. Can't cooking.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Francisca Prieto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013 Francisca would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are very confortable , you fell that You have tour own space. .

Disliked: The only Badajoz tinglado was that there were a lot of fleas in the bedcover.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nina Butina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: It's HUGE. Did not expect that! The staff were so helpful. The wi-fi is great, and accessible from everywhere except the rooftop bar (at least for me), and for good reason. The views are incredible, particularly at sunset. Every night there are people relaxing up there, and it's so easy to make friends :) The rooms were large, with huge lockers. The beds were also quite comfy! Air conditioning was a plus as well. Food was okay, and decently priced, though the supermarket near the station might be a cheaper option for some folk! Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Nina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Fox

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 September 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing building - I think it's a converted church or Monastery. The building is about a 10 min walk from the station, which is just a very short (2min) journey to Sorrento itself, or you can get to Herculaneum or Pompeii and Naples on the same line. We'd recommend a restaurant near the station (just to the left under the bridge as you head up from the hostel) which does rotisserie chicken outside - whole chicken with chips was 7euro and a massive pizza about 5. Pop over the road to get a bottle of wine for 4euro and you can eat this back at the hostel. Also, there is a close (15/20min walk) area you can swim in for free - ask the staff and they can direct you (though there are no beaches so you lie on a concrete platform, however there are lots of fish to see). Tons of outdoor spaces on the roof, and very nicely decorated throughout. We had a private room, which had a really nice bathroom and a balcony. There is a rooftop bar, but opening times seemed a little unpredictable.

Disliked: Food was quite expensive (well, relatively!), so we always ate out or had takeaway - but they're happy for you to do this, so not a problem really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop area was fantastic and a great place to have a mellow evening (which most did).

Disliked: Female showers weren't great. Had nowhere private outside the shower to dry and dress other than going into the one large toilet they had. And showers flooded.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels we have stayed at on our entire trip! Both the rooms and the bathrooms are big and spacious, and rooms have large lockers to store your belongings. There is a good breakfast included, and a rooftop bar with decently priced drinks.

Disliked: We were given keys to the wrong room at first, and when we questioned it, were told to just take beds even though the room was clearly full. I would be more than a little annoyed if I came back to find someone had taken my bed!