We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Mazzola B&B

Guesthouse | Via Nastro D'Argento, 35, Sorrento, Italy 80065

97.6% Overall Rating

64 out of 64 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/03/2014)

Stefanie Winkelmann thinks…

"(German below) This place is perfect! Luigi and Ugo are so welcoming and helpful you will clearly enjoy your stay. The place is clean, quiet and the beautiful rooms have been designed by Luigi, each…"

Read all Casa Mazzola B&B reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

City Tax We would like to inform you that an Overnight Accommodation Tax is imposed in Sorrento. The amount of the above fee is 1.50 euro per person per night, for a maximum of 7 nights stay consecutives for the periods of high season. The amount will be collected from the single guest by the hotel reception. Children under 16 years will not pay any. Please note final prices are not including CityTax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sorrento?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sorrento

Hostel Sorrento
15.18 USD

Hostel 66.9% 7 reviews
Hotel Angelina
36.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.9% 61 reviews
Seven Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 84.6% 280 reviews
Esperidi Resort
37.95 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
La playa
22.14 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Londra
18.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.6% 8 reviews
Florida Hotel & Hostel
379.51 USD

Hostel 90.7% 50 reviews
Domus Porto Salvo
21.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.6%

Overall Rating

64 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Mazzola B&B'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
99.2%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 62 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Watson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2014 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely, absolutely stunning views.

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Winkelmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2014 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: (German below) This place is perfect! Luigi and Ugo are so welcoming and helpful you will clearly enjoy your stay. The place is clean, quiet and the beautiful rooms have been designed by Luigi, each room has its own style. Luigi gave us many hints on what to see, he even drew maps that were a great help. The cakes you get with the breakfast buffet are absolutely delicious. This was definitely the highlight of our trip and we did not want to leave even after we had extended our stay. Deutsch: Dieser Platz ist perfekt! Luigi und Ugo tun alles, damit ihr Gäste sich wohlfühlen. Das Haus selbst ist sauber, ruhig und Luigi hat jeden einzelnen Raum selbst gestaltet. Er gab uns auch wertvolle Tipps für Ausflüge und malte sogar selbst Karten. Die sind besser als alle, die man kaufen kann! Die Kuchen, die es während des Frühstücksbuffets gab, waren absolut köstlich! Unser Aufenthalt bei Luigi und Ugo war definitiv der Höhepunkt unserer Reise und wir wollten auch nach unserer Verlängerung nicht weg. Absolut empfehlenswert!

Disliked: Nothing! Nichts! Niente!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Luigi was a great host and had decorated the room personally with beautiful works of art with his wonderful glass and marble etching/engraving and painting. He was extremely helpful with places to go and things to do. He picked us up from Sant 'Agnello train station and also picked us up in town and took us home when we needed to get home after the buses had stopped for the night (we had no transport). It was more like staying with family than booked accommodation!

Disliked: Just a little awkward to get around sometimes if you don't have your own transport but there is bus to town, bus stop right near Casa Mazzola. From the town of Sant'Agnello you can walk to Sorrento in 10-15 minutes or catch another bus if you prefer. The Circumvesuviana train line has trains about every 30 minutes to 1 hour in winter, more frequently in the warmer popular tourist season. From Sant'Agnello train station you can be in Pompeii in about 20 minutes, Naples in 45mins to 1hr.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Smulders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Ugo and his father are extremily friendly and helpful. They made wonderfull breakfast and helped us with all kind of tips for nice trips around Sorrento. The house is nicely decorated by Ugo's father, nice work. Nice view from the veranda over Sorrento. Your car can be easily parked on the driveway.

Disliked: There were are lot of muscito's around in october. Thereby we booked a room with ocean view, but got one with side view. Minor details, so I would still recommend this place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Truong

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Mazzola was an amazing place to stay at to visit Sorrento. It may not be in Sorrento itself, but even for us who had no car this was never a problem. The bus passes often enough and Ugo and Luigi offer a free hourly pickup service in the evening until midnight. The view from the terrace was so amazing I would not have wanted to stay anywhere else! It was a nice quiet break from the touristy places we visited in the day. Place was clean, breakfast great, and most importantly, Luigi and Ugo were incredible hosts. They helped us plan our days and were so kind and helpful. We recommend this place 100%. Don't Hesitate, book it! We will come back, thank you! -Catherine and Mai

Disliked: Nothing. Walk from sant'agnello to sorrento is about 15-20 minutes but a bus can easily take you there. Don't let this turn you away. Sant'Agnello itself has a better vista on the coast than Sorrento from belvedere Marinella! Don't miss Da Peppino, best Caprese salad and nocci ravioli we had in our entire 2 weeks trip!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anca Turtica

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Anca would recommend this property

Liked: What did we like? Everything. From the first moment we stepped into Casa Mazzola, we knew that it would be a perfect vacation. The view is amazing, the rooms are very nice and we loved Luigi's attention to details (even the light switch was painted)...Luigi is the artist of the house. Breakfast was the perfect way to start a day: fresh coffe, best home-made cakes, much much more than we expected. So the location and services were great, but what really makes this Casa the best location to stay...are the owners. Luigi and Ugo are your friends, your guides, your family for the entire period of your staying. Trust them with all what they recommend, because they know what they are talking about: restaurants, locations to visit (they even draw us very nice and explicit maps), parking spaces,... Coasta Amalfi is great, but if you choose Casa Mazzola for your staying, it will be perfect. Thank you Luigi and Ugo!

Disliked: That we had to leave :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Luigi and Ugo were incredibly helpful and offered us great advice! The property was situated on a cliff overlooking sorrento and sant'engllo, a beautiful view. Luigi and Ugo offer a free pick up service from the town as it is more difficult to find a bus to their property. Incredibly friendly place!!! I highly reccomend this place, I stayed with two of my friends and felt very safe here. The faciliates were also very cute.

Disliked: The only bad thing was the pillow had no support. Other than that everything was delightful!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberley Brammer

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. This was our second visit to Casa Mazzola and we enjoyed every minute. Ugo and luigi were great hosts as usual and nothing asked of them is too much trouble. The setting of the b&b is beautiful and away from the busy tourist area. It is quite far from the town but there is a bus for 1 euro and ugo and luigi do offer a shuttle service so the distance is not a problem. Brilliant stay we will be returning again next year!

Disliked: Kimberley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

INSANG KIM

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 INSANG would recommend this property

Liked: it is very nice to meet friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Facilities and services on offer is very excellet. fick up service and sightseeing are very good..

Disliked: none.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property has a very beautiful view and is a nice distance away from all of the crowds and tourists. Also the hosts were extremely helpful and accomodating with providing travel suggestions, itineraries and where to eat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Orlando

As a family with children

Family Holiday

17 July 2012 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: The ocean view and rustic atmosphere were incredible. The staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Disliked: Sergio left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Carls

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

15 July 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Mazzola is a great B&B with beautiful views overlooking Naples' Bay and Sorrento. The owners are very friendly and accomodating. They were happy to pick us up and drop us off at the train station upon arrival and after hours when the buses stop running in the city. Great place to stay if you want to explore Naples, Amalfi or surrounding areas. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery!

Disliked: The property is located in the hills overlooking Sant'Agnello and Sorrento and is a bit far if just staying for 1 day and want to tour the area. However, if just staying for a short time to take in the relaxing scenery it is the perfect place!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Douglas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my sister had 3 very wonderful days in this bed and breakfast. The bed and breakfast is set in a beautiful location in the hills. However, the two bed and breakfast owners were happy to drive us down to the town centre and pick us up late at night! The hosts were wonderful and they could not have been anymore helpful! After being in Rome for a few nights it was lovely to have peace and quiet!

Disliked: The bed and breakfast is quite far out from the main town centre and about 30 minutes away from Sorrento including the bus journey to bottom of the hill. Car hire may be useful, as the buses stop running after 7pm.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Booked as we wanted a smaller hotel with Italian character. Casa Mazolla has this in bucket fulls. Like so many reviewers, we found Luigi and Ugo a wonderful pair. Ugo collected us from the airport and were welcomed as friends. They advised on bus timetables, places to visit, we were taken to two nearby restaurants. One restaurant had limited English, but Ugo sorted things for us, and the restaurants brought us home after the meal. Room was good size and very clean opening onto terrace. Swimming pool is more to dip in to cool off. Wonderful views over the Bay of Sorrento. It was very quiet, although beside the road. Only noise was dogs barking, a peacock, at least we think it was a peacock, cows mooing in the distance, and the sound of birds. This is not a criticism, it was rather nice to feel we were in the country. We used the bus that stopped just outside the property to get into Sorrento and to the train station for a visit to Positano. Later we caught the bus back and the driver just stopped for us. We did have an experience whilst waiting for the bus to return to Casa Mazzola. A large Mercedes vehicle stopped, blacked out window was wound down, and a rather large man with sunglasses asked us if we wanted Casa Mazzola. Stories of the Mafia entered our heads, and we said we only had 2 euros and no money. He said he was a friend of Luigi and he would take us up to the hotel. We were taken to the door and Luigi greeted him. We can laugh now, but we wondered if we were being reckless. In fact, Luigi tells his friends if anyone is waiting for the bus they should pick them up. So dont worry, he really was a friend. We were so sad to leave, we met so many travellers who were staying. We even shared a ride and meal with a Russian couple who lived in America. It was the sort of place where everyone was so friendly, and we all swapped stores. Breakfast on the sunny terrace was wonderful. Yes, the lemon cake was wonderful, also the coconut and the chocolate cake. We were up early one morning and the bread was still warm - even more delicious than usual. Would I recommend Casa Mazzolla - yes 100% - it is a bit out of town, but if you are happy to get the bus you will have no trouble. We certainly are glad we did not hire a car - oh those Italian scooters, they are everywhere. We were very sad to leave after 4 days, but we were off to Procida for a wedding, but that is another review.

Disliked: It is out of town, but we knew this so no problem. Cannot think of anything to dislike. 5 star soulness hotel it is not.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Nicholson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay with amazing views and hospitality!

Disliked: A little outside of Sorrento and high up a mountain but there are buses to link you to the town (5-10 min journey) and from there it is a 15 min walk into Sorrento. Do not let this put you off though as it is the B&B's location which give the most amazing views of the bay of Naples! Plus the owner is always helpful and happy to take/collect people when the buses are not running.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Reece

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Luigi and Ugo are family, and treat you like family when you stay with them in their lovely B&B in the mountains by the Mediterranean Sea in Sant'Agnello. Do not worry about the location, because it is a quick 5 minute drive up the windy mountain road to the B&B. I preferred the atmosphere of staying in the less-touristey town of Sant'Agnello, because it was a 10 minute walk to the city center of Sorrento, but also had the charm and quiet environment I was looking for in a getaway. Luigi picked us up from the Circumvesuviana train station in the center of Sant'Agnello after we arrived from Naples. We rode in the car up to the B&B, where we were greeted with a very safe and secure gated entrance. Luigi really has worked his hardest to make this place a work of art. His artistic touch is evident throughout the entire home, form the lighting fixtures, to the accents in the garden, and the walls have artwork that reflect the scenic beauty surrounding the place. The view from the B&B is breath-taking. If you are unsure about staying here for any reason, the view is reason enough to stay. You can see the whole Bay of Naples, Vesuvius in the background, a church on a mountaintop, groves upon groves of olive and lemon trees. Breakfast was wonderful, too. It had more than enough to choose from; it had freshly made bread and banana/lemon bread that his wife had made, there was coffee, cereal, fruit, meat, cheese, tomatoes, and more. The property allows you to have the space you need, but also allows you to socialize with the other patrons. The shower pressure was controllable and excellent, along with the temperature. The beds were medium-firm, with fresh linens that smelled of the sea-breeze. In the summer months, there is a small wonderful pool overlooking the ocean, along with an outdoor shower, and barbecue. Luigi and Ugo will help you with whatever you need, give you directions, and even take you to and from town. There is also a bus that stops right outside the B&B--it was SO convenient. I love this place, and can't wait to return.

Disliked: You would not be able to walk to and from the B&B from town. You have to take transportation of some sort, which was not bad because there was always someone available to pick you up. There were no cups in the room, and no access to the kitchen. If you wanted something from the kitchen (i.e. hot water for tea after a long day) you had to buzz in. This was always an option, but I did not want to disturb the family for a cup, so I never buzzed in to get hot water.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhiannon Assetta

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a beautiful spot overlooking Sorrento and the coast, unfortunately this means you are a little bit out of town, however, the owners Luigi and Ugo have made it very simple to get around offering to pick you up from town whenever the local bus isn't running so it really wasnt a problem. They make such an effort to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay - they are really fantastic!

Disliked: Nothing - it was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

philip lim

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 November 2011 philip would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent and friendly hosts. Heavenly view.

Disliked: A little hard to locate but the host proactively came to our rescue by picking us up!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Luigi and Hugo were amazing hosts! Great breakfast, nice and clean rooms, lots of good tips about the area, they reccomended some great local restaurants in the area. Luigi came and met us as we got a bit lost. Beautiful views and location between sorrento and rest of Amalfi coast.

Disliked: Not a dislike, more of a point. I think that we would not have enjoyed this place/location as much if we didn't have our own vehicle. It was easy with a car to get around the area and they have secure car parking available, so thats not a problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ugo is an excellent host, who picked us up from the station and arranged transport to and from a local restaurant for dinner. The photos on this page REALLY don't do justice to the view, which is stunning. Our rooms were comfortable, and my english friends are already planning their next visit!

Disliked: It's not very close to the station - but the hosts are very happy to assist with transport

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

allan smoliak

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2011 allan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The place was really nice. Luigi and Ugo (the operators) were amazing and couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Beautiful view of the bay. Great breakfast. Even with it being a bit away from the core of Sorrento wasn't an issue as they were willing to drive you into town whenever. Can recommend enough.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Most wonderful B and B we have ever been to. Hosts were great and the room was beautiful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Luigi and Ugo's constant attention to requests and total commitment to their guests. Luigi's knowledge of the area and how best to enjoy the sights was priceless. We travel a lot and have never come across some one so commited to ensuring his guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. The setting over looking the Bay of Naples, was perhaps the best.

Disliked: The flow on the shower could not manage with all guests showering at the same time, but so what, just wait for ten minutes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: Very friendly staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pamela Greene

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2011 pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The absolute best place I've ever stayed in my years of travel. Fantastic family run B&B, tremendous views, and clean clean clean!!!! When reading reviews before I booked, a lot of travelers were commenting on the bus and how difficult it was, It is SO easy. the bus stops right out side the front gate and drops you off right in town. For One euro. Everything about this property is amazing and I will be going back!

Disliked: nothing.