HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Salerno hostels

Reviews of Ave Gratia Plena

Hostel | Via Canali, Salerno, Italy 84121

85.6% Overall Rating

125 out of 134 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Roderik Akkerman thinks…

"We did a trip through Italy, booked two four star hotels (Rome and Napels) and one hostel (Salerno). Although the hotels had a high level of luxury, they could not compete with service level and…"

Read all Ave Gratia Plena reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salerno?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salerno

Hostel Koine
16.45 USD

Hostel 72.8% 121 reviews
B&B EOS Garden Events and Breakfast Amalfi Coast
49.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Sicilì
25.30 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

125 out of 134 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ave Gratia Plena'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 111 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roderik Akkerman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Roderik would recommend this property

Liked: We did a trip through Italy, booked two four star hotels (Rome and Napels) and one hostel (Salerno). Although the hotels had a high level of luxury, they could not compete with service level and atmosphere at the hostel. Definitely recommend everyone staying at the Amalfi Coast!

Disliked: Roderik left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very pretty hostel, the patio is very nice and the balcony as well, there are enough chairs to just hang around if you want. The place is clean! The showers are big and I never had to wait to take a shower. There is Wifi, the staff helped me with directions and info. What I really appreciated was that when I didn't realize I gave them too much money and they didn't either, they stopped me a few hours later to give me back my money even though I wouldn't have even noticed it. The location is really good, right in the historical center and 5 minutes from the beach (it's not the best beach but I don't think there are very nice ones in Salerno). It's like a 20 minute walk from the train station.

Disliked: The bed was really squeaky. And the lockers didn't have locks. But you can leave things at the reception if you want them to be safe.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BRUNO MARQUES

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 BRUNO would recommend this property

Liked: Large room with 12 beds but the beds are far apart, Beds are good. No curtains! Good value overall.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alison Schuback

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: The building has so much charachter, it is in nice part of the city with restaurants and bars nearby. nothing is too far away really. The courtyard is very pleasant at night with the bar open. Nadia at reception is extremely helpful with directions etc and is vey friendly. Stefania at the bar also very friendly....makes a great Negroni! They provided lockers in the room which was handy however not really big enough to put your main luggage in as well.

Disliked: Poor ventilation at night, generally people shut all the doors at night and then there is no air! Bathrooms ok with great pressure and hot water but only 2 chairs to put your stuff on and feel quite exposed....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great place in a great location. 2.00 curfew which came in handy for the usual inconsiderate ones. Stayed here with my 3 older kids. Affordable accom for the family.

Disliked: Would have liked curtains on the windows ( dorm C).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FREMONDIERE MELANIE

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 FREMONDIERE would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really beautiful and safe and the staff truly helpfull and friendly. (And we had a free drink when we arrived :-))

Disliked: It is REALLY noisy; if you stay in one of the shared rooms you'll ear music and people speaking from the downstairs' bar untill 2am. If you need calm choose a private room (they are higher) or find another place to stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value or money, nice big rooms with a balcony

Disliked: Too noisy at night time. I needed a good nights sleep on the first night, but the music in the communal outside area was too loud (like a nightclub).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chrys Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Chrys would recommend this property

Liked: It is located 2 streets from the sea and next to the main shopping street. The staff were really helpful answering all my questions. Check out Bar Nettuno, the best gelato shop in town.

Disliked: There were only 2 showers in the women's toilet for the whole floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is helpful

Disliked: toilet and shower room for female attached with automatic light. But when I took a shower about 10 min. Light was shut down all, black out. So I had to wrap myself with shampoo on activate light again.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the average generally. It was a hostel with a feeling of cleanliness.

Disliked: I was sorry that WIHI was not free of charge.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alicia Englefield

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great. The staff were helpful, there are SO many excellent eateries nearby; it's right by the bay, and to stay in such an incredibly old (but fitted out with excellent amenities) building in such an historic town, was really amazing.

Disliked: Nothing of note.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean spacious facilities, great open common space and very friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Limited toilet/showere facilities for dorms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Onur Kumcu

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Onur would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to stay. There was enough place to meet other travellers. There was a safe luggage room. And if you want to visit Amalfi coast you should stay here, you can easily go there with regular bus connections. I'd definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This youth hotel was created from the rest of a covent and thus has a lot of charm. We stayed in a dormatory but no one else was in it and we were able to have a huge room only for us. The staff was helpful and gave us all the information we needed.

Disliked: There was no air conditioning. Because there is a bar in the garden of the hotel, opening the window led to noice so we were a bit warm. However, the bar closes fairly early and the night was better afterwards.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting and great bar area. Very friendly

Disliked: no free wifi

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok considering the price, and the location is great which is really nice

Disliked: Bathroom & toilets disgusting - a toilet seat would be nice Some staff were great, others not..... The area is safe but some rooms are all accessible from the balcony, anyone could have come in

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location and very clean and large rooms. Nice courtyard.

Disliked: Very small showers!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, beds comfortable, great location close to the water and good restaurants, safe, very nice courtyard to relax and eat in. Great value

Disliked: wi-fi, towels, breakfast were all extra money. breakfast was basically bread and cereal, no fruit and yogurt as advertised. claimed to offer 24 hour tea and coffee but they ran out and did not get more so there was none for 2 out of 4 days. nights (and mornings!) can be very noisy so bring earplugs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the setting and the layout, beautiful courtyard.

Disliked: The shower was tiny and leaked which made the bathroom floor a bit like a skating rink

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011

Liked: nice staff!

Disliked: far from train station, shower cubicle vera narrow!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building, is very very beautiful for being used like a hostel.

Disliked: The check in at l4.00 hs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Corey Reynolds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfortable. Staff was very friendly. Clean showers and bathrooms. Breafast not included, cost Eu3.00 but was good value with unlimited coffee. Only drawback is that WC And shower are in same room so if some jerk locks the main door, you are s.o.l. while he takes a long shower. Very nice location in center of old town. Ask anyone for directions, all know where it is (because church of same name is next door).

Disliked: Only one shower per floor and in same room as wc

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nadia Rivet

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 September 2011 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was fantastic. Showers in dormitory was clean. Personnal at the reception was gentle.

Disliked: We have to pay for wifi

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and good location

Disliked: Instead of putting lots of pictures in the website they should explain how to get to the property after you left the train station. The 8 beds bedroom is veeeeeery noisy till 2am, and early in the morning people is turning on the lights. I got really tired after spending a night there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Tammer

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: No critic!

Disliked: It was super clean, near to the beach, very beautiful yard, rich and tasty breakfast, helpful staff and a great atmosphere. Wonderful stay there!


See all Salerno hostels