HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Colisseum Lodge

Hostel | Via Merulana, 110, Rome, Italy 00185

94.6% Overall Rating

92 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/03/2014)

"I stayed in the double room with shared bathroom it was excellent. Good kitchen and fridge facillities two bathrooms to use. In a excellent location at most 10minutes walk from termi station. Make sure you look up…"

Read all Colisseum Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Conte House
38.70 USD

Hostel 84.3% 219 reviews
Ariosto B&B
31.79 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 43 reviews
Centre of the World
41.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.4% 15 reviews
Trinity B&B
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 28 reviews
Luna Home
31.79 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Nika Hostel
41.46 USD

Hostel 98.6% 131 reviews
Home Friends Li
27.64 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 23 reviews
Auditorium Di Mecenate
69.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.3% 234 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.6%

Overall Rating

92 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Colisseum Lodge'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 91 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andre brunelli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 andre would recommend this property

Liked: - clean - staff was helpful - available kitchen

Disliked: - the staff lacked a bit of knowledge on transport and logistics for going around Rome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Triana

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

02 April 2014 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly & helpful staff, great location, spotlessly clean & comfortable,

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were extremely nice and helpful, and made the stay a pleasure

Disliked: Breakfast was actually just coffee and a danish in the nearby cafe - good coffee and a good danish, but still rather minimalist.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quite, centrally located, friendly staff, nice room

Disliked: A 4-person room had 2 double beds. The address is misleading, the rooms are in another street. The breakfast was really small and sketchy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the double room with shared bathroom it was excellent. Good kitchen and fridge facillities two bathrooms to use. In a excellent location at most 10minutes walk from termi station. Make sure you look up location before going as I had trouble finding it. I walked all over Rome from here no problems. Very friendly staff, secure room and quiet. Breakfast was amazing and areal treat to start the day. Thank you for a great holiday- keely australia

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cheryl hurt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Metro and very close to the Coliseum. Sarah was a wonderful host and maintained a clean and calm environment.

Disliked: Only smoking area is a busy main street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yang ya Tan

Alone

Relaxation/spa

08 March 2014 Yang ya would recommend this property

Liked: All of the above. Especially good for single female traveller age 58, a very pleasant clean and comfortable place at nominal cost. Ms SARA was wonderful. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: Nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room, which are located in a different building. It was clean and safe. The room was well equiped with its own bathroom and even had a tv . It also had a small balcony which was perfect if you are a smoker like me. There is a small kitchenett with microwave, kettle and tea. The staff are very accomodating and went out of their way to fulfill any request you may have. The location is good as it's close to the Termini station. You can get the metro from Termini f you don't want to walk all the Via Merulana carrying bads. It's only two stops by metro , you get off at Manzoni and then walk to the hostel. I would recommend doing that specially on the way back when you have familiarized yourself a little bit more with the area. Also it's handy to take the metro to the Vaticanm, Villa Borghese, Piazza Spagna etc. A nice place to stay for very good value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this hostel was brilliant. I loved the friendly atmosphere and the homely feel of the place. It was right in the centre of Rome and was such great value for money. I rarely (if ever) stay at the same place twice, but Colisseum Lodge might just prove to be an exception.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location of the property (5 minute walk from the Colosseum) and the friendly staff. It was nice to have a full kitchen so that we could save money by cooking some meals. Sarah, the property manager, lives in the hostel and is extremely helpful and kind.

Disliked: The 6 person room only had access to one bathroom. It wasn't really an issue for us but it could be for some people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karina Thiel

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

17 February 2014 Karina would recommend this property

Liked: A very charming and small hostel with dorms, small kitchen, as well as private rooms. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private twin and were very thrilled to discover the room had a small balcony! The location was on a side street and was very quite, yet still close enough to walk to the Colisseum. What makes this hostel special is the attentive and caring service provided by Sarah. She was very kind and helpful during our stay.

Disliked: Nothing! Breakfast is smaller than expected, but fruit was provided so it was enough for us.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i basically liked everything, Sarah was friendly, the hostel is quite, the room is pretty and clean and the spaces are big. the kitchen is totally equipped and so on..

Disliked: but just one thing, the breakfast could be improved. In other hostels, they gave me pretty big breakfast, so i just had to eat two more dinner each day, but when i stayed in Rome the breakfast was small, so i ate 3 more meals, which means i bought another breakfast. well, maybe it's because i ate a lot :) haha

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NAHYUN AHN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 NAHYUN would recommend this property

Liked: Kind staff. Clean room

Disliked: Not working Elevator

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sarah was so nice and helpful. Really clean and well-presented place.

Disliked: Minimal self-catering facilities.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in an apartment block, so it doesn't feel like a hostel. Very homey and comfortable. Sarah, who's in charge of the 6 bed dorm, is incredibly friendly, helpful and keeps everything clean and spotless! Good for solo travelers. Located about 10 minutes walk away from the Colosseum and about 15 minutes from Roma Termini. The area is very quiet, there's no noise from the street at all. Rome is a very walkable city, so it's quite easy to get to all the other tourist attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, security, and friendly staff.

Disliked: Its more a flat than a hostel, which can be good and bad at the same time. Definitely good if you want a quiet space since there is only one big room with 6 beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Flynn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the cosy feel of the hostel, like a home away from home. It was a haven away from the hustle and bustle of Rome! Sarah, the manager at the hostel, was an amazing host, helping me with whatever I needed advice on, and she was so so so kind and friendly. I totally recommend staying here!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and comfortable and the staff was really nice!

Disliked: There is not a locker to put all your things, just a safe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CLARISSA SILVA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2013 CLARISSA would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very cozy place. Doesn't look like a regular hostel. Is very small and comfortable. I was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed. The location is nice, just few minutes walking from Coliseum and the Metro Station. Is close to the Termini Station but far enough to feel like in you in a nice neighborhood. There are nice restaurants, laundry and supermarket close. The place is very quiet and you cant hear the avenue at all. Sarah (staff) is a very nice and professional person which make me feel like home.She helps you to find what you need in Rome. As soon as you get there, she does all the presentation and gives you a map. It is a kind of place for those who want to enjoy Rome and at the end of the day want to rest in a quiet place. There is a library with different titles for those who want to read something.

Disliked: I like everything.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location (approx 20 minutes walk from Roma Termini train station, 10 minutes walk to the Colosseum, albeit more like 30 minutes walk from the Centro Storico). It's not in an especially touristy area so it feels like real Rome. Comfortable beds (mostly single beds rather than bunk beds, which I liked). Nice kitchen and bathroom. Sarah, the staff member, was friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English.

Disliked: The clip to put the shower head into was missing, which meant you had to shower with one hand while holding the shower head in the other. This is probably a temporary problem until they get it replaced and isn't too much of an issue for a couple of nights. The lockers are electronic with code access, rather than needing a padlock, and are big enough to fit a large handbag but not all your luggage. Also, when I arrived and was given the code for my locker I saw where all the codes were noted down so I could easily have looked at that later and opened the other lockers if I'd wanted to. This should be kept in a safer place. Overall I really liked it though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: walls werent very soundproof

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, cozy and friendly

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are super friendly and it's very clean. It's one of the best hostel that I ever stay at.

Disliked: Breakfast can be a little better.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels