HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Colisseum Lodge

Hostel | Via Merulana, 110, Rome, Italy 00185

92.9% Overall Rating

127 out of 128 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2014)

"Sara is incredibly friendly and helpful, and definitely makes Colisseum Lodge a great place to stay. I stayed in both the 6 bed girls dorm and a private room located in another building nearby and they were both…"

Read all Colisseum Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Conte House
32.99 USD

Hostel 91.0% 227 reviews
Ariosto B&B
29.62 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 43 reviews
Centre of the World
40.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.0% 18 reviews
Trinity B&B
26.93 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 42 reviews
Luna Home
30.16 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Nika Hostel
35.01 USD

Hostel 93.7% 160 reviews
Home Friends Li
22.89 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 27 reviews
Auditorium Di Mecenate
37.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.3% 234 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

127 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Colisseum Lodge'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 89 of 126 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities were really good, I was happy about it.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sara is incredibly friendly and helpful, and definitely makes Colisseum Lodge a great place to stay. I stayed in both the 6 bed girls dorm and a private room located in another building nearby and they were both extremely nice. The rooms are cleaned everyday, breakfast is provided at a local bar (Italian style which means a drink and pastry) and juice and fruit are provided free in the hostel. It's certainly not a party hostel by any means, but if you're looking for a clean, quiet place to sleep in a nice area of Rome (fairly close to the metro, decent number of buses nearby) with an extremely friendly manager, you really can't beat this place.

Disliked: Nothing, it met and exceeded all of my expectations and Sara does everything she can to make your stay exceptional.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and comfortable stay here. The room was large and spacious (no bunk beds), and bathroom was very clean.

Disliked: Was a bit hard to find. The hostel is tucked up in an apartment complex, with no signs outside indicating that it's here. Make sure you get the address number right.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filip Margan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Filip would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanless and service is extraordinary - hotel-like! Great location near major tourist attractions!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Daw

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy and quiet.

Disliked: Amelia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Buchner

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Sarah was very sweet, friendly, and helpful. I was very pleased with the facility except for the lack of air conditioning. We also booked a twin room, but got a double. It worked out though. Our room was in a separate building but that was not a problem, and actually seemed more convenient than staying at the main building. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

Disliked: No AC! We did have a balcony and were able to open the door and windows to cool us off at night. The night air was very pleasant.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Po Yi Tsang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Po Yi would recommend this property

Liked: I was the first time travel to romel, also for the first time live in hostel. I cannot call this is hostel bcs its just look like my home. There hv just one room 6 bed, very clean, so we couldnt feel any trouble and noisy overthere. There hv 2 metro stops, supermarkets, monopoly Italian food shops, lot of foods shops and coffee shop around here, very convenient. Btw Sarah is a nice person, she take care everything here, and she is very enthusiastic, very pleased to answer your questions.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, everything we needed and great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Included breakfast

Disliked: Not enough plugs for the amount of people in one room; need better directions on how to find the property

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIYUN PARK

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 JIYUN would recommend this property

Liked: HERE is awesome When i arrived, i was suprised. because it 's kindness and clean room(big room). i like to have breakfast and fruit ! if i'll go to rome i stay here again you're going to roma(you are woman). you have to choice "colisseum lodge"

Disliked: no..never

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Seng Poh

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday

03 June 2014 Seng would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, and have a small kitchen (only microwave and fridge)

Disliked: Seng left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Very helpful and friendly staff - Clean room - Close to the sights - Short walk to the Metro - Fair price!

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Soledad Berrios

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Soledad would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación es muy buena. A menos de 5 min del metro y cerca del Coliseo. Sarah es muy atenta y amable, siempre me ayudo en todo lo que necesite. Las habitaciones son muy comodas. Hay una cocina que puedes utilizar a gusto.

Disliked: Hay una caja fuerte para guardar las cosas importantes pero no hay lockers para el equipaje. No hay un espacio en común donde puedas conocer a gente, sólo a tus compañeros de habitación.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay for four nights in a private room with ensuite bathroom. Sarah was lovely and so helpful with anything we needed. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was modern (including a balcony which we loved). Great location on a quiet street with a 10 minute walk to the Metro and a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum. Loved the vouchers for coffee and a croissant at the local cafe for breakfast each day. Will definitely be staying here again next time we come to Rome.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sofia correa de sa

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 sofia would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to colosseum.very clean!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Robertson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely located in the centre within 15minutes walk of the Colosseum and Termini Station. The staff were lovely, really helpful in every way. Wifi and breakfast is included in the price. Although Rome is not a cheap city the Lodge is good value and good as a base for a few days. Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - rooms are daily cleaned - fruit and tea/coffee for free + breakfast at bar included - very good location - very quiet hostel - very good service of hosts

Disliked: Nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Milad Akbari

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Milad would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: it is supposed to pay 88€ on my arrival but they took of me 92 € !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANDRE MOKODSI

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 ANDRE would recommend this property

Liked: Really good! Sarah is very kind and helped us a lot! Highly recommended!

Disliked: No hair dryer

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amie Kjellstrom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Amie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, a roof over your head in Rome while you spend the days exploring the city. 15 minute walk from the colosseum. Friendly staff. Breakfast is down the street at a bar but I didn't go.

Disliked: It's not a hostel, just a spare room in the owners apartment. For my purposes it was more than fine but might be misleading when you book online.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

RAPEEPORN OUNCHALANON

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 RAPEEPORN would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen provided.

Disliked: space for 6 people' belongings is not enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is excellent and always takes care about the comfort of guests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andre brunelli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 andre would recommend this property

Liked: - clean - staff was helpful - available kitchen

Disliked: - the staff lacked a bit of knowledge on transport and logistics for going around Rome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Triana

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

02 April 2014 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: nothing


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels