HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

The Secret Garden

Guesthouse

Via Bixio 48, Rome, Italy

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 81%

Safety 84%

Staff 82%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels Not Included"

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 59.19USD

Important Information

City Tax not included: 3.50 euro per person/night

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 81%

Safety 84%

Staff 82%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is very close to metro and easily accessible from main train station. However the area can seem dodgy at night time but the hostel itself is very secure so highly recommended. Very clean and spacious. Good breakfast provided also. Supermarket near by which is perfect.

Disliked: Sometimes your room can be at the other building a few minutes walk from the building where you check in but that is ok as both the buildings r very nice.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is amazing! My room (the one only for women) had a balcony and the most wonderful view, not the mentioned the person who kept playing the piano and the violin during the day.When we had a problem, the staff would always try to help us and fix it right away. The breakfast was also really good, it's not common at all anymore for hostels to serve it and I'm glad Secret Garden does it :)

Disliked: The wifi is really bad, the cleaning schedules could be a bit later than it actually is and the location of the hostel is a bit creepy at night for people who are travelling alone. But having that said, the hostel is amazing and the slightly creepiness of the Termini at night should not keep you from going!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Breakfast was orrible

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good rooms

Disliked: That the atmosphere was not so good when I visited

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Complementary breakfast

Disliked: The doors are so loud

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It offered more then we expected; airconditioning, a minibar and a little garden next to our (groundfloor) apartment.

Disliked: The reception is a 3 minutes walk. Are aware that you at arival have to go to the reception of the Ciakhostel (2 blocks away)

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Away from the main hostel (but not too far away) the accommodation was superb by hostel standards.Very safe and secure and with the bonus (in the room we booked) of our very own enclosed garden area plus use of the roof terrace (where breakfast was served and with basic cooking facilities for other times of the day).

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location

Disliked: The staff are terrible - I've stayed in a lot of place on my travels over the years and would rate the staff the worst I have dealt with - shocking! I would consider myself an easy going guy however when you report the shower is broken and they still haven't fixed it after 5 days it is very disappointing and it is born out of the staff attitude - very work shy!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: room size (double deluxe) was amazing. Lots of space. Staff at the hostel were friendly and helpful, offering advice and assistance where possible. Comfortable bed. Only 15 - 20 mins walk from the colosseum, metro stations and nice cafes nearby. Supermarket round the corner. Towels provided. Kettle -but not cups or cutlery.

Disliked: Not the fault of the hostel as such, but when noisy guests meant disturbed sleep, door slamming, up and down stairs very late at night.Breakfast WAS terrible but free, and the kitchen in the secret garden was grim. Didn't try at the Ciak hostel. However 4 euro got coffee and a croissant elsewhere, and supermarket was close for alternatives.Room smelled a little - guess due to the old sewers.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, spacious room, not far from historical center

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability