HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostella female only

Hostel | via Gaeta 70, Rome, Italy 00185

92.2% Overall Rating

112 out of 115 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2014)

"Hostella is very, very close to Termini station. The location made travelling around the city much easier. It was also a clean hostel because they clean it every day. I found breakfast very charming. It was simple with…"

Read all Hostella female only reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Eurostars Domus Aurea
829.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
WOW ROMA B&B & HOSTEL
24.88 USD

Guesthouse 99.3% 4 reviews
Residenza Giustiniani
34.55 USD

Hostel 79.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Cressy
29.37 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.0% 21 reviews
Volturno House B&B
24.88 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 116 reviews
Roman Holidays Hostel
33.17 USD

Hostel 88.9% 81 reviews
Legends Hostel
31.79 USD

Hostel 78.4% 363 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
36.48 USD

Hostel 85.3% 595 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

112 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostella female only'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 115 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LINGZI LI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 LINGZI would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building and good room.

Disliked: no

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful in every problem. The beds and toilets were very clean. Location is also good, 2 minutes to Termini.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to Termini station and reasonable to walk to all the key attractions. Immaculately clean and very helpful receptionist on in the evenings.

Disliked: Didn't realise the next door kitchen facilities could be accessed by borrowing a key from reception. Also with only two showers was a bit if a wait sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ChiungYu Chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 ChiungYu would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is nice and helpful.

Disliked: no

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janne Johannsen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Janne would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were really big and very clean. There is a nice common area and the breakfast (coffee/tea, croissant and joghurt) was alright if you consider that Italians don't have breakfast at all.;) The hostel was within walking distance of the Metro and the main train station (about 5 minutes) and also all the main sights were within walking distance (about 20-30 minutes). I really enjoyed staying at Hostella!

Disliked: As it is a really small hostel, it is "closed" bewteen 10:30 and 14:00 for cleaning. So when I arrived at the hostel at about 10:30 I had to leave again right away as there wasn't even a place to sit down just for a while, drink a coffee and plan the day.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt safe, clean, just a very nice to be a hostel.

Disliked: Location is good but place was a bit tricky to find; no big signs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean and a very safe environment. I had to catch a cab at 4am and one of the lovely receptionists stood outside and waited with me. They all speak great English and the facilities are perfect. 5 min walk from the Metro cannot complain!

Disliked: Chloe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: being so close to termini was great and being all female was just easier. it worked for me. showers always hot, good coffee for breakfast if you like strong as i do! would stay again.

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewa Flejta

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and safe. Very friendly Staff. Good location close to Termini.

Disliked: Ewa left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Termini, a supermarket, and laundromat. The staff is generally very friendly, with varying degrees of helpfulness. Rooms are fairly spacious. Facilities are wonderfully clean.

Disliked: There is a 'lock-out' for about 4 hours every day. Breakfast, while included, is very meagre. The staff hadn't switched the air conditioning on, so the hostel was at times stuffy and worse than outside. Bunk beds were slightly unstable. Also, the female-only atmosphere can wear on you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, very safe and clean, and overall a very pleasant stay. The wifi worked extremely well and they have maps at the counter, which helped a lot.

Disliked: The bed was a little hard.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean

Disliked: a lot of restriction, feel like staying in cloister

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place. It's enormously clean, especially the kitchen and bathrooms (though you can't always trust all the guests to clean up decently after themselves - which is not the hostel's fault). The rooms are beautiful and spacious enough, beds are comfortable, breakfast is decent (coffee, tea, croissant, yoghurt). Location is not super hip but in a nice enough, very safe area, just off Termini, which makes it extremely easy to get around the city.

Disliked: Staff was a very mixed experience. There are basically two girls working there, one of them is extremely nice and super helpful, always friendly and welcoming. The other one, though, gave us - at all times - the feeling that we were actually disturbing her just because we were there. Even when we were checking in she looked annoyed. On one morning, she was talking very loudly to someone in the kitchen for what must have been at least half an hour. The effect was that everybody living on that floor was woken up very early (could not have been much later than 7am or 7:30) and very unpleasantly. Sounds from the kitchen carry very clearly into the bedrooms and she must have known that. She obviously simply just didn't care. Another morning we got up late because we didn't hear our alarm clock, so we went to breakfast at 9:45. Althoush breakfast is served until 10 and we were thus still decently in time, the staff girl was really pissed off by our appearance, which for me is a no-go. First of all, if you're working in hospitality, you should just be able to accomodate gueste, even if they don't behave 100% the way you planned it. Second, she didn't even have to do anything, because we were helping ourselves to the breakfast items and also washing our own dishes (it's a hostel, so that's perfectly normal) - the only thing we changed in her routine is that she could switch of the coffee machine 10 minutes later than she had first wanted to. So, really unpleasant person. Fortunately, most of the time the other girl was there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a clean hostel with good facilities, good position and nice rooms :-)

Disliked: The only think that i didn't like is the noise ... But this dependent also of the persons staying there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIANJING HE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 JIANJING would recommend this property

Liked: lovely

Disliked: JIANJING left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pascale copin

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2013 pascale would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent accomodation, spacious, warm (winter time), clean, well organized with good eye for details (computers available, wifi in the rooms, individual lamps by bed post, books at disposition). Really close by Termini in a safe part, extremely practical for all means of transport. Also close to a supermarket just down the street. And good italian breakfast, it is always nice to start the day with a cup of coffee that can be had on a lovely terrace. The staff is friendly and helpful (as I had to book my stay in different rooms due to the hostel being full, on arrival they managed to have me stay in the same room and bed which was much more practical) . I am looking forward to going back on my next stay in Rome.

Disliked: Not a dislike but as a recommandation the water in the shower could be a bit hotter.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TAMAYA MIYUKI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 TAMAYA would recommend this property

Liked: The locaition is good!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The culture was pretty quiet, and it had adequate facilities that I wanted and needed.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Brown

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 February 2013 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: We absolutely adored this hostel and wholeheartedly recommend it to any woman looking for economical accommodation in Rome. The staff put in a lot of effort to orient us and make us feel welcome.

Disliked: There are two flights of stairs up to the property so if you have mobility problems or exceptionally heavy suitcase(s) maybe you should be prepared.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Min Chih Yen

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 February 2013 Min Chih would recommend this property

Liked: gut.

Disliked: too perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff, good breakfast, wi-fi, nice and clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

Disliked: The water was sometimes not hot or even really cold. Will be better if there are more shower rooms, since there are many girls living in the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really nice. friendly and helpful. she was always welcoming to be asked for advice for looking around Rome. and the location is very close to the station, even closer to the bus stop for shuttle bus to and from the airports. (I don't know whether all the shuttle buses are stopping there, but at least two of them stop at that bus stop.) the bathrooms are clean. the kitchen facilities are prepared very well.

Disliked: only once of my five times, the shower was not hot. my roommate had the same problem. I guess that they cannot supply hot water when a lot of hot water is used in short time because only at that one time I used the shower in very busy time. it might be difficult to find the hostel because there is no sign. but if you focus on the building number (70), it is easy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yanlin Feng

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Yanlin would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostella, near to the train station, new, clear, very helpful staff! my daughter was sicked, cristina has helped a lot.

Disliked: Yanlin left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels