HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sunshine Hostel Rome Hostel

Via Giolitti, 208, Rome, Italy

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 73%

Staff 88%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

he reception is open until 2pm if you arrive at a different time please contact us to schedule your check in we are very happy to have you here. Our check in is 24hrs but you need to contact us.
In case of no show the property will charge the amount of two nights.
City tax is not included € 3.50 per person per night

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 73%

Staff 88%

Value 85%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: croissant

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: rooms were fine, bathroom was clean

Disliked: 1. i left two items behind. i emailed them the same day i left so they could hold them for me to pick up. no response. i emailed them four times in total, without a response. when i showed up they had one of the two items, 2. finding the location. it would be very easy to give clear walking directions, by simply stating the house number, and the house number across the street, would have saved my 30 minutes of walking back and forth with a heavy bag on back

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating


30 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Service was amazing, I was very well received and looked after during my time at this hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The only thing I liked about this property was the fact that everyone hated it equally.

Disliked: The better question is what I didn't I dislike about? The host was SO rude. I have never dealt with someone so rude in my entire life. I have told everyone to avoid this hostel at all cost.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Moti the caretaker was extremely helpful and made my friends and I feel right at home. He offered lots of helpful advice about places to see and eat. The space was clean and well maintained. The kitchen had supplies for cooking with no charge. The people in the other rooms of the hostel were quiet and respectful.

Disliked: Las Ramblas is very touristic and crowded but if you want to be central and near to the beach it is perfect. My only reservations about this place are that the building is shared with other hostels and residents (not all quiet and respectful) and that it is hard to find if you don't know what you are looking for. There is no sign at all (despite what one of the other reviewer said), only a number 6. My recommendation is to call as soon as you get to the cross streets and a staff member will come get you right away.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Super relaxed and friendly, great facilities and staff

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location

Disliked: It wasn't so much safe, to close the room you use a padlock and the window was very old and easy to open from outside. The entrance is very dirty and insecure.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location couldn't be any better. Situated just beside La Rambla and a few minutes walk from the metro; this place is perfect for tourists on a weekend break. The staff (one guy) is very nice and cheerful. The bathrooms were my biggest concern before I left but I was happy to see that they were pretty clean.

Disliked: The building looked a little dodgy. When you are outside or walking up the stairs, you might think that it was a big mistake to take this accommodation but ones you are in, I think you will be less worried.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Have to especially mention Carlos ( the guy who takes care of the hostel ). He is a genuine awesome guy. Made us feel right at home and was very warm to all of us. Rooms were spacious and clean and toilets were cleaned regularly too. Will definitely stay there again the next time i visit Barcelona. Good location and value for money

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owner was very friendly. The hostel is very central near Las Ramblas.

Disliked: The house in which the hostel is located is very old and dirty. The hostel itself is a flat on the second floor in which the owner himself is also living. Unfortunately the linens were dirty and full of white stains after our arrival. We spent the first night sleeping on our towels on the bed. After the first night the owner promised that the linens were cleaned and that some stains couldn't be removed in the washing machine, and we got new linens. But the stains wede definitely caused by the people who slept there before and the lines had not been cleaned (we found also a hair on the linen). There were also lots of cockroachs in the hostel (in the bathroom and the kitchen) which are not unusual in Spain, but I've been to Barcelona several times and never saw cockroachs there before. The bathroom and the kitchen were cleaned by the friendly owner every day, but the location seemed very obsolete and run-down and especially the bathroom was mouldy. All in all, I would 't recommend that hostel, primarily because of the unwashed linens and the lots of cockroachs.

Check Availability