HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Maison de Marylu

Guesthouse | Via Sforza 14, stairs B flat 4, First floor Rome, Italy 00184

82.9% Overall Rating

31 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Chloe Atkinson thinks…

"It was clean, the room was large and nice and the staff were helpful. We liked the free breakfast also"

Read all Maison de Marylu reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Infant bed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Paolina Rooms
37.95 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.3% 35 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 119 reviews
Domus Elisa
30.36 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 375 reviews
Rose Santamaria
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 161 reviews
San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
37.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bavaria B&B & Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 92.3% 625 reviews
Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
35.42 USD

Hostel 92.2% 107 reviews
Rose B&B and Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel 90.2% 433 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

31 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maison de Marylu'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
77.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 34 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Chloe Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 July 2014

Liked: It was clean, the room was large and nice and the staff were helpful. We liked the free breakfast also

Disliked: Wifi not working and toilet broke

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katarina Oestreich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Katarina would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were big and bright-plenty of room for two travellers.

Disliked: The breakfast was a little lackluster. Carbs, carbs and more carbs. Just a little bit of protein or maybe some fruit available would have been nice. Only croissants and corn flakes!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet, well decorated, good location, friendly staff :)

Disliked: There is supposed to be a microwave in the kitchen, but this was broken during our stay and not replaced.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at the Maison de Julie property and the rooms were large and great for our purposes! The staff was helpful and kind. Definitely recommended!

Disliked: The Wifi was okay, but could have been better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I registered with the Maison de Marylu but stayed at the Julie property (they have 6 different properties in the area). It was phenomenal, from the staff to the room itself. Near the train station and not too far of a walk to major monuments such as the Trevi Fountain and Colusseum. Our host David provided us with a map of the city and a detailed explanation of where to go and what to do. Free delicious croissant and capuccino at nearby restaurants for breakfast each night that you stay. Perfect mixture between somewhat of a hostel and apartment. Beautiful and new furniture and flawless free wifi. You can also store your bags free of charge after checkout. 2 thumbs up for the Maison; they will make your stay in Rome worthwhile!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really central,clean and the staff were really friendly. It's great value for money and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Fonseca

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location specially for who will travel by train the hotel is really near the train station (Termini) you can go walking 10 min. Really easy!! And it is also near the Colosseum you can go walking either!! The place is safe and clean!! The room has a nice size!!! The only thing is that the there is not that much variety of food in the breakfast but is nice also you can live with!! I recommend!!

Disliked: Nothing!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Antonela Terrizzi

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Antonela would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a very good locatin, very clean, the room was beautiful, all new. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast included was OK.

Disliked: They put us in a room in a new building one block away from the main hostel, so we didn´t have a kitchen. (and it said it had a kitchen)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mollie Blouin

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Mollie would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the main attractions (colosseum, restaurants, etc.). The staff is really friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious, there's even an included breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the stay at Maison de Marylu :)

Disliked: It's in an appartment so there is no lobby, but it's fine. Might be a little tricky to do the check-in if you don't have a cell phone but it was okay anyways!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness were very good. Our room was made up each day very well. Wifi was very good and didn't drop out.

Disliked: Some things that could improve is breakfast a bit earlier than 8:20 each day. Also no maps were offered upon arrival.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gianni Regazzini

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Gianni would recommend this property

Liked: La posizione molto comoda e vicina al centro, la cordialità del personale e la convenienza.

Disliked: Gianni left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are spacious and everything is very clean. It is in a convenient location, close to the Stazione Termini and the Colloseo. It is not really a hostel but an appartment and we were a bit confused at the beginning. There was no one to open the door but when you call the phone number they will be there in 2 minutes!

Disliked: Everything was good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Stift

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Angela Holliday

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: EXCELLENT location! 10 minutes from the Colosseum, 10-15 min from the train station. Nice apartment-style hostel. DEFINITELY make sure you take their phone number (there is also a small sign by the door) and have a working phone, as there is no reception desk. They own other B&Bs and hostels, and so just show up to the Maison de Marylu when they are called. The woman who checked me in (Maria?) was extremely friendly and nice.

Disliked: Area seemed a little shady when I got there at night, but turned out to be fine. I didn't like that I couldn't get in right away (I was tired and just wanted to go to bed), but they came within 5 minutes of being called. Also, when we left, she let us have a late check out, but we were supposed to leave the key in the hostel, however, you have to use the key to let yourself out, so it was a bit tricky. If there wouldn't have been someone else in the hostel at that time who generously let us out, I don't know what we would have done (I suppose you call them again?) . Great, clean, friendly hostel, but with a not good view, but the location is well worth it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roberta weems

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 roberta would recommend this property

Liked: Great location... friendly... very clean... would stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing needed to be different!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners marylu and david are really a genuine people. fantastic location, near all the monument. colosseum and roman forum only 10 min walking, they show us everything

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica krakovasky

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Maria is a fantastic person, good host

Disliked: jessica left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels