HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Rose Santamaria

Guesthouse | Via Santa Maria Maggiore 146, - 147 Ground Floor, Rome, Italy 00184

91.4% Overall Rating

146 out of 149 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/11/2013)

Justyna Górak thinks…

"The location is very good. The hostel is situated close to Termini Station and it makes it easy to organize sightseeing. The staff is friendly and helped us with organizing the sightseeing."

Read all Rose Santamaria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please be aware that the lift DOES NOT WORK and property is on the 1st floor

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
41.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Domus Elisa
33.17 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 360 reviews
Bavaria B&B & Hostel
38.70 USD

Hostel 92.9% 569 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
48.37 USD

Guesthouse 68.1% 117 reviews
Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
38.70 USD

Hostel 92.1% 86 reviews
Maison de Marylu
41.32 USD

Guesthouse 86.2% 33 reviews
Paolina Rooms
48.37 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.5% 33 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
37.18 USD

Hostel 78.5% 124 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

146 out of 149 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rose Santamaria'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 109 of 144 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: tres propre bien placé tres calme

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy limpio

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm, welcoming atmosphere. Great location.

Disliked: Were asked to pay over 400 euros in cash even though we were lead to believe they would take card.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marley Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2012 Marley would recommend this property

Liked: IT was clean, quiet, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Came with the most extensive free breakfast I've seen so far, and a good kitchen. Also, the towels were huge!! And the bathrooms were so nice.

Disliked: No complaints

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alejandro Ispani

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location near Termini, beautiful rooms and helpfull staff. Very clean. The breakfast was OK.

Disliked: They have rooms in two different floors, the 1st and the 4th, if you get one on the 4th is quite a set of stairs!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ELSA DIAZ - PINES

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 ELSA would recommend this property

Liked: El personal es encantador, la habitación estaba impecable y era como estar en casa.

Disliked: Todo ha sido genial.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. The accommodation was clean and secure. The close proximity to Termini made it very convenient. No complaints at all.

Disliked: No complaints!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corinne Fasola

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 June 2012 Corinne would recommend this property

Liked: La stanza era spaziosa e pulitissima, i gestori cordiali e disponibili e l'ambiente accogliente e familiare.

Disliked: La strada sottostante è un pò rumorosa di notte

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adél Kovács

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 May 2012 Adél would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, close to everything.

Disliked: nothing :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, the facilities are very clean, the building is current and well maintained, the wifi worked well and the price is good!

Disliked: The entrance from the street is a huge old door which looks as though no one lives on the property.However, once you get pass that door everything is fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ken Arroyo Ohori

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Ken would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, and bright and clean rooms. The staff is the best of any hotel/hostel/b&B I've ever stayed in! Veronica at the reception was unbelievably nice and kind.

Disliked: Ken left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a home from home...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, laptop and internet available free of charge! lovely staff, flexible and friendly!

Disliked: 4th floor, italian breakfast (cookies and coffee) but they do give you cereal to go with it!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very accommodating staff. They had a snafu with our room but provided another the first night and we were well cared for.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

María Jimena Jobe

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 María Jimena would recommend this property

Liked: As I wrote in their guestbook, it was really a pleasure to find such a lovely and comfortable place to stay in my last day in Italy. The location is perfect: just a few blocks from Termini Station, in a quiet neighbourhood and near some restaurants and pubs. I would definitely come back!

Disliked: María Jimena left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ladies who own and run Rosa Santamaria are so, so helpful. Pleasant and generous, they make you feel at home. It's absolutely the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in, and better than many 2- or 3-star hotels. Good location, and cannot say enough nice things about the people here. NB: If you're staying in a smaller group, or for only a few days, they only accept cash because the card companies take 10 euro+ from them every time. So just have that in mind!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Francisco Ferreira

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 April 2012 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: everything except that is hard to find .

Disliked: Hard to find. Is a private door without any indication.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room for 3. I don’t think the photos on the net do this place justice! Front door is a little deceiving but the door number is clear and there is a sign on the intercom. The flat is amazingly clean, well looked after and very modern. The double bed was great, the third bed was a pull out type however this was very comfortable and I got a great night sleeps on it. There was a computer in the communal room and fast wifi in the rooms. We did not use the kitchen facility but they were very clean and looked like they had everything you’d need. The room and on suite were very clean too, and the room was a reasonable size. Location is great for Main train station and Colosseum + all attraction near that. To get to the Vatican we got a tube from the main station, nice and easy and only cost a euro. I’d say this place is more like a guest house then a hostel and the hostess was absolutely brilliant. As soon as we turned up she looked after every little detail. Sorted us out with maps, made sure we knew where we were going, at breakfast she had coffee ready, had cereals and toast ready, made sure we knew how to get to the airport and let us store our bags after we’d checkout – and even gave us a front door key (as we’d return the other set) so we could get back to use the toilet and grab our bags. << This hospitality sets this place above any hotel / hostel I’ve stayed in recently – extremely impressed. Everyone staying in this guesthouse was very respectful and friendly, it’s a quiet place and is suited more towards couples on a weekend break / groups out in Rome to see the sights, eat the food and go shopping. If you are looking for a place to party, meet loads of people and get drunk I’d suggest going for a larger hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the 2 women who worked there were SO nice and helpful, and the room we had was wonderful - spacious, big windows, and the best beds i've ever had in a hostel. it was also very conveniently located in the center of rome.

Disliked: online it said credit cards were accepted, but when we arrived they said we had to pay in cash. i didn't have enough cash on my for our entire stay, but they were very nice and gave me a couple days to withdraw the money and pay. i wish i had know ahead of time, but they were very flexible about it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay. Great location, super-clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Domicela Bartolik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Domicela would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everyhting!!!

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tsvetelina Kotseva

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

26 March 2012 Tsvetelina would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, the girl who ran it was helpful and friendly, but also always there. The rooms were really large and well kitted out - fridge freezer and plenty of storage etc. Nice views onto the Snata Maria Maggiore cathedral and very close to all the sights.

Disliked: It is very badly signposted, It's within a private property and it isn't a place to sleep if you're there for the nightlife.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elcin Cetin

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2012 Elcin would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to stay..very good location, very close to the most famous places in Rome...also very clean and recently renovated rooms..breakfast was sufficient..Especially the staff was great that they were so friendly and welcoming..I would really recommend this place to everybody..

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very clean. Friendly staff. Stayed in the superior double room, very comfortable and nice hot shower. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Austin Larrowe

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2012 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and location were fantastic!

Disliked: The room was pretty plain.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels