HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Rose Santamaria

Guesthouse | Via Santa Maria Maggiore 146, - 147 Ground Floor, Rome, Italy 00184

75.3% Overall Rating

153 out of 161 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/06/2014)

Tamara Kalyugina thinks…

"Wonderful location near basilica Santa Maria Maggiore, not far from Colosseum. We had a nice terrasa for our dinner. The hostel keeper is very kind man Franco!"

Read all Rose Santamaria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please be aware that the lift DOES NOT WORK and property is on the 1st floor

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
37.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Domus Elisa
30.36 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 375 reviews
Bavaria B&B & Hostel
25.30 USD

Hostel 92.3% 625 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 119 reviews
Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
35.42 USD

Hostel 92.2% 107 reviews
Maison de Marylu
37.82 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 37 reviews
Paolina Rooms
37.95 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.3% 35 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
21.38 USD

Hostel 81.8% 164 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.3%

Overall Rating

153 out of 161 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rose Santamaria'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 156 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything about this place. We loved entering through the big wooden door from the street and finding ourselves in the cute little courtyard. The floor we stayed in had three rooms sharing two bathrooms. It felt like we were staying in our own private apartment but at the price of a private hostel room. It had great character and was really clean and pleasant. Veronica and Maria were helpful and friendly. It was only 10 minutes from Termini Station. I would always come back to stay here if I returned to Rome.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carniti Alberto

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Carniti would recommend this property

Liked: Clean,central located,friendly people.

Disliked: Carniti left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RAUL GARCIA CAMPOS

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 October 2012 RAUL would recommend this property

Liked: Sitio muy centrico y recomendable. Y veronica la chica del hostal un genial

Disliked: RAUL left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean,location,fantastic staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is advertised as hostel, but in reality this is more like bed and breakfast. Extremely good location literally minutes to Termini station, Colosseum, subway stops, Fountain Di Trevi etc. Very clean and neat. Veronica speaks 3 languages and is very helpful (if you nice to her she will cook you amazing coffee;)) Greatest value for money you can find in Rome. One thing you should be ready for is long haul up the stairs, but this is how most Romans live, so consider this an "authentic experience". The also provide very useful and big map of center of Rome with all sites worth seeing. We were so impressed by the accommodations that we booked it for staying on our way back to Canada.

Disliked: Nothing really besides the fact that it is hard to find initially (look for a big dark red door beside the hotel)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PHILIP BADCOCK

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 September 2012 PHILIP would recommend this property

Liked: Great value; very clean and comfortable; made very welcome by Veronica.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Pilkington

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Had the most wonderful stay here...the location is fantastic and Veronica was incredibly helpful and obliging..we had a small problem with our hot water in our room on the Sunday morning..Veronica immediately called the plumber who was there in 20 MINUTES (unheard of in Italy, especially at the weekend!!) and the problem was fixed within half an hour, with Veronica offering us a shower in another free room if it hadn't been fixed. The room was incredibly clean and comfortable and a perfect base for a stay in Rome. Would definitely (and hope to!) stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thao Pham

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Thao would recommend this property

Liked: A Home- like feeling hotel, very nice and quiet. The location is near many attractions. The hotel staff is very helpful to suggest attractions to go.

Disliked: Hmm, some of other customers come back late and a little bit noisy. But it is the same prob in any shared- bathroom hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judith Daniels

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: We were allowed to leave our luggage after check out so we could tour before our train left in the afternoon. And we checked in as soon as we arrived in Rome so we could start our adventure without delay. Thanks Veronica and staff.

Disliked: Soap in the shower.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlotte Hoskin

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 September 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was incredibly helpful and friendly, it was in a great location and it was clean and in good condition.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, very clean, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing, really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property had much more of a 'hotel' atmosphere than that of a 'hostel', while still being very reasonably priced. Veronica was very friendly and helpful, and the location was absolutely perfect - centrally placed for just about everything you might want to see. The air conditioning was also welcome in late August.

Disliked: Nothing - some might find the flights of stairs offputting, but if you do have mobility difficulties Rome in general is not a very convenient city!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well maintained with helpful staff and a good breakfast. Great location.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. We went there as soon as we reached Rome to leave our bags. Instead they allowed us to check-in right away as the room was ready. Good location, clean rooms - amazing value for money in a city like Rome!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun Denaro

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly, they even helped us to carry our luggage upstairs. The bathroom and kitchen were spotless clean and the room was very spacious. Good central location in Rome, very close to Termini.

Disliked: Rooms are on the 4th floor, with no lift, but that being said, the staff helped to carry our luggage and it is very well priced and it is Rome where elevators in the buildings are never working.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect just down from Roma Termini station. 20 minute walk to Trevi fountain or less to Colosseum. Very friendly and helpful staff. It was very clean and spacious we had an ensuite.

Disliked: No air conditioning just a fan. Average wifi connection. It was great value for Rome but watch out for the 4 flights of stairs, pretty tough. Little difficult to find, they are written on a small intercom on the street.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012

Liked: There is a supermarket nearby. And also a refrigerator in the room. This is very good in a hot place like rome.

Disliked: You need to carry your large luggage upstairs. It is somehow difficult for me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: veronica is so helpful! she goes out of her way to help you with anything. the room is nice and clean, and it feels like staying in a private apartment. good location, close to the train.

Disliked: the room was incredibly hot! woke up sweating every morning, because there was only a little fan, no air-con. couldnt leave the window open because it was noisy outside.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonia Kogler

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 July 2012 Antonia would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, very helpful, friendly people. The room was clean. The position of the hostel is very good, only a few minutes to terminal. We would choose these hostel again. :-)

Disliked: The breakfast is a little bit sparse, no ham, chees.... but there is a little kitchen, were you can cook, and a icebox is also in the room (if you want to buy some food for breakfast)...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Bennett

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very quiet for Rome city centre, hostel staff very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again witthout hesitation.

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Daniela Sanchez Lopez

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

17 July 2012 Maria Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: In summer, Rome is too hot and the room only had a fence and not air conditioner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Power

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: VERY clean! the property is kept spotless. We had a very big room, the shared bathroom was only shared between us and one other room, as was the kitchen. Breakfast had a good choice of cereal, pastries, fruit, juice and coffee. Staff were helpful.

Disliked: We had a private room which was two floors above what I think is the main hostel, not so good if you want to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location, Great Rooms

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, very clean and the people were really nice! I sure recomend!

Disliked: The only issue were the stairs we had to walk, when you are carryng a lot of luggage is a little issue

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, helpful staff, great location- everything you needed!

Disliked: On arrival took a little while to realise it was through a door- not much to say it's there other than a little sign on a buzzer.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels