HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Rose Santamaria

Guesthouse | Via Santa Maria Maggiore 146, - 147 Ground Floor, Rome, Italy 00184

91.4% Overall Rating

146 out of 149 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/11/2013)

Justyna Górak thinks…

"The location is very good. The hostel is situated close to Termini Station and it makes it easy to organize sightseeing. The staff is friendly and helped us with organizing the sightseeing."

Read all Rose Santamaria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please be aware that the lift DOES NOT WORK and property is on the 1st floor

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
41.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Domus Elisa
33.17 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 360 reviews
Bavaria B&B & Hostel
35.94 USD

Hostel 94.7% 567 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
41.47 USD

Guesthouse 68.1% 117 reviews
Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
38.70 USD

Hostel 92.1% 86 reviews
Maison de Marylu
41.33 USD

Guesthouse 86.2% 33 reviews
Paolina Rooms
41.47 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.5% 33 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
37.18 USD

Hostel 78.5% 124 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

146 out of 149 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rose Santamaria'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 109 of 144 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chernova Elena

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2012 Chernova would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, yet quiet during the night.Room nice and clean. Good bathroom. Bed very comfortable. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: City center,clean,nice Staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean room with helpfull staff. Close to the train station and some monuments.

Disliked: Too much outside noise coming from the streets.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvia Gorski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Sylvia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is excellent! The location near Termini station is great. Veronica is really nice (circled stuff for us on a free map), the hostel is clean, showers are hot. The breakfast is great - cereals, toast with jam or nutella, and fruit.

Disliked: The hostel doesn't make it clear that there is a 2 Euro charge per person per night on top of the what your paying. So we had to add 6 Euro extra per person which we didn't realize we had to pay till we were there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bravo Martine

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 December 2012 Bravo would recommend this property

Liked: Très propre, personnel sympathique, proche de la gare et des monuments à visiter.

Disliked: Bravo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Underwood

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: Everything we were after. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Dave left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ekaterina Akopova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, the rooms are very clean, wi-fi was just ok, so that was pretty much everything we needed

Disliked: One can not make laundry or print anything (your boarding pass) in the hostel. There is a laundry and some internet/fax/copies offices in the neighbourhood though

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cheng-ping ku

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 cheng-ping would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, From Rome Termini you can pull your luggage to the property within 7 min., many attractions are in walking distance. The owner and a young lady work there are very helpful. The place is super clean and you can leave your luggage with them after check out. A perfect place to stay in Rome, you get to meet with other travelers and share the experience. Those with heavy luggage may want to select the rooms in the lower floor.

Disliked: cheng-ping left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tricia Carpenter

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Tricia would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and the location. Also having a kitchen to prepare the occasional meal. We loved this place.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and trustworthy. Nice home apartment feel. Beautiful courtyard.

Disliked: Inaccessible entrance. There was no sign on the door, and we had to wait for 10 minutes because we did not know the owner would be out in the afternoon. I recommend telling them when you plan to arrive.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Chandler

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very hospitable hostess, was helpful and readily available. Scrupulously clean, to the standard of a very good hotel. Fantastic value for money.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lai Chuen Shek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Lai Chuen would recommend this property

Liked: Has kitchen, helpful staff, and many other basic stuff like towels, hair dryer etc.. Room was also quite large.

Disliked: No lift and needed to walk 5 floors up.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Veronica, the property manager, was very helpful and informative.

Disliked: The shower water temperature would fluctuate from hot to warm to cold on a frequent basis.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephen Fuller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The host was lovely, was in a great location (quiet but central) and room was nice

Disliked: Bit hard to find

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A clean and simple hostel with very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Our room on the street-side of the building was noisy due to the street.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 October 2012

Liked: De kamer was klein en basic, maar we sliepen er alleen maar. Goede bedden. Ligt centraal t.o.v. de bezienswaardigheden en erg vriendelijk personeel. Gezien het slechte ontbijt was het koelkastje op de kamer ideaal.

Disliked: het ontbijt was ronduit slecht. voorverpakte croissants, voorverpakte toast en 3 soorten cereals. Alleen jam als broodbeleg. het is beter om je eigen ontbijt bij de supermarkt te halen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Angie Haines

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Angie would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: Not very social

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything about this place. We loved entering through the big wooden door from the street and finding ourselves in the cute little courtyard. The floor we stayed in had three rooms sharing two bathrooms. It felt like we were staying in our own private apartment but at the price of a private hostel room. It had great character and was really clean and pleasant. Veronica and Maria were helpful and friendly. It was only 10 minutes from Termini Station. I would always come back to stay here if I returned to Rome.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carniti Alberto

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Carniti would recommend this property

Liked: Clean,central located,friendly people.

Disliked: Carniti left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RAUL GARCIA CAMPOS

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 October 2012 RAUL would recommend this property

Liked: Sitio muy centrico y recomendable. Y veronica la chica del hostal un genial

Disliked: RAUL left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean,location,fantastic staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is advertised as hostel, but in reality this is more like bed and breakfast. Extremely good location literally minutes to Termini station, Colosseum, subway stops, Fountain Di Trevi etc. Very clean and neat. Veronica speaks 3 languages and is very helpful (if you nice to her she will cook you amazing coffee;)) Greatest value for money you can find in Rome. One thing you should be ready for is long haul up the stairs, but this is how most Romans live, so consider this an "authentic experience". The also provide very useful and big map of center of Rome with all sites worth seeing. We were so impressed by the accommodations that we booked it for staying on our way back to Canada.

Disliked: Nothing really besides the fact that it is hard to find initially (look for a big dark red door beside the hotel)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PHILIP BADCOCK

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 September 2012 PHILIP would recommend this property

Liked: Great value; very clean and comfortable; made very welcome by Veronica.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Pilkington

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Had the most wonderful stay here...the location is fantastic and Veronica was incredibly helpful and obliging..we had a small problem with our hot water in our room on the Sunday morning..Veronica immediately called the plumber who was there in 20 MINUTES (unheard of in Italy, especially at the weekend!!) and the problem was fixed within half an hour, with Veronica offering us a shower in another free room if it hadn't been fixed. The room was incredibly clean and comfortable and a perfect base for a stay in Rome. Would definitely (and hope to!) stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thao Pham

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Thao would recommend this property

Liked: A Home- like feeling hotel, very nice and quiet. The location is near many attractions. The hotel staff is very helpful to suggest attractions to go.

Disliked: Hmm, some of other customers come back late and a little bit noisy. But it is the same prob in any shared- bathroom hostel.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels