HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Rose Santamaria

Guesthouse | Via Santa Maria Maggiore 146, - 147 Ground Floor, Rome, Italy 00184

75.2% Overall Rating

152 out of 160 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/06/2014)

Tamara Kalyugina thinks…

"Wonderful location near basilica Santa Maria Maggiore, not far from Colosseum. We had a nice terrasa for our dinner. The hostel keeper is very kind man Franco!"

Read all Rose Santamaria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please be aware that the lift DOES NOT WORK and property is on the 1st floor

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
40.28 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Domus Elisa
30.88 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 373 reviews
Bavaria B&B & Hostel
32.23 USD

Hostel 87.0% 601 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
38.94 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 119 reviews
Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
32.23 USD

Hostel 92.8% 100 reviews
Maison de Marylu
32.09 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 37 reviews
Paolina Rooms
38.94 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.3% 35 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
36.12 USD

Hostel 75.9% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.2%

Overall Rating

152 out of 160 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rose Santamaria'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 116 of 155 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Asta Kucinskaite

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 Asta would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent location( you can reach on foot Colliseum, Roma Forum, Vatikan, Spanish steps, Pantheon, Trevi fountains), extreme cleanliness (they change towels every two days), possibility to stay in italian spirit house appartaments with the inner hall ( a bit like riad in Morrocco?) staff friendliness, goodwill, hospitality, kitchen - you can cook (there are pots) or just make a cup of tea whenever you want (there are coffees and teas on the shelf), security, home feeling, quietness after day noise outside, heating. Owner Karlos was very friendly, he gave us personal umbrella when it was raining outside, he also swiched on the heating when I needed to dry my shoes. His wife Maria was also very benevolent with internet help. We checked out at 10 am from our room, but it was raining outside, so owners told us that we can stay in apartment as long as we need till our flight home in the night. Housekeeper Veronika also was friendly and kind. She has a beautiful smile. :) She suggested us a good shop of italian items like coffee, spiecies, sweets, etc..Veronika speaks not only italian and english, but also russian. Breakfast is tost, jam, butter, serials, milk, fruits. Good luck to Rose Santamaria in keeping quality and hospitality! :)

Disliked: We stayed for 4 nights in the twin superiour privat part of the hostel, so in the beginning it was difficult to stay in very small room with the window to inner hall, but after 1 night we used to it. Here was quiet and fine. There are 2 bigger rooms as well, with a windows to the street so I think there is a possibility to get a bigger one if you need, just maybe not as quite as a small one.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Millar Lea

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 January 2013 Millar would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was excellent would recommend to anyone. Perfect location and rooms spotless. Very good wifi,nice Kitchen.Gracie Veronica!

Disliked: Millar left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franchentaler Ludovica

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 January 2013 Franchentaler would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly staff.

Disliked: Franchentaler left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cardini Francine

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 January 2013 Cardini would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived at 8 am, Veronika has prepared for us breakfast. VERY CLEAN, and good location.thank you Veronika!

Disliked: Cardini left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Gordon

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: We had perfect stay in this b&b! Thank you Maria and Veronica! They were very friendly and helpful! Location is peace and quiet and proximity to sights. Nice comfortable accomodation and bed. Adequate cooking facilities. We recommend to our friends.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Becky Hammon

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Becky would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great stay, hospitable staff, great sized room, clean, good bathroom, good variety at breakfast. Great location for everything. i would reccommend this b&b.

Disliked: Becky left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Grandinetti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Veronica - the housekeeper- was very friendly and helpful. She took the time to show us a map, and some places she thought were particularly interesting. The room we had was spacious, very clean, and quiet, even though we were on a main road. Beds were comfortable, breakfast includes hot, fresh coffee.

Disliked: During our stay, the elevator was out of service, so we had to walk up many stairs to get to the fourth floor. Not a problem for us, but if you have problems walking or heavy luggage, perhaps request a room on the first floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chernova Elena

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2012 Chernova would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, yet quiet during the night.Room nice and clean. Good bathroom. Bed very comfortable. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: City center,clean,nice Staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean room with helpfull staff. Close to the train station and some monuments.

Disliked: Too much outside noise coming from the streets.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvia Gorski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Sylvia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is excellent! The location near Termini station is great. Veronica is really nice (circled stuff for us on a free map), the hostel is clean, showers are hot. The breakfast is great - cereals, toast with jam or nutella, and fruit.

Disliked: The hostel doesn't make it clear that there is a 2 Euro charge per person per night on top of the what your paying. So we had to add 6 Euro extra per person which we didn't realize we had to pay till we were there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bravo Martine

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 December 2012 Bravo would recommend this property

Liked: Très propre, personnel sympathique, proche de la gare et des monuments à visiter.

Disliked: Bravo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Underwood

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: Everything we were after. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Dave left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ekaterina Akopova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, the rooms are very clean, wi-fi was just ok, so that was pretty much everything we needed

Disliked: One can not make laundry or print anything (your boarding pass) in the hostel. There is a laundry and some internet/fax/copies offices in the neighbourhood though

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cheng-ping ku

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 cheng-ping would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, From Rome Termini you can pull your luggage to the property within 7 min., many attractions are in walking distance. The owner and a young lady work there are very helpful. The place is super clean and you can leave your luggage with them after check out. A perfect place to stay in Rome, you get to meet with other travelers and share the experience. Those with heavy luggage may want to select the rooms in the lower floor.

Disliked: cheng-ping left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tricia Carpenter

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Tricia would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and the location. Also having a kitchen to prepare the occasional meal. We loved this place.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and trustworthy. Nice home apartment feel. Beautiful courtyard.

Disliked: Inaccessible entrance. There was no sign on the door, and we had to wait for 10 minutes because we did not know the owner would be out in the afternoon. I recommend telling them when you plan to arrive.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Chandler

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very hospitable hostess, was helpful and readily available. Scrupulously clean, to the standard of a very good hotel. Fantastic value for money.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lai Chuen Shek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Lai Chuen would recommend this property

Liked: Has kitchen, helpful staff, and many other basic stuff like towels, hair dryer etc.. Room was also quite large.

Disliked: No lift and needed to walk 5 floors up.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Veronica, the property manager, was very helpful and informative.

Disliked: The shower water temperature would fluctuate from hot to warm to cold on a frequent basis.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephen Fuller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The host was lovely, was in a great location (quiet but central) and room was nice

Disliked: Bit hard to find

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A clean and simple hostel with very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Our room on the street-side of the building was noisy due to the street.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 October 2012

Liked: De kamer was klein en basic, maar we sliepen er alleen maar. Goede bedden. Ligt centraal t.o.v. de bezienswaardigheden en erg vriendelijk personeel. Gezien het slechte ontbijt was het koelkastje op de kamer ideaal.

Disliked: het ontbijt was ronduit slecht. voorverpakte croissants, voorverpakte toast en 3 soorten cereals. Alleen jam als broodbeleg. het is beter om je eigen ontbijt bij de supermarkt te halen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Angie Haines

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Angie would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: Not very social

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything about this place. We loved entering through the big wooden door from the street and finding ourselves in the cute little courtyard. The floor we stayed in had three rooms sharing two bathrooms. It felt like we were staying in our own private apartment but at the price of a private hostel room. It had great character and was really clean and pleasant. Veronica and Maria were helpful and friendly. It was only 10 minutes from Termini Station. I would always come back to stay here if I returned to Rome.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels