HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Two Ducks

Hostel | Via Calatafimi No:41, Rome, Italy 00185

62.9% Overall Rating

380 out of 689 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

YOUNG JUN LEE thinks…

"Really nice staff but If he's sleeping, you couldn't get a service. But a room was really cozy and had an individual bathroom, really nice location, just 3 min for walk from Termini terminal!!"

Read all Hostel Two Ducks reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Starting from the 1st of January 2011 Rome City Council will ask for a overnight accommodation tax on tourist service in the city. This fee, 2 euros per night (10 nights maximum) per person (with the exception of children up to 10 years and in Rome residents), will be asked to anyone staying in every overnight accommodation inside Rome's boundaries. The fee, not included in hotel rate, must be paid cash at check in time."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

A Casa di Jasmine
25.52 USD

Guesthouse 74.1% 49 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
32.78 USD

Hostel 85.1% 618 reviews
The Place in Rome
22.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.0% 112 reviews
Legends Hostel
30.90 USD

Hostel 79.0% 368 reviews
Residenza Giustiniani
32.24 USD

Hostel 79.9% 24 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
33.58 USD

Hostel 84.9% 126 reviews
Eurostars Domus Aurea
806.02 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Cressy
26.20 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.9% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.9%

Overall Rating

380 out of 689 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Two Ducks'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
68.8%
Value
69.6%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 386 of 475 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grzegorz Bajer

08 February 2010 Grzegorz would recommend this property

Liked: I was a little bit dissapointed by reading all traveller's reviews but this hostel was really good. Atmosphere was nice, perfect location, friendly staff. And it was a breakfast that I didn't expect for such a low price ;)

Disliked: Grzegorz left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Handki

08 February 2010 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. We arrived at about 23 hours and the staff was waiting for us. The room was big with comfortable beds. The breakfast was light, and there was no towel. But we liked the place, the atmosphere and we had everything we needed.

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, near to train station. There's a supermarket near to it. The room is ok, but is freezing cold during winter. The bathrooms and toilets are just too small, but are clean. Kitchen is small too, more than 4 people in it will be considered 'crowded'. The breakfast is not bad, but quite limited, so have to catch it fast. Sleep more, breakfast gone! In short, it costs only around 9 euro per night, so what do you ask for? Clean, walking distance to train station, cheap, breakfast included. Good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, near Termini station and main bus station; Easy access to airports and tourist sites etc. The hostel is cleaned daily so it's really clean. The amount of bathrooms is low, there are often queues in the morning to use bathroom. It is inconvenient you must leave the room for cleaning time. No security lockers in rooms but rooms are lockable. Staff was nice and helpful. Prices were the lowest in town so the value for money is really good. I would come back again and would recommend to others who are looking for cheap accommodation in the city centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 January 2010

Liked: It's located in the centre of the city, isn't expensive and has friendly, helpful staff. There was warm inside - we were on January - so they definitely don't spare on heating when there's cold outside. I recommend to everybody if someone wants to have a great time in this amazing city!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

28 January 2010

Liked: 1. The address where our rooms were actually located was different from the one stated on the website.2. There was no minimum reception desk conditions: at arrival, we had to phone to the hostel and wait until someone came so that we could check-in.3. Once we returned to the rooms (after sightseeing in the city) we realized that bedroom heating and water heating was turned off. We had to make another phone call so that someone would come and turn the heating on.4. There was no minimum breakfast conditions: we were told someone would come in the morning to deal with breakfast. However, no one came: there was only some food on a small table. Further, in the apartment where our rooms were, there was no proper kitchen, there was no table available for having breakfast and we could not find forks and spoons.5. The rooms were spacious but again they lacked minimum conditions: the number of sits was only one (one simple chair) per double room. Further, our beds had only lower bed sheets, we could not find any second set of bed sheets. Finally, absence of a table in bedroom was noted since the apartment had no kitchen and no proper place for eating.6. There was a bad smell in one of the bathrooms. This smell didn't disappear and would pass into the bedroom unless we kept the bathroom's door closed.7. In the apartment where our rooms were, there was no clerk, no security person, no one to ask for any help: in case of need we could only call a mobile phone number and a guy would come.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brandom Spencer

22 January 2010 Brandom would recommend this property

Liked: If you are searching a quiet and clean place, you have to come here!!!!!!!!!! Is verry close to the train station, and from here you may reach the entire historycall center of Rome!!!!!!!!!!!! Many thanks to Luciano & Albert, there have been verry helpfull!!!!!!!!!!!! And they are nice persons, we have a lot of fun in the evening with other clients!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Brandom left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Aureliano Balducci

08 January 2010

Liked: I liked the location. The hostel is very close to the most important Rome's train station: Termini.

Disliked: Aureliano left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pankaj Taneja

17 November 2009 Pankaj would recommend this property

Liked: Veru helpful staff and there is a feel good factor there...

Disliked: Pankaj left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Walton-Smith

09 November 2009 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time here I would recommend this place to anybody who wants a friendly warm welcome to a foreign town. The two lads who looked after me were cool. The place was just what I was looking for I give them 10 out of 10.

Disliked: Timothy left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

28 October 2009

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were loud in the early mornings which disturbs the guests who are trying to sleep! I appreciate that it is difficult as the reception desk is in the hall.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Manuel Castillo

20 October 2009 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a small hostel, but you get fairly enoufg for the money you pay.

Disliked: Manuel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laurence Wilkinson

19 September 2009 Laurence would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to and good value for money

Disliked: Laurence left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 September 2009

Liked: What I mostly DISliked was the way we were welcomed by the staff of Two Ducks. There was nobody at the desk to check us in when we arrived, which later was reproached to us for not having waited long enough. The staff was, in general, particularly unfriendly, especially when we were leaving. We weren't even aloud to use the bathroom just an hour after having checked out, by a lady member of the staff who wasn't even civilized enough to say goodbye to us when she kicked us out of the hostel because she apparently had more important things to do than actually stay at the hostel and let us use the facilities for five minutes. I'm not generally very picky or difficult, and I do admit that the hostel is, in any other aspects, perfectly normal and satisfying. But such disrespect and lack of basic courtesy as was displayed to us is really unacceptable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

olivia carolan

12 September 2009

Liked: Nothing. I woke up in the middle of the night with bugs all over me and blood on my sheets from where the bugs had been squashed. Luckily there was a spare bed this night that I was able to move to. The next morning, however, I told the cleaner who assured me she would let her manager know. I did not hear from him so after 24 hours I approached reception who again told me they would make sure the message was passed on and that I would surely receive a discount. I never heard from the boss. Upon checkout I was told the boss was out of town and the only thing I was told was to write him an email. I insisted they call and was then refused a discount. As well as the bed bugs there was no airconditioner remote. Only the staff controlled the temperature so one night we froze and the next night was boiling. There was a gas stove but no lighter provided so we couldn't even use it. Toilet paper was not restocked.The shower drain overflowed.One morning breakfast was not even provided. There is no lift at the accomodation used for spare rooms. I was hugely disappointed in the response from this business and its staff when ever we had a question or request and the fact that the bed bug matter was not shown to be taken seriously is scary. In my opinion find a better place in a similar location.

Disliked: olivia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 September 2009

Liked: The people were nice and I liked that I am able to leave my luggage there till 10pm after check out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the short walk to the main train/metro station in rome, termini.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ramon Bruzual

12 August 2009

Liked: It has the basics, a small kitchen and a bathroom per each 15 persons

Disliked: Ramon left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its kinda simpel. Its nothing more than an appartment that have been made into a hostel. Its small and nice to be in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 August 2009

Liked: it was located in not very nice atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Rodriguez Lamas

27 July 2009 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very good Hostel ;)

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Olena Babakova

25 July 2009 Olena would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has good location near Termini train and underground station, it's 20-25 min to Venice square by foot. But it was not very clean, always closed from 11 till 14.30, 7 persons in a room instead of 6, didn't get the possibility to use internet.

Disliked: Olena left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

25 July 2009

Liked: very baD place dont stay here

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels