HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Two Ducks

Hostel | Via Calatafimi No:41, Rome, Italy 00185

62.1% Overall Rating

369 out of 667 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/02/2014)

Adriana Bolzan thinks…

"Locations is great, very close to the central station, quite cheap. You can leave your bag in the luggage room."

Read all Hostel Two Ducks reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 4.14

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Starting from the 1st of January 2011 Rome City Council will ask for a overnight accommodation tax on tourist service in the city. This fee, 2 euros per night (10 nights maximum) per person (with the exception of children up to 10 years and in Rome residents), will be asked to anyone staying in every overnight accommodation inside Rome's boundaries. The fee, not included in hotel rate, must be paid cash at check in time."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

A Casa di Jasmine
45.55 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 45 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
35.20 USD

Hostel 85.4% 594 reviews
The Place in Rome
34.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews
Legends Hostel
34.51 USD

Hostel 79.4% 362 reviews
Residenza Giustiniani
34.51 USD

Hostel 79.6% 22 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
41.41 USD

Hostel 85.5% 119 reviews
Eurostars Domus Aurea
828.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Cressy
27.61 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.0% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.1%

Overall Rating

369 out of 667 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Two Ducks'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
63.2%
Value
68.0%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 377 of 455 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 April 2010

Liked: Except for the location and price,everything in this hostel makes an unpleasant stay,it is ok to accept its simple facility and squeezed space but the staff is really rude and super weird!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

05 April 2010

Liked: nothing! just close to termini station!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Madara Villere

04 April 2010 Madara would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the hostel was very clean - the bathroom, the kitchen and the room. The kitchen was well equipped and there was no noise during the nights. Unfortunately there were no lockers.

Disliked: Madara left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and it is fairly cheap. It´s perfect, if you´re just looking for an easy and cheap possibility to sleep, but there are definitely nicer hostels...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 March 2010

Liked: other tenants

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

28 March 2010

Liked: While you wait for 14:30 check-in, you can sit in the kitchen-lounge and pass the time talking to one of the anti-international staff member as he gives you his clearly well-educated logic on how Americans stole English as well as everything else. While you sit uncomfortably but politely listening to him, the other staff member is hooking up with his preferred hot guest of the night in the not-so-private hallway. There is no door on the bathroom & the beds' cleanliness is questionable. I have traveled all over Europe for the past 7 months and have stayed in other hostels for this same price but this is by far the worst place I have stayed at. There are lockers in the room, which was the only pleasant thing about the place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Carolyn Houze

26 March 2010 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: The one good thing about this hostel was that it was close to the Termini train station so it is easy to go about the city. We had our own room so it was nice to be able to lock our belongings throughout the day, otherwise, it was not as clean as other places I have been to. Our hostel was in a completely different building so if we needed anything (towel, toilet paper, etc..) we had to walk 3 blocks to the main office to get it. A fine acommodation if you don't plan on staying in your room throughout the day which is possible since there is so much to do in Rome. Did not feel as if the beds were very clean and our first couple showers were freezing. Not to mention we ran into some very very strange people staying there.

Disliked: Carolyn left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 March 2010

Liked: It is close to Roma Termini and quiet cheap.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bartosz Rybak

20 March 2010

Liked: .

Disliked: Bartosz left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 March 2010

Liked: What I did like is that they provide towels and have a fridge.BUT what I didn't like was:a) 7 beds in a TINY room. There was practically no space to move!b) Two different locations actually (reception at one location, rooms at the other), very inconvenient.c) The bathroom definitely needs cleaning (mold everywhere!)d) The blankets were rather cold and weren't very clean.e) No internet but that's a minor issue...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is nice and friendly, hostel is clean, location is perfect! Good value for low price!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price was good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ayant voyagé hors saison, ca été, mais je n'imagine meme ce que ca peut donner en juillet ou aout.Il y a à un près 3 salles de 4 lits, et une douche-toilette pour l'ensemble, donc c'est plus que juste.Sinon, c'est idéalement situé, mais le personnel n'est carrément pas aimable.Bref, je pense que ca vaut le prix mais sans plus et à y aller hors grosse saison.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its a very nice place to stay and surely worth the money. the only bad thing was our bathroom cos the ceiling was full of mauld and some in the shower too. they should really get a window in that bathroom.there are other showers though, which i think are better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to go around Rome with that price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big cleaned private rooms. nice brand new private bathroom.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grzegorz Bajer

08 February 2010 Grzegorz would recommend this property

Liked: I was a little bit dissapointed by reading all traveller's reviews but this hostel was really good. Atmosphere was nice, perfect location, friendly staff. And it was a breakfast that I didn't expect for such a low price ;)

Disliked: Grzegorz left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Handki

08 February 2010 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. We arrived at about 23 hours and the staff was waiting for us. The room was big with comfortable beds. The breakfast was light, and there was no towel. But we liked the place, the atmosphere and we had everything we needed.

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, near to train station. There's a supermarket near to it. The room is ok, but is freezing cold during winter. The bathrooms and toilets are just too small, but are clean. Kitchen is small too, more than 4 people in it will be considered 'crowded'. The breakfast is not bad, but quite limited, so have to catch it fast. Sleep more, breakfast gone! In short, it costs only around 9 euro per night, so what do you ask for? Clean, walking distance to train station, cheap, breakfast included. Good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, near Termini station and main bus station; Easy access to airports and tourist sites etc. The hostel is cleaned daily so it's really clean. The amount of bathrooms is low, there are often queues in the morning to use bathroom. It is inconvenient you must leave the room for cleaning time. No security lockers in rooms but rooms are lockable. Staff was nice and helpful. Prices were the lowest in town so the value for money is really good. I would come back again and would recommend to others who are looking for cheap accommodation in the city centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 January 2010

Liked: It's located in the centre of the city, isn't expensive and has friendly, helpful staff. There was warm inside - we were on January - so they definitely don't spare on heating when there's cold outside. I recommend to everybody if someone wants to have a great time in this amazing city!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

28 January 2010

Liked: 1. The address where our rooms were actually located was different from the one stated on the website.2. There was no minimum reception desk conditions: at arrival, we had to phone to the hostel and wait until someone came so that we could check-in.3. Once we returned to the rooms (after sightseeing in the city) we realized that bedroom heating and water heating was turned off. We had to make another phone call so that someone would come and turn the heating on.4. There was no minimum breakfast conditions: we were told someone would come in the morning to deal with breakfast. However, no one came: there was only some food on a small table. Further, in the apartment where our rooms were, there was no proper kitchen, there was no table available for having breakfast and we could not find forks and spoons.5. The rooms were spacious but again they lacked minimum conditions: the number of sits was only one (one simple chair) per double room. Further, our beds had only lower bed sheets, we could not find any second set of bed sheets. Finally, absence of a table in bedroom was noted since the apartment had no kitchen and no proper place for eating.6. There was a bad smell in one of the bathrooms. This smell didn't disappear and would pass into the bedroom unless we kept the bathroom's door closed.7. In the apartment where our rooms were, there was no clerk, no security person, no one to ask for any help: in case of need we could only call a mobile phone number and a guy would come.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brandom Spencer

22 January 2010 Brandom would recommend this property

Liked: If you are searching a quiet and clean place, you have to come here!!!!!!!!!! Is verry close to the train station, and from here you may reach the entire historycall center of Rome!!!!!!!!!!!! Many thanks to Luciano & Albert, there have been verry helpfull!!!!!!!!!!!! And they are nice persons, we have a lot of fun in the evening with other clients!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Brandom left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Aureliano Balducci

08 January 2010

Liked: I liked the location. The hostel is very close to the most important Rome's train station: Termini.

Disliked: Aureliano left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pankaj Taneja

17 November 2009 Pankaj would recommend this property

Liked: Veru helpful staff and there is a feel good factor there...

Disliked: Pankaj left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels