We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Two Ducks

Hostel | Via Calatafimi No:41, Rome, Italy 00185

61.6% Overall Rating

423 out of 756 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

Helen Gleave thinks…

"It had a lift, fans, wi fi in the room, staff were super helpful, it was in a cheap part of Rome with a good supermarket nearby. Liked thecouch in the room."

Read all Hostel Two Ducks reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Starting from the 1st of January 2011 Rome City Council will ask for a overnight accommodation tax on tourist service in the city. This fee, 2 euros per night (10 nights maximum) per person (with the exception of children up to 10 years and in Rome residents), will be asked to anyone staying in every overnight accommodation inside Rome's boundaries. The fee, not included in hotel rate, must be paid cash at check in time."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

A Casa di Jasmine
13.42 USD

Guesthouse 66.4% 61 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
22.36 USD

Hostel 84.7% 635 reviews
The Place in Rome
15.41 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 131 reviews
Legends Hostel
16.77 USD

Hostel 81.0% 379 reviews
Legend R.G
19.01 USD

Hostel 80.3% 30 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
26.83 USD

Hostel 90.5% 143 reviews
Eurostars Domus Aurea
89.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Cressy
15.65 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.2% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.6%

Overall Rating

423 out of 756 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Two Ducks'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
60.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 422 of 542 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011

Liked: just location, near Termini.

Disliked: is not a hostel, is an apartment where they rent beds. Iit is hidden in a street withoutletter, wifi doesn´t work if u have a phone, is nos really clean, bathroom is tiny, well...no the worst hostel of my life, but yes for that price

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to city! all it really has going for it.! no common area to meet people so you just have to hope you have good room mates, fortunately i did but not too sure what would have happened if i hadn't............

Disliked: no common area rude cleaner cooking cleanliness and facilities could have been a lot better

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 May 2011

Liked: so close to the train station

Disliked: No hot water for shower ( I asked for hot water) Just Albert was able to speak italian (in Rome!!!) the other rumenian girls was able just a little bit to speak italian and just that and not others languages ( I helped guest that was not able to speak italian with this girl) No breakfast included (kitchen dirty and full of empty box of juices) No towel

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: all things except location

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011

Liked: near train station

Disliked: not breakfast as anounce, no blanket, no lockers in the bedroom, so small tiny showers and bathroom, only 2 for the complete hostel and comunicates with the receptionist desk, and everything seems under construction. for 24 euros it was a joke.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

TERESA IRINA SALAZAR ECHEAGARAY

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 TERESA IRINA would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location, 5-15 minutes walking to the main train station Termini

Disliked: No internet and had to share the bathroom with men

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kurt Godwin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011

Liked: Close to the train station, and an easy walk to most sights in the city. The shower was tolerable, and a bed was available at the last minute.

Disliked: The whole place and atmosphere is just a bit dodgy. The hostel is in an entirely different building. A building with few working lights and many dark staircases.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the lift and the fact that it could accommodate 15 of us on two floors! Considering we were in Rome this is really good! The area is a lot safer than Termini considering its only 5 mins further away. So, for just 15 € a night this is good value for money know nothing about the kitchen, didn't use it

Disliked: nothing really but it was 15 of us!!!!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location near to Termini, it is save for walking alone in the night.

Disliked: No breakfast, and the picture which I saw in the internet was really quite different

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Pui Yi Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2011

Liked: Quite clean. Quite close to the station.

Disliked: The hostel is divided into the 1st and the 5th floor. I lived on the first floor and the kitchen's stove is not working. Not really any common room to meet people and most important of all, you need to pay 2euros each night for the tax, which is not mentioned in the description. The toilet doesn't flush properly. I waited for the staff to check in for 1 hour...he is not always at the reception...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Luca Anselmi

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 February 2011

Liked: The location is central (5 minutes walking from the mail station) and in a quiet area. No bunk beds and spacious rooms. The kitchen was decent.

Disliked: Not really an hostel (this is actually an "affittacamere") and this means that you have to pay a local tax of 2 euros per person/night. This wasn't written in the "hostel" description at the time of my booking, which happened just a few weeks ago. The key rooms may not work properly. The bathroom (just one for the entire floor) wasn't really clean. It's ok for just one night but not more. You can find better hostels at the same price and in the same area.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The worst hostel i have stayed in!!! There are no lockers so i had to drop off my stuff on the bed and carry the valuable things with me all the time. Actually when i got to the hostel a costumer told me that 50 euro had been stolen from her luggage!! On top of that, the staff is so noisy that couldnt sleep the first night. The final price per night is not 11 euro, is 13 instead.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to make new friends

Disliked: the lift :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cute and well maintained. The rooms were really nice, and the kitchen was decent. The staff were all very helpful.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't very nice, but it wasn't disgusting either. It was hard to find because there is no sign outside - you have to look for the number. And internet is free, but only available on the 5th floor.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Location, the staff not profesional at all.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010

Liked: Staff are friendly and good location

Disliked: Bed bugs! no hot water!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Melinda Mahoney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010 Melinda would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and owner all willing to help with travel plans and help you enjoy your time.

Disliked: The kitchen was left very dirty from the staff and there was never any toilet paper and no one to help you get someone because you could never find someone at the desk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

garcia paula

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 garcia would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff,good location and cip

Disliked: nothing in particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good price!

Disliked: the check-out at 10.30 AM

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agnieszka Zuczkiewicz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2010 Agnieszka would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, near the main station. quiet building (room for 2 person, with bathroom, on via Giovanni no 249), big room with new furnitures and bathroom. value for money, I would recomend it to young people.

Disliked: no towels, no hot water on one of the mornings

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2010

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: bathroom didn't work very well

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we have clean room with our own bathroom

Disliked: no kitchen, no fridge

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

gilberto da silva

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 October 2010

Liked: the one we stayed in was a big room,

Disliked: There was no sign outside the building, I rang the bell, no answer, when finally a neighbour opened the door... Once up there, nobody at the building, the neighbour called on manage's mobile, then he came, and told us the private room where not there, it was in another building just opposit to termini at a dangerous area... Felt very unsafe, in this building there was no reception or kitchen... Terrible, they should write on the descriptions that private room are not at the same building... Will never recomend it to a friend, Not private rooms.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010

Liked: hate

Disliked: this is the worst place i have ever been stayed.rude staffs,tell me no bed availability that they promised at MIDNIGHT---make me walk on the street to find another place to stay.It is a unique experience to me. And the staffs occupied the whole public place to chat,play laptop...no room to clients,so the only thing after u back is stay on ur own bed

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sammy ng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010

Liked: Gave us our own rooms

Disliked: Even though we had a lock on our door, the balcony door kept flying open from the wind and it connects to the next room I got 500$ USD stolen from my stuff


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels