HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Two Ducks

Hostel | Via Calatafimi No:41, Rome, Italy 00185

62.1% Overall Rating

369 out of 667 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/02/2014)

Adriana Bolzan thinks…

"Locations is great, very close to the central station, quite cheap. You can leave your bag in the luggage room."

Read all Hostel Two Ducks reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 4.14

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Starting from the 1st of January 2011 Rome City Council will ask for a overnight accommodation tax on tourist service in the city. This fee, 2 euros per night (10 nights maximum) per person (with the exception of children up to 10 years and in Rome residents), will be asked to anyone staying in every overnight accommodation inside Rome's boundaries. The fee, not included in hotel rate, must be paid cash at check in time."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

A Casa di Jasmine
45.55 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 45 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
36.44 USD

Hostel 85.4% 594 reviews
The Place in Rome
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews
Legends Hostel
34.51 USD

Hostel 79.4% 362 reviews
Residenza Giustiniani
34.51 USD

Hostel 79.6% 22 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
40.03 USD

Hostel 85.5% 119 reviews
Eurostars Domus Aurea
828.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Cressy
27.61 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.0% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.1%

Overall Rating

369 out of 667 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Two Ducks'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
63.2%
Value
68.0%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 377 of 455 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2010

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: bathroom didn't work very well

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we have clean room with our own bathroom

Disliked: no kitchen, no fridge

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

gilberto da silva

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 October 2010

Liked: the one we stayed in was a big room,

Disliked: There was no sign outside the building, I rang the bell, no answer, when finally a neighbour opened the door... Once up there, nobody at the building, the neighbour called on manage's mobile, then he came, and told us the private room where not there, it was in another building just opposit to termini at a dangerous area... Felt very unsafe, in this building there was no reception or kitchen... Terrible, they should write on the descriptions that private room are not at the same building... Will never recomend it to a friend, Not private rooms.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010

Liked: hate

Disliked: this is the worst place i have ever been stayed.rude staffs,tell me no bed availability that they promised at MIDNIGHT---make me walk on the street to find another place to stay.It is a unique experience to me. And the staffs occupied the whole public place to chat,play laptop...no room to clients,so the only thing after u back is stay on ur own bed

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sammy ng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010

Liked: Gave us our own rooms

Disliked: Even though we had a lock on our door, the balcony door kept flying open from the wind and it connects to the next room I got 500$ USD stolen from my stuff

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Bacas Beorlegui Eugenia

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2010

Liked: NOTHING!

Disliked: We arrived at the hostel at 8 in the morning and we left our luggage at the "reception" (there was a kitchen where there were people eating). They showed us our room, but surpresily there was already a boy inside. We booked a double room and they tried to put us into this triple room offering us 10€. just ridiculus. We denied the offer and complained for a double room. Finally they showed us a double room. There were a couple of doors with a lot of porn posters, old paper boxes and it was very dirt, it even had a broken window from where you could see other people in other rooms. We decided to stay there one night and we left the hostel for dinner. When we came back our stuff was at the Kitchen-reception completly open and some of our things out of the bags. security=0. We went to our room and 2 guys from Canada where on our room very upset because the tought we took their luggage away. We went to reception and as nobody appeared we decided to call the police, there was when they came and offered again the triple room. We finally had to fight for the refounding of the completly amount and we had to look for a new hostel at 1.a.m.!!!! THE WORST PLACE I'VE EVER BEEN!!! DON'T GO THERE!! Siamo arrivati al Ostello verso le 8 del matino. Siccome era presto lasciamo le borse nella reception che era una cucina. C'era gente mangiando. Quando siamo ritornati di sera dopo aver visto Roma, il tipo della reception ci fa vedere la nostra stanza. Apre la porta e c'era un ragazzo dentro!! noi avevamo prenotato una camera doppia e questo tipo cerca di convincervi per rimanere in questa tripla diciamo di no, e ancora cerca di convincervi dicendo che ci da 10€, NO!!! dopo aspetare ci da una doppia finalmente. una camera sporca, con prodotti di pullizia in un armadio, fotografie porno, la finestra era rotta... un schifo. ma siccome non avevamo dove andare decidiamo di restarci e andare a cena in città. Quando siamo ritornati, tutta nostra roba era buttata via nella reception. E quando riusciamo ad aprire la porta della camera ce ne erano due canadiensi che erano tutti incazzati con noi per che pensavano che avevamo buttato via tutta la sua roba. Dopo palarci e farci capire andiamo alla reception dove non ce ne era nessuno, e quando minacciamo di chiamare ai carabinieri, usce uno e cerca ancora di meterci nella camera tripla. Dopo litigare un po' siamo riusciti ad ricuperare tutto il denaro della prenotazione e al 1 del matino ci siamo visti cercando hostello!!! IL POSTO PIU SCHIFOSO DEL MONDO.IL POSTO PEGGIORE DOVE SONO STATO!!! NON ANDARCI MAI!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. 2minutes walk from central train station. we walked to everywhere (Vatican etc.). Ideal location!!

Disliked: Shower and toilet room very small, and not the cleaniest. No breakfast.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

26 August 2010

Liked: The closeness to Termini.

Disliked: Even though it was close to Termini, the noise was unbearable and sleeping was hard to do. The AC never worked. The free internet didn't work unless you curled up in the furthest corner of the room with tin foil and a prayer. It was not clear that we had to pay for towels in the bathroom and the maid never came to clean the room.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

mehmet erdal

With friends / other travellers

31 July 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everywhere is in mess' one of the boys staying there lost his mobile phone.It must have been stolen.The working boys are very rude and always drinking

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is free wifi, not a voucher you have to pay for. The room we stayed in had a balcony. The rooms and bathroom were clean.

Disliked: I had to call the number of the hostel in order to be let in, and I really did not want to have to pay for an international call. The person who let me in was across the street in a store somewhere, and no one was up at the desk to buzz me in. The door to the hostel itself is "usually kept unlocked," which means that anyone with a key to the building has full access to the hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean bed sheets everyday, clean rooms, staff friendly.

Disliked: There was only one bathroom on the floor I was staying on between 3 dorms. An extra bathroom/ shower room would be great.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 July 2010

Liked: Only good for meeting other travellers.

Disliked: Where to begin...Unsafe, too close to Termini train station, WAY too hot - in mid july when it's already very hot, lack of air con meant it was very uncomfortable being in the hostel and trying to sleep etc. No real facilities on offer. Shower and bathroom also terrible. Not even value for money - too expensive for what you get.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2010

Liked: it is in a very good location.

Disliked: the staff were very unprofessional, i think one man was drunk on the job. when i was trying to find the hostel i asked a man if he knew where it was, he said he had no idea and started walking away. terns out he was the man who was werking there that night and it was the two customers with him that told me who he was and were to go.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010

Liked: good location

Disliked: no air conditioning in some rooms!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jose Daniel Rito Farias

As a family with children

Family Holiday

06 July 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the shower tap was broken, the toilet was disgusting, there were no ads, they are apartments who are supposed to be a hostel but they are not. the leafleft says it included breakfast wich did not include. horrible

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2010

Liked: The staff was funny. They were running around with water-pistols.

Disliked: It didn't feel serious. There wasn't any locks to the room. The staff didn't seem to know how to do when we were going to check in. The asked ut next morning if we wanted a key. The hostel was inside an apartment five stairs up in a normal house with a handwritten sign on the door that said 'Hostel two ducks' and no sign at all down at the street.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

MARIA TIPPI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 July 2010 MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly environment.

Disliked: Facilities need a reformulation.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 July 2010

Liked: It is close to termini.

Disliked: There is no one at the desk most of the time and you have to call to be let inside the building. The door to the room where the hostel is, however, remains unlocked all night, as do the bedrooms. There is no where to change clothing and the area is quite sketchy at night.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2010

Liked: Nothing, except for the roomies who were quite nice people. Considered clean, it all depends on the people you stay with.

Disliked: We were located to another apartment few blocks away. 1. No hot shower! Worst still... it's freezing cold! 2. No internet access (wifi access only at the "apartment" at Via Calatafimi, and you've to go all the way with your laptop to access wifi in the small tiny kitchen, with very limited power source.) 3. Walking tours?? Sorry I wasn't told any. 4. Air conditioning? Apparently not working! 5. Two Ducks Bar mentioned is totally invisible or non-existence.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010

Liked: great location close to the train station

Disliked: the guys that run the hostel are very very strange

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

27 June 2010

Liked: :((

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The office and hostel is not even in the same building. Only 2 rooms, thus it is hard to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

25 June 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

21 June 2010

Liked: it was convenient to the train station but in a scary area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels