We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Two Ducks

Hostel | Via Calatafimi No:41, Rome, Italy 00185

61.6% Overall Rating

423 out of 756 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

Helen Gleave thinks…

"It had a lift, fans, wi fi in the room, staff were super helpful, it was in a cheap part of Rome with a good supermarket nearby. Liked thecouch in the room."

Read all Hostel Two Ducks reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Starting from the 1st of January 2011 Rome City Council will ask for a overnight accommodation tax on tourist service in the city. This fee, 2 euros per night (10 nights maximum) per person (with the exception of children up to 10 years and in Rome residents), will be asked to anyone staying in every overnight accommodation inside Rome's boundaries. The fee, not included in hotel rate, must be paid cash at check in time."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

A Casa di Jasmine
14.68 USD

Guesthouse 66.4% 61 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
22.59 USD

Hostel 84.7% 635 reviews
The Place in Rome
14.76 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 131 reviews
Legends Hostel
19.20 USD

Hostel 81.0% 379 reviews
Legend R.G
21.46 USD

Hostel 81.6% 29 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
25.97 USD

Hostel 90.5% 143 reviews
Eurostars Domus Aurea
90.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Cressy
16.94 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.2% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.6%

Overall Rating

423 out of 756 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Two Ducks'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
60.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 422 of 542 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lucas Ezequiel Claramonte

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012

Liked: Absolutely nothing, is horrible, the staff is the worst. The hostel has a good score only by location but do not be fooled. Also, you can play a room 2 km from the reception, and in this case the location would not be so good.

Disliked: First, the address isn’t properly marked and it is very difficult to find the hostel because the name is indicated only in a ring. Second, taxes aren’t included as hostelbookers says, do not accept credit cards, the rooms do not have wi-fi. In our case, the first day we had booked a deluxe double room, which was located in an apartment 1.6km of reception, in a very ugly area. Obviously, the room had no wi-fi and breakfast. The second day we had a reservation for a shared double room, luckily this time was located only 4 blocks from the reception, the room had 6 beds and only one of them had clean the linens, the receptionist said "now I’ll bring clean linen”, which never happened. This room also had no wi-fi and breakfast. I think hostelbookers should be more careful with hostels offering, hostels and Two Ducks should not be on your list.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandru Serban

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 January 2012 Alexandru would recommend this property

Liked: very good location,free wi-fi,good price and useful kitchen

Disliked: the rooms are ready after 2pm but at less they allowed me to leave my bag

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Manuel Chavez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: staff member too busy having sex with naive american girl the whole time. upon check in, employee was half naked (no shirt and no underwear only jeans on half open...could see his pubes all exposed). didn't even provide a key and immediately went into shower stall with a girl. at night, employee was having loud sex in the room next door and could hear every thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is very friendly... and the wifi and especially laptop are free to use. For me, it's so great and useful to me because my laptop in Napoli..... Many thanks for staff's kind attention! The atmosphere is also great in the lobby

Disliked: N/A

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the center.Easy to find it.

Disliked: The bathroom was rally dirty.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011

Liked: Good location and cheap.

Disliked: The staffs are rude ! They didnt have the key to give me in the moment that i paid. One of them complained with me just because i've changed my bed and I was the only one in the bedroom. The showers are really small. Dont have lockers to put ur valuable things. Thats it!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kjell Moens

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Kjell would recommend this property

Liked: Location Cheap

Disliked: People were smoking in the hostel A lot of noise

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Rebecca Eisenberg

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Really good location close to termini station, very easy to get to the metro and all of Rome from the hostel.

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty they split up our group and there was a strange old woman who stared at us while we slept. It also smelled like smoke and bug spray.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: close to the Termini station and free wi-fi

Disliked: I booked a private ensuit room.To begin with, they don't have any sign in front of the building pointing out the Hostel and the number in the "directions" section of this website is incorrect. Then, arriving there, I was told that the private bedrooms weren't at the location they pointed out here. So I was taken to another place, awefuly located, with bed bugs, noisy and a bit far from the "original" hostel. And, to complete it all, they charged us with taxes which were supposed to be included!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

wagner della flora

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011

Liked: it is very well located and the ''two ducks'' are very nice and friendly...

Disliked: the showers are very dirty...there is no place to leave your bags safe as well and i just couldn't use the kitchen (neither tidy nor clean)...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, good value

Disliked: nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

martin cajade

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff and ugliness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jovita krysak

Alone

Relaxation/spa

17 October 2011 jovita would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was wonderful. Firstly, I decided to stay for only two nights and see how much I'd like it. Well, I liked it a lot and stayed in the place longer. The rooms are clean and the staff is helpful and nice.

Disliked: nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

16 October 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Its really small. The kitchen has room for only 3 people. The staff doesn't help at all. there is Only 1 guy who is always checking facebook on his laptop... Really bad

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jasmine Clayton

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location near the train station and when the staff was there, he was helpful.

Disliked: The showers/toilets were tiny and you could barely move in them. Plus they weren't the cleanest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel it was great I was not at the principal Building but it was great.location is great near to two stations of metro and I could do everything walking.

Disliked: .

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bed bugs. Unclean. Terrible

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011

Liked: The fact that it was downtown and near the metro/underground/train.

Disliked: The neighbourhood was awful. The stuff was very impolite. We didnot stay at the initial flat. Although it was supposed to have two beds, the flat had 4 beds. We paid for a 2-bed bedroom but there weren't any. In the end, we had to pay 80 euros more to be transferred to the private 2-bed bedrooms that were 15 minutes away from the initial building. We had to pay 10 euros more for italian-acommodation fee-insurance.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

maia odeh

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 October 2011 maia would recommend this property

Liked: the place was close to the termini station...which is 5 minutes walkin ! no need for taxis or buses! the taxi's in rome are very expensive so its not recomended the hostel is located very well...in a calm streer close to gift shops restaurants and super markets ! and to the termini also ..which is very important ! and u can take a metro from there to everywhere in 5 min only

Disliked: The hostel wasnt always clean! the bathrooms were dirty! there was no towels and the bathroom is small and u share it with another 7 persons! the rooms were fine and the beds were comfortable

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Riley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Small and cosy, helpful staff, air con and large rooms.

Disliked: Hard to find (needs a sign or something out the front).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jarek golonka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 jarek would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place to stay. Staying there made me like Rome a lot more this time around compared to my first visit a few years ago.

Disliked: Best hostel I have been to in Italy. Staff is unlike anything you will ever see. Amazing. You become a family after moments of being there. Would go there again in a heartbeat.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A quiet, clean place with friendly, helpful staff. Very useful to have access to a fridge and cutlery. Small rooms so you don't have to share with loads of people, we were allowed to lock this room as well. Felt quite private and relaxed.

Disliked: The hostel can improve a lot of small things that will make the visit more complete. No top sheets provided - fine in summer, but on a cold night we had to use our towels to cover us. Needs something to dry dishes in the kitchen. Not even a small mat to stand on when you leave the shower room.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything but mainly the bedbugs.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Grinvydas Kareiva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

19 September 2011

Liked: Price was small

Disliked: -

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011

Liked: The location, near the Termini Train Station.

Disliked: The staff didnt know much about the city and wasnt very friendly and helpful. The room was ok but the bathroom wasnt very clean and the shower was very bad. In my department there was no internet at all.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels