We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Two Ducks

Hostel | Via Calatafimi No:41, Rome, Italy 00185

57.1% Overall Rating

385 out of 699 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/10/2014)

"Its very near to the metro station. We got move to the new apartment, clean and got kitchen."

Read all Hostel Two Ducks reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Starting from the 1st of January 2011 Rome City Council will ask for a overnight accommodation tax on tourist service in the city. This fee, 2 euros per night (10 nights maximum) per person (with the exception of children up to 10 years and in Rome residents), will be asked to anyone staying in every overnight accommodation inside Rome's boundaries. The fee, not included in hotel rate, must be paid cash at check in time."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

A Casa di Jasmine
13.92 USD

Guesthouse 73.9% 50 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
20.24 USD

Hostel 82.1% 622 reviews
The Place in Rome
13.92 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 114 reviews
Legends Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 78.7% 370 reviews
Legend R.G
15.18 USD

Hostel 79.9% 24 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
25.30 USD

Hostel 84.9% 132 reviews
Eurostars Domus Aurea
759.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Cressy
13.92 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.3% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
57.1%

Overall Rating

385 out of 699 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Two Ducks'

Atmosphere
48.0%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
47.2%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
54.4%
Value
63.2%
Safety
55.2%
Refine your results Showing 393 of 485 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff,good location,great night tour and cheap

Disliked: nothing

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2011

Liked: nothing,just nothing!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: all tha place!! the window and tha door can't close.it's so dirty and we booked a room for 2 person with private bathroom but only exist one bathroom and the last night we had to sleep with 2 guys more!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kampfner alex

Alone

Partying / nightlife

29 July 2011 kampfner would recommend this property

Liked: good value for the price

Disliked: facilities

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has the kitchen.

Disliked: The street is very noisy. The kitchen unit was kinda broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vinolo martina

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 July 2011 vinolo would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION&PRICE

Disliked: SMALL ELEVATOR

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: meeting new people

Disliked: check-out at 10:30

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pedersen jack

Alone

City break

18 July 2011 pedersen would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff,free beer,very good location

Disliked: ...the cleaning lady

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011

Liked: It was relatively clean but that is it.

Disliked: The two people running it were extremely rude and condescending. I never felt welcome at all! One girl asked what they recommended for her to see and he said, "I don't know, I'm not your tour guide." Direct quote. They treated us like we were unwelcomed house guests, not paying customers. I would never go there again nor recommend it to anyone. I don't know how they are still in business.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Kevin Nuechterlein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011

Liked: The only nice thing I can say about this place is that it was clean.

Disliked: The staff were condescending and rude at every interaction. There were only two staff persons and only one of them spoke any English. There were a couple of times when neither person were at the hostel so my friend or I had to let guests trying to check in into the hostel and told them they just had to wait for the staff to come back from where ever they were. At that point we were doing their job. We found many people waiting on the steps because no one was answering. The lady that didn't speak English literally yelled at me to get out of the room when she wanted to clean it. The guy was extremely condesending when I couldn't figure out the key or when we had any questions. The place itself was very small and the showers were awful. One girl got bedbugs and I am pretty sure they did nothing about it. My room was fine but the place was not worth the price. I would never stay there again and would never recommend it to anyone.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011

Liked: The location was good, when traveling to and from Termini.

Disliked: The beds and bathrooms were filthy. The staff kicks people out to clean, if you don't leave, they don't clean. The bathrooms were frequently backed up and smelly. The shower has mold. The kitchen is lacking in facilities. The internet is terrible. Although breakfast is promised, there is none. They also lie about the room size you'll be staying in. A triple really means a four person room. Four person means five, etc.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, very helpful staff, fully equiped kitchen and a nice little communal veranda.

Disliked: not that easy to find, at the end of a deadend street and the internet kept dissconecting but it wasent 2 ducks fault, phone lines in roma where down. oh, and its on the 5th floor! there is a (very old but working) lift that you can fit like 2 people and one backpack in lol!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean property with a good location close to the city. Overall a secure and clean but basic hostel.

Disliked: Very basic accommodation with no character in the hostel. Some dorms are located a couple of blocks from the office which is fine but does not offer the chance to meet fellow travellers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011

Liked: cheap

Disliked: noise

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2011

Liked: The rooms were all painted and the people I met were great (depending on luck).

Disliked: The room I stayed in was red, and after sometime it became overwhelming and began to affect me (I'm a psych major so I could tell it affected my mood). Some of the staff was not respectful. At times they were friendly but could easy turn rude at snap at you. The lady who cleans the rooms is absolutely rude, as she power-stared at me when I was checking in. Although the listing says A/C, there isn't any! Had to leave the room window open all day and night. This hostel does NOT accept credit cards when you get there, even though it is listed otherwise. Also, there is a Roman tax of 2 Euros added to each night you stay...keep this in mind since it was not listed on the site! The internet was iffy and sometimes wouldn't work; when it did work, it only worked on the 5th floor. The luggage room is just a room where the "office" is, or basically just a rented flat for the employees (to sleep?) that was similar to the hostel rooms. The biggest issue was the bathroom. The hot water sometimes wasn't hot, and depends on whether you shower first or last. Additionally, the bathroom toilet did not fully flush (liquids were ok); even when I and another traveler mentioned this to the staff, nothing was done. Finally, the ENTIRE ceiling in the bathroom was covered in mold!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tameeka Erpf

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2011 Tameeka would recommend this property

Liked: Own room and somewhere to cook. The staff were really nice The bed was nice and big

Disliked: The bathroom needed to have more air so it didn't smell damp

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: We arrived late at night and paid, we were also asked to pay a 2 euro fee per person per night for a tax, I believe this is a scam. We were then taken to another location about a 5 minute walk from the main hostel. This place had no reception, no wifi, no breakfast. The toilet seat was broken. The cooker (0ven) worked just but was missing several knobs. There were decent sized bowls for breakfast or dinner as we decided to buy our own breakfast. The last day we were there we checked out and asked to put our baggage in the reception, that was fine, we also asked if we could stay in the hostel and kill time on the internet that we hadn't used the whole time. They said NO that the cleaning lady was cleaning and we couldn't go in. The description on the page said quote "Visiting Rome, you can take a break at Two Ducks Bar, to relax, eating a sandwich or drinking a coffee in a quiet and pleasant place with cheap prices." But no, we couldn't use it. Why advertise as such when you are LYING blatantly. All in all, do NOT go to this hostel. Instead go to williams residents http://www.williamresidence.com/eng/hotel.htm . He doesn't have internet but he is a friendly guy and helped us a couple of times.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011

Liked: close to the train station - so good for one night inbetween travels if thats all you need

Disliked: not going to be one of those people that rants about the crappiness. Instead will just say: just dont stay there. Unless you literally just need a place to sleep and its your last resort. You will survive its just not pleasant.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011

Liked: there is a lift, that is all

Disliked: the beds are so uncomfortable. and the blankets were so old, no sheet there is additional city tax not included in the rate.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Daniel Ortiz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011

Liked: Really nothing. Maybe just the location but nothing else.

Disliked: Almost everything. You dont get to meet anybody. The facilities are shitty. Specially bathrooms where, when I went for the first time, they didnt even had toilet paper. Another awful thing is that there are no lockers or safety deposit boxes so really you dont feel safe leaving your belongings in the room the whole day. All the lies that they posted on the webpage because those were the reasons I picked that place and it was pretty dissapointing getting there I realizing that anything was real and know I was in a pretty shitty place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt homey and comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Not much really...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: There is no breakfast nor internet, so don't trust what you read on the hostel page.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011

Liked: just location, near Termini.

Disliked: is not a hostel, is an apartment where they rent beds. Iit is hidden in a street withoutletter, wifi doesn´t work if u have a phone, is nos really clean, bathroom is tiny, well...no the worst hostel of my life, but yes for that price

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to city! all it really has going for it.! no common area to meet people so you just have to hope you have good room mates, fortunately i did but not too sure what would have happened if i hadn't............

Disliked: no common area rude cleaner cooking cleanliness and facilities could have been a lot better

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 May 2011

Liked: so close to the train station

Disliked: No hot water for shower ( I asked for hot water) Just Albert was able to speak italian (in Rome!!!) the other rumenian girls was able just a little bit to speak italian and just that and not others languages ( I helped guest that was not able to speak italian with this girl) No breakfast included (kitchen dirty and full of empty box of juices) No towel

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: all things except location


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels