We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Two Ducks

Hostel | Via Calatafimi No:41, Rome, Italy 00185

67.3% Overall Rating

416 out of 742 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

Alexander Klein thinks…

"It has a very friendly atmosphere, and it couldn't be located at a more convenient place, just a few minutes from the main train station (Termini)."

Read all Hostel Two Ducks reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Starting from the 1st of January 2011 Rome City Council will ask for a overnight accommodation tax on tourist service in the city. This fee, 2 euros per night (10 nights maximum) per person (with the exception of children up to 10 years and in Rome residents), will be asked to anyone staying in every overnight accommodation inside Rome's boundaries. The fee, not included in hotel rate, must be paid cash at check in time."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

A Casa di Jasmine
16.57 USD

Guesthouse 66.4% 61 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
27.62 USD

Hostel 83.5% 634 reviews
The Place in Rome
20.47 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 126 reviews
Legends Hostel
23.20 USD

Hostel 80.9% 378 reviews
Legend R.G
26.51 USD

Hostel 82.2% 28 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
29.83 USD

Hostel 88.9% 140 reviews
Eurostars Domus Aurea
88.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Cressy
20.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.2% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.3%

Overall Rating

416 out of 742 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Two Ducks'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
64.8%
Value
68.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 415 of 529 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Rebecca Eisenberg

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Really good location close to termini station, very easy to get to the metro and all of Rome from the hostel.

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty they split up our group and there was a strange old woman who stared at us while we slept. It also smelled like smoke and bug spray.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: close to the Termini station and free wi-fi

Disliked: I booked a private ensuit room.To begin with, they don't have any sign in front of the building pointing out the Hostel and the number in the "directions" section of this website is incorrect. Then, arriving there, I was told that the private bedrooms weren't at the location they pointed out here. So I was taken to another place, awefuly located, with bed bugs, noisy and a bit far from the "original" hostel. And, to complete it all, they charged us with taxes which were supposed to be included!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

wagner della flora

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011

Liked: it is very well located and the ''two ducks'' are very nice and friendly...

Disliked: the showers are very dirty...there is no place to leave your bags safe as well and i just couldn't use the kitchen (neither tidy nor clean)...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, good value

Disliked: nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

martin cajade

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff and ugliness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jovita krysak

Alone

Relaxation/spa

17 October 2011 jovita would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was wonderful. Firstly, I decided to stay for only two nights and see how much I'd like it. Well, I liked it a lot and stayed in the place longer. The rooms are clean and the staff is helpful and nice.

Disliked: nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

16 October 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Its really small. The kitchen has room for only 3 people. The staff doesn't help at all. there is Only 1 guy who is always checking facebook on his laptop... Really bad

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jasmine Clayton

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location near the train station and when the staff was there, he was helpful.

Disliked: The showers/toilets were tiny and you could barely move in them. Plus they weren't the cleanest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel it was great I was not at the principal Building but it was great.location is great near to two stations of metro and I could do everything walking.

Disliked: .

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bed bugs. Unclean. Terrible

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011

Liked: The fact that it was downtown and near the metro/underground/train.

Disliked: The neighbourhood was awful. The stuff was very impolite. We didnot stay at the initial flat. Although it was supposed to have two beds, the flat had 4 beds. We paid for a 2-bed bedroom but there weren't any. In the end, we had to pay 80 euros more to be transferred to the private 2-bed bedrooms that were 15 minutes away from the initial building. We had to pay 10 euros more for italian-acommodation fee-insurance.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

maia odeh

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 October 2011 maia would recommend this property

Liked: the place was close to the termini station...which is 5 minutes walkin ! no need for taxis or buses! the taxi's in rome are very expensive so its not recomended the hostel is located very well...in a calm streer close to gift shops restaurants and super markets ! and to the termini also ..which is very important ! and u can take a metro from there to everywhere in 5 min only

Disliked: The hostel wasnt always clean! the bathrooms were dirty! there was no towels and the bathroom is small and u share it with another 7 persons! the rooms were fine and the beds were comfortable

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Riley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Small and cosy, helpful staff, air con and large rooms.

Disliked: Hard to find (needs a sign or something out the front).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jarek golonka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 jarek would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place to stay. Staying there made me like Rome a lot more this time around compared to my first visit a few years ago.

Disliked: Best hostel I have been to in Italy. Staff is unlike anything you will ever see. Amazing. You become a family after moments of being there. Would go there again in a heartbeat.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A quiet, clean place with friendly, helpful staff. Very useful to have access to a fridge and cutlery. Small rooms so you don't have to share with loads of people, we were allowed to lock this room as well. Felt quite private and relaxed.

Disliked: The hostel can improve a lot of small things that will make the visit more complete. No top sheets provided - fine in summer, but on a cold night we had to use our towels to cover us. Needs something to dry dishes in the kitchen. Not even a small mat to stand on when you leave the shower room.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything but mainly the bedbugs.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Grinvydas Kareiva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

19 September 2011

Liked: Price was small

Disliked: -

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011

Liked: The location, near the Termini Train Station.

Disliked: The staff didnt know much about the city and wasnt very friendly and helpful. The room was ok but the bathroom wasnt very clean and the shower was very bad. In my department there was no internet at all.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

STELLA KRASEVAC

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 STELLA would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms.

Disliked: No internet in the room, only in the reception which is very small. The receptionist is good but not very helpful, cause he works there all day long.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Volkan Gezer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Volkan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, kitchen, wifi. Letting leaving luggage after check out

Disliked: Late check in (14:30), but they let me in at 14:00

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tiene aire acondicionado.

Disliked: la cocina no tenia apenas utensilios.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to the main train station

Disliked: Pretty much everything, locks didn't work properly, shower or toilet seemed to leak constantly and didn't lock, gas oven didn't work properly and didn't feel safe using it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff,good location,great night tour and cheap

Disliked: nothing

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2011

Liked: nothing,just nothing!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: all tha place!! the window and tha door can't close.it's so dirty and we booked a room for 2 person with private bathroom but only exist one bathroom and the last night we had to sleep with 2 guys more!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kampfner alex

Alone

Partying / nightlife

29 July 2011 kampfner would recommend this property

Liked: good value for the price

Disliked: facilities


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels