We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Two Ducks

Hostel | Via Calatafimi No:41, Rome, Italy 00185

63.7% Overall Rating

400 out of 717 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2015)

Aleksander Synoracki thinks…

"It 's very close to the city centre and railway station. The staff of this hostel is very very friendly. When You need some favour- they will be doing everything to do it."

Read all Hostel Two Ducks reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.17

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Starting from the 1st of January 2011 Rome City Council will ask for a overnight accommodation tax on tourist service in the city. This fee, 2 euros per night (10 nights maximum) per person (with the exception of children up to 10 years and in Rome residents), will be asked to anyone staying in every overnight accommodation inside Rome's boundaries. The fee, not included in hotel rate, must be paid cash at check in time."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

A Casa di Jasmine
16.31 USD

Guesthouse 72.7% 53 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
21.74 USD

Hostel 83.3% 630 reviews
The Place in Rome
13.43 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 122 reviews
Legends Hostel
18.48 USD

Hostel 81.7% 376 reviews
Legend R.G
20.66 USD

Hostel 79.9% 24 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
28.27 USD

Hostel 88.6% 138 reviews
Eurostars Domus Aurea
86.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Cressy
24.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.9% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.7%

Overall Rating

400 out of 717 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Two Ducks'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
64.8%
Value
69.6%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 400 of 503 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything but mainly the bedbugs.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Grinvydas Kareiva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

19 September 2011

Liked: Price was small

Disliked: -

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011

Liked: The location, near the Termini Train Station.

Disliked: The staff didnt know much about the city and wasnt very friendly and helpful. The room was ok but the bathroom wasnt very clean and the shower was very bad. In my department there was no internet at all.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

STELLA KRASEVAC

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 STELLA would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms.

Disliked: No internet in the room, only in the reception which is very small. The receptionist is good but not very helpful, cause he works there all day long.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Volkan Gezer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Volkan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, kitchen, wifi. Letting leaving luggage after check out

Disliked: Late check in (14:30), but they let me in at 14:00

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tiene aire acondicionado.

Disliked: la cocina no tenia apenas utensilios.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to the main train station

Disliked: Pretty much everything, locks didn't work properly, shower or toilet seemed to leak constantly and didn't lock, gas oven didn't work properly and didn't feel safe using it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff,good location,great night tour and cheap

Disliked: nothing

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2011

Liked: nothing,just nothing!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: all tha place!! the window and tha door can't close.it's so dirty and we booked a room for 2 person with private bathroom but only exist one bathroom and the last night we had to sleep with 2 guys more!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kampfner alex

Alone

Partying / nightlife

29 July 2011 kampfner would recommend this property

Liked: good value for the price

Disliked: facilities

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has the kitchen.

Disliked: The street is very noisy. The kitchen unit was kinda broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vinolo martina

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 July 2011 vinolo would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION&PRICE

Disliked: SMALL ELEVATOR

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: meeting new people

Disliked: check-out at 10:30

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pedersen jack

Alone

City break

18 July 2011 pedersen would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff,free beer,very good location

Disliked: ...the cleaning lady

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011

Liked: It was relatively clean but that is it.

Disliked: The two people running it were extremely rude and condescending. I never felt welcome at all! One girl asked what they recommended for her to see and he said, "I don't know, I'm not your tour guide." Direct quote. They treated us like we were unwelcomed house guests, not paying customers. I would never go there again nor recommend it to anyone. I don't know how they are still in business.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Kevin Nuechterlein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011

Liked: The only nice thing I can say about this place is that it was clean.

Disliked: The staff were condescending and rude at every interaction. There were only two staff persons and only one of them spoke any English. There were a couple of times when neither person were at the hostel so my friend or I had to let guests trying to check in into the hostel and told them they just had to wait for the staff to come back from where ever they were. At that point we were doing their job. We found many people waiting on the steps because no one was answering. The lady that didn't speak English literally yelled at me to get out of the room when she wanted to clean it. The guy was extremely condesending when I couldn't figure out the key or when we had any questions. The place itself was very small and the showers were awful. One girl got bedbugs and I am pretty sure they did nothing about it. My room was fine but the place was not worth the price. I would never stay there again and would never recommend it to anyone.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011

Liked: The location was good, when traveling to and from Termini.

Disliked: The beds and bathrooms were filthy. The staff kicks people out to clean, if you don't leave, they don't clean. The bathrooms were frequently backed up and smelly. The shower has mold. The kitchen is lacking in facilities. The internet is terrible. Although breakfast is promised, there is none. They also lie about the room size you'll be staying in. A triple really means a four person room. Four person means five, etc.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, very helpful staff, fully equiped kitchen and a nice little communal veranda.

Disliked: not that easy to find, at the end of a deadend street and the internet kept dissconecting but it wasent 2 ducks fault, phone lines in roma where down. oh, and its on the 5th floor! there is a (very old but working) lift that you can fit like 2 people and one backpack in lol!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean property with a good location close to the city. Overall a secure and clean but basic hostel.

Disliked: Very basic accommodation with no character in the hostel. Some dorms are located a couple of blocks from the office which is fine but does not offer the chance to meet fellow travellers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011

Liked: cheap

Disliked: noise

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2011

Liked: The rooms were all painted and the people I met were great (depending on luck).

Disliked: The room I stayed in was red, and after sometime it became overwhelming and began to affect me (I'm a psych major so I could tell it affected my mood). Some of the staff was not respectful. At times they were friendly but could easy turn rude at snap at you. The lady who cleans the rooms is absolutely rude, as she power-stared at me when I was checking in. Although the listing says A/C, there isn't any! Had to leave the room window open all day and night. This hostel does NOT accept credit cards when you get there, even though it is listed otherwise. Also, there is a Roman tax of 2 Euros added to each night you stay...keep this in mind since it was not listed on the site! The internet was iffy and sometimes wouldn't work; when it did work, it only worked on the 5th floor. The luggage room is just a room where the "office" is, or basically just a rented flat for the employees (to sleep?) that was similar to the hostel rooms. The biggest issue was the bathroom. The hot water sometimes wasn't hot, and depends on whether you shower first or last. Additionally, the bathroom toilet did not fully flush (liquids were ok); even when I and another traveler mentioned this to the staff, nothing was done. Finally, the ENTIRE ceiling in the bathroom was covered in mold!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tameeka Erpf

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2011 Tameeka would recommend this property

Liked: Own room and somewhere to cook. The staff were really nice The bed was nice and big

Disliked: The bathroom needed to have more air so it didn't smell damp

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: We arrived late at night and paid, we were also asked to pay a 2 euro fee per person per night for a tax, I believe this is a scam. We were then taken to another location about a 5 minute walk from the main hostel. This place had no reception, no wifi, no breakfast. The toilet seat was broken. The cooker (0ven) worked just but was missing several knobs. There were decent sized bowls for breakfast or dinner as we decided to buy our own breakfast. The last day we were there we checked out and asked to put our baggage in the reception, that was fine, we also asked if we could stay in the hostel and kill time on the internet that we hadn't used the whole time. They said NO that the cleaning lady was cleaning and we couldn't go in. The description on the page said quote "Visiting Rome, you can take a break at Two Ducks Bar, to relax, eating a sandwich or drinking a coffee in a quiet and pleasant place with cheap prices." But no, we couldn't use it. Why advertise as such when you are LYING blatantly. All in all, do NOT go to this hostel. Instead go to williams residents http://www.williamresidence.com/eng/hotel.htm . He doesn't have internet but he is a friendly guy and helped us a couple of times.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011

Liked: close to the train station - so good for one night inbetween travels if thats all you need

Disliked: not going to be one of those people that rants about the crappiness. Instead will just say: just dont stay there. Unless you literally just need a place to sleep and its your last resort. You will survive its just not pleasant.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011

Liked: there is a lift, that is all

Disliked: the beds are so uncomfortable. and the blankets were so old, no sheet there is additional city tax not included in the rate.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels