HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Two Ducks

Hostel | Via Calatafimi No:41, Rome, Italy 00185

63.8% Overall Rating

380 out of 688 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

YOUNG JUN LEE thinks…

"Really nice staff but If he's sleeping, you couldn't get a service. But a room was really cozy and had an individual bathroom, really nice location, just 3 min for walk from Termini terminal!!"

Read all Hostel Two Ducks reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Starting from the 1st of January 2011 Rome City Council will ask for a overnight accommodation tax on tourist service in the city. This fee, 2 euros per night (10 nights maximum) per person (with the exception of children up to 10 years and in Rome residents), will be asked to anyone staying in every overnight accommodation inside Rome's boundaries. The fee, not included in hotel rate, must be paid cash at check in time."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

A Casa di Jasmine
25.58 USD

Guesthouse 75.7% 48 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
32.85 USD

Hostel 85.1% 618 reviews
The Place in Rome
26.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.1% 111 reviews
Legends Hostel
32.31 USD

Hostel 79.0% 368 reviews
Residenza Giustiniani
32.31 USD

Hostel 79.9% 24 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
33.66 USD

Hostel 84.9% 126 reviews
Eurostars Domus Aurea
807.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Cressy
26.48 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.5% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.8%

Overall Rating

380 out of 688 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Two Ducks'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
68.8%
Value
71.2%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 386 of 474 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jennifer Luna

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012

Liked: the name is funny and the kitchen was really helpful

Disliked: it was located on a not so quiet street.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. Our stay in Rome was ruined. We arrived at night, had the hostel booked for 3 nights in a private room, only to be told that there were none available for the one night, and the other two we had to pay double. The receptionist was very unfriendly and unaccomodating. Would not negotiate on price even though we had been messed around. Told us if we are unhappy to go find another hotel. Forced to stay in mixed dorm for first night due to no other options (kitchen gross) and used wifi (only available in reception - 6 floors up) to book other (better) accomodation. Never been treated with such bad service. Do not stay

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Ali ULUSOY

With friends / other travellers

City break
Work / volunteering

20 May 2012

Liked: i did not like so much

Disliked: It was out not good and ı shamed from my staff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Beryl Gale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Beryl would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, kitchen amenities available

Disliked: Difficult to find as the number given is 4 but it's actually 41. Showers alternated scalding & freezing water.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Position central to transport and sights. Not a great area late at night though.

Disliked: We had a double room which was in a separate area about 10 mins walk away from main hostel. This did not have a kitchen from the website it looked as if you did.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel was close from the principal area, the Terminis, where they are facilities and services, like restaurant, buses, train, metro, even Roma is easy to do by walk.

Disliked: Friendliness was very bad, its seem like we are disturbing the staff

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012

Liked: The location is almost perfect. Close to the main train station, so you can reach almost any point of the city (or visit nearby cities). Also close to the historic centre. They have a kitchen to cook as promised and a good free wi-fi.

Disliked: Although in our booking a room for 3 person was stated, I got a room for 4 people, while my friend got a room for 5 person. No excuses from the staff or refund followed. We were proposed to write an e-mail after the stay, and may be they will be so kind to make a refund. There are no lockers in the property, so no safety can be expected.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

MAURICIO RENDON

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 MAURICIO would recommend this property

Liked: the location is greatyou have access to the city by metro or walking is close to the most importat part of rome

Disliked: MAURICIO left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Iuliia Sonina

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012

Liked: the existence of kitchen where you can prepare smth whenever you want

Disliked: everything that I put in the field "what was described unhonestly"

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

DAFNE CONTRERAS

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012

Liked: it was very close from the train station.... just 5 min. walking

Disliked: the hostel looks darty and very old, the reception was on 5th floor with some rooms there and the only place where u can use the internet... my room was on 1st floor so it was very far from my floor. when I made the reservation I booked a room with 3 beds but when I got there they gave me a room with 4 beds, I tried to complain but the reception guy just said..... i don't know anything call the owner.... they charged me more for nothing. they are not honest... sorry I'm not english speaker... but my point is that i don't recommend at all this hostel.... cuando hice mi reservación pedí una habitación con 3 camas pero cuando llegue me dieron un cuarto con 4 camas y no me quisieron regresar mi dinero, no lo recomiendo en lo absoluto....

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -The location is great. Walking distance almost everywhere. If you don't like to walk,city transport is very close; -supermarket around a corner but also ocal fruit and vegetable market and a tasty bakery next street; -the surrounding is more local than turistic, you're able to see what Rome is really about and we love this kind of travells -Hot water all the time -nice and friendly stuff -wi-fi

Disliked: The place is not very clean (but is not as bad as in other reviews I've read-NO BED BUGS) The worst thing is a lack of toilet seat, but this is very common in Rome.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sinead Sheehan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 March 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The late check in 14:30, as apparently cleaning was happening between 10:30 and 14:30 and after a long journey (2 days on a coach) we were not even offered anywhere to sit down and wait for our room, we were told we could not stay in any part of the hostel. The one staff member we encountered was rude, obnoxious and extremely inconsiderate about the guests in the hotel. It felt as if it was the guys personal apartment that he had just decided to rent out. We were not informed of 'City Tax' until we got there, which was added onto our bill. The hostel was dirty. The showers were rubbish. The hostel was not signposted at all, we spent a long time and asked a lot of people where it was before we finally looked on a wall near a big door and just about made out 'two ducks' on level 5.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Burakhan Gedik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 Burakhan would recommend this property

Liked: They are helpful. Large, nice, blue painted room :)

Disliked: Burakhan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Liudas Mikalkevicius

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2012 Liudas would recommend this property

Liked: The place is quiet and nice, not far from Termini, easy to access. The place had everything that is necessary for the night. Room was air-conditioned - did not get cold during the night. Old, beautiful building. Really liked my stay there. :)

Disliked: There were city taxes that I did not know about. Also the adress is wrong at the description - I was scared at first that the hostel doesn't exist.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lucas Ezequiel Claramonte

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012

Liked: Absolutely nothing, is horrible, the staff is the worst. The hostel has a good score only by location but do not be fooled. Also, you can play a room 2 km from the reception, and in this case the location would not be so good.

Disliked: First, the address isn’t properly marked and it is very difficult to find the hostel because the name is indicated only in a ring. Second, taxes aren’t included as hostelbookers says, do not accept credit cards, the rooms do not have wi-fi. In our case, the first day we had booked a deluxe double room, which was located in an apartment 1.6km of reception, in a very ugly area. Obviously, the room had no wi-fi and breakfast. The second day we had a reservation for a shared double room, luckily this time was located only 4 blocks from the reception, the room had 6 beds and only one of them had clean the linens, the receptionist said "now I’ll bring clean linen”, which never happened. This room also had no wi-fi and breakfast. I think hostelbookers should be more careful with hostels offering, hostels and Two Ducks should not be on your list.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandru Serban

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 January 2012 Alexandru would recommend this property

Liked: very good location,free wi-fi,good price and useful kitchen

Disliked: the rooms are ready after 2pm but at less they allowed me to leave my bag

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Manuel Chavez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: staff member too busy having sex with naive american girl the whole time. upon check in, employee was half naked (no shirt and no underwear only jeans on half open...could see his pubes all exposed). didn't even provide a key and immediately went into shower stall with a girl. at night, employee was having loud sex in the room next door and could hear every thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is very friendly... and the wifi and especially laptop are free to use. For me, it's so great and useful to me because my laptop in Napoli..... Many thanks for staff's kind attention! The atmosphere is also great in the lobby

Disliked: N/A

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the center.Easy to find it.

Disliked: The bathroom was rally dirty.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011

Liked: Good location and cheap.

Disliked: The staffs are rude ! They didnt have the key to give me in the moment that i paid. One of them complained with me just because i've changed my bed and I was the only one in the bedroom. The showers are really small. Dont have lockers to put ur valuable things. Thats it!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kjell Moens

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Kjell would recommend this property

Liked: Location Cheap

Disliked: People were smoking in the hostel A lot of noise

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Rebecca Eisenberg

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Really good location close to termini station, very easy to get to the metro and all of Rome from the hostel.

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty they split up our group and there was a strange old woman who stared at us while we slept. It also smelled like smoke and bug spray.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: close to the Termini station and free wi-fi

Disliked: I booked a private ensuit room.To begin with, they don't have any sign in front of the building pointing out the Hostel and the number in the "directions" section of this website is incorrect. Then, arriving there, I was told that the private bedrooms weren't at the location they pointed out here. So I was taken to another place, awefuly located, with bed bugs, noisy and a bit far from the "original" hostel. And, to complete it all, they charged us with taxes which were supposed to be included!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

wagner della flora

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011

Liked: it is very well located and the ''two ducks'' are very nice and friendly...

Disliked: the showers are very dirty...there is no place to leave your bags safe as well and i just couldn't use the kitchen (neither tidy nor clean)...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, good value

Disliked: nothing


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels