We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Two Ducks

Hostel | Via Calatafimi No:41, Rome, Italy 00185

61.6% Overall Rating

423 out of 756 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

Helen Gleave thinks…

"It had a lift, fans, wi fi in the room, staff were super helpful, it was in a cheap part of Rome with a good supermarket nearby. Liked thecouch in the room."

Read all Hostel Two Ducks reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Starting from the 1st of January 2011 Rome City Council will ask for a overnight accommodation tax on tourist service in the city. This fee, 2 euros per night (10 nights maximum) per person (with the exception of children up to 10 years and in Rome residents), will be asked to anyone staying in every overnight accommodation inside Rome's boundaries. The fee, not included in hotel rate, must be paid cash at check in time."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

A Casa di Jasmine
14.68 USD

Guesthouse 66.4% 61 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
22.59 USD

Hostel 84.7% 635 reviews
The Place in Rome
14.76 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 131 reviews
Legends Hostel
19.20 USD

Hostel 81.0% 379 reviews
Legend R.G
21.46 USD

Hostel 81.6% 29 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
25.97 USD

Hostel 90.5% 143 reviews
Eurostars Domus Aurea
90.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Cressy
16.94 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.2% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.6%

Overall Rating

423 out of 756 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Two Ducks'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
60.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 422 of 542 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Martin Krotki

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 March 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: This place was central close to Termini

Disliked: Well this place was cheap, but at the same time I have stayed in other cheap/cheaper places with better facilities. A guy that seems to live in the hostel was smoking everywhere and coughing like he is going to die, and the toilet smelled really bad, the cleaner did not use bleach to clean it just window cleaner. We did not feel very safe there as we did not get a room key. After all this if you are just going for a night or two...you will survive!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jiaiqng Nie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2015 Jiaiqng would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Fine,staff are friendly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksander Synoracki

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2015 Aleksander would recommend this property

Liked: It 's very close to the city centre and railway station. The staff of this hostel is very very friendly. When You need some favour- they will be doing everything to do it.

Disliked: In some hostels YOu can find lockers in the room to put your staff there. When you are in room with people you don 't know it is safe to lock valuable things. But people i met were great so i didn 't have this kind of problem

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Beverly Milhoan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2015 Beverly would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient to main terminal

Disliked: Beverly left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its very near to the metro station. We got move to the new apartment, clean and got kitchen.

Disliked: The staff reception staff is ok, the one who bring us to the hotel is not friendly and didn't offer for help on my luggage. It is very difficult to find the hostel and one of the staff is rude!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2014

Liked: It is close to the train station.

Disliked: It is impossible to find this hostel, they are on the fifth floor of an apartment building in a back alley, with a tiny sign on the intercom. We eventually found our way up and were greeted by two unfriendly guys who obviously had turned their apartment into hostel dorms. It was cash only which was no problem. We asked for directions to a cashpoint and if we could leave our bags behind and we were then personally escorted to the ATM. Not very good vibes at this point. We paid and asked for a receipt and were told we could have one upon checkout (?!?!). That night we came back to go to bed and climbed onto the top bunk which was incredibly wobbly and unsafe (however after asking for an alternative we were told to "stop worrying" and "it's safe"). Our room did not lock and there were no lockers. When we asked for a key we were told it was not necessary as reception is 24hr. After arriving home late the following night and having to ring the buzzer for over 45 minutes we found out that this is not the case. When we confronted them about this the following day they were incredibly rude and aggressive. After checking out we were told by a friend our top bunk had been removed because it was unsafe. This hostel was easily the worst we've ever experienced.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Simon Bevan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014

Liked: Bed was clean and comfy, location was good

Disliked: Toilet was dirty and small, poor security, hard to find

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jamie Russell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Really near the train station.

Disliked: Wifi was pretty dodgy.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014

Liked: Just price

Disliked: It is very dirty. So i can't you kitchen at all.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful

Disliked: Relatively hard to find

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YOUNG JUN LEE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 YOUNG JUN would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff but If he's sleeping, you couldn't get a service. But a room was really cozy and had an individual bathroom, really nice location, just 3 min for walk from Termini terminal!!

Disliked: So hard to find it. I was turnning on the google maps !! It took 20 min to find it in front of this hostel!! Even infront of hostel, that sign... Was too small to recognize.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014

Liked: It was really cheap so in overall it was worth it's value.

Disliked: The keys given to me didn't open any of the doors and the bedrooms didn't lock. There was no luggage storing offer.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maximiliano Daniel Ringa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Maximiliano Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: pretty close train station, the staff ansewered for anything we needed.

Disliked: The reception doesnt work 24 hs and the travellers arrive early in the morning and ring the bell waking everyone up, despite the page says the check in is at 14:30. Has no lockers, and the rooms has no keys.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Yuliia Drapushko

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014

Liked: Nice personal

Disliked: I was in this hostel 14-16 july 2014 and some bugs bit me. And also I took them with me on my clothes and this bugs bit me all time before I came home and washed all my clothes and things. Don't stay there. It is very difficult to kill this bugs.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fast wifi

Disliked: There was one bathroom with only a shower and a tolitet for 16 people.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014

Liked: Location was great. Staff was helpful when asked. The other travelers were kind and griendly.

Disliked: To many person per single access toilet. I personally waited over 2 hours for a toilet over two days. Only cold water for two days. No kitchen supplies. No paoer. Everything smelled of smoke.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014

Liked: Close to Termini Station Lots of ATMs/Cashpoints nearby Supermarket around the corner and plenty of cheap eats nearby

Disliked: Felt a bit shady No lockers No 24 hour reception No key for room Kitchen poorly stocked

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were clean and the staff was nice enough

Disliked: The property is on the upper floors of a building on a dead end street. There is no clear markings, and it is very difficult to find. Once we checked in they moved us to another building several streets over. These facilities were also several floors up and with no visible sign on the outside of the building. This hostel was fine, just difficult to find.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014

Liked: Close to train station

Disliked: Kitchen was too small, did not feel safe, no lockers, rooms were not comfortable, bunk beds were

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: It smelled a bit funny, was ok for a couple of night,but kind of ratchet. But since Rome is expensive it is ok for the price.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, and good location.

Disliked: The hostel has only one shower and toilet to serve all the guests, which makes it very difficult in the mornings. There is a kitchen, but there is very limited cutlery, pans and plates. I think the hostel is fine for a short stay in Rome, however probably not a great longer term option.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ramunas Kulbokas

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014

Liked: The staff was helpful, quite an easy place to find and near Termini station.

Disliked: It had some issues with it cleanliness, it does not look safe, because we did not get key for our room (one person whom we shared room with said that his laptop was stolen on the third day of his stay), the staff came to the room in the middle of the night to get some bed sheets , and there was also a lot of noise which did not let us sleep.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, well maintained propity

Disliked: The lack of locks on the dorm doors

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Adriana Bolzan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014

Liked: Locations is great, very close to the central station, quite cheap. You can leave your bag in the luggage room.

Disliked: The kitchen is very poor structured. There is only one bathroom for 3 rooms with 7 beds in and is not very clean. No lockers.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels