HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Two Ducks

Hostel | Via Calatafimi No:41, Rome, Italy 00185

61.4% Overall Rating

371 out of 672 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/02/2014)

Adriana Bolzan thinks…

"Locations is great, very close to the central station, quite cheap. You can leave your bag in the luggage room."

Read all Hostel Two Ducks reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 4.15

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Starting from the 1st of January 2011 Rome City Council will ask for a overnight accommodation tax on tourist service in the city. This fee, 2 euros per night (10 nights maximum) per person (with the exception of children up to 10 years and in Rome residents), will be asked to anyone staying in every overnight accommodation inside Rome's boundaries. The fee, not included in hotel rate, must be paid cash at check in time."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

A Casa di Jasmine
45.61 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 45 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
35.25 USD

Hostel 85.3% 595 reviews
The Place in Rome
27.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews
Legends Hostel
31.79 USD

Hostel 78.4% 364 reviews
Residenza Giustiniani
38.70 USD

Hostel 79.6% 22 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
35.94 USD

Hostel 86.2% 120 reviews
Eurostars Domus Aurea
829.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Cressy
32.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.0% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.4%

Overall Rating

371 out of 672 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Two Ducks'

Atmosphere
50.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
48.0%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
65.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 378 of 458 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013

Liked: Its a very dirty hostel, I got some allergy on my skin, because I think theres no clean the sheets in these hostel.

Disliked: Everything was old, and dirty, the flush in the bathroom, didnt work well, the only good thing is the localization, but i wouldn't recommend to anyone.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 April 2013

Liked: anything

Disliked: everything

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lienne Hek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2013 Lienne would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, the location is good. Some reviews say this place is hard to find but you just walk a straight line from the Terminini station and bang a right at Via Calatafimi. The rest of the place was alright, nothing too fancy. I mean, come on, it's a hostel and that's what you pay for. There's also a kitchen where you can sit down for a chat and/or a drink but it's kinda small. Not quite like other common rooms but it does the trick.

Disliked: There were no lockers and for the first two days I didn't have a key. This caused me to be locked outside for a good deal of time while no one responded to the buzzer. There was supposed to be some kind of janitor/guard for situations like this but he wasn't there. After complaining I got the keys and it was allright again.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is near train station

Disliked: wifi is only available on one floor , if you live on another floor then no wifi

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ana Marques

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were big and full of light.

Disliked: The fact that the reception was in one place and the actual room was in another floor, totally apart. And the bathroom: so dirty!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013

Liked: There was an elevator inside the building for us to bring our stuff there

Disliked: Could hardly find the hostel. It was located in some sort of shady place and it took us a good 5 minutes before we found the hostel. Furthermore, the wifi was only restricted to the top floor so if your room happened to be on the other floors you don't have wifi. Furthermore, there was an incident when I was there where a traveller argued really loudly with the owner over the condition of the hostel. You don't dare to enter the corridor....

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

CHING-JU LEE

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013 CHING-JU would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good

Disliked: not very clean and people smoke inside the hostel we can't get fire for cooking cause the reception was no one not heater

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Márcia Cicci Romero

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013

Liked: the room smells musty

Disliked: Márcia left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, central. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Difficult to find initially.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel venegas

Alone

City break

04 January 2013 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: its a comfortable place, its quiet, and the service is also good

Disliked: daniel left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

27 December 2012

Liked: Only the location

Disliked: Dirty place, and people smoking inside the hostel.... I have waited more than one hour for check out and no one were in the reception

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marco Stabilito Mesquita

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Muito bem localizado, apartamento possui cozinha e quarto para 4 pessoas. Boa recepção.

Disliked: Dizem que é proibido fumar, mas muita gente estava fumando dentro do apartamento!! Wi-fi não pega no quarto, só no 5º andar.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nigatu Mitiku Danna

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Nigatu Mitiku would recommend this property

Liked: Close to central station.

Disliked: The room has only one power socket to charge our laptops and mobile phones. A decided would b fine .

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Dominic Brunning

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 September 2012

Liked: The cleaning lady was nice

Disliked: The showers and toilets didn't work, the key was broken when given to me and then blamed on me. The staff could not have been less welcoming and helpful. You have to go up 4 floors in a lift to use the wifi. You have to vacate the entire hostel between 10:30 and 2:30pm for cleaning. The "kitchen" is tiny! DON'T STAY HERE, NOT EVEN BECAUSE IT'S CHEAP.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mariano Diego SANTIAGO

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012

Liked: It is near the main central station, so it´s easy to get to the hostel if you are travelling r plane, as the airport shuttles stops at the train station.

Disliked: unfriendly, not helpful and not welcoming staff, poor facilities

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Sheridan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in an unmanned location a few blocks from the main hostel. Security was good, the kitchen was good, the place was clean and more-or-less well-kept, and the bathroom was nice enough. It was in decent location, a 10-minute walk from Roma Termini.

Disliked: For almost 20 EUR per person per night, I'd like to stay in a location with a staff member present for security. Check-in was the only time we met a staff member. We were never told about the "Two Ducks" bar/restaurant nor given a discount card for it.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 July 2012

Liked: It is near form the main train station

Disliked: Everything, this is not a hostel, is just an apartment in which no one helps you for nothing, the person of the reception slept in my room til late (?), showers are totally broken, no hot water in the morning because the guy is sleeping.. they take you out at 10:30 etc etc... if you can pay a little bit more for a real hostel, you should... two ducks is expensive and is not a hostel, you feel like a stranger in comeone else's house!!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jennifer Luna

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012

Liked: the name is funny and the kitchen was really helpful

Disliked: it was located on a not so quiet street.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. Our stay in Rome was ruined. We arrived at night, had the hostel booked for 3 nights in a private room, only to be told that there were none available for the one night, and the other two we had to pay double. The receptionist was very unfriendly and unaccomodating. Would not negotiate on price even though we had been messed around. Told us if we are unhappy to go find another hotel. Forced to stay in mixed dorm for first night due to no other options (kitchen gross) and used wifi (only available in reception - 6 floors up) to book other (better) accomodation. Never been treated with such bad service. Do not stay

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Ali ULUSOY

With friends / other travellers

City break
Work / volunteering

20 May 2012

Liked: i did not like so much

Disliked: It was out not good and ı shamed from my staff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Beryl Gale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Beryl would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, kitchen amenities available

Disliked: Difficult to find as the number given is 4 but it's actually 41. Showers alternated scalding & freezing water.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Position central to transport and sights. Not a great area late at night though.

Disliked: We had a double room which was in a separate area about 10 mins walk away from main hostel. This did not have a kitchen from the website it looked as if you did.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel was close from the principal area, the Terminis, where they are facilities and services, like restaurant, buses, train, metro, even Roma is easy to do by walk.

Disliked: Friendliness was very bad, its seem like we are disturbing the staff

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012

Liked: The location is almost perfect. Close to the main train station, so you can reach almost any point of the city (or visit nearby cities). Also close to the historic centre. They have a kitchen to cook as promised and a good free wi-fi.

Disliked: Although in our booking a room for 3 person was stated, I got a room for 4 people, while my friend got a room for 5 person. No excuses from the staff or refund followed. We were proposed to write an e-mail after the stay, and may be they will be so kind to make a refund. There are no lockers in the property, so no safety can be expected.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

MAURICIO RENDON

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 MAURICIO would recommend this property

Liked: the location is greatyou have access to the city by metro or walking is close to the most importat part of rome

Disliked: MAURICIO left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels