HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hostel Two Ducks

Hostel | Via Calatafimi No:41, Rome, Italy 00185

63.8% Overall Rating

380 out of 688 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

YOUNG JUN LEE thinks…

"Really nice staff but If he's sleeping, you couldn't get a service. But a room was really cozy and had an individual bathroom, really nice location, just 3 min for walk from Termini terminal!!"

Read all Hostel Two Ducks reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Starting from the 1st of January 2011 Rome City Council will ask for a overnight accommodation tax on tourist service in the city. This fee, 2 euros per night (10 nights maximum) per person (with the exception of children up to 10 years and in Rome residents), will be asked to anyone staying in every overnight accommodation inside Rome's boundaries. The fee, not included in hotel rate, must be paid cash at check in time."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

A Casa di Jasmine
25.58 USD

Guesthouse 75.7% 48 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
32.85 USD

Hostel 85.1% 618 reviews
The Place in Rome
26.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.1% 111 reviews
Legends Hostel
32.31 USD

Hostel 79.0% 368 reviews
Residenza Giustiniani
32.31 USD

Hostel 79.9% 24 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
33.66 USD

Hostel 84.9% 126 reviews
Eurostars Domus Aurea
807.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Cressy
26.48 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.5% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.8%

Overall Rating

380 out of 688 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Two Ducks'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
68.8%
Value
71.2%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 386 of 475 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Thiara Rabelo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Location is great

Disliked: Security, cleanliness and staff.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 July 2013

Liked: The receptionist told me that all the rooms in the hostel were full (even if I reserved the hostel 2 weeks before arrive), and he told me that there was space in an apartament near the hostel. In this appartament, I stayed alone in a room with 4 beds, and with other 2 people in other room, so I had privacy.

Disliked: In the kitchen there were only two plates, and a few spoons and knifes, and some little pans and pots (considering that there were 8 beds in the appartament, I think that is not enough). The room smelled bad, and I saw a cockroach twice in the kitchen. Also, in the room there were a window, and you could hear every word that people were saying in the street, like if the window were open (but it was not)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is perfect, because is near to the station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

glen alan villarreal zambrano

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 glen alan would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen.

Disliked: The first time it is a little difficult to find, but when you find it you ask yourself why did it took you so long lol

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Andreas Schulz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013

Liked: close to the main station roma termini

Disliked: cleaniness, moody smell, they said that we have to stay in a different building than in the discription, we had to wait 20min for anybody - no body let us in, no reception guy or anybody. we had no feeling of secure. in our accoomodation lived a guy in a separated room - was strange to meet him in the morning

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013

Liked: close to main train station

Disliked: Bedrooms and bathroom had glass doors (although it was frosted) :s Bathroom dirty and shower pretty bad. Advertised as having bed linen but all it had was a pillow and a duvet with no sheets which therefore smelt.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Dimitar Ganev

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Dimitar would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is actually an apartment! The space is small. They put us in another apartment and there was just 1 sheet to lay on. We also needed one more to put the blanket! Not bad but not really good!

Disliked: Dimitar left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Room, Location, Cleanliness, price.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013

Liked: Its a very dirty hostel, I got some allergy on my skin, because I think theres no clean the sheets in these hostel.

Disliked: Everything was old, and dirty, the flush in the bathroom, didnt work well, the only good thing is the localization, but i wouldn't recommend to anyone.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 April 2013

Liked: anything

Disliked: everything

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lienne Hek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2013 Lienne would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, the location is good. Some reviews say this place is hard to find but you just walk a straight line from the Terminini station and bang a right at Via Calatafimi. The rest of the place was alright, nothing too fancy. I mean, come on, it's a hostel and that's what you pay for. There's also a kitchen where you can sit down for a chat and/or a drink but it's kinda small. Not quite like other common rooms but it does the trick.

Disliked: There were no lockers and for the first two days I didn't have a key. This caused me to be locked outside for a good deal of time while no one responded to the buzzer. There was supposed to be some kind of janitor/guard for situations like this but he wasn't there. After complaining I got the keys and it was allright again.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is near train station

Disliked: wifi is only available on one floor , if you live on another floor then no wifi

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ana Marques

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were big and full of light.

Disliked: The fact that the reception was in one place and the actual room was in another floor, totally apart. And the bathroom: so dirty!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013

Liked: There was an elevator inside the building for us to bring our stuff there

Disliked: Could hardly find the hostel. It was located in some sort of shady place and it took us a good 5 minutes before we found the hostel. Furthermore, the wifi was only restricted to the top floor so if your room happened to be on the other floors you don't have wifi. Furthermore, there was an incident when I was there where a traveller argued really loudly with the owner over the condition of the hostel. You don't dare to enter the corridor....

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

CHING-JU LEE

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013 CHING-JU would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good

Disliked: not very clean and people smoke inside the hostel we can't get fire for cooking cause the reception was no one not heater

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Márcia Cicci Romero

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013

Liked: the room smells musty

Disliked: Márcia left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, central. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Difficult to find initially.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel venegas

Alone

City break

04 January 2013 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: its a comfortable place, its quiet, and the service is also good

Disliked: daniel left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

27 December 2012

Liked: Only the location

Disliked: Dirty place, and people smoking inside the hostel.... I have waited more than one hour for check out and no one were in the reception

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marco Stabilito Mesquita

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Muito bem localizado, apartamento possui cozinha e quarto para 4 pessoas. Boa recepção.

Disliked: Dizem que é proibido fumar, mas muita gente estava fumando dentro do apartamento!! Wi-fi não pega no quarto, só no 5º andar.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nigatu Mitiku Danna

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Nigatu Mitiku would recommend this property

Liked: Close to central station.

Disliked: The room has only one power socket to charge our laptops and mobile phones. A decided would b fine .

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Dominic Brunning

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 September 2012

Liked: The cleaning lady was nice

Disliked: The showers and toilets didn't work, the key was broken when given to me and then blamed on me. The staff could not have been less welcoming and helpful. You have to go up 4 floors in a lift to use the wifi. You have to vacate the entire hostel between 10:30 and 2:30pm for cleaning. The "kitchen" is tiny! DON'T STAY HERE, NOT EVEN BECAUSE IT'S CHEAP.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mariano Diego SANTIAGO

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012

Liked: It is near the main central station, so it´s easy to get to the hostel if you are travelling r plane, as the airport shuttles stops at the train station.

Disliked: unfriendly, not helpful and not welcoming staff, poor facilities

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Sheridan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in an unmanned location a few blocks from the main hostel. Security was good, the kitchen was good, the place was clean and more-or-less well-kept, and the bathroom was nice enough. It was in decent location, a 10-minute walk from Roma Termini.

Disliked: For almost 20 EUR per person per night, I'd like to stay in a location with a staff member present for security. Check-in was the only time we met a staff member. We were never told about the "Two Ducks" bar/restaurant nor given a discount card for it.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 July 2012

Liked: It is near form the main train station

Disliked: Everything, this is not a hostel, is just an apartment in which no one helps you for nothing, the person of the reception slept in my room til late (?), showers are totally broken, no hot water in the morning because the guy is sleeping.. they take you out at 10:30 etc etc... if you can pay a little bit more for a real hostel, you should... two ducks is expensive and is not a hostel, you feel like a stranger in comeone else's house!!!


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels