HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Rose B&B and Hostel

Hostel | Via Sforza, 40, Rome, Italy 00184

89.8% Overall Rating

417 out of 427 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

Lara Davidson thinks…

"Space was good for a great price. It was comfortanble and cosy and we quickly felt at home. The staff was very nice and gave great advice about travelling in Rome."

Read all Rose B&B and Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Maison de Marylu
39.45 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 37 reviews
I Dormienti
40.90 USD

Apartment 79.2% 58 reviews
Domus Elisa
30.34 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 373 reviews
Paolina Rooms
39.58 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.3% 35 reviews
Ivanhoe Hostel
19.66 USD

Hostel 78.3% 156 reviews
Bar Dell'Artista Accommodation
38.26 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 119 reviews
Rose Santamaria
26.39 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 161 reviews
San Francisco Hostel & Apartments
39.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

417 out of 427 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rose B&B and Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 289 of 416 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Not possible to meet people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Davidson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Space was good for a great price. It was comfortanble and cosy and we quickly felt at home. The staff was very nice and gave great advice about travelling in Rome.

Disliked: Quite a lot of noise in the morning

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cindy Lubransky

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014

Liked: Clean and good size room. Breakfast was good for the price. Helpful staff. Great location

Disliked: Thin walls you heard the next people in the other rooms so annoying, the three the us got three nights of poor sleep which ruined our time in Rome, I wouldn't stay there again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was so perfect! It was within at least five to ten minutes walking of all the main sites and only a ten minute walk from Termini Station. It's a little off the tourist strip so the neighborhood isn't super crowded. Everything was super clean and there aren't a lot of rooms available so there weren't any noisy guests at night. Awesome price for such a great location. I was very impressed with the security of the building and I did not feel unsafe at all. You need a key to enter the building, a code to open the door to the hostel and then a key for your own bedroom so I felt very safe the whole time. The staff was very friendly and did not make us pay until the night before we left. They gave us maps and showed us the best ways to get to places and the main places we should see. Although I had seen people comment on the lack of breakfast, I was pretty content with what they offered. There were a few different types of cereals, some croissants and various types of jellies, some loaves of bread, milk, juice, coffee, etc. Plus, there are plenty of excellent bakeries and cafes within two or three blocks of the hostel so you can always get something there as well. You don't have to go through a checkout process so you can just leave anytime before 10:30 the day you leave, which is nice. Overall it was a great stay and definitely worth the money we paid! I would recommend this hostel!

Disliked: The door is not marked very clearly and it is kind of in a back alley way so it was a little difficult to find. At first it looks a little creepy because it's in the lower level of the building but don't judge it by this exterior, it is much nicer inside. There weren't a ton outlets, just as a heads up if you're coming in a larger group. Five of us ended up sharing two outlets. The staff was a little difficult to get a hold of to pay (bring cash with you to pay, it's much easier) but if you email them they are pretty quick to respond. Although my friend and I had no issues with the wifi (we have iphones), our friends with Windows phones had trouble connecting to the wifi.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was pretty clean and the people were very friendly. Close to the train station.

Disliked: It says there is a kitchen, but there is nothing there to cook with. The street is very noisy at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014

Liked: The Hostel was spotless, as were the bathrooms. The rooms were spacious and the lighting was amazing. Each room had a table of sorts (6 bed dorm had table and chairs). The location was also very good. Only a short walk to the colosseum and St, Peter in Chains Basilica. There is also a metro station 2 mins away from the front door. The kitchen was clean and very handy. My friend and I had no problems with coming back to the hostel late either and the lockers are large and spacious.

Disliked: There is only one power outlet for a room of 6 people. The owner put us in a room for four people instead of the six that we had booked claiming that an empty 6 bed dorm was 'too big' for two people. Then when someone booked the four bed he told us we had to move to the room we had initially booked. You sometimes get a vibe from the owner that he's doing you a favour by letting you stay at his establishment. The hostel wasn't busy at all, so much for meeting new people, both rooms we had occupied were empty and quiet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Workers were extremely helpful and the room for 6 was quite large and very comfortable. Much cleaner and more enjoyable than most other hostels I have visited.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel rooms were spacious, clean, and nice. We were staying in a private room, and breakfast was served for free in the kitchenette right next to our room. We got lots of privacy, like in an apartment, and all the staff were friendly.

Disliked: Wifi cut out often and the staff are only available by calling after hours, which makes it difficult if your mobile phone has long distance charges.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kelley Wong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Kelley would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located and staff was very helpful in orientating us around Rome. Room and toilets were also generally clean.

Disliked: Kitchen area was small so quite difficult to cook or have breakfast together unless you don't mind squeezing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mei sze Ho

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2014 mei sze would recommend this property

Liked: The home is spacious and value for money.

Disliked: It is very difficult for us to find this B&B. We can hardly find the name of this B&B when we found the building.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erin Laverick

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the facilities

Disliked: Hard to find

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sabina Kim

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

22 March 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely lighting in the bedrooms, comfy beds, very clean esp. the kitchen and bathrooms, excellent showers, lovely breakfast with everything, lockers included in rooms, friendly hosts/ staff!!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay at Rose B&B, we booked a four person room and actually were given our own apartment a short walk from the main B&B. This was very nicely furnished and designed and we felt very much at home there and it was an absolute bargain for what we were paying. Mario was very friendly and helpful and showed us the best places to visit and it has a very good central location near to the Colosseum.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Delgado

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

17 March 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Muy recomendable. La gente del lugar noa dio un excelente trato e incluso nos permitieron dejar el equipaje mas tiempo. Exvelente lugar para pasar una estadia en roma.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bec Burrowes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Bec would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. It was quiet, the staff were friendly and very helpful and it was clean and tidy. Good service!

Disliked: The shower heads! But otherwise, I was happy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely it's position. It was really good having a fridge in our room and nice to be able to make tea and coffee whenever we liked.

Disliked: The rooms were quite warm, even in February, the room had a small window which didn't let much air in as it opened onto an inner collection of apartments front doors. Air conditioning was available at 5 euros a day.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location that I have already recommended to some friends. It's perfect for those looking for a quiet place to rest after a long journey walking around Rome.

Disliked: Common area is very small for possible interactions with other travellers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anthony walton

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 February 2014 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: The people here were so friendly and helpful, one of the nicest hostels we've stayed at and we have stayed at many

Disliked: Bit of a hike to the station with luggage but that's not the hostels fault They will arrange a taxi to airport at good price if you have lots of luggage as we did

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, tidy hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location (really close to ancient rome and the metro) and the staff was amazing!

Disliked: Most importantly, it was really hard to find the first time. We walked up and down the street, and it's not advertised on the building or described in the directions. Also, it was pretty cold in the rooms and the heater only worked sometimes, the showers didn't work, there was no hot water in the kitchen with which to do dishes, and another girl's stuff was moved out of our room once we arrived (we booked a private room, but they had put her there last night) without her knowing and without changing keys, so she walked in at midnight and had no stuff and no idea where she was sleeping.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Popek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, neat, and it was great to be able to use the kitchen facilities!

Disliked: Kimberly left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorelle Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 January 2014 Lorelle would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location very helpful host a very good location easy walking to nearly all sites, transport and shops

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roberta was awesome and really took the time to sit down with us and mark all the interesting places to visit on a map. She also left us helpful notes how to get to Tivoli and helped us get a taxi at 4:30am in the morning to go to the airport. Rooms were cleaned daily and were nice. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: We had a problem upon arriving when we first located the hostel. No one was answering the doorbell and we waited outside for 15mins, just ringing it. Finally, I called the number displayed on the door, and a guy named Mario answered and told us to wait. I called the second number just to be doubly sure and a woman named Sabine answered and said that Roberta would come for us. Fortunately, all went well afterwards but I was in a little panic that we couldn't get a hold of anyone. It was raining and our bags were too heavy to go around looking for another hostel. Thankfully, this little mishap was cleared immediately.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Vazquez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Very sweet staff, AMAZING location, very clean, definitely recommend staying here!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamika Jarvis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2013 Tamika would recommend this property

Liked: First the staff was so kind. I enjoyed the rooms. They were nice and spacious. And the washroom was VERY CLEAN!

Disliked: Nothing!


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels